Get $150 Scholarship!

LAKEHEAD UNIVERSITY - [LU], THUNDER BAY, ONTARIO - REVIEWS

Thunder Bay, OntarioLOCATION
UniversitySCHOOL TYPE
Estd 1965Established Year
  8600Enrollment

College rating

based on 8 students ratings

8/10

8.5/10academic
7.8/10infrastructure
8.1/10placements
8.3/10faculty
8.2/10extracurricular
7/10accommodation

Reviews

FILTER BY
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL

POPULAR TAGS

course
faculty
program
tuition
curriculum
lakehead
campus
experience
scholarship
opportunity
provide
school
structure
computer
science
B
Bahadur pratap patel, INDIA Bachelor of business administration [b.b.a] on-campus
Lakehead University, Orilla Campus
Alumna/alumnus , Batch : 2018
9.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

MY AMAZING COLLEGE LIFE AT LAKEHEAD UNIVERSITY-ORILLIA

I had a senior friend from school who studied in the same college. He told me that his college provided a financial aid of near about $500 to the students who were in 12th grade and traveled for more than 150km who came to study over there. Being an international student I thought I could be one of them. I applied through the online application form available on the official website along with an application fee of $150.


Course Curriculum - 

I have learned the fundamental principles that involved the management of organizations. Also, I've found that the curriculum of my college was designed such that it paid specific emphasis on the functions of management related to the planning, organizing, decision-making, and controlling of organizational activities. I believe I have gained a comprehensive overview of the dynamic relationships existing between many interacting components.

10 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
9 /10
accomodation/food
10 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
05, Nov 2019 read more
R
Ratan ambekar, INDIA Mba
Lakehead University, Orilla Campus
, Batch : 2019
9.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

MY WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE AT THE LAKEHEAD UNIVERSITY-ORILLIA.

I had always wanted to pursue a Business Administration course from a good university and for which I had done a lot of research. I have got to know about the Lakehead University-Orillia, and I applied for the same at the earliest. I had submitted nearly $200 for the admission along with all the necessary documents, in order to get admission in the university. The application was submitted through an online admission portal.


Course Curriculum - 

The MBA course delivers all the essential skills needed to study MBA and to become a future leader. In the course curriculum, I had studied economics, mathematics, Business Administration, marketing, and finance. The course is very dynamic, and so the teachers. The curriculum also includes internship and training with world leaders.

9 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
10 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
30, Oct 2019 read more
M
Mridula goswami, NEPAL Mba
Lakehead University, Orilla Campus
, Batch : 2020
7.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

LAKEHEAD UNIVERSITY- FOR YOUR BRIGHT FUTURE

I choose this college for my MBA Degree because of its curriculum and placement value. Its MBA program focuses on enhancing decision-making, analytical, and communication skills. There are small-sized classes and faculty here are highly experienced ones. I find its curriculum really promising and interesting. To get in, I applied through the Lakehead University admission portal. The application fee was $135.


Course Curriculum - 

The course of the MBA program is designed very well which aims at improving the analytical, and communication skills of the students. During the session, we get to do intense class discussions, and case studies. As a part of the curriculum, we also do experiential learning projects that enhance our business skills.

8 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
09, Sep 2019 read more
avatar image
Mackenzie, CANADA Mechanical engineering
Lakehead University
Current student , Batch : 2023
6.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

MACKENZIE'S PERSPECTIVE FOR LAKEHEAD UNIVERSITY

First and foremost, the campus and location. I love Northern Ontario and it's wildlife. There is an overwhelming feeling of calm whenever I am in Thunder Bay from the moment I land, very different from the hustle and bustle of Toronto. Secondly, the faculty. I first met the faculty at a college/university fair in Toronto in my grade 12 year, and they were so nice and welcoming. They weren't condescending or judgmental and answered all my questions - unlike the other schools. Thirdly, I wanted to be out on my own. Thunder Bay is very far from my home and when I was coming here, that's what I needed.


Course Curriculum - 

I like the curriculum. It's challenging at times, but I like that challenge.

8 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
6 /10
infrastructure
3 /10
accomodation/food
6 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
07, Sep 2019 read more
M
Megha rampersad, NEPAL Bsc in computer science
Lakehead University
, Batch : 2018
7.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

WHY CHOOSE BSC IN COMPUTER SCIENCE FROM LAKEHEAD UNIVERSITY?

