filter your searchallcollegesexamnews

Deshbandhu College, New Delhi

Deshbandhu College, New Delhi

New Delhi, Delhi NCR UGC | Estd 1952 DU, New Delhi Government
1,696
FIRST YEAR
FEES

Get Detailed Fees



College Admission Reviews

Anurag Mishra , BA, Pursued: 2018

7/10

"It is a college that comes under Delhi University, so admission was totally merit based and my interest was in the field of economics so I opted for Economics honors. No such formal interview is conducted only cut-off list is given due importance for the process of admission in all DU colleges. Thou"   Read More

user
Devyani Gupta , BA, Pursued:
BATCH : 2018

3.7/10

"I entered in this college thought 12 th exams no interview process was followed my school teachers guided me for economics and I opted as it applied me a lot"   Read More


15,250
FIRST YEAR
FEES

Get Detailed Fees



College Admission Reviews

Jasvinder Singh , Bsc. Physics Honours, Pursued:
BATCH : 2020

8.3/10

"First of all I registered on DU website when admissions were open and after that I waited for cutoff lists. When I could see that my percentile is high enough, I visited college and showed my marksheets, registeration papers, character cerit and other required docs to the department head. They filed"   Read More

Prakash gyawali , Bachelor of Science [B.Sc] (Physical Sciences), Pursued: Second Year
BATCH : 2020

7.7/10

"I registered online for Delhi university . When I got my 12 marks I checked for colleges . I saw the name of deshbandhu college . And I came up here with all my documents . Admission procedure is very easy . I filled a form and within 12 hours I got my fee payment notification in phone then I paid t"   Read More


3 Years Full Time
1,696
FIRST YEAR
FEES

Get Detailed Fees



College Admission Reviews

Anurag Mishra , BA, Pursued: 2018

7/10

"It is a college that comes under Delhi University, so admission was totally merit based and my interest was in the field of economics so I opted for Economics honors. No such formal interview is conducted only cut-off list is given due importance for the process of admission in all DU colleges. Thou"   Read More

user
Devyani Gupta , BA, Pursued:
BATCH : 2018

3.7/10

"I entered in this college thought 12 th exams no interview process was followed my school teachers guided me for economics and I opted as it applied me a lot"   Read More


15,250
FIRST YEAR
FEES

Get Detailed Fees



College Admission Reviews

Jasvinder Singh , Bsc. Physics Honours, Pursued:
BATCH : 2020

8.3/10

"First of all I registered on DU website when admissions were open and after that I waited for cutoff lists. When I could see that my percentile is high enough, I visited college and showed my marksheets, registeration papers, character cerit and other required docs to the department head. They filed"   Read More

Prakash gyawali , Bachelor of Science [B.Sc] (Physical Sciences), Pursued: Second Year
BATCH : 2020

7.7/10

"I registered online for Delhi university . When I got my 12 marks I checked for colleges . I saw the name of deshbandhu college . And I came up here with all my documents . Admission procedure is very easy . I filled a form and within 12 hours I got my fee payment notification in phone then I paid t"   Read More


13,196
FIRST YEAR
FEES

Get Detailed Fees


College Admission Reviews

Vikas verma , Batch: Bachelor of Commerce [B.Com]-2017

3.8/10

"I got admission on merit basis but I used my OBC certificateMy number came in last cut off. Before taking admission in this college I already taken admission in Ramanujan college but when I got opportunity to take admission in DESHBANDHU college then I withdrew my name from Ramanujan college and joi"   Read More

Shrey Ajmera , BCOM(H), Pursued:

7.3/10

"To get admission in this college it was required to have good percentage and also for B.Com(h) the cutoff is highest the admission process is very easy we have to take some necessary documents like report card, character certificate, transfer certificate, etc. And no need to face any interview or ex"   Read More


College rating

based on 49 students ratings

6.8/10

7.5/10academic
5.4/10accommodation
7.6/10faculty
6.4/10infrastructure
5.8/10placements
7.9/10social

college Info reviews view all

CLEAR ALL
View All Streams
CLEAR ALL
View All Course Tags
CLEAR ALL
View All Courses

POPULAR TAGS

placement cell
fee structure
campus life
gender ratio
entrance exam
course curriculum
canteen food
loan facility
hostel facility
admission
internship
experience
faculty
scholarship
examination
Divya TiwariBa programmePursued
BATCH : 2000
8.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Good college

Remarks -

College is overall good.it's faculties are very excellent.it's location is good.it provides a safe zone for both the boys and girl student's.administration is all time active for the help of students.


9/10academic
9/10faculty
8/10infrastructure
7/10food & accom
8/10placement
9/10social life
AakashBsc physical scienceBatch : 2017
7.0
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

My experience of college

Remarks -

All delhi university college is best as mine opinion positive remarks are : good for archery aspirant and ncc. Good level of teaching. Negative remarks are : infrastructure is not too good otherwise college is best


8/10academic
6/10faculty
9/10infrastructure
5/10food & accom
5/10placement
9/10social life
Jasvinder SinghBsc. Physics HonoursPursued
BATCH : 2020
8.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Delhi ka Deshbandhu

Remarks -

Eveything is perfect here except infrastructure (that is improving) and camteen , toilets. One more thing, this college got politics. We get to see how politicians campaign and conduct elections. For a month, it gets worse.


