Get $150 Scholarship!

UNIVERSITY OF MANITOBA - [U OF M], WINNIPEG, MANITOBA - REVIEWS

Winnipeg, ManitobaLOCATION
UniversitySCHOOL TYPE
Estd 1877Established Year
  29620Enrollment

College rating

based on 23 students ratings

7.4/10

7.8/10academic
7.7/10infrastructure
6.5/10placements
7.3/10faculty
8.1/10extracurricular
6.7/10accommodation

Reviews

FILTER BY
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL

POPULAR TAGS

course
faculty
program
scholarship available
bus pas
multiple choice
campus
experience
high school
manitoba
science
tuition fee
exam structure
knowledge
entrance scholarship
R
Ram gopal dutt, INDIA Master of business administration
I.H. Asper School of Business
, Batch : 2018
9.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

MY TIME AT THE I.H. ASPER SCHOOL OF BUSINESS

I decided to pursue my graduation from Canada because of family connections there. I did a lot of research before applying to the university. The GPA of 9 in my B.B.A degree helped me a lot in getting through the admission process. I had applied at the university through an online application form. An application fee of around $120 was also paid by me.


Course Curriculum - 

I have loved all the benefits of the experiential approach to learning. I learned to tackle real issues and develop tangible solutions for businesses in Manitoba and across the globe. One thing I can assure of is that this is the most versatile course in entire Canada. Some of them which you have the option to learn are international and emerging markets, sustainability, entrepreneurship, and innovation.

9 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
9 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
13, Nov 2019 read more
L
Larissa einarson, CANADA Bachelor of science [b.sc] psychology on-campus
University of Manitoba
Current student , Batch : 2021
9.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

HELPING MAKE A HOME AWAY FROM HOME

This University is 8 hours away from my hometown, so I thought it'd be a good opportunity to gain independence while still not being too far from my family (within the same province). The University has provided me with so many opportunities, such as working as a Resident Advisor, working in admissions, and getting to know so many people! I also plan on attending law school and they have an amazing law program so that was a huge reason for choosing this school. The dorms are great for first moving away from home and provided me with so many friendships.


Course Curriculum - 

I love it. There are so many different classes which allow you to understand all different aspects of psychology. I have been so blessed to become so informed on mental health and the stigma associated around it, which has really impacted my life goals to be a mental health advocate. There are so many classes in psychology field here and it makes learning so interesting.

9 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
9 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
10, Nov 2019 read more
S
Sam, CANADA Bachelor of environmental science [b.env.sc] on-campus
University of Manitoba
Current student , Batch : 2020
7.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

STUDYING ENVIRONMENTAL STUDIES

This is the university closest to my house. It is fairly affordable especially when comparing when residence would be needed. They offer a wide range of classes which was good as I didn't know what I wanted to get into. Admission was straight forward as I went in right after high school, I only applied to one school.


Course Curriculum - 

The course curriculum is quite amazing, with the recent upgrades there is a wide range of classes offered.

10 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
5 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
4 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
16, Oct 2019 read more
S
Seth, CANADA Food science
University of Manitoba
Alumna/alumnus , Batch : 2018
7.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

U OF M HAS WIDE VARIETY OF OPPORTUNITIES/EVENTS.

There were more opportunities at this university when it comes to resources, better gym, more people and definitely better socials. Had a large variety of programs including the program I did which the previous university didn't have. Admission Process Easy, application fees roughly $4500, didn't apply to other ones.


Course Curriculum - 

Heavy on the sciences (i.e. Chemistry), well laid out, however there were a lot of labs associated with each class and therefore the ideal "4 Year Degree" may turn into a 4 and a half to 5 years to do. Most courses are interesting and some were relevant for when you get a job.

8 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
15, Oct 2019 read more
avatar image
Bailey, CANADA Theatre
University of Manitoba
Current student , Batch : 2021
7.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UNIVERSITY OF MANI-SNOW-BA

There was a good hands-on theatre program that allowed me to experience what I wanted to do and explore. The campus felt safe to walk around. The campus is also very pretty and perfect for taking pictures. This theatre program allows you to expand your horizons and allows you to meet people involved in the industry. The other classes offered are also very interesting.


Course Curriculum - 

It is very good since it allows you to have a fully rounded experience of the theatre, on the stage and off.

8 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
4 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
11, Sep 2019 read more
avatar image
Chaylin, CANADA U1
University of Manitoba
Current student , Batch : 2022
7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UNIVERSITY OF MANITOBA REVIEW

People representing the University of Manitoba came to my high school and shared everything with us. They told us about the gym, the programs, the cost, the pool, sports teams, what you need to get where you want to go, and so much more. They were students at the University of Manitoba and they were very convincing. They were very helpful and convinced a lot of us to attend.


Exams - 

I couldn't get direct entry into nursing or education. You need prerequisites to get into these majors. So I decided to try my luck with their U1 program and it is turning out just fine! Their dean says I need to have a 3.5 GPA where I bombed my first year so I am taking another year of U1 before moving on to my career.

