Get $150 Scholarship!

UNIVERSITY OF VICTORIA - [UVIC], VICTORIA, BRITISH COLUMBIA - REVIEWS

Victoria, British ColumbiaLOCATION
UniversitySCHOOL TYPE
Estd 1963Established Year
  21800Enrollment

College rating

based on 15 students ratings

8.1/10

8.5/10academic
8.1/10infrastructure
8.5/10placements
8.4/10faculty
8.1/10extracurricular
7.3/10accommodation

Reviews

FILTER BY
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL

POPULAR TAGS

faculty
program
tuition
campus
experience
course curriculum
final exam
semester
exam structure
require
science
engineering
batch size
business
high school
L
Libuša pika, SOUTH KOREA Bachelor of commerce [b.com] on-campus
Peter B. Gustavson School of Business
Current student , Batch : 2020
7.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

STUDYING AT THE BEST UNIVERSITY - PETER B. GUSTAVSON SCHOOL OF BUSINESS

I completed my class 12 under CBSE board in commerce and had plans of pursuing a Bachelor of Commerce abroad. To get information regarding various universities abroad I visited a career fair in my city where I got to know about this college. For applying to the courses of the college I was required to complete the student application.


Course Curriculum - 

I carefully read the course details before selecting this college as it has a direct impact on the career. The program provides me an in-depth knowledge of the important subjects as well as an opportunity to use it in practice. I am also getting to gain practical experience from the course.

8 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
28, Jan 2020 read more
C
Chandni wagle, INDIA Economics
University of Victoria
, Batch : 2023
9.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

MY UNI IS PROBABLY THE BEST DECISION I TOOK!

One of the best universities. The instructors are amazing. The peers are really helpful! I applied to 3 colleges; and I got in all of them. But the reason for choosing uvic was that I trust them for my course. My 12th-grade scores on a whole was 90%. I only gave $100 (CAD) for processing my letter of acceptance, the application was done online. You might face a little problem using the website initially but u can ask for help! And when u get the hang of it... it's awesome! Amazing opportunities for everyone!


Course Curriculum - 

Um, sometimes I feel it's a little too much, but if you choose the right courses in the right mix, you'll love it! The curriculum also provides paid, hands-on learning opportunities are available to all students through UVic's popular co-op program. I also got to work closely with faculty on independent research projects.

10 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
9 /10
accomodation/food
10 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
08, Nov 2019 read more
I
Isabella pelletier, CANADA Bachelor of science
University of Victoria
Current student , Batch : 2021
7.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

MY UVIC EXPERIENCE.

Close to home, friends and family and a great city and well respected school. Transferred to this school from another because it had a great reputation for teaching as well as community. Easy application process and average fees to apply. Went into this school after 1.5 years at a different university.


Course Curriculum - 

The course curriculum is generally good, there are a lot of science required courses that much be taken in order to graduate with the degree. Generally the first two years are laid out for you and after that it is easier to take your own path and focus in on the courses and programs you get more interested in.

8 /10
academic
6 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
4 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
02, Oct 2019 read more
avatar image
Kamran jr. pashandi, CANADA Engineering
University of Victoria
Current student , Batch : 2023
9.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

THE BEGINNING OF UNIVERSITY

I chose this program because the admission process was really simple. All you had to do was submit your marks and if they were high enough, you got accepted. The application fees were the cheapest compared to any of the other universities I applied to (mostly Ontario universities). I chose this university because it gives me an easier path into the profession.


Course Curriculum - 

So far I think it's manageable, but it is university and the workload is completely different from high school and secondary school, so I'll see, but for now, it's not that bad.

9 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
10 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
05, Sep 2019 read more
A
Amir peri, NEPAL Mba
University of Victoria
, Batch : 2020
8.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UVIC MBA: FOR FUTURE BUSINESS LEADERS

I opted for UVic MBA because of its high employment rate and comparatively affordable tuition fee. The university offers fourteen MBA scholarships and awards which makes it easy for us to pursue the program. Another aspect that impressed me a lot is the Executive Mentor program and Co-op internship we get to do during the course. So, I filed an online application by providing all the necessary information. The application cost for the same was $120.


Course Curriculum - 

The program UVic MBA has a pretty well curriculum. We get the chance to attend the Executive Mentor program and paid a Co-op internship. These programs have helped in building a better understanding of the real-time work challenges and do help a lot during the placement. Our curriculum has International Applied Program which gives us the chance to go abroad and widen our horizon.

