Get $150 Scholarship!

ALGOMA UNIVERSITY, SAULT STE. MARIE, ONTARIO - REVIEWS

Sault Ste. Marie, OntarioLOCATION
UniversitySCHOOL TYPE
Estd 1965Established Year
  1150Enrollment

College rating

based on 5 students ratings

8.5/10

8.4/10academic
8.2/10infrastructure
9.2/10placements
8.8/10faculty
9.2/10extracurricular
7.4/10accommodation

Reviews

FILTER BY
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL

POPULAR TAGS

faculty
program
campus
course
experience
review
semester
structure
algoma
curriculum
diversity
prefer
school
work study
application
N
Nakul yadav, INDIA Bachelor of business administration [b.b.a] on-campus
School of Business and Economics, Algoma University
Current student , Batch : 2021
9.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

MY EXPIRIENCE AT SCHOOL OF BUSINESS AND ECONOMICS, ALGOMA UNIVERSITY

I've always wanted to take up my higher education in Canada. I did a lot of research before coming to Algoma. A Canadian resident friend also suggested to me this college, especially in business and economics. I had applied at the university directly by filling up an application form with an application fee of $125. I also sent all the official transcripts and proof of English proficiency. I had scored 93 in my higher secondary which helped me get through the admission process and availing scholarship for the same.


Course Curriculum - 

By studying Business Administration at Algoma, I got plenty of opportunities to network and build upon my connections in the business world. Some subjects included in the course curriculum were business administration, finance, economics, accountancy, marketing, and many more. Being in my third year, I can already say that I have a strong well-rounded foundation of business skills and concepts.

9 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
9 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
08, Nov 2019 read more
I
Isobel, CANADA Bachelor of fine arts [b.f.a] visual arts on-campus
Algoma University
Current student , Batch : 2020
8.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

AN OKAY PLACE FOR AN OKAY PRICE

I choose Algoma because it is in a beautiful city, it is far away from my hometown while staying in the same province, it is one of the cheaper schools and their required average to get in to most programs is 60 so it was a guaranteed acceptance. While I was living in my hometown I was unhappy. I do not get along with family and needed to distance myself to keep good mental health so moving 10 hours away was a good option. It has truly helped my mental health.


Course Curriculum - 

The course curriculum is okay. It could be more diverse, but since it is a small school with only 2 full time art professors you cannot expect much diversity in the teachings. There are art mediums I wish I could learn but neither prof can teach it. I do however get very in depth curriculum on what they can teach.

9 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
10 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
17, Oct 2019 read more
B
Bella, CANADA Bachelor biology on-campus
Algoma University
Current student , Batch : 2021
8.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

ALGOMA UNIVERSITY REVIEW

It was convenient and close to home. They had a very excellent biology program with very esteemed and highly sought after professors. The close-knit community of the university was appealing, especially since the class sizes were small and you could make connections with the professors in a small and close learning environment.


Course Curriculum - 

The course curriculum focuses mainly on plant biology rather than human biology. However, this type of biology can be widely applied throughout the sciences. The courses offered are very comprehensive.

8 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
17, Sep 2019 read more
C
Chardon kozak, CANADA Law and justice
Algoma University
Current student , Batch : 2020
7.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

ALGOMA UNIVERSITY UNDERGRADUATE REVIEW 3 YEARS IN THE MAKING

I had heard about this school through my guidance counsellor, she knew I was looking into smaller schools with more academic support; trying to compare them to the A-list Canadian Ivy League schools. When I applied to schools I had actually applied to a total of 10 schools overall (3 universities, 5 colleges, RMC, and NSCC). While waiting to hear back I sat down with my parents and made a pros and cons list of all the schools I had applied to with all possible factors. Once I had received my acceptance letters we visited the top choices (including Algoma). It was very enlightening and really helped put into perspective where I needed to be, I knew in my heart even before I said it out loud what school I would be attending in the fall of 2016. I chose Algoma for many reasons, but mainly for the size. Algoma is the smallest university in all of Ontario with just over 800 students on its main campus in Sault Ste. Marie.This meaning that class sizes are anywhere from 10-30 students in a typical classroom and 60 in a larger introductory course. Because of this, students have a much better relationship with professors and are actually given all of the tools and resources possible to do their best and get the grades they want/need. This was very important to me as in high school I found I struggled with academics quite a bit as I wasn't receiving the proper support I needed in order to thrive. Being in smaller classes, my teacher actually knows me by name and allows me to stop class to ask questions, makes time outside of office hours to meet and discuss as well as answers questions after class something most larger schools do not do.


Course Curriculum - 

I find the courses to be very interesting and well rounded we do offer a wide range of courses. The only thing I will say is that because of the way our courses run (every 1, 2, 5 or 10 years) there are time where a lot of your courses are reflecting similar content and it feels like all of your course content is the same even though it truly is luck of the draw it can be slightly annoying for individuals who prefer more diversity.

7 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
6 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
26, Aug 2019 read more
A
Antony noel john, INDIA Bsc biology
Algoma University
Current student , Batch : 2023
9.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

STUDIES REVIEW

It is a small university with low fees and also it is known for its biology course.


Course Curriculum - 

It is different from India and also involves more hands-on experience with assignments and other scores.

9 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
10 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
07, Mar 2019 read more
Apply Now DOWNLOAD BROCHURE  
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

COLLEGES IN ONTARIO, CANADA
Carleton University Ottawa, Ontario
OCAD University Toronto, Ontario
University of Waterloo Waterloo, Ontario
University of Windsor Windsor, Ontario
Brescia University College London, Ontario