I applied for 5 colleges in Canada and got admission to Lakehead University. I did my BSc in Computer Science from this university because of its high placement rate and exposure to the latest high-tech technology. The program expenses were quite low in the pocket. We get many scholarships and work-study opportunities to support our finances. I applied to the official website of the college, also I paid $125 as the application fee.


Course Curriculum - 

The course of BSc in Computer Science is divided into two streams Business and Science. I applied for the Science stream and it included computer programming, calculus, discrete mathematics, and a combination of English, History, or Philosophy. The curriculum is designed to focus on Science and Environmental Science electives.

8 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
23, Aug 2019 read more
avatar image
Navyashree nagaraja gowda, INDIA Msc computer science
Lakehead University
Current student , Batch : 2020
9.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

MY UNIVERSITY REVIEW

I got to know about LU via my consultancy. But since the application deadline was very near by then, I had a lot things to do. It was the first University I applied for so had an emotional consideration. The process was very smooth since the university website has every content in it. Eventually after couple of months got my first acceptance from LU. It was joyous moment.


Exams - 

My TOEFL score was 109 which is above cut off and also additionally I had a GRE score of 290. I feel it was an advantage because it was mandatory for the MSc program at LU. Also, my SoP for this program was very close to me as it was my first. Coming to the program outline, the project was an attractive option compared to the thesis as I was particular on my career option. The credit system was very clear and the academic outstanding had challenging requirements which needed core subject along with electives.

10 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
10 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
31, Jul 2019 read more
A
Andrea, CANADA Nursing
Lakehead University
Current student , Batch : 2020
7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

LU REVIEW

The location was appealing to me and I had family in the city if I needed help with anything. I also had friends in the city and knew the city well. I heard it was one of the best places for nursing as you get to start placements in year 1.


Course Curriculum - 

They could use some improvement but overall I believe that they are preparing us to be great nurses. The class sizes are reasonable and the clinical education practice is an excellent learning opportunity.

8 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
6 /10
extracurricular
23, Apr 2019 read more
J
Jonathon, CANADA English
Lakehead University
Current student , Batch : 2020
7.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

LAKEHEAD, A SCHOOL IN THE PAST

I liked the city and just wanted a small and quiet school away from everyone I used to know. Lakehead seemed like a great place when I saw it at the school fair, but it has just felt all downhill since I started.


Course Curriculum - 

It kind of sucks, too much repetition and nothing modern. All we study is poetry, which I know is an important part of English history. I wanted to become a better writer, haven't got the chance to learn yet.

7 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
9 /10
accomodation/food
3 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
16, Apr 2019 read more
C
Caroline raymer, CANADA Kinesiology
Lakehead University
Current student , Batch : 2022
9
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

LAKEHEAD UNIVERSITY - THUNDER BAY

Smaller class sizes allowed for more one on one time with profs. Amazing professors, who care for students. There was also an opportunity for financial help. I also loved the campus, it is very beautiful and smaller.


Course Curriculum - 

The course content and curriculum is exactly what it was advertised to be. The program covers all the fields needed to help one become successful. This particular program begins labs and hands-on learning if the first year allowing students the opportunity to have experiential learning.

10 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
26, Mar 2019 read more
S
Silvia, CANADA Concurrent education (french)
Lakehead University
Current student , Batch : 2022
5.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

GREAT UNIVERSITY EXPERIENCE

I opted for this particular university because it is close to my home town. Another reason is that I am able to save a lot of money by residing close to home. I was able to save thousands of dollars by staying in town.


Course Curriculum - 

My opinion on the course curriculum is good! It's your average university course. It isn't much different compared to other courses I have seen. The curriculum is what it states to be and isn't far off.

7 /10
academic
4 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
2 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
6 /10
extracurricular
17, Mar 2019 read more
Apply Now DOWNLOAD BROCHURE  
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

FACULTY, SCHOOLS AND CAMPUSES
COLLEGES IN ONTARIO, CANADA
Algoma University Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
Carleton University Ottawa, Ontario
OCAD University Toronto, Ontario
University of Waterloo Waterloo, Ontario
University of Windsor Windsor, Ontario
NEAREST RANKED COLLEGES