Get $150 Scholarship!

ST. THOMAS UNIVERSITY - [STU], FREDERICTON, NEWBRUNSWICK - REVIEWS

Fredericton, NewBrunswickLOCATION
UniversitySCHOOL TYPE
Estd 1910Established Year
  4538Enrollment
×

College rating

based on 7 students ratings

7.6/10

8.1/10academic
7.8/10infrastructure
6.5/10placements
8.8/10faculty
7.4/10extracurricular
7.1/10accommodation

Reviews

FILTER BY
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL

POPULAR TAGS

program
tuition
faculty
interest
scholarship
admission
course curriculum
credit
degree
education
experience
residence
school
structure
journalism
avatar image
Michaela, CANADA Bachelor of arts
St. Thomas University
Alumna/alumnus , Batch : 2019
7.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

ABOUT STU

Criminology program, low tuition cost, close to home. Stays close to home allowed me to save an abundance of money, all the while being able to attend a university that was rich with academics. This also allowed me to not have the stress of living on my own while trying to explore my first year of university.


Course Curriculum - 

The program offers a wide variety of subjects, whether you have an interest in the social sciences, language or arts.

10 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
6 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
05, Sep 2019 read more
P
Parveen bedi, NEPAL Major in journalism
St. Thomas University
, Batch : 2022
8.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

WHAT ST.THOMAS UNIVERSITY OFFERS TO THE UNDERGRAD JOURNALISM STUDENTS?

Since my school days, I wanted to do my Bachelor's in Journalism, and I heard about St. Thomas University through one of my friends. The best thing I felt about this university is that it offers a wide range of undergraduate and graduate programs at quite an affordable cost. I applied for four different universities but the course and tuition fee I was looking for that best suits my budget was offered by St. Thomas. Also, I really like the accommodation facility here, it is spacious, clean, and really safe. So, I submitted my application form through the online portal, the application fee was $55.


Course Curriculum - 

The course of Bachelor of Journalism is very well designed as it works on building our writing, storytelling, reporting, and many more skills. We learn to do podcasting, digital journalism, social media management as well which is really awesome. We get enough opportunities to utilize our theoretical knowledge in the real world. We have to do an internship during the course which is a bonus for us to learn and gain real experience of the work culture in the journalism sector.

9 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
9 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
20, Aug 2019 read more
A
Aditya chandra, INDIA Bachelor of social work [b.s.w] on-campus
St. Thomas University
Recently passed out , Batch : 2020
6.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

BSW- A PRACTICAL INTENSIVE COURSE

Bachelor of Arts is the core academic program at St. Thomas University and as I wanted to pursue Post-degree Bachelor in social work, I found this university significant. I have checked about the course on the University Website and come to know that it offers a direct field placement and social action field placement that provides first-hand experience in practical social work. The university also provides the course in the English language. I had a cumulative GPA of 4.0 in my Bachelor in social work and had the experience to work as a social-work volunteer, I applied for the course through the online portal. The course is very selective, so I had prepared a strong resume and submitted the personal-statement form to reason out why I want to pursue this course. Three letters of reference and an interview were also necessary. Also, proof of English language proficiency was required for international students. The application fee was $55 (non-refundable).


Course Curriculum - 

The course of Post-degree BSW is mainly designed for graduate students, who have an undergraduate degree in the liberal arts and who are familiar with the extensive field of social work. The course curriculum intensively focuses on creating a generic practice framework for candidates so that they can deliver services to various client constituencies at a level of competence suitable for the beginning of the practice. The enrolment in this course is very limited, it is an intensive program with 60-credit hour continuing for 15-months. It builds on your previous undergraduate education and leads to the professional BSW credential.

6 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
5 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
6 /10
extracurricular
19, Aug 2019 read more
B
Brock setty, NEPAL Social work
St. Thomas University
, Batch : 2020
6
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

BSW- A PRACTICAL INTENSIVE COURSE

Bachelor of Arts is the core academic program in St. Thomas University and as I wanted to pursue Post-degree Bachelor in social work, I found this university significant. I have checked about the course on the University Website and come to know that it offers a direct field placement and social action field placement that provides first-hand experience in practical social work. the university also provides the course in the English language. I had a cumulative GPA of 4.0 in my Bachelor in social work and had the experience to work as a social-work volunteer, I applied for the course through the online portal. The application fee was $55 (non-refundable).


Course Curriculum - 

The course of Post-degree BSW is mainly designed for graduate students, who have an undergraduate degree in the liberal arts and who are familiar with the extensive field of social work. The course curriculum intensively focuses on creating a generic practice framework for candidates so that they can deliver services to various client constituencies at a level of competence suitable for the beginning of the practice. The enrolment in this course is very limited, it is an intensive program with 60-credit hour continuing for 15-months. It builds on your previous undergraduate education and leads to the professional BSW credential.

6 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
5 /10
infrastructure
5 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
6 /10
extracurricular
19, Aug 2019 read more
A
Al, CANADA Ba
St. Thomas University
Current student , Batch : 2020
7.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

STU REVIEW

It was close to home and I got a pretty good scholarship to the school that I currently go to, but I'm switching programs because I am no longer interested in the program that I am taking and I'm switching hung to comp science.


Course Curriculum - 

I don't like it that much, I am switching to comp-sci as I have found more of an interest in that program, the program I am currently taking is not for me and I am excited to switch out and move to a new university.

8 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
6 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
23, Mar 2019 read more
A
Ana beatriz, BRAZIL Bachelor of arts
St. Thomas University
Current student , Batch : 2022
9.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

LIFE AT STU

It's a liberal Arts School that offers it's students the best they can possibly have, the Fine Arts program and the communications programs are amazing and the state's government had a partnership with my high school.


Course Curriculum - 

I love it. STU has so many different courses, you can go in so many different ways and you don't need to decide what you are majoring in until the end of the second year so you can try different things.

10 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
21, Mar 2019 read more
K
Kirsten dolland, CANADA Bachelor of arts
St. Thomas University
Current student , Batch : 2023
8.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UNIVERSITY LIFE

I chose STU because I fell in awesome as soon as I stepped on campus. My mom is an alumnus here and now I see what she meant. The professors are brilliant and really do care about your progress and plans for your future.


Course Curriculum - 

The course curriculum is very interesting and challenging. My course gives me more knowledge and insight into the lives of others. My religious studies course has taken me all over Fredericton and introduced me to people I otherwise never would have met.

8 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
9 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
17, Mar 2019 read more
S
Sarah, CANADA History
St. Thomas University
Current student , Batch : 2022
6.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

ST THOMAS REVIEW

I chose st Thomas University because it is a small campus, and with such a small campus you get smaller classes making it a more 1-1 experience. There is also a unb right beside it, making it interesting and easy to see the difference between a small university and large.


Course Curriculum - 

It's very interesting, I think it could be organized better but in whole it definitely makes you leave class thinking about what was taught. They are very good at explaining and again with such small capped classes it makes it easy to be intrigued and submit full attention to the lecture.

8 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
6 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
3 /10
placement
4 /10
extracurricular
16, Mar 2019 read more
Apply Now DOWNLOAD BROCHURE  
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

COLLEGES IN NEWBRUNSWICK, CANADA