10/10academic
10/10faculty
5/10infrastructure
8/10food & accom
7/10placement
10/10social life
Arpit DasBSc. (H) BotanyBatch : 2019
5.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Best Choice for studying Sciences in UG!

Remarks -

Deshbandhu College is considered as one of the best colleges for studying science in the capital, and my experience is a subjective confirmation of the truth. The Department of Biotechnology (DBT, GOI) has recently announced Deshbandhu College as a 'STAR COLLEGE' (Only Hansraj College of DU has been recognised for the same), which will ensure more funding and research in the institution. The extracurriculars is a feather on the cap of positives of the college. Innumerable outlets around the college serves as a foodie's paradise. Nerds, extraverts and food-lovers have nothing to complain here!


7/10academic
7/10faculty
5/10infrastructure
6/10food & accom
2/10placement
8/10social life
Durgesh Chaurasia Bachelor of Science [B.Sc] (Botany)Batch : 2017
8.0
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Best Platform of life

Remarks -

Admin work is slow. Teaching faculties are so good.


10/10academic
10/10faculty
10/10infrastructure
3/10food & accom
7/10placement
8/10social life

Load More reviews

facilities

Comp Labs
Sports
Medical
Cafeteria
Library
Auditorium
Banks
Wi-Fi Campus
Classrooms

placements View All

Genpact
IBM
TCS
Bajaj

about college

Deshbandhu College, an oldest college of South Delhi was established in 1952 by the Ministry of Rehabilitation, as a memorial to freedom fighter Deshbandhu Gupta. The College was moved to Ministry of Education and later taken over by University of Delhi. Today, Deshbandhu is a fully maintained constituent college of University of Delhi and the largest co-edu institute in South Delhi.

  • The College proposes 8 post graduate and 20 undergraduate courses in the disciplines spanning from history, languages, economics, commerce, political science and all the main branches of science and mathematics
  • The college which made a humble beginning with just 72 students now caters to over 2000 students

Department

The college has in total of 16 departments. Some of the noted departments are of:

  • Department of Botany
  • Department of Chemistry
  • Department of Commerce
  • Department of English
  • Department of Hindi
  • Department of History
  • Department of Mathematics
  • Department of Modern Indian Language
  • Department of Physics
  • Department of Political Science
  • Department of Zoology

Alumni

Through its span of over 60 years, the college has produced many alumni, some of the noted ones are:

  • Rajiv Goswami (d. 2004), President Delhi University Students Union
  • Shantanu Moitra, Music Composer 
  • Raghu Ram, Producer MTV Roadies

Extracurricular Activities

  • National Cadet Corps: The college has two senior division NCC Companies with a strength of 160 cadets each for girls and boys wings respectively
  • National Service Scheme: National Service Scheme (NSS) is a unit of the college that organizes various workshops like debates, painting, theatre, leadership orientation, blood donation camp, AIDS awareness programme etc
  • Crusaders: The debating society
  • Mirrors: Deshbandhu Dramatic Society
  • Sharp Shooters: The Photographic Society

There are also a number of societies belonging to respective departments, some of them are:

  • Resonance: The society of the Chemistry Department
  • Inklings: The English Literary Society
  • The Bengali Literary Society
  • The Zoological Society

Facilities

Library

The college library has a group of over 90,000 books, 325 CD & Floppy Disks, 70 periodicals, and a host of journals and magazines. The library also has the following services:

  • A spacious reading room, a separate floor for teachers and a book bank section and research scholars.
  • A Newspaper Clipping Service along with Audio Service for the visually handicapped
  • Reprographics Service
  • All the books are bar coded and easily accessible through OPAC in the library.
  • The students along with other faculty members have the privilege to access UGC-INFONET Consortium and Delhi University subscribed E-Resources through Du Wide area Campus Network

IT Infrastructure                            

  • The Computer department is well equipped with two state-of-the-art laboratories with 40 dual boot computers hosting Windows and Linux platforms.
  • The college has Wi-Fi facility. 

Festivals

The college has its own annual festival along with the annual festivals organized by some of its departments.

  • Sabrang: The annual festival of the college held in the month of February
  • Biospark: The annual function of Department of Bio-Chemistry where students come out with most innovative ideas
  • Chimera: The annual festival of the Department of Zoology

Ranking

Deshbandhu College ranked 28th in top 50 science colleges of India and 8th in city of Delhi by India Today in 2010

Scholarships

Scholarships are provided to the students on the basis of both academics and sports & co- curricular activities. The scholarships provided to the students are:

  • Baba Sohan Singh Memorial Scholarship awarded to students of B.A. (Honours) /B.sc (Honours) 1st year who have secured highest marks in +2 Examination in their respective subjects
  • Shrimati Devaki Rani Memorial Scholarship awarded