9 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
9 /10
accomodation/food
10 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
21, Aug 2019 read more
J
Jessica, CANADA Chemistry for the medical sciences
University of Victoria
Current student , Batch : 2023
8.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

MY EXPERIENCE

Uvic is my hometown university which I have always planned to attend as a result of cheaper expenses while living at home. I also applied at the University of Alberta but then decided to stay home to keep living costs lower. While applying to the two combined schools I spent $200 on application fees.


Course Curriculum - 

The curriculum for this course tends to be quite difficult in the first year and continues to be challenging however as long as a student does not procrastinate and does all reading/assignments/homework they should succeed.

7 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
10 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
13, Aug 2019 read more
avatar image
Ashwin muruganandam, INDIA Computer science
University of Victoria
Current student , Batch : 2024
7.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

LIFE AS A FIRST YEAR.

Got to know the college through looking at the QS rankings and a wide variety of online websites. The admission was relatively straightforward, apply online, choose program and pay the application fee. Applied to a total of 3 universities. Felt this was the perfect university considering the research output and for my Grade 12 mark of 90%.


Course Curriculum - 

The faculty to student ratio differs a lot for each branch. It is generally moderately sized. The teaching methodology differs from course to course and is generally outlined on the first day of class in the beginning of every term.

8 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
10 /10
placement
6 /10
extracurricular
26, Jun 2019 read more
avatar image
Jerusha chua, MALAYSIA Bachelor of software engineering
University of Victoria
Current student , Batch : 2020
5.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UNIVERSITY REVIEW

Course Curriculum - 

Academics are okay. We have a strong grad program as the international tuition fees aren't as expensive here compared to other schools. there are many grads from all over the world. the PhD program is also pretty big - I've had many profs who are PhD grads from my school.


Exams - 

BC government exam marks for English 12 were needed. If English isn't your first language, then TOEFL scores were also needed. The minimum to get into this program was about 80 in the year I got accepted. My first-year batch size for general engineering was around 500 students. By the second term, this number dropped to 250.

6 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
5 /10
infrastructure
2 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
3 /10
extracurricular
16, Jun 2019 read more
T
Tanner, CANADA Economics
University of Victoria
Current student , Batch : 2022
4.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

THE UNIVERSITY OF VIC

Because of the exceptional staff, friendly students and the overall environment. In my first year here I made friends learned a lot about the world and myself. Uvic does a great job of ensuring students have a great academic and non-academic experience.


Course Curriculum - 

Great course curriculum in my opinion. Easy to follow well laid out. All the students find it very interesting which makes it much easier to study. The professors are very knowledgeable and move at a good speed.

8 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
1 /10
infrastructure
1 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
3 /10
extracurricular
23, Apr 2019 read more
K
Katie, CANADA Anthropology
University of Victoria
Current student , Batch : 2019
8.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

ACADEMIA IS NOT THAT BAD

It had the program I wanted, affordable, and close to home. I felt that it was a decent size and that it would be a good university to have on my CV. I find the campus to be very beautiful as well as the people very easy to collaborate with!


Course Curriculum - 

I really like it! Over all I feel like it teaches us skills we will needs for the working world and gives us critical thinking skills we will need in order to be successful in the working world. In the first two years it is mostly learning the building blocks of how to do our science, and last two years applying it practically.

8 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
9 /10
accomodation/food
5 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
24, Mar 2019 read more

Apply Now DOWNLOAD BROCHURE  
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

FACULTY, SCHOOLS AND CAMPUSES
Peter B. Gustavson School of Business victoria, British Columbia
COLLEGES IN BRITISH COLUMBIA, CANADA
University Canada West Vancouver, British Columbia
Capilano University North Vancouver, British Columbia
Emily Carr University of Art & Design Vancouver, British Columbia
Kwantlen Polytechnic University Surrey, British Columbia
Quest University Canada Squamish, British Columbia
NEAREST RANKED COLLEGES
University of Saskatchewan , Saskatoon Avg Fee: $13.53K/Yr 4.3
University of Waterloo , Waterloo Avg Fee: $26.48K/Yr 5.3
Queen's University , Kingston Avg Fee: $9.7K/Yr 5
University of Calgary , Calgary Avg Fee: $13.75K/Yr 5.4
Laval University , Quebec City Avg Fee: $11.08K/Yr 4.9
Western University , London Avg Fee: $23.28K/Yr 5
University of Ottawa , Ottawa Avg Fee: $18.08K/Yr 4.7
Simon Fraser University , Burnaby Avg Fee: $21.17K/Yr 4.8
Dalhousie University , Halifax Avg Fee: $14.17K/Yr 4.9
University of Manitoba , Winnipeg Avg Fee: $8.49K/Yr 4.8