Get $150 Scholarship!

CAPILANO UNIVERSITY - [CAPU], NORTH VANCOUVER, BRITISH COLUMBIA - REVIEWS

North Vancouver, British ColumbiaLOCATION
UniversitySCHOOL TYPE
Estd 1968Established Year
  10185Enrollment

College rating

based on 6 students ratings

7.1/10

8/10academic
7.8/10infrastructure
5.8/10placements
8.8/10faculty
6.7/10extracurricular
5.7/10accommodation

Reviews

FILTER BY
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL

POPULAR TAGS

program
course
semester
campus
capilano
faculty
school
tuition
curriculum
final exam
scholarship
review
science
transfer
therapy
M
Meredith miller, CANADA Arts and sciences
Capilano University
Current student , Batch : 2021
6.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

CAPILANO UNIVERSITY - NORTH VANCOUVER, BC

I saw a brochure in my career office in high school and I applied online for a much smaller application fee than other schools. I applied to three universities in total but Capilano U was my first choice. I liked the idea of small class sizes for hard academic classes such as physics and calculus, and though a school such as UBC or SFU is more astute, I will transfer there to finish my degree. I got in with an 88% average out of high school taking 5 academics including AP biology.


Course Curriculum - 

I am working towards a bachelor of science majoring in Environment, ecology, and conservation but I still have to take two levels of calculus, which doesn't make much sense for my degree, but it is good to challenge yourself. The curriculum for most other classes are pretty regular and I enjoy it.

5 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
4 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
15, Oct 2019 read more
A
Aditi persaud, NEPAL Engineering certificate
Capilano University
, Batch : 2020
8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

WHY INTERNATIONAL STUDENTS ARE RUSHING TO CAPILANO UNIVERSITY?

I choose Capilano University because it's a public university and the fee here is comparatively less here. The University is recognized by the British Columbia's Education Quality Assurance (EQA) designation. I applied for a few more universities and colleges but ended up joining Capilano University, because of my academic performance. Our campus is one of the most ethnically diverse campuses in the country, with students from nearly 73 countries. It's like a home away from home. I applied at the Education Planner BC portal and paid an application fee of $135.


Course Curriculum - 

It's only a year-long program and the curriculum is designed keeping in mind the overall growth of the student. We learn laboratory techniques, develop a better understanding of the scientific methods, and learn to solve engineering problems. The course is divided into two terms the first term is 23 credits and the second term is 20 credits.

9 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
22, Aug 2019 read more
E
Erick leclerc, CANADA Motion picture arts
Capilano University
Current student , Batch : 2019
3.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

OVERRATED LEAVING ME UNDERWHELMED

Limited amount of film schools in Western Canada. Only about 4 in particularly in Vancouver where the film industry is most prevalent. Cheapest tuition (still very expensive) of all of the options available. The bonus was that the program included its own equipment and studio which allowed everyone to work on projects locally.


Exams - 

I chose the program because it was the closest I could get to focusing on Cinematography. However, to have to take ever film discipline, I did not have any electives after 2 years in the program. At least the student has the choice to do the 1, 2, or 4-year program and still receive some sort of recognition.

5 /10
academic
5 /10
faculty
3 /10
infrastructure
2 /10
accomodation/food
1 /10
placement
3 /10
extracurricular
21, Aug 2019 read more
O
Olivia, CANADA Associate of science
Capilano University
Current student , Batch : 2022
8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

CAPU REVIEW

The university is Close to home, the admission process involves writing about volunteer and work experiences, extra-curricular activities. I had to write 2 essays. I graduated high school with an average above 95%. This was the only school I applied to as I knew I would get in and I planned to transfer out after a year or two.


Course Curriculum - 

The required courses for the first years in my program make sense, as you need them to successfully move onwards in the path of science.

9 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
5 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
20, Aug 2019 read more
M
Miroslava rodriguez, MEXICO Associate of arts in psychology
Capilano University
Current student , Batch : 2019
8.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

CAPILANO UNIVERSITY REVIEW

In my case, I chose Capilano University to get transfer credits towards another institution since I have heard good things about their transfer program to other British Columbia universities, colleges.


Course Curriculum - 

I think the courses are offered are pretty great! Very interesting and varied to the interests of each person and their program requirements. The misconception that smaller universities and colleges have easier courses is not true at all since the full credits can be transferred where applicable.

10 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
19, Mar 2019 read more
S
Sydney erin freedman, CANADA Bachelors of music therapy
Capilano University
Current student , Batch : 2020
8.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

MUSIC THERAPY AT CAPILANO UNIVERSITY

This was the only university in the province, I live in, that offers a Bachelor of Music therapy program.


Course Curriculum - 

The curriculum itself is very intense. There is a very steep learning curve in the second semester of the 3rd year, and all the students are so caring. Everyone can share their thoughts and opinions, and it just opens the space and makes the learning so much easier knowing everyone is going through the same stuff.

10 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
5 /10
accomodation/food
10 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
15, Mar 2019 read more
Apply Now DOWNLOAD BROCHURE  
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

COLLEGES IN BRITISH COLUMBIA, CANADA
University Canada West Vancouver, British Columbia
Emily Carr University of Art & Design Vancouver, British Columbia
Kwantlen Polytechnic University Surrey, British Columbia
Quest University Canada Squamish, British Columbia
Royal Roads University Victoria, British Columbia