UNIVERSITY OF MANITOBA - [U OF M], WINNIPEG, MANITOBA - REVIEWS

Winnipeg, ManitobaLOCATION
UniversitySCHOOL TYPE
Estd 1877Established Year
  29620Enrollment

College rating

based on 17 students ratings

7.1/10

7.6/10academic
7.7/10infrastructure
6.2/10placements
7/10faculty
7.8/10extracurricular
6.3/10accommodation

Reviews

avatar image
Cole friesen, CANADA Civil engineering
University of Manitoba
Current student , Batch : 2020
6.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

PROGRAM STRENGTHS AND WEAKNESSES

It was very near to my home. It was also the only college in my province with an accredited engineering program so it was effectively my only option if I wanted to stay at home. I also heard positive things from others.


Course Curriculum - 

I think there are places where it is lacking but overall it is comprehensive and appropriate for the program. We must take several first-year courses that are not directly related to our specific field.

7 /10
academic
6 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
4 /10
accomodation/food
6 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
18, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Kamarabbas, INDIA Computer science
University of Manitoba
Current student , Batch : 2022
8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UNIVERSITY EXPERIENCE

Because it's located in the capital city of Manitoba which is Winnipeg and also its the best university in Manitoba. Its ranking is also among the top 400 and at the same time, it's cheaper when we look at the other top universities.


Course Curriculum - 

It's quite good at the beginning there is no stress in the first year because I have already studied it in high school. But during the second year, I have heard that it's quite difficult to cope up with few courses.

9 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
15, Apr 2019 read more
avatar image
Elizabeth jonson, CANADA Science
University of Manitoba
Current student , Batch : 2021
6.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

U OF M - 2ND YEAR SCIENCE

Better than the other universities or colleges in my hometown of Winnipeg. Decently strong science program. I wanted to stay close to home and it was a cheaper option than going somewhere else. Most of my friends also go here.


Course Curriculum - 

They mostly offer good courses. It would be nice to have a better course selection in the summer. And if they didn't have grad students reach summer courses. Generally, though there are tons of science courses offered.

7 /10
academic
6 /10
faculty
5 /10
infrastructure
9 /10
accomodation/food
4 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
30, Nov -0001 read more
avatar image
Katid, OCONNELL Kinesiology
University of Manitoba
Current student , Batch : 2020
5.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UNIVERSITY OF MANITOBA

It was in my home town and allowed me to go to university while living at home and now paying rent. It also allowed me to stay close to my support circle which includes my family and friends as well as all my past teachers.


Course Curriculum - 

I think the structure of classes should be more diverse and I should learn more about specific things that will help me.

6 /10
academic
4 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
4 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
5 /10
extracurricular
30, Nov -0001 read more
avatar image
Brittany elliott, CANADA Kinesiology
University of Manitoba
Current student , Batch : 2023
8.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UNIVERSITY REVIEW

Location, good programs and lots of opportunities for students with both undergraduate and graduate studies. Great professors and classrooms. Many different interests for everyone. It's like a small community.


Course Curriculum - 

I think it's good. I would like it more if there were more options for fieldwork or work placements within the school or more opportunities with professors to have learning on more of a one on one basis.

9 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
9 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
30, Nov -0001 read more
avatar image
Cassie jubinville, CANADA Faculty of kinesiology
University of Manitoba
Current student , Batch : 2023
7.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

CASSIE'S SCHOOL LIFE

This university is close to my home and is a better option compared to the other universities in my city. The faculty I am in is also competitive so getting in here was hard and the professors are good.


Course Curriculum - 

There are some courses I don't think are necessary like learning about the history of physical education but all of the other courses are very well run, with a mix of midterms and different assignments.

7 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
5 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
30, Nov -0001 read more
avatar image
Amanda bone, CANADA Physical geography
University of Manitoba
Alumna/alumnus , Batch : 2019
5.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UNIVERSITY OF MANITOBA REVIEW BY AMANDA

The campus was close to my current residence and it was easy to be accepted, tuition was not too expensive and many of my friends were going there. They had some funding available to help offset the cost of tuition.


Course Curriculum - 

I think that there was a lot of course that they should have had as part of the curriculum that was not included, but also that is was difficult to navigate which courses I was exactly expected to take.

7 /10
academic
6 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
5 /10
accomodation/food
4 /10
placement
6 /10
extracurricular
30, Nov -0001 read more
avatar image
Nikki, CANADA Psychology
University of Manitoba
Current student , Batch : 2021
7.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

MY LIFE AS A UNIVERSITY STUDENT

It is the closest school to where I live. I moved from the Philippines to live in Manitoba, and I was not that comfortable to move to another province when I can just take it here. I chose this over the University of Winnipeg because it is the state university of the province and this is also where my brother was studying.


Course Curriculum - 

Very good. It is all about psychology. You are required to take at least three credit hours of courses on each specific category; personality/social, developmental, learning, cognitive and biological.

8 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
5 /10
accomodation/food
6 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
30, Nov -0001 read more
avatar image
Zariah, WINNIPEG Arts
University of Manitoba
Current student , Batch : 2021
7.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UNIVERSITY OF MANITOBA.

The price of the university was cheaper compared to the ones in America. And I got to live with my mother so I do not have to pay rent. The curriculum is the same as an American school but I don't have to pay more.


Course Curriculum - 

The course curriculum is amazing at the University of Manitoba. It's very easy to follow and the course load is just right if you decide to take 4 or fewer courses. I also enjoy the fact the school offers summer classes.

8 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
5 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
30, Nov -0001 read more
avatar image
Tsz yan ng, CANADA Human nutritional science
University of Manitoba
Alumna/alumnus , Batch : 2019
6
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

COOL COLLEGE

This university has a foundation program which helps me to get in the 2nd-year program, I have a grade 12 diploma. This one is the lowest fee in Canada, helps the international student a lot save a lot of money, and easiest to get a job in Canada, also living expense is low in here. I applied from the Hong Kong study abroad agent, they recommend me here.


Exams - 

I want to join this program is because I am interested in this career path, eligibility will be minimum GPA 2.0 but I got admitted at GPA 3.3, class size is small for senior year class, junior courses are mostly large about 150 people in a class, total credits are 120 credit hour. Classes are generally easy but some are difficult.

6 /10
academic
6 /10
faculty
6 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
6 /10
placement
6 /10
extracurricular
30, Nov -0001 read more

Load More Reviews
Apply Now DOWNLOAD BROCHURE  
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

FACULTY, SCHOOLS AND CAMPUSES
COLLEGES IN MANITOBA, CANADA
NEAREST RANKED COLLEGES
University of Notre Dame , Notre Dame Avg Fee: $54.44K/Yr 5.6
Yeshiva University , New York City Avg Fee: $44.45K/Yr 4.2
University of Colorado , Denver Avg Fee: $31.64K/Yr 5.2
Ulm University , Ulm Avg Fee: $3.41K/Yr 5.5
Bond University , Gold Coast Avg Fee: $41.27K/Yr 4.1
Linkoping University , Linkoping Avg Fee: $14.91K/Yr 4.2
Trinity College Dublin , Dublin Avg Fee: $21.43K/Yr 5.2
University of Adelaide , Adelaide Avg Fee: $22.61K/Yr 5.8
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology , Karlsruhe Avg Fee: $231.78/Yr 5.7
University of Kiel , Kiel Avg Fee: $10.23K/Yr 4.3