WILFRID LAURIER UNIVERSITY - [WLU], WATERLOO, ONTARIO - REVIEWS

Waterloo, OntarioLOCATION
UniversitySCHOOL TYPE
Estd 1911Established Year
  19946Enrollment

College rating

based on 11 students ratings

6.8/10

7.2/10academic
6.4/10infrastructure
5.8/10placements
6.7/10faculty
8.5/10extracurricular
6.1/10accommodation

Reviews

avatar image
Allison, CANADA Political science
Wilfrid Laurier University
Current student , Batch : 2021
5.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

LAURIER UNIVERSITY

Friends and a good social life. This school offers a lot of clubs and extra school activities. Laurier has a good party life and also is good for all kind of students who may not like partying, the gym is also really nice


Course Curriculum - 

It's good, the course options are good, stats are hard and shouldn't be a required course for our program, but other courses are good I enjoy the history courses offered here and I am going on exchange next year.

7 /10
academic
5 /10
faculty
5 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
3 /10
placement
5 /10
extracurricular
19, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Harpreet, CANADA Bba
Wilfrid Laurier University
Current student , Batch : 2022
5.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

FIRST YEAR EXPERIENCE AT WILFRID

Because I got to move away from home and experience living on my own as well as gaining the freedom of having my own place without someone always asking me questions. As well as the program here at Laurier is amazing for business.


Course Curriculum - 

Honestly, I think Laurier has some interesting courses only for older years and first-year students are stuck with boring electives. For example, there is a poli sci class on president Donald Trump but you can only take it in 3rd year.

6 /10
academic
4 /10
faculty
3 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
6 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
27, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Breanne douse, CANADA Kinesiology
Wilfrid Laurier University
Current student , Batch : 2021
9.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

LAURIER UNIVERSITY

It was one of the only options for me to take Kinesiology because in high school I didn't take advanced math or chemistry. I have always loved the school because my older sister studies here as well, so when I got accepted it was an easy decision.


Course Curriculum - 

I like the course curriculum as it has a balance between science and the arts. Some of the classes I'm taking are math based ad science based but I also have the opportunity to work on my writing and communication skills which is important for future careers.

10 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
29, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Samuel, CANADA Ux design
Wilfrid Laurier University
Current student , Batch : 2022
6.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

WIFRID LAURIER UNIVERSITY REVIEW

It had the program I wanted and has a really good community. The campus is nice and small so it is easy to get to know everyone. The professors are nice and helpful. The university staff help make the school feel welcoming so I went.


Course Curriculum - 

The course curriculum is interesting I feel like I'm always learning new things that will help me with my job in the future. I also love how it's set up and the slow increase of difficulty over the years so it's easy to adapt.

7 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
5 /10
accomodation/food
6 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
22, Apr 2019 read more
avatar image
Miroslava, CANADA Polticial science
Wilfrid Laurier University
Current student , Batch : 2022
7.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

REVIEW OF POLSCI STUDENT AT WLU

I opted for this university because of the unique program that it provided. Political science BA with an LLB Law degree in England. It also had a small campus which made it more personalized. It is number 1 in student satisfaction.


Course Curriculum - 

I really like the course curriculum. I think that the choices that it offers are very unique and interesting. The one thing I do not like about it is the mandatory taking of the second data management class.

8 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
22, Apr 2019 read more
avatar image
Supriya, CANADA Communications
Wilfrid Laurier University
Current student , Batch : 2020
6.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

MY EXPERIENCE AS AN INTERNATIONAL STUDENT

Because it had a small campus and a community feel. I enjoyed the feel of the campus when I was researching it. Additionally, this was one of the few universities in Canada where they did offer a co-op program to art students.


Course Curriculum - 

I really enjoy some of the courses I am enrolled in. In Particular, I really enjoy all the digital media classes as it combines education with technology and helps me learn better. I also find it really interesting that online classes have great engagement.

8 /10
academic
6 /10
faculty
5 /10
infrastructure
3 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
29, Apr 2019 read more
avatar image
Courtney macdonald, CANADA Sociology
Wilfrid Laurier University
Current student , Batch : 2019
7.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

LAURIER, WHAT IT'S ALL ABOUT.

I choose to go to this particular college because it was in my home town and allowed me to stay at home and still get an education. This also allowed me to save money while paying tutition and paying for book.


Course Curriculum - 

Overall in my program the curriculum is quite good. I say this because sociology talks about many social inequalities that many individuals face everyday in society. And not only do we learn about them but we learn how to fix them.

7 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
5 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
30, Nov -0001 read more
avatar image
Hayley, CANADA Psychology
Wilfrid Laurier University
Current student , Batch : 2019
2.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

LIFE AT COLLEGE

I picked Laurier because it was close to home and also had a tight knit community feel unlike other schools. Some schools you just feel like a number whereas at Laurier professors and other faculty can recognize you by name.


Course Curriculum - 

It definitely needs work as most of the curriculum for psychology is pure memorization.

1 /10
academic
1 /10
faculty
1 /10
infrastructure
1 /10
accomodation/food
1 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
30, Nov -0001 read more
avatar image
Lindsay noble, CANADA Psychology
Wilfrid Laurier University
Current student , Batch : 2021
7.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

LINDSAY REVIEW

It's very close to home, also the program was known to be very good and I wanted to be able to leave home and meet new people without being so far away from home, also wanted to get out and meet new people but also go somewhere where I knew people


Course Curriculum - 

I think it is well thought out and is interesting while pushing me and having me learn new things. There are a ton of different class options both for programs and electives that are interesting and diverse.

8 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
30, Nov -0001 read more
avatar image
Sami brook, CANADA Kinesiology
Wilfrid Laurier University
Current student , Batch : 2021
8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

WILFRID LAURIER UNIVERSITY 2ND YEAR STUDENT

I chose Laurier because of the small campus size, program reputation, and it is close to my home town. Laurier has smaller class sizes which makes learning a more personal experience and you are able to get more attention from your professors!


Course Curriculum - 

The course curriculum shows a wide variety of subject areas including arts and science. I'm currently taking sociology of physical activity, human physiology, ecotourism and the environment, athlete development and biomechanics.

8 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
30, Nov -0001 read more

Load More Reviews
Apply Now DOWNLOAD BROCHURE  
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

COLLEGES IN ONTARIO, CANADA
Algoma University Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
Carleton University Ottawa, Ontario
OCAD University Toronto, Ontario
University of Waterloo Waterloo, Ontario
University of Windsor Windsor, Ontario
NEAREST RANKED COLLEGES