Get $150 Scholarship!

UNIVERSITY OF NEWCASTLE, NEWCASTLE, NEW SOUTH WALES - REVIEWS

Newcastle, New South WalesLOCATION
UniversitySCHOOL TYPE
Estd 1951Established Year
  22220Enrollment

College rating

based on 10 students ratings

7.6/10

8.4/10academic
8.2/10infrastructure
7.8/10placements
7.6/10faculty
6.6/10extracurricular
6.7/10accommodation

Reviews

FILTER BY
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL

POPULAR TAGS

course
faculty
semester
campus
program
curriculum
internship
placement
review
scholarship
support
experience
exam structure
fee structure
open book
J
Joanne power, AUSTRALIA Bachelor of education (early childhood and primary)
University of Newcastle
Current student , Batch : 2021
7.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UNIVERSITY OF NEW CASTLE REVIEW

It was closest to where I live with my family. And we moved here specifically so that myself and my siblings could complete our tertiary education there. Both my sisters had been there before and I am looking forward to completing my degree.


Course Curriculum - 

I don't really know what the course curriculum is. It might just be the name; all my courses are run quite well. I'm not sure what you want for this question. It doesn't make much sense to me at all.

8 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
6 /10
placement
6 /10
extracurricular
03, Dec 2019 read more
A
Adeliya azamat, KAZAKHSTAN Bachelor of chemical engineering
University of Newcastle
Current student , Batch : 2021
10
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

ADELIYA AZAMAT REVIEW

I have chosen the University of Newcastle, Callaghan campus to gain new experience, male global network, study the course of my interest. I applied for this university to broaden my horizon, gain personal growth and become a chartered engineer.


Course Curriculum - 

I like the course structure. We have industrial site visits and applications which we can relate to real-world problems. Also, I have an opportunity to take part in different engineering communities and clubs at the university.

10 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
10 /10
accomodation/food
10 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
03, Nov 2019 read more
L
Luke, AUSTRALIA Bachelor of exercise and sports science
University of Newcastle
Alumna/alumnus , Batch : 2014
8.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UNIVERSITY OF NEWCASTLE REVIEW

I opted for this college as it has a smaller cohort than other universities in NSW. There is less competition to gain entry with a lower ATAR required. Located up the coast, it has more opportunities to partner with professional sport clubs whereas Sydney universities are competing with others to participate in placement and sporting opportunities.


Course Curriculum - 

The course curriculum is great. There is a lot of involvement and support through the tutors and mentors at the university. You can choose some majors and various alternatives in the program.

9 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
07, Oct 2019 read more
V
Vishesh bhatt, INDIA Bachelors in commerce
University of Newcastle
Current student , Batch : 2021
8.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

INSIGHT FROM AN INTERNATIONAL STUDENT AT UNIVERSITY OF NEWCASTLE

Every since my high school, I had the aspirations to pursue my graduation in a reputed foreign university. I choose University of Newcastle because of its ideal location, which is perfect for work life balance. Due to Newcastle being near Sydney, that allows me to be close knit to my extended family living in Sydney and catch up on weekends. carried a strong passion towards accounting & finance, and I can clearly comprehend the importance of my field of study for some global player to tap the global market or economy.


Course Curriculum - 

Currently, I'm in my 2nd year of the course. The best thing about the faculty of business and law have some great professors and lecture staffs. Usually, most of the course's lectures are recorded and there is an allocated time for workshops, where students can discuss and solve problem questions on the particular topic. This could be great for students to revise the learning and understand the topic with real life case studies with some great teaching staffs.

8 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
01, Oct 2019 read more
S
Sarah richardson, AUSTRALIA Medicine
University of Newcastle
Current student , Batch : 2023
7.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

MEDICINE UON

Good program, relatively close to home. I only got into two options for medicine, one of which was Adelaide which is a plane trip away for me. Newcastle (while it is 5 hours away) was closer and provided a city close to that of my hometown (Canberra). The program is also highly regarded, I think it's the 3rd best program in Australia and I like the learning structure.


