RYERSON UNIVERSITY, TORONTO, ONTARIO - REVIEWS

Toronto, OntarioLOCATION
UniversitySCHOOL TYPE
Estd 1948Established Year
  36347Enrollment

College rating

based on 24 students ratings

7.7/10

8/10academic
7.3/10infrastructure
7/10placements
8/10faculty
7.8/10extracurricular
7.9/10accommodation

Reviews

avatar image
Anne tran, CANADA Interior design
Ryerson University
Current student , Batch : 2019
6.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

RYERSON UNIVERSITY - STUDENT LIFE WITH HIGH COMPETITION

The program is a great experience to learn the basic fundamentals of not only interior design but also other industries(architecture, graphic design, industrial design, urban planning, fashion design etc.) .


Course Curriculum - 

Technical and informative but does need work on improvement. Mandatory classes teach practical drafting and modeling software skills for designers. Other studio classes allow students to explore and communicate their creativity. Program's union continues to change and improve the curriculum year by year.

7 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
5 /10
infrastructure
10 /10
accomodation/food
5 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
14, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Jesse, CANADA Business management
Ryerson University
Current student , Batch : 2021
8.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

STUDENT LIFE AT RYERSON

I opted into this particular college is because it is very close to my home. It is in fact walking distance. Another reason is because the requirements to get into the college was not too hard or too easy.


Course Curriculum - 

I believe that the course curriculum is a little outdated as we are always studying content based off the text book. We do use technology but I feel like this course is very outdated as other colleges are using more tech.

9 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
10 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
16, Apr 2019 read more
avatar image
Juliana de stefano, CANADA Business management
Ryerson University
Current student , Batch : 2020
8.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

RYE HIGH IS THE WAY TO GO

I wanted a university that was downtown so I could experience the downtown life. I love that everything I want is within minutes. Also, the university has connections with all types of businesses downtown so it will make it easier to find a job after graduation.


Course Curriculum - 

I am enjoying it and feel as though it is the right fit for me. I feel at home and also feel as though the program is the right fit and will help me find my ideal career. It is well balanced and has many courses to choose from.

9 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
10 /10
accomodation/food
2 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
15, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Sana junaid, CANADA Psychology
Ryerson University
Current student , Batch : 2022
5.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

A REVIEW OF RYERSON UNIVERSITY

It's close and has an undergrad thesis program, it has less of a population than bigger schools like UFT so there are more teacher-student interaction and increased opportunities to get positions like RA. The downtown campus is also a very good location bc there are a lot of surrounding hospitals for work opportunities.


Course Curriculum - 

They require a 1-year base level for all arts program which I find personally is a waste of time. Allowing students to specialize in their program right from the first year would be a more effective use of time and money as opposed to only allowing 2 courses related to my major to be taken in the first year.

5 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
4 /10
infrastructure
10 /10
accomodation/food
2 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
16, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Faizan, CANADA Chemical engineering
Ryerson University
Current student , Batch : 2022
8.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

RYERSON UNIVERSITY EXPERIENCE

I wanted to enroll in the chemical engineering program offered at Ryerson. The location of the university was very nice situated in the heart of downtown Toronto. I enjoy this environment to learn and attend school.


Course Curriculum - 

I think the curriculum is pretty well adjusted for the current program as many of the concepts help greatly in this field. Many core skills are emphasized in this program so I think the curriculum really helps new students adjust to their career path and continue to enhance their knowledge in their given programs throughout their years at Ryerson.

8 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
9 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
26, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Jess lin, CANADA Business
Ryerson University
Current student , Batch : 2020
7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

LIFE AT RYERSON

Close to home so I can see my family but also far enough to stay on the residence. Also, it is a well-known school in the area and had a program that fit my interests well. It was also one of the first programs I got into.


Course Curriculum - 

It can be hard and the teachers are sometimes not the best. However, I do learn a lot and it is a lot of important stuff. However, the liberal courses are completely useless and a waste of money to take.

7 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
6 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
6 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
26, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Karen fang, CANADA Architectural science
Ryerson University
Current student , Batch : 2020
7.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

RYERSON ARCHITECTURE CO-OP STUDENT

I decided to go to this college because I believe it offered the best student life experience and gave me a good start for jobs after I graduated. This program offers a 5-year degree for those who qualify for co-op too.


Course Curriculum - 

Overall, I think the course curriculum is good. The department gets audited everywhere to receive their accreditation so obviously, it's been at least acceptable. What I like the most is that the course material really prepares you for the workforce.

9 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
10 /10
placement
4 /10
extracurricular
04, Jan 2019 read more
avatar image
Amilah ali, CANADA Business management
Ryerson University
Current student , Batch : 2020
6.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

MY UNIVERSITY REVIEW

The course selection, location of the campus, and experience it offers, I also liked being in the city and the university offers a hands-on approach to learning. being downtown also made me close to a lot of business and opportunities.


Course Curriculum - 

I like it, the courses in the first 2 years though are challenging and some are not enjoyable but when you reach the upper years you can choose more courses you like and its easier to study and do well in them.

7 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
6 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
26, Apr 2019 read more
avatar image
Tory, CANADA Nursing
Ryerson University
Alumna/alumnus , Batch : 2015
6
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

TORY'S COLLEGE LIFE

Proximity to home. I did not have the funds to live on campus. Anticipated benefits and partnerships for future careers. The downtown location is convenient and being in the city is enjoyable. Know alumnus who enjoyed their time.


Course Curriculum - 

Too much theory. Reading articles and being tested on them is not learning anything. It only tests your memorization skills. Not enough hands-on experience. The professors were good. The quality of clinical given to students should have been spread out more evenly.

7 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
6 /10
infrastructure
5 /10
accomodation/food
5 /10
placement
5 /10
extracurricular
30, Nov -0001 read more
avatar image
Jay, CANADA Business management
Ryerson University
Current student , Batch : 2021
8.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

RYERSON UNI REVIEW

For its name, because Ryerson is a well-known school around Toronto. Also for the program, I'm applying to, which is business management. Also, Ryerson is in the heart of downtown where all these big firms are, so we are well exposed to that.


Course Curriculum - 

It's not bad, there are some required courses we have to take but I feel like some are pointless, like for the degree. However, there are some courses that I find useful that we aren't required to take.

9 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
9 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
30, Nov -0001 read more

Load More Reviews
Apply Now DOWNLOAD BROCHURE  
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

COLLEGES IN ONTARIO, CANADA
Algoma University Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
Carleton University Ottawa, Ontario
OCAD University Toronto, Ontario
University of Waterloo Waterloo, Ontario
University of Windsor Windsor, Ontario
NEAREST RANKED COLLEGES