UNIVERSITY OF VICTORIA - [UVIC], VICTORIA, BRITISH COLUMBIA - REVIEWS

Victoria, British ColumbiaLOCATION
UniversitySCHOOL TYPE
Estd 1963Established Year
  21800Enrollment

College rating

based on 9 students ratings

7.9/10

8.4/10academic
7.7/10infrastructure
8.2/10placements
8.4/10faculty
7.6/10extracurricular
6.9/10accommodation

Reviews

avatar image
Ryann anderson, CANADA English
University of Victoria
Current student , Batch : 2019
10
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UNIVERSITY OF VICTORIA

I am from the Yukon and this school had a nice close location. The department also had a very good reputation. I also liked the course selection as compared to other universities that I was considering.


Course Curriculum - 

Since I am an honors student, my class choices are somewhat limited, but all the required courses are very interesting. The program also offers very interesting electives. I think the curriculum is shifting to focus on more practical work.

10 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
10 /10
accomodation/food
10 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
18, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Melissa, CANADA Sociology
University of Victoria
Current student , Batch : 2020
8.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UVIC'S SOCIOLOGY DEGREE

I chose UVIC for its sociology program. I want to continue on to study healthcare management and I found this program to combine statistical and management based studies within its sociology degree.


Course Curriculum - 

The course curriculum is classical and contemporary; I feel confident in each sociological paradigm and how to apply this understanding to current social issues. I would recommend the university produce more courses on management.

9 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
6 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
19, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Tanner, CANADA Economics
University of Victoria
Current student , Batch : 2022
4.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

THE UNIVERSITY OF VIC

Because of the exceptional staff, friendly students and the overall environment. In my first year here I made friends learned a lot about the world and myself. Uvic does a great job of ensuring students have a great academic and non-academic experience.


Course Curriculum - 

Great course curriculum in my opinion. Easy to follow well laid out. All the students find it very interesting which makes it much easier to study. The professors are very knowledgeable and move at a good speed.

8 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
1 /10
infrastructure
1 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
3 /10
extracurricular
23, Apr 2019 read more
avatar image
Camylle, CANADA Chemistry for the medical sciences
University of Victoria
Current student , Batch : 2023
10
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UNIVERSITY OF VICTORIA

The location, being on the Vancouver Island. The population is relatively small. The food options, many options for vegans/vegetarians on campus. The program, one of the only colleges to offer a program similar to pre-med in Canada.


Course Curriculum - 

I'm not sure about the other programs, but this specific program offers many choices for classes, starting in the second year. This programs acts as a pre-med program in Canada, so all the choices are based on medicine, even various specialties.

10 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
10 /10
accomodation/food
10 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
30, Nov -0001 read more
avatar image
Kya clarke, CANADA Humanities
University of Victoria
Current student , Batch : 2022
9.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

VIKE'S NATION!!!

I decided to choose the university of Victoria because of the relatively close proximity it is to my home town. As I didn't want to travel far away and leave home, I decided that uvic would be perfect in between. I toured the campus and absolutely loved the environment as well as the many amenities it offers.


Course Curriculum - 

I believe that the university has a really good variety of different courses and offers curriculum that connects with myself and my interests. When I first applied I wasn't completely sure what I wanted to take but many advisors and counsellors helped me make the best choices based on my interests.

9 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
10 /10
accomodation/food
10 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
30, Nov -0001 read more
avatar image
Kaede, CANADA Kinesiology
University of Victoria
Current student , Batch : 2022
7.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UVIC REVIEW

I had previously checked out the campus, and known that it is a beautiful campus with tons of nature around. The school is not too big, so not overwhelming at all. Everyone in the city is very friendly and it is a great location to live.


Course Curriculum - 

I think that the curriculum is very fair. Every class varies depending on the professor, but in my experience, every curriculum has been carefully sought out with a little bit of room for missed tests/exams, assignments etc.

8 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
30, Nov -0001 read more
avatar image
Katie, CANADA Anthropology
University of Victoria
Current student , Batch : 2019
8.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

ACADEMIA IS NOT THAT BAD

It had the program I wanted, affordable, and close to home. I felt that it was a decent size and that it would be a good university to have on my CV. I find the campus to be very beautiful as well as the people very easy to collaborate with!


Course Curriculum - 

I really like it! Over all I feel like it teaches us skills we will needs for the working world and gives us critical thinking skills we will need in order to be successful in the working world. In the first two years it is mostly learning the building blocks of how to do our science, and last two years applying it practically.

8 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
9 /10
accomodation/food
5 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
30, Nov -0001 read more
avatar image
Ashwin muruganandam, INDIA Computer science
University of Victoria
Current student , Batch : 2024
7.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

LIFE AS A FIRST YEAR.

Got to know the college through looking at the QS rankings and a wide variety of online websites. The admission was relatively straightforward, apply online, choose program and pay the application fee. Applied to a total of 3 universities. Felt this was the perfect university considering the research output and for my Grade 12 mark of 90%.


Course Curriculum - 

The faculty to student ratio differs a lot for each branch. It is generally moderately sized. The teaching methodology differs from course to course and is generally outlined on the first day of class in the beginning of every term.

8 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
10 /10
placement
6 /10
extracurricular
30, Nov -0001 read more
avatar image
Jerusha chua, MALAYSIA Bachelor of software engineering
University of Victoria
Current student , Batch : 2020
5.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UNIVERSITY REVIEW

Course Curriculum - 

Academics are okay. We have a strong grad program as the international tuition fees aren't as expensive here compared to other schools. there are many grads from all over the world. the PhD program is also pretty big - I've had many profs who are PhD grads from my school.


Exams - 

BC government exam marks for English 12 were needed. If English isn't your first language, then TOEFL scores were also needed. The minimum to get into this program was about 80 in the year I got accepted. My first-year batch size for general engineering was around 500 students. By the second term, this number dropped to 250.

6 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
5 /10
infrastructure
2 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
3 /10
extracurricular
30, Nov -0001 read more
Apply Now DOWNLOAD BROCHURE  
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

FACULTY, SCHOOLS AND CAMPUSES
Peter B. Gustavson School of Business victoria, British Columbia
COLLEGES IN BRITISH COLUMBIA, CANADA
Fairleigh Dickinson University Vancouver, British Columbia
University Canada West Vancouver, British Columbia
Capilano University North Vancouver, British Columbia
Emily Carr University of Art & Design Vancouver, British Columbia
Kwantlen Polytechnic University Surrey, British Columbia
NEAREST RANKED COLLEGES