Get $150 Scholarship!

QUEEN'S UNIVERSITY, KINGSTON, ONTARIO - REVIEWS

Kingston, OntarioLOCATION
UniversitySCHOOL TYPE
Estd 1841Established Year

College rating

based on 22 students ratings

7.7/10

8/10academic
7.7/10infrastructure
6.1/10placements
7.8/10faculty
8.9/10extracurricular
7.7/10accommodation

Reviews

FILTER BY
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL

POPULAR TAGS

tuition
faculty
program
residence
school
exam structure
campus
course curriculum
midterm
professor
review
science
experience
financial aid
commerce
R
Raghavan dayal, INDIA Bachelor computing and the creative arts online
Queen's University
Current student , Batch : 2021
7.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

A WONDERFUL PLACE TO LEARN

I wanted to get admission in the university that offers an extensive learning program in computing and fine arts as it is my area of interest. One of my school teachers also recommended me to apply at this university. Thus I applied for the university. Luckily my application was accepted by the university. The application form's fee cost me $105.


Course Curriculum - 

I am studying a four years program that consists of 120 unit credits. Through this course, I can participate in advanced courses in Art, Drama, Film, or Music while maintaining a solid concentration in Computer Science and Mathematics.

7 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
01, Aug 2019 read more
R
Riddhi shukla, BANGLADESH Computing and the creative arts
Queen's University
, Batch : 2021
7.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

PLACE TO LEARN

I wanted to get admission in the college that offers an extensive learning program in computing and fine arts as I was my area of interest, and after hearing a lot about this college from the teachers in India, I made my mind to apply in this college and by god' grace got admission in this university as well. Applied online at the OUAC, paid around 100 CAD as the application fee.


Course Curriculum - 

The course curriculum is designed to make learning much easier for students. It's a 4-years honors programs consist of 120 unit credits. Through the program, we get to participate in advanced courses in Art, Drama, Film, or Music, while maintaining a solid concentration in Computer Science and Mathematics.

7 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
01, Aug 2019 read more
avatar image
Elim chan, CANADA Music
Queen's University
Current student , Batch : 2020
8.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UNIVERSITY AS A GAEL

It offers a good Music program, and when I auditioned I didn't think I'd get in but I received my letter of acceptance in April. It was one of my top choices out of 4 that I applied to. I really wanted to go to Queen's because it's reputable and several of my cousins went there. I was an Honour Roll student and I had a B+ average.


Course Curriculum - 

There's about 40 students per year in my faculty and a lot of people drop out or switch programs within the first and second year. There are only 7 professors within the Music faculty- and only a few are full-time professors that teach our core courses. Teaching includes lectures mainly and showing musical examples and excerpts. Listening, ear training and sight-singing as well.

9 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
9 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
17, Jun 2019 read more
C
Chauntae, CANADA Arts and science
Queen's University
Current student , Batch : 2020
7.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

QUEEN'S UNIVERSITY

Its reputation and sense of community is something I was immediately attracted to. Also, Queen's prides itself on its traditions and heritage that are part of its history as an educational institution. Also, Queen's is a fair distance away from my hometown so it's not hard to get home if needed but also I'm far away at the same time.


Course Curriculum - 

I enjoy what I learn in my program a lot! Sociology is very all-encompassing in which topics I learn can be anything among the following and more: surveillance, technology, consumer culture, gender and feminist theory, labor, or urban development. I believe the content is interdisciplinary and I enjoy that the most about the curriculum.

8 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
5 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
25, Apr 2019 read more
M
Mitchell malinsky, CANADA Queen's commerce
Queen's University
Current student , Batch : 2019
8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

QUEEN'S COMMERCE REVIEW

Queen's is renowned for having one of the best commerce programs in the country. Plus exchange abroad in the third year! Kingston is also relatively close to home and is a gorgeous campus. The school offers a ton of extracurriculars too.


Course Curriculum - 

Queen's Commerce offers an extremely well-structured curriculum. You are exposed to all areas of commerce in the first and second year and then given free rein in your third and fourth years. The best part about Queen's Commerce is the opportunity to join conferences and other executives

9 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
3 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
23, Apr 2019 read more
T
Trevor gooden, CANADA Economics
Queen's University
Current student , Batch : 2021
8.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

QUEEN'S UNIVERSITY OVERVIEW

The school spirit is excellent, I think it's unrivaled in Canada. The campus is beautiful, with scenic views and an awesome lake for events. Buildings and infrastructure are excellent as well. Finally, there is an excellent community feel.


