UNIVERSITY OF WATERLOO - [UW], WATERLOO, ONTARIO - REVIEWS

Waterloo, OntarioLOCATION
UniversitySCHOOL TYPE
Estd 1957Established Year
  35156Enrollment

College rating

based on 26 students ratings

7.9/10

9/10academic
8.2/10infrastructure
8.3/10placements
8.4/10faculty
6.8/10extracurricular
6.9/10accommodation

Reviews

avatar image
Megan, CANADA Kinesiology
University of Waterloo
Current student , Batch : 2020
9
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

VARYING COURSES

I opted for this particular school because it was known as a great school and I had the opportunity to do co-op. I was also interested in the human body and nutrition and want to pursue something later in that field as a career.


Course Curriculum - 

I think that the course curriculum is going well so far. However, I dropped out of the co-op program as the jobs were uninteresting and mostly irrelevant to my degree. All in all, there are lots of courses to choose from, so I like the variety that they offer.

9 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
9 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
15, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Hush, CANADA Engineering
University of Waterloo
Current student , Batch : 2021
9.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

WATERLOO SCHOOL

It had a good co-op program and it is a good school. It always ranks very high in university rankings and has very distinguished and smart professors. The campus is nice too, there is a lot of new technology.


Course Curriculum - 

Difficult but important. Some courses can be brutal and a lot of people fail but I've seen a lot of the course material become necessary in future jobs, projects, and upper year courses. It is a good school.

10 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
10 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
13, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Brittni victoria wells, CANADA Honours arts
University of Waterloo
Current student , Batch : 2021
7.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UW REVIEW

It's one of the best schools in Canada. Waterloo is a good location and has easy access to bussing. The cost of living is lower than in other places. I also have family in the area. As well, the campus is fairly compact, compared to others (ie. Ottawa or UofT).


Course Curriculum - 

I think it's okay, but could be more open to allowing people to be more creative. I find that tests are based on memorization when they could be testing the student's understanding. As well, if there was more choice in tests to be able to show the parts you know well, that would be more beneficial.

9 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
6 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
10 /10
placement
6 /10
extracurricular
14, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Mohamed abayazeed, CANADA Chemical engineering
University of Waterloo
Current student , Batch : 2023
7.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

MY GREAT FIRST TERM

A prestigious university that offers many resources for its students most importantly co-op opportunity that allows for workplace experience to better prepare for careers. Another reason for my choice of this school was the high success rate of its graduates.


Course Curriculum - 

I have yet to experience adequate amounts of courses to comment on the curriculum since I am in my second term, but from what I have witnessed the curriculum well prepares its students for their careers by providing the options to specialize within the program.

9 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
6 /10
extracurricular
17, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Joyce tang, CANADA Math
University of Waterloo
Current student , Batch : 2021
5.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

LIFE AT UOFWATERLOO

I opted for the University of Waterloo because it has a co-op and it is well known. Additionally, it is somewhat close to home. I can live on campus while being in close enough proximity to go home. I like to live on my own.


Course Curriculum - 

My opinion on the course curriculum is that every course is really hard. I think they should make it easier and less work.

5 /10
academic
6 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
5 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
1 /10
extracurricular
17, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Kamal, CANADA Arts and business - psychology
University of Waterloo
Current student , Batch : 2021
5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UWATERLOO HONEST REVIEW

The reason I have chosen this college was that it had a co-op program. It was also one of the only schools to offer both an arts and business program. I wanted to study social sciences; however, I also wanted to study the business side of things. The University of Waterloo let me do exactly that.


Course Curriculum - 

It needs to be modified. There are things that we are learning for the sake of learning them. When I sit in my business classes, I feel that I am getting something out of it. With my social science classes, things are outdated and irrelevant. I also don't think lectures are effective.

6 /10
academic
5 /10
faculty
6 /10
infrastructure
5 /10
accomodation/food
4 /10
placement
4 /10
extracurricular
17, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Anita mpanga, CANADA Life sciences
University of Waterloo
Current student , Batch : 2023
7.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

THE UNIVERSITY IS GOOD

It's good at the program. I liked what was included and felt like it fit in with what I wanted to do with my life and the path that I wanted to take. The program was known to be good so that also pushed me into doing it.


Course Curriculum - 

It's very good. The facilities and education are good. A person feels like they understand and can apply it to all components of assessments that happen in class. It helps a lot with confusion from previous years.

10 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
5 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
6 /10
extracurricular
19, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Michelle watson, CANADA Biomedical engineering
University of Waterloo
Current student , Batch : 2023
8.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

REVIEW OF UNIVERSITY OF WATERLOO

Co-op because it is a program that lets you get work experience while learning which is very rewarding compared to the alternative of graduating with no work experience. Also, the University of Waterloo is known for its engineering program.


Course Curriculum - 

Extensive and informative. Classes involving programming are very helpful when applying to jobs since they teach in-demand skills. As a first year, most courses are very general sign general physics, math and so on.

9 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
10 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
25, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Claudia garcia, CANADA Global business and digital arts
University of Waterloo
Current student , Batch : 2021
7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

A REVIEW FOR THE MARKETING WANT TO BE STUDENTS ABOUT WHAT UNIVERSITY IS LIKE

Good university reputation, I like the program that the university was offering, I thought that it was a perfect combination of the 2 things I like a more, business and digital arts. I also really liked the location of the school.


Course Curriculum - 

I think that the course curriculum could be better, I am actually thinking of changing programs because I am unhappy with the program. I feel like my program has way too many arts and not enough business.

8 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
6 /10
placement
2 /10
extracurricular
29, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Catherine, CANADA Biology
University of Waterloo
Current student , Batch : 2023
9
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UNIVERSITY OF WATERLOO

I chose this college because of the prestige and co-op opportunities. Co-op is a big factor because it allows for you to gain practical work experience and money to pay off student loans. Many Waterloo graduates land a job quickly after graduation.


Course Curriculum - 

It is a relatively manageable course load. The professors are helpful. The program is teaching me nesscery things to know about biology. It is also preparing me well for higher education such as pharmacy school.

10 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
10 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
04, Jan 2019 read more

Load More Reviews
Apply Now DOWNLOAD BROCHURE  
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

AFFILIATED COLLEGES
COLLEGES IN ONTARIO, CANADA
Algoma University Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
Carleton University Ottawa, Ontario
OCAD University Toronto, Ontario
University of Windsor Windsor, Ontario
Brescia University College London, Ontario
NEAREST RANKED COLLEGES
University of Freiburg , Freiburg Avg Fee: $3.41K/Yr 6.2
Brown University , Providence Avg Fee: $49.82K/Yr 6.7
Wageningen University & Research , Wageningen Avg Fee: $21.13K/Yr 6.2
York University , Toronto Avg Fee: $20.23K/Yr 4.3
Michigan State University , East Lansing Avg Fee: $41.49K/Yr 6.1
University of California , Riverside Avg Fee: $45.99K/Yr 4.6
Leipzig University , Leipzig Avg Fee: $10.23K/Yr 4
University of Otago , Dunedin Avg Fee: $18.31K/Yr 5.3
University of Bath , Bath Avg Fee: $25.88K/Yr 5.1
University of Exeter , Exeter Avg Fee: $21.4K/Yr 5.5