7 /10
academic
4 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
04, Sep 2019 read more
P
Phuong pham, VIET NAM Year 1
University of Manitoba
Current student , Batch : 2022
6.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UNIVERSITY OF MANITOBA SURVIVAL GUIDE

I started my journey of studying abroad when I was in grade 11th, the second term to be more specific. Many of my friends question my decision, of why I'm choosing Winnipeg but not the big city Toronto or the flamboyant Vancouver, why I'm choosing somewhere that. I came to Canada to get a better education, to get a better future, and where I came from - Viet Nam is very different from here. The living expenses here are skyrocketed for normal Vietnamese citizens, in other word, Winnipeg is the only place I could afford. University of Manitoba is the best university in my province, and after trying and trying, I finally got the entrance scholarship of the second tier.


Course Curriculum - 

I was pleasantly surprised at the variety of the courses the University of Manitoba has to offer. As I'm currently in Year One - which means I am yet to belong to a Faculty so I actually can choose whatever course I want to take, not being limited to certain courses like students of faculties.

7 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
5 /10
accomodation/food
6 /10
placement
5 /10
extracurricular
24, Aug 2019 read more
avatar image
Alanna, CANADA Civil engineering
University of Manitoba
Current student , Batch : 2020
8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

ENGINEERING STUDENT IN MANITOBA

I was scouted by the soccer team and given the scholarship to join this University and play CIS soccer. The school also had a range of great programs a lot of flexibility, low tuition, and I had friends and family going there. It was close to home, affordable, nice campus, parking and living options nearby. I love math and sciences. The courses went well for me. There's a range of opportunities in engineering and they also are aiming to increase female participation. I excelled in my course and made great friends. I maintain a 3.0 GPA whilst playing university soccer for four years. I discovered I loved coding and computer science. Engineering has a massive range of jobs you can go into and it helps you towards a job that can serve the public or make the world a better place. I think I'd like to do work that addresses climate change and I think it's important we work towards stopping and mitigating the environmental crisis we are in.


Course Curriculum - 

I think it's a well-designed curriculum and I think it covers a large basis of topics. I think it provides you with all the tools and techniques and abilities to excel in the work-force in the future for whatever field you choose to go into.

8 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
12, Aug 2019 read more
S
Satishwar tata, INDIA Master of business administration [m.b.a] on-campus
I.H. Asper School of Business
Current student , Batch : 2021
8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

BEST TEACHERS AT THE BEST UNIVERSITY

After completing BBA, I developed a keen interest in business-related subjects. Therefore I decided to pursue my master's in the same field. I applied for a few business schools in Canada and got selected in two to three of them. Then I took admission at the University of Manitoba. The application form cost me $100.


Course Curriculum - 

My MBA program curriculum is one of the most versatile curriculum in Canada. This innovative curriculum structure ensures me to experience various themes and functional areas through the cross-pollinating elective courses. With this, I am also getting to tailor my electives according to my interests.

8 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
06, Aug 2019 read more
P
Pranab singh mital, INDIA Bachelor of fine arts [b.f.a] studio honours
University of Manitoba
Current student , Batch : 2021
7.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

AMAZING EXPERIENCE DOING FINE STUDIES

Bachelor of Fine Studies course is what I was looking forward in order to pursue at the graduation level. I applied to the various colleges and universities that offer my course of interest. And luckily I was selected in more than two universities. Then I took the admission at the University of Manitoba. As it was cost-efficient and the application procedure was a bit easy.


Course Curriculum - 

My undergraduate program combines a degree in studio art and art history within three or four years of full-time study. My curriculum pays more emphasis on traditional grounding in skills-based visualization and art historical knowledge connected to contemporary research in creative practices in art, design, and art history. We are also required to focus on art history, drawing, graphic design, painting, print media, sculpture, and other media.

7 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
06, Aug 2019 read more

Apply Now DOWNLOAD BROCHURE  
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

FACULTY, SCHOOLS AND CAMPUSES
COLLEGES IN MANITOBA, CANADA
NEAREST RANKED COLLEGES
University of Ottawa , Ottawa Avg Fee: $18.08K/Yr 4.7
Western University , London Avg Fee: $23.28K/Yr 5
University of Waterloo , Waterloo Avg Fee: $26.48K/Yr 5.3
University of Calgary , Calgary Avg Fee: $13.75K/Yr 5.4
University of Windsor , Windsor Avg Fee: $30.54K/Yr 4.1
Queen's University , Kingston Avg Fee: $9.7K/Yr 5
Laval University , Quebec City Avg Fee: $11.08K/Yr 4.9
Simon Fraser University , Burnaby Avg Fee: $21.17K/Yr 4.8
University of Saskatchewan , Saskatoon Avg Fee: $13.53K/Yr 4.3
Dalhousie University , Halifax Avg Fee: $14.17K/Yr 4.9