Course Curriculum - 

My course curriculum is very good. It is incredibly thorough and well prepares me for working in economics. At the same time, it is incredibly difficult as a result and many people end up dropping out of the program.

9 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
31, Mar 2019 read more
L
Lucas, CANADA Mathematics
Queen's University
Alumna/alumnus , Batch : 2018
6.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

QUEEN'S - COURSES AND TUTION FEE

Parents went there. Was originally in the con-Ed program, one of few in the province. It was far away from home while being less than a day?s travel. Cost of living was much lower than home, and it had a vibrant queer community.


Course Curriculum - 

Curriculum was comprehensive, and offered a wide range of subjects within mathematics. Everything from actuary studies to complex analysis to game theory was offered as courses. Professor quality varied.

7 /10
academic
6 /10
faculty
4 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
4 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
30, Mar 2019 read more
E
Emma campbell, CANADA Psychology
Queen's University
Current student , Batch : 2021
7.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

THE PROS AND CONS OF GOING TO QUEEN'S UNIVERSITY

Knew a lot of friends that planned on attending the university and had a strong interest in their cheerleading team. A great community environment and a very pretty campus felt very welcomed. It was very easy to make friends.


Course Curriculum - 

They offer a great variety of courses in my program. Some courses are better organized than others, most are weighted well and fairly graded. Some required courses were not very useful but a lot taught me a lot that I will be able to apply to future courses.

7 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
6 /10
infrastructure
9 /10
accomodation/food
4 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
29, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Claire smith, CANADA Concurrent education
Queen's University
Current student , Batch : 2019
7.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

QUEEN'S UNIVERSITY: CANADA'S IVY LEAGUE EQUIVALENT

Because of the ability to take courses in multiple disciplines (a Bachelor of Arts within the Concurrent Education program has allowed me to pursue a drama major, English minor, and Certificate in Business prior to my final year in primary junior teaching).


Course Curriculum - 

It is in depth and reasonable, although slightly liberal. The best courses are ones that have curriculum focusing on current events and relevancy to real life (e.g. Arts Administration, Organizational Behaviour).

8 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
6 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
29, Mar 2019 read more
R
Reilly missen, CANADA Engineering
Queen's University
Alumna/alumnus , Batch : 2018
8.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

ENGINEERING AT QUEEN'S UNIVERSITY

I felt the school had a good reputation for engineering and I also liked the city, sitting lakeside like my hometown. The school also provided me with scholarships that I could not turn down.


Course Curriculum - 

I feel that the course curriculum was quite intense but certainly manageable. As I progressed into higher years, I found a suitable routine and organization strategy that worked to balance work and personal life.

8 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
10 /10
accomodation/food
6 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
27, Mar 2019 read more

Apply Now DOWNLOAD BROCHURE  
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

FACULTY, SCHOOLS AND CAMPUSES
COLLEGES IN ONTARIO, CANADA
Algoma University Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
Carleton University Ottawa, Ontario
OCAD University Toronto, Ontario
University of Waterloo Waterloo, Ontario
University of Windsor Windsor, Ontario
NEAREST RANKED COLLEGES
McMaster University , Hamilton Avg Fee: $24.28K/Yr 5.5
McGill University , Montreal Avg Fee: $13.58K/Yr 6.6
University of Montreal , Montreal Avg Fee: $19.6K/Yr 6
Laval University , Quebec City Avg Fee: $11.08K/Yr 4.9
Ryerson University , Toronto Avg Fee: $19.19K/Yr 4.1
University of Waterloo , Waterloo Avg Fee: $26.48K/Yr 5.3
University of Saskatchewan , Saskatoon Avg Fee: $13.53K/Yr 4.3
University of Ottawa , Ottawa Avg Fee: $18.08K/Yr 4.7
University of Calgary , Calgary Avg Fee: $13.75K/Yr 5.4
Western University , London Avg Fee: $23.28K/Yr 5