LAKEHEAD UNIVERSITY - [LU], THUNDER BAY, ONTARIO - REVIEWS

Thunder Bay, OntarioLOCATION
UniversitySCHOOL TYPE
Estd 1965Established Year
  8600Enrollment

College rating

based on 5 students ratings

7.6/10

8.5/10academic
7.3/10infrastructure
6.8/10placements
8.3/10faculty
8/10extracurricular
6.3/10accommodation

Reviews

avatar image
Caroline raymer, CANADA Kinesiology
Lakehead University
Current student , Batch : 2022
9
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

LAKEHEAD UNIVERSITY - THUNDER BAY

Smaller class sizes allowed for more one on one time with profs. Amazing professors, who care for students. There was also an opportunity for financial help. I also loved the campus, it is very beautiful and smaller.


Course Curriculum - 

The course content and curriculum is exactly what it was advertised to be. The program covers all the fields needed to help one become successful. This particular program begins labs and hands-on learning if the first year allowing students the opportunity to have experiential learning.

10 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
26, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Jonathon, CANADA English
Lakehead University
Current student , Batch : 2020
7.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

LAKEHEAD, A SCHOOL IN THE PAST

I liked the city and just wanted a small and quiet school away from everyone I used to know. Lakehead seemed like a great place when I saw it at the school fair, but it has just felt all downhill since I started.


Course Curriculum - 

It kind of sucks, too much repetition and nothing modern. All we study is poetry, which I know is an important part of English history. I wanted to become a better writer, haven't got the chance to learn yet.

7 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
9 /10
accomodation/food
3 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
16, Apr 2019 read more
avatar image
Andrea, CANADA Nursing
Lakehead University
Current student , Batch : 2020
7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

LU REVIEW

The location was appealing to me and I had family in the city if I needed help with anything. I also had friends in the city and knew the city well. I heard it was one of the best places for nursing as you get to start placements in year 1.


Course Curriculum - 

They could use some improvement but overall I believe that they are preparing us to be great nurses. The class sizes are reasonable and the clinical education practice is an excellent learning opportunity.

8 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
6 /10
extracurricular
23, Apr 2019 read more
avatar image
Mackenzie, CANADA Mechanical engineering
Lakehead University
Current student , Batch : 2023
6.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

MACKENZIE'S PERSPECTIVE FOR LAKEHEAD UNIVERSITY

First and foremost, the campus and location. I love Northern Ontario and it's wildlife. There is an overwhelming feeling of calm whenever I am in Thunder Bay from the moment I land, very different from the hustle and bustle of Toronto. Secondly, the faculty. I first met the faculty at a college/university fair in Toronto in my grade 12 year, and they were so nice and welcoming. They weren't condescending or judgmental and answered all my questions - unlike the other schools. Thirdly, I wanted to be out on my own. Thunder Bay is very far from my home and when I was coming here, that's what I needed.


Course Curriculum - 

I like the curriculum. It's challenging at times, but I like that challenge.

8 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
6 /10
infrastructure
3 /10
accomodation/food
6 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
30, Nov -0001 read more
avatar image
Navyashree nagaraja gowda, INDIA Msc computer science
Lakehead University
Current student , Batch : 2020
9.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

MY UNIVERSITY REVIEW

I got to know about LU via my consultancy. But since the application deadline was very near by then, I had a lot things to do. It was the first University I applied for so had an emotional consideration. The process was very smooth since the university website has every content in it. Eventually after couple of months got my first acceptance from LU. It was joyous moment.


Exams - 

My TOEFL score was 109 which is above cut off and also additionally I had a GRE score of 290. I feel it was an advantage because it was mandatory for the MSc program at LU. Also, my SoP for this program was very close to me as it was my first. Coming to the program outline, the project was an attractive option compared to the thesis as I was particular on my career option. The credit system was very clear and the academic outstanding had challenging requirements which needed core subject along with electives.

10 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
10 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
30, Nov -0001 read more
avatar image
Mackenzie, CANADA Mechanical engineering
Lakehead University
Current student , Batch : 2023
6.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

THE ONE WITH THE PURPLE HAIR

First and foremost, the campus and location. I love Northern Ontario and it's wildlife. There is an overwhelming feeling of calm whenever I am in Thunder Bay from the moment I land, very different from the hustle and bustle of Toronto. Secondly, the faculty. I first met the faculty at a college/university fair in Toronto in my grade 12 year, and there were so nice and welcoming.


Course Curriculum - 

I really like the curriculum. It's challenging at times but I like that challenge.

8 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
6 /10
infrastructure
3 /10
accomodation/food
6 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
30, Nov -0001 read more
Apply Now DOWNLOAD BROCHURE  
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

COLLEGES IN ONTARIO, CANADA
Algoma University Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
Carleton University Ottawa, Ontario
OCAD University Toronto, Ontario
University of Waterloo Waterloo, Ontario
University of Windsor Windsor, Ontario
NEAREST RANKED COLLEGES