WESTERN UNIVERSITY - [UWO], LONDON, ONTARIO - REVIEWS

London, OntarioLOCATION
UniversitySCHOOL TYPE
Estd 1878Established Year
  30522Enrollment

College rating

based on 25 students ratings

7.6/10

8.3/10academic
7.7/10infrastructure
5.7/10placements
7.9/10faculty
8.8/10extracurricular
7.3/10accommodation

Reviews

avatar image
Lauren, CANADA Management and organization
Western University
Current student , Batch : 2019
7.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

BMOS REVIEW FOR THE FACULTY OF SOCIAL SCIENCE

It was the only program of its kind in the province so I was drawn to it, it combines business and social science to learn about why humans interact and make purchases the way they do. It was also a program that didn't require Grade 12 Calculus.


Course Curriculum - 

It could use updating, realistically it's hard for business programs to stay ahead because the industry is changing so rapidly and trends and consumer patterns change daily but the program encompasses a lot of different aspects of the business industry but could use a frequent refresher.

8 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
5 /10
infrastructure
9 /10
accomodation/food
4 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
17, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Kate, CANADA Science
Western University
Current student , Batch : 2020
7.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

WONDERFUL WESTERNU

Great reputation, Good academics ad great student experience. Reputation for being a ton of fun and having a good partying scene but still good schooling and education. Coming to Western was a great experience, and I have met so many lifelong friends here, definitely do not regret it.


Course Curriculum - 

I think it is really good. Speaking from my own faculty, there is a wide range of programs as well as interesting classes you can take. The professors are also very well versed, know what they're talking about and still make everything interesting.

8 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
19, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Meaghan mosier farquharson, CANADA Psychology
Western University
Current student , Batch : 2021
7.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

WESTERN ONTARIO

Reputation and quality of learning. Western is known as an 'Ivey league' school of Canada, and the prime minister calls it the 'Harvard' of Canada. I was going to go to other schools but they didn't have as great as a reputation for a resume.


Course Curriculum - 

I think each class organizes it well but there are always classes canceled and snow days so it gets messed up. Each class organizes it well into different sections of learning but when an exam is cumulative it gets difficult.

9 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
5 /10
accomodation/food
5 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
20, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Francine znidarec, CANADA Criminology
Western University
Current student , Batch : 2019
7.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

GREAT SCHOOL

I loved the campus, it made me feel like home. I enjoyed how I had the option of taking a class at either the main campus or the smaller affiliated campuses. Western was a great choice being it made me feel like I was home.


Course Curriculum - 

The curriculum is designed well, there are very interesting classes that you can take and although there are some required classes that are not so fun they are worth it int he long runs when you get to take the fun and exciting courses based on what you are interested in.

8 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
5 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
27, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Grayden, CANADA Kinesiology
Western University
Current student , Batch : 2021
6.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

WESTERN UNIVERSITY - EXTENDED COURSE

Student experience because the school is heavily known for that and many people say that it is very good for the student atmosphere as well as inclusivity. I found this school allowed me to use the student experience to have fun and explore what I enjoy and not enjoy doing.


Course Curriculum - 

It is a good curriculum, it is very scientific and allows for new exploration while not being too difficult to not allow for someone to understand you like some programs. It is taught by teachers who are not that good, but the actual material is very good. Again I think electives are somewhat pointless because I could finish a 4 year degree in 2 years if I didn't have to take dumb courses to fill in that have nothing to do with what I am going to school for and end up just taking away from my real learning of courses that matter due to extra work and are more distracting if anything else.

5 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
2 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
28, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Sarah rhydderch, CANADA History
Western University
Current student , Batch : 2021
8.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

CANADIAN SCHOOL UNI REVIEW

This school was the perfect distance from home (1 hour) and has a beautiful campus and lively student social life. The downtown has great stores and restaurants and the school is a great size (big, but not too big).


Course Curriculum - 

My course curriculum is great. The school requires history students to take history courses based on different time periods and different parts of the world. The extra optional classes are great and the professors know what they're talking about.

9 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
9 /10
accomodation/food
5 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
29, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Jenna chellew, CANADA Health sciences
Western University
Current student , Batch : 2021
6.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

CRITIQUES OF UWO

I opted for western mainly due to the reputation the school holds amongst one of the top in Canada. The health sciences program really intrigued me because it was different from other schools in the sense that first year wasn?t as general as other schools and I got to take classes in health sciences right away.


Course Curriculum - 

Harder than other schools. The grades are often curved down in order to meet faculty standards with averages. I don?t feel this is fair because the average to get into the school is higher than most so we are getting worse grades than we would if we went to a different school.

7 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
3 /10
placement
6 /10
extracurricular
31, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Allan oliver, CANADA Sociology
Western University
Alumna/alumnus , Batch : 2018
8.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

ISSA REVIEW

Student life, athletics, a great reputation for student life also great academic reputation in comparison to other schools in the country, also wanted to live away from home and this school was far enough for me to live on campus.


Course Curriculum - 

The course curriculum was okay, it definitely got better as the years progressed and I could specialize in courses in my own field, new courses are added yearly as well so that was nice. Nothing much else to say.

10 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
10 /10
accomodation/food
5 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
17, Apr 2019 read more
avatar image
Julisa, CANADA Science
Western University
Current student , Batch : 2020
7.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

LIFE AS A COLLEGE STUDENT ATTENDING WESTERN UNIVERSITY

I liked this particular college due to the reputation of the science program. This school is very prestigious and has a medical and dental school on the campus itself. There are many opportunities to get involved whether it be for co-curricular activities or academics.


Course Curriculum - 

Very interesting courses. I'm taking biochemistry and genetics, and I had to take organic chemistry as well as cell biology courses. Great opportunities to work in the laboratories on campus. However, my second-year genetics course is pretty hard compared to other courses.

8 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
5 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
17, Apr 2019 read more
avatar image
Sanah, CANADA Engineering
Western University
Current student , Batch : 2022
7.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

ATLEAST I MADE IT

The program at Western offers a general first year instead of immediate specialization into the discipline of Engineering of your choice. This allowed me to experience a little bit of them all in order to better decide which one I actually want to specialize in.


Course Curriculum - 

I appreciate how they structured all the courses so there is overlap between them all, leading students to believe that there is a connection between them. However, many upper-year engineers have informed me that all the theory taught in most classes is very irrelevant to the workforce we are entering. I understand why they see a need to teach it, however, I feel like less of an engineer and more of someone who knows a lot about calculus and physics but cannot truly apply it. Additionally, with the general first year comes the struggle of having to take numerous classes that don't interest you at all, which makes it even more of a dreadful experience.

8 /10
academic
4 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
17, Apr 2019 read more

Load More Reviews
Apply Now DOWNLOAD BROCHURE  
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

AFFILIATED COLLEGES
FACULTY, SCHOOLS AND CAMPUSES
COLLEGES IN ONTARIO, CANADA
Algoma University Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
Carleton University Ottawa, Ontario
OCAD University Toronto, Ontario
University of Waterloo Waterloo, Ontario
University of Windsor Windsor, Ontario
NEAREST RANKED COLLEGES