UNIVERSITY OF NEW SOUTH WALES - [UNSW], SYDNEY, NEW SOUTH WALES - REVIEWS

Sydney, New South WalesLOCATION
UniversitySCHOOL TYPE
Estd 1949Established Year
  59000Enrollment

College rating

based on 12 students ratings

8.2/10

8.9/10academic
9.3/10infrastructure
7.5/10placements
8.5/10faculty
8/10extracurricular
7.2/10accommodation

Reviews

avatar image
Sarah, AUSTRALIA Bachelor of music
University of New South Wales
Current student , Batch : 2022
7.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UNIVERSITY REVIEW

Only one of two reputable universities providing my degree and this one allows for better involvement in campus life (the other option was Sydney Conservatorium of Music and being on a separate campus and only having 750 students limits opportunities).


Course Curriculum - 

Issues are evident in the compression of the material in the switch from semesters to trimesters but other than that, the classes cover most bases pertaining to a holistic and well-rounded music education thus far.

9 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
5 /10
accomodation/food
5 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
03, Aug 2019 read more
avatar image
Soph, AUSTRALIA Commerce
University of New South Wales
Current student , Batch : 2021
9.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UNSW REVIEW

Location and the degree suited my needs and were a very flexible option for my abilities and goal for the future. I also really like the environment and the people at UNSW and the amount of social networking that occurs is amazing.


Course Curriculum - 

Wonderful absolutely amazing I really love my degree and how flexible it is and all the industry connections that it gives me which makes it one of the best courses in the country in my humble opinion.

9 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
9 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
03, Oct 2019 read more
avatar image
Raj makwana, AUSTRALIA Science
University of New South Wales
Current student , Batch : 2020
9.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UNSW REVIEW

It's currently the highest ranking university in my area and has a lot of outside connections useful to my career, the uni has a lot of exchange programs with other countries as well as a lot of opportunities to be involved in extracurricular work.


Course Curriculum - 

The course itself is very interesting, throughout your degree you learn about a wide variety of the science world, including biology of living animals, the chemistry of the environment and molecules and the quantum mechanics of how particles function.

10 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
10 /10
accomodation/food
10 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
14, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Shima golmohamadi, AUSTRALIA Advanced science and arts
University of New South Wales
Current student , Batch : 2021
7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UNSW ACROSS THE FACULTIES

On top of having a great reputation, UNSW offered the best flexibility with double degrees. No other university I looked at offered science and arts together and very few had as many major available at UNSW.


Course Curriculum - 

The science curriculum in psychology is very good, but In arts (Creative writing) there could be much more variety. There are really only a few courses we can do and nothing on genre writing at all which a lot of students are interested in.

8 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
6 /10
placement
6 /10
extracurricular
14, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Ciara beecham, AUSTRALIA Business and law
University of New South Wales
Current student , Batch : 2020
6.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

STUDENT IN UNSW

Great law program and business program. I had heard a lot about how good the law school is for paving you the way for the beginning of your law career. The business school is current and encourages students to be active and participate.


Course Curriculum - 

I think that it is very well structured the modules are interactive and informative. There is a good mix of online work and lectures and tutorials which allow us to keep up with weekly work. The curriculum is current and involves debates on topical issues.

8 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
5 /10
accomodation/food
5 /10
placement
6 /10
extracurricular
26, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Sahana n, SRI LANKA Medicine
University of New South Wales
Current student , Batch : 2022
7.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

LIFE AT UNSW

The quality of education and the location. It is ranked amongst the top 50 universities for the medicine program. Sydney also offers an environment to learn and have fun at the same time. As an international student safety was also one of my priorities.


Course Curriculum - 

The course is well structured. Medicine programs around the world are quite long and thus are often very tedious to follow. The 6-year program allows for students to space out their work and learn other small courses in the middle as well.

7 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
15, Apr 2019 read more
avatar image
Tanaya jadhav, INDIA Mpa
University of New South Wales
Current student , Batch : 2019
8.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

LIFE AT UNSW

It stands 10th in the world in accounting as per QS world ranking. Also, it has a five-star rating and a nice employment ratio. UNSW is also among the great 8 universities in Australia. Also, it is located in Sydney. Sydney is a business hub.


Course Curriculum - 

It is Very practical and helpful. I also truly appreciate the tri-mester system. The trimester system reduces the load and lets you learn subjects in more detail. I also liked the freedom to choose lecture timings.

9 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
5 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
18, Apr 2019 read more
avatar image
James, AUSTRALIA Bachelor of software engineering/bachelor of science
University of New South Wales
Current student , Batch : 2024
8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UNSW: FIRST YEAR MID SEM REVIEW

I drove past the university to school every day and it became a goal for me to reach seeing everyone go there was a target for me so pretty uneducated choice. However, I still think with an educated understanding of other uni programs I would've chosen UNSW based on transport as I live in botany.


Course Curriculum - 

It?s fairly self explanatory however the lecturers themselves in maths over complicate the content to the point where questions are easier to understand than the content that is being questioned. Programming is a very structured course that include all elementary functions necessary for coding.

10 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
6 /10
extracurricular
17, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Kodie mason, AUSTRALIA Social research and policy
University of New South Wales
Current student , Batch : 2021
8.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UNSW - MY FIRST (YEAR) IMPRESSIONS

It was the only one that had my particular course, it is also close to where I live and easy to get to by public transport, one of the main reasons I chose it is because of the high level of support it has for indigenous students which were a big determining factor. It is also a top tier university with an outstanding reputation.


Course Curriculum - 

So far it is really interesting and engaging. The topics being taught are quite relevant to the area I want to be working in in the future. The assessments are very specific which is good because you can explain in more depth. The lectures are very interesting because each topic in the curriculum all relate to each other and you find similarities between most topics which is interesting to see.

10 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
18, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Devanshi kotak, AUSTRALIA Bachelors of advanced science (honours)
University of New South Wales
Current student , Batch : 2022
9
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

ORGANISED COURSE STRUCTURE, BALANCED STUDENT LIFE - UNSW

Good reputation and leading-edge facilities along with the fun atmosphere. Also with HECS and being an Australian citizen, there is no difference in cost when choosing more prestigious universities that offer better educational programs.


Course Curriculum - 

The course curriculum is quite well organized and interesting for first-year students -however, at times some complex topics in science can be rushed and this can be quite difficult for some students. Also, there are online threshold materials that must be completed and understood to attend lectures - this baseline knowledge every week required to attend lectures can be difficult to maintain at times.

10 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
19, Mar 2019 read more

Load More Reviews
Apply Now DOWNLOAD BROCHURE  
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

FACULTY, SCHOOLS AND CAMPUSES
Australian Graduate School of Management kensington, New South Wales
COLLEGES IN NEW SOUTH WALES, AUSTRALIA
University of New England Armidale, New South Wales
Southern Cross University Lismore, New South Wales
University of Newcastle Newcastle, New South Wales
Charles Sturt University Sydney, New South Wales
Macquarie University Sydney, New South Wales
NEAREST RANKED COLLEGES