ALGOMA UNIVERSITY, SAULT STE. MARIE, ONTARIO - REVIEWS

Sault Ste. Marie, OntarioLOCATION
UniversitySCHOOL TYPE
Estd 1965Established Year
  1150Enrollment

College rating

based on 3 students ratings

8.2/10

7.8/10academic
7.6/10infrastructure
8.8/10placements
8.6/10faculty
9.2/10extracurricular
7.2/10accommodation

Reviews

avatar image
Bella, CANADA Bachelor of science [b.sc] biology
Algoma University
Current student , Batch : 2021
8.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

ALGOMA UNIVERSITY REVIEW

It was convenient and close to home. They had a very excellent biology program with very esteemed and highly sought after professors. The close-knit community of the university was appealing, especially since the class sizes were small and you could make connections with the professors in a small and close learning environment.


Course Curriculum - 

The course curriculum focuses mainly on plant biology rather than human biology. However, this type of biology can be widely applied throughout the sciences. The courses offered are very comprehensive.

8 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
17, Sep 2019 read more
avatar image
Chardon kozak, CANADA Bachelor law and justice
Algoma University
Current student , Batch : 2020
7.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

ALGOMA UNIVERSITY UNDERGRADUATE REVIEW 3 YEARS IN THE MAKING

I had heard about this school through my guidance counselor, she knew I was looking into smaller schools with more academic support; trying to compare them to the A-list Canadian Ivy League schools. I applied to a total of 10 schools overall (3 universities, 5 colleges, RMC, and NSCC). Once I had received my acceptance letters we visited the top choices (including Algoma).


Course Curriculum - 

I find the courses to be very interesting and well rounded we do offer a wide range of courses. The only thing I will say is that because of the way our courses run (every 1, 2, 5 or 10 years) there are time where a lot of your courses are reflecting similar content and it feels like all of your course content is the same even though it truly is luck of the draw it can be slightly annoying for individuals who prefer more diversity.

7 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
6 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
17, Sep 2019 read more
avatar image
Antony noel john, INDIA Bsc biology
Algoma University
Current student , Batch : 2023
9.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

STUDIES REVIEW

It is a small university with low fees and also it is known for its biology course.


Course Curriculum - 

It is different from India and also involves more hands-on experience with assignments and other scores.

9 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
10 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
30, Nov -0001 read more
avatar image
Bella, CANADA Biology
Algoma University
Current student , Batch : 2021
8.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

ALGOMA UNIVERSITY

It was convenient and close to home. They had a very excellent biology program with very esteemed and highly sought after professors. The close knit community of the university was appealing, especially since the class sizes were small and you could make connections with the professors in a small and close learning environment


Course Curriculum - 

The course curriculum focuses mainly on plant biology rather than human biology which is not preferable. However this type of biology can be widely applied throughout the sciences. The courses offered are very comprehensive

8 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
30, Nov -0001 read more
avatar image
Chardon kozak, CANADA Law and justice
Algoma University
Current student , Batch : 2020
7.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

ALGOMA UNIVERSITY UNDERGRADUATE REVIEW 3 YEARS IN THE MAKING

I had heard about this school through my guidance counsellor, she knew I was looking into smaller schools with more academic support; trying to compare them to the A-list Canadian Ivy League schools. When I applied to schools I had actually applied to a total of 10 schools overall (3 universities, 5 colleges, RMC, and NSCC). While waiting to hear back I sat down with my parents and made a pros and cons list of all the schools I had applied to with all possible factors. Once I had received my acceptance letters we visited the top choices (including Algoma). It was very enlightening and really helped put into perspective where I needed to be, I knew in my heart even before I said it out loud what school I would be attending in the fall of 2016. I chose Algoma for many reasons, but mainly for the size. Algoma is the smallest university in all of Ontario with just over 800 students on its main campus in Sault Ste. Marie.This meaning that class sizes are anywhere from 10-30 students in a typical classroom and 60 in a larger introductory course. Because of this, students have a much better relationship with professors and are actually given all of the tools and resources possible to do their best and get the grades they want/need. This was very important to me as in high school I found I struggled with academics quite a bit as I wasn't receiving the proper support I needed in order to thrive. Being in smaller classes, my teacher actually knows me by name and allows me to stop class to ask questions, makes time outside of office hours to meet and discuss as well as answers questions after class something most larger schools do not do.


Course Curriculum - 

I find the courses to be very interesting and well rounded we do offer a wide range of courses. The only thing I will say is that because of the way our courses run (every 1, 2, 5 or 10 years) there are time where a lot of your courses are reflecting similar content and it feels like all of your course content is the same even though it truly is luck of the draw it can be slightly annoying for individuals who prefer more diversity.

7 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
6 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
30, Nov -0001 read more
Apply Now DOWNLOAD BROCHURE  
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

COLLEGES IN ONTARIO, CANADA
Carleton University Ottawa, Ontario
OCAD University Toronto, Ontario
University of Waterloo Waterloo, Ontario
University of Windsor Windsor, Ontario
Brescia University College London, Ontario