Course Curriculum - 

Very good, very helpful. It can be slightly unprepared particularly with timetabling issues. Good supportive staff, mostly doctors so they know what we are going through.

9 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
5 /10
accomodation/food
10 /10
placement
4 /10
extracurricular
05, Aug 2019 read more
M
Madi, AUSTRALIA Bachelor of education (primary)
University of Newcastle
Current student , Batch : 2022
8.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

HIGH QUALITY EDUCATION AT UNIVERSITY OF NEWCASTLE

Location- close to home and I can't afford to live out of home, the quality of education is high, and most courses have high employment rates after graduation. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the facilities are of high quality.


Course Curriculum - 

Very happy with the curriculum- it has a wide range of topics and covers all needed knowledge bases. There is a good amount of practical engagement included in the course curriculum. There are sometimes perhaps too many courses expected to be completed within one semester, but they do have part-time options too.

8 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
23, Apr 2019 read more
P
Pradhyumna chinta, SINGAPORE Bachelor of medical science and doctor of medicine
University of Newcastle
Current student , Batch : 2021
7.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

MY EXPERIENCE AS AN INTERNATIONAL STUDENT

It's the cheapest college of all the offers I got. This also allows me to graduate from my degree in the shortest possible time. The teaching here is great and I'm getting a lot of clinical exposure.


Course Curriculum - 

The curriculum is pretty new as I'm in the first cohort to enroll in this program. However, teaching has been great so far. I feel that sometimes it's overwhelming to see so much workload but it's manageable.

9 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
5 /10
extracurricular
17, Mar 2019 read more
A
Alexandra ganea, CANADA Pharmacy
University of Newcastle
Current student , Batch : 2022
8.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UNIVERSITY OF NEWCASTLE AUSTRALIA REVIEW

The reason that I have chosen this college would be because I applied to other schools but was not accepted and when I applied in Australia I was accepted so I chose to go because I would like to become a pharmacist no matter how far I have to go.


Course Curriculum - 

Currently, I am only in my first semester but from what I have seen so far the curriculum looks like it is interesting and it seems like it is exactly all the information that I would need in order to be a pharmacist in the future.

8 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
16, Mar 2019 read more
L
Laura, AUSTRALIA Bachelor of teaching (primary)(honours)
University of Newcastle
Alumna/alumnus , Batch : 2018
6.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UON

It was the local/nearby campus which allowed me to live at home (with parents) whilst studying to save money as accommodation options were very expensive. It also offered the course I was interested in completing and my year advisor at school recommended the local university to all students.


Course Curriculum - 

I think the uni should have sent us on practical in a school setting earlier - we did not teach until we had been at uni for 2 years. The first year subjects were not particularly useful - they focused on each of the key learning areas - since having just completed high school I was still familiar with most of these topics. They also taught things like advanced maths so we could feel what it's like to learn maths instead of teaching us what we need to teach and ways to teach it.

8 /10
academic
4 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
6 /10
placement
5 /10
extracurricular
15, Mar 2019 read more
A
Anonymous mc anonymousface, AUSTRALIA Bachelor laws/diploma legal.
University of Newcastle
Current student , Batch : 2019
4.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

REVIEW OF UNIVERSITY

It was the most local, and one of only 3 that would accept my high school equivalent for a law course. Of the three available, it was the only one that had a practical component to the degree rather than an emphasis on academic courses.


Course Curriculum - 

It does what it needs to do to comply with professional standards. Our electives are a bit too limited as the focus has shifted towards international experiences. The increase in compressed courses is probably beneficial for those trying to finish quickly but has similarly limited semester directed courses

7 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
4 /10
infrastructure
2 /10
accomodation/food
6 /10
placement
2 /10
extracurricular
15, Mar 2019 read more
Apply Now DOWNLOAD BROCHURE  
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

COLLEGES IN NEW SOUTH WALES, AUSTRALIA
University of New England Armidale, New South Wales
University of New South Wales Sydney, New South Wales
Southern Cross University Lismore, New South Wales
Charles Sturt University Sydney, New South Wales
Macquarie University Sydney, New South Wales
NEAREST RANKED COLLEGES