QUEEN'S UNIVERSITY, KINGSTON, ONTARIO - REVIEWS

Kingston, OntarioLOCATION
UniversitySCHOOL TYPE
Estd 1841Established Year
  24143Enrollment

College rating

based on 19 students ratings

7.7/10

8.1/10academic
7.8/10infrastructure
5.9/10placements
7.7/10faculty
8.9/10extracurricular
7.6/10accommodation

Reviews

avatar image
Lucas, CANADA Mathematics
Queen's University
Alumna/alumnus , Batch : 2018
6.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

QUEEN'S - COURSES AND TUTION FEE

Parents went there. Was originally in the con-Ed program, one of few in the province. It was far away from home while being less than a day?s travel. Cost of living was much lower than home, and it had a vibrant queer community.


Course Curriculum - 

Curriculum was comprehensive, and offered a wide range of subjects within mathematics. Everything from actuary studies to complex analysis to game theory was offered as courses. Professor quality varied.

7 /10
academic
6 /10
faculty
4 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
4 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
30, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Rachel, CANADA Computer science
Queen's University
Current student , Batch : 2019
7.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

MY UNDERGRAD EXPERIENCE

The first year was very general. Gave me more time to figure out exactly what I wanted to study. Though I could have gone somewhere else and switched programs if I found I was more interested in something else, the lack of commitment on entrance was very attractive to me.


Course Curriculum - 

I'm quite satisfied with it. I found when I did an internship between my 3rd and the 4th year of my degree I had a lot to learn. However, I understand that every job requires different skills and teaching students to a point where they feel completely equipped to jump into the workforce is not possible.

7 /10
academic
6 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
6 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
14, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Andrea eden, CANADA Arts
Queen's University
Current student , Batch : 2019
8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

MY TIME AT QUEEN'S

Reputation, family ties, beautiful campus, I had always wanted to go here. Compared to other universities in my province the campus is far nicer, the building is prettier. Also, it isn't too far from home.


Course Curriculum - 

Fair. I wish there was a greater range of available courses in the history department as I felt I've had to take courses just to get a credit that I'm not genuinely interested in. But there are a number of interesting courses

7 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
14, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Rachel hartley, CANADA Boimedical computing
Queen's University
Alumna/alumnus , Batch : 2017
7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

ONE STUDENT'S REVIEW OF QUEEN'S

The university was close to home, had a unique program not offered in many schools and had a small campus where you could go from one end to the other in 10 minutes. Student housing was near the campus and students were very close.


Course Curriculum - 

It was a little all over the place. There were a lot of different courses and ranging topics, so you got a good intro into multiple subjects. But it felt like it was lacking a true depth on the subject as well as practical experience.

8 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
4 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
16, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Alexander vanderhoof, CANADA Applied economics
Queen's University
Current student , Batch : 2019
7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

ALEX'S REVIEW

My mother went to Queen's University for undergraduate and graduate work, and it is one of the best schools in the country. Kingston, Ontario is a very nice city and the program was a good match for me.


Course Curriculum - 

The economics program at Queen's is fairly theory oriented could use a bit more practical application. However, if pursued properly (i.e study and do all of the required work) the degree primes one for professional work as an economist.

8 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
6 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
5 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
19, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Reilly missen, CANADA Engineering
Queen's University
Alumna/alumnus , Batch : 2018
8.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

ENGINEERING AT QUEEN'S UNIVERSITY

I felt the school had a good reputation for engineering and I also liked the city, sitting lakeside like my hometown. The school also provided me with scholarships that I could not turn down.


Course Curriculum - 

I feel that the course curriculum was quite intense but certainly manageable. As I progressed into higher years, I found a suitable routine and organization strategy that worked to balance work and personal life.

8 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
10 /10
accomodation/food
6 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
27, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Emma campbell, CANADA Psychology
Queen's University
Current student , Batch : 2021
7.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

THE PROS AND CONS OF GOING TO QUEEN'S UNIVERSITY

Knew a lot of friends that planned on attending the university and had a strong interest in their cheerleading team. A great community environment and a very pretty campus felt very welcomed. It was very easy to make friends.


Course Curriculum - 

They offer a great variety of courses in my program. Some courses are better organized than others, most are weighted well and fairly graded. Some required courses were not very useful but a lot taught me a lot that I will be able to apply to future courses.

7 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
6 /10
infrastructure
9 /10
accomodation/food
4 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
29, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Claire smith, CANADA Concurrent education
Queen's University
Current student , Batch : 2019
7.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

QUEEN'S UNIVERSITY: CANADA'S IVY LEAGUE EQUIVALENT

Because of the ability to take courses in multiple disciplines (a Bachelor of Arts within the Concurrent Education program has allowed me to pursue a drama major, English minor, and Certificate in Business prior to my final year in primary junior teaching).


Course Curriculum - 

It is in depth and reasonable, although slightly liberal. The best courses are ones that have curriculum focusing on current events and relevancy to real life (e.g. Arts Administration, Organizational Behaviour).

8 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
6 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
29, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Trevor gooden, CANADA Economics
Queen's University
Current student , Batch : 2021
8.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

QUEEN'S UNIVERSITY OVERVIEW

The school spirit is excellent, I think it's unrivaled in Canada. The campus is beautiful, with scenic views and an awesome lake for events. Buildings and infrastructure are excellent as well. Finally, there is an excellent community feel.


Course Curriculum - 

My course curriculum is very good. It is incredibly thorough and well prepares me for working in economics. At the same time, it is incredibly difficult as a result and many people end up dropping out of the program.

9 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
31, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Mitchell malinsky, CANADA Queen's commerce
Queen's University
Current student , Batch : 2019
8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

QUEEN'S COMMERCE REVIEW

Queen's is renowned for having one of the best commerce programs in the country. Plus exchange abroad in the third year! Kingston is also relatively close to home and is a gorgeous campus. The school offers a ton of extracurriculars too.


Course Curriculum - 

Queen's Commerce offers an extremely well-structured curriculum. You are exposed to all areas of commerce in the first and second year and then given free rein in your third and fourth years. The best part about Queen's Commerce is the opportunity to join conferences and other executives

9 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
3 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
23, Apr 2019 read more

Load More Reviews
Apply Now DOWNLOAD BROCHURE  
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

FACULTY, SCHOOLS AND CAMPUSES
COLLEGES IN ONTARIO, CANADA
Algoma University Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
Carleton University Ottawa, Ontario
OCAD University Toronto, Ontario
University of Waterloo Waterloo, Ontario
University of Windsor Windsor, Ontario
NEAREST RANKED COLLEGES