Get $150 Scholarship!

MACQUARIE UNIVERSITY - [MQ], SYDNEY, NEW SOUTH WALES - REVIEWS

Sydney, New South WalesLOCATION
UniversitySCHOOL TYPE
Estd 1964Established Year
  28729Enrollment

College rating

based on 19 students ratings

8/10

8.2/10academic
7.9/10infrastructure
7.7/10placements
8.1/10faculty
8.3/10extracurricular
7.8/10accommodation

Reviews

FILTER BY
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL

POPULAR TAGS

faculty
semester
interest
campus
final exam
scholarship
exam period
exam structure
sydney
course curriculum
program
review
school
everything
last year
avatar image
Holly, AUSTRALIA Bachelor media and communication - media studies (major) on-campus
Macquarie University
Current student , Batch : 2022
10
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

HOLLY'S LIFE AT MACQUARIE

This was my first preference because I really wanted to go to uni in Sydney. I really love Sydney so much and I can't wait until I can live there but for now, I have to catch the train but hopefully, I can move there very soon because I feel like good stuff will happen once I'm actually living in Sydney and am close.


Course Curriculum - 

The course curriculum is great.

10 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
10 /10
accomodation/food
10 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
28, Jan 2020 read more
avatar image
Anuj, AUSTRALIA Bachelor of applied finance and business analytics
Macquarie University
Current student , Batch : 2022
10
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

ANUJ'S REVIEW

I got an early offer from this university and also because it has a great reputation within Sydney. Also because it is very easy to access as well so transportation becomes very easy. Based in the center of Sydney.


Course Curriculum - 

The course curriculum was I guess a bit challenging at the start but then as the course progressed it kind of became a bit straight forward and was sticking pretty quickly and was easy for me to understand.

10 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
10 /10
accomodation/food
10 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
03, Dec 2019 read more
A
Andrea, AUSTRALIA Bachelor of commerce
Macquarie University
Current student , Batch : 2022
10
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

AUSTRALIA IS THE PLACE TO STUDY

I did not have the Australian equivalent of the entry requirements to get into an Australian uni. My Family applied for this uni and my siblings got in therefore I attempted it too. It was so worth it.


Course Curriculum - 

Very good curriculum since you can pick electives, majors, etc. They have mentors constantly helping you out if you are lost and they have counseling as well as academics helping you out if you are too lost.

10 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
10 /10
accomodation/food
10 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
03, Oct 2019 read more
S
Sourabh, INDIA Master of management
Macquarie University
Current student , Batch : 2019
9.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

MACQUARIE UNIVERSITY STUDENT EXPERIENCE.

Best in Management Courses and ranked highest in terms of MBA in the financial reviews in Australia. Better Uni experience would help in getting better knowledge and end up in a better job made me choose this college.


Course Curriculum - 

It's Apt for the current changes in the economic and Financial world. Leadership and Managerial Skills are being touched in an effective way. Though, the changes are not upto date. But still, the curriculum helps in getting in pace with the managerial eWorld.

9 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
10 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
03, Oct 2019 read more
S
Samuel rosenberg, AUSTRALIA International studies
Macquarie University
Current student , Batch : 2021
6.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

SAMUEL'S LIFE AT MACQUARIE UNIVERSITY

The open day for Macquarie was sub-par, to say the least, but its potential accessibility, quality of education, and unit offerings made it an attractive option. I ultimately chose to attend this university for its convenient location and career prospects. I applied for 6 universities and was offered places for five. Whilst my ATAR was not spectacular, bonus points pushed me above the line in nearly every case. The enrollment process for Macquarie seemed difficult, but comprehensive. I noted its 'backwardness' and lack of intuitive design, but acknowledged its support that seemed to be missing from other options I explored.I chose this programme for its applicability to my diplomatic plans. I always intended to go into International Relations or something close to it, and International Studies seemed perfect. Compulsory units tend to rely less on exams and more on internal assessments, which has proven to be a great stress reliever. I enjoy participating in class discussions and the programme has catered well to my wants and needs.


Course Curriculum - 

I enjoy participating in class discussions and the curriculum has catered well to my wants and needs. I enjoy the compulsory and elective units and find it to be of great interest and use.

7 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
4 /10
accomodation/food
6 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
23, Sep 2019 read more
S
Steph al, AUSTRALIA Bachelor of arts
Macquarie University
Current student , Batch : 2021
6.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

THE TRUTH ABOUT MY UNIVERSITY

Course offered, the location, the reputation of the university.


Course Curriculum - 

It's a bit confusing. I don't understand the electives and there are required units that I have to do which aren't even explained. So most of the time students enroll in the wrong units and even up paying for no reason.

7 /10
academic
5 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
5 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
03, Aug 2019 read more
A
Agape paul marundan, AUSTRALIA Bachelor of information technology
Macquarie University
Alumna/alumnus , Batch : 2019
6.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

A GOOD UNI'S REVIEW

I choose this college because Macquarie is part of the "Big 4" universities in Sydney, as long you are in one of these 4 universities in Sydney then you are "safe" career-wise.


Exams - 

I choose Information Technology as I am decent with computers and my scores at high school relating to computers is very high, but not so great in other areas. The minimum score (ATAR) required to get into this program I believe was 74 but my ATAR was <65, I still got accepted. Total credits are 72 points, with no specific eligibility.

7 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
2 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
02, Aug 2019 read more
M
Marisa, AUSTRALIA Bachelor of commerce
Macquarie University
Current student , Batch : 2022
7.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

CONVENIENT UNI

I chose to attend Macquarie uni because it is really easy and convenient to get to, has the program I wanted on offer, has a good reputation. The uni also offers online lectures which makes it really easy to watch at home instead of going to campus.


Course Curriculum - 

The course curriculum is extensive and covers a range of subjects, and for the first year, we get to gain an insight into each of the majors of commerce and the different aspects of it, which helps us to decide what we want to specialize in after graduation.

7 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
6 /10
infrastructure
9 /10
accomodation/food
6 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
24, Apr 2019 read more
J
Jac, AUSTRALIA Bachelor of applied finance
Macquarie University
Current student , Batch : 2023
4.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

HONEST REVIEW OF MACQUARIE UNI

I have opted for their particular college due to numerous reasons, one being extremely far away like all universities in my area, and 4th and lastly, the uni has a pretty big field so I can walk around.


Course Curriculum - 

The curriculum is alright but the curriculum at mac requires individuals to decide on what you want to major in, unlike other units which give you the option to choose which course you want then choose a major for it later.

7 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
2 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
1 /10
placement
5 /10
extracurricular
23, Apr 2019 read more
J
Jasmine, AUSTRALIA Psychology/law
Macquarie University
Current student , Batch : 2025
7.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UNI LIFE IS HARD, BUT ITLL BE WORTH

Early entry scheme allowed me to not worry about exams and secure a position and it has a good reputation. It's kind of close by compared to others. The public transport is pretty good. It also has a nice campus.


Course Curriculum - 

It's good. I like that I get to choose electives however, I'm stressed that law overrides psychology. Next semester I will be required to do 3 law units and 1 psyc which is annoying because I want it to be even.

8 /10
academic
6 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
22, Apr 2019 read more

Apply Now DOWNLOAD BROCHURE  
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

FACULTY, SCHOOLS AND CAMPUSES
COLLEGES IN NEW SOUTH WALES, AUSTRALIA
University of New England Armidale, New South Wales
University of New South Wales Sydney, New South Wales
Southern Cross University Lismore, New South Wales
University of Newcastle Newcastle, New South Wales
Charles Sturt University Sydney, New South Wales
NEAREST RANKED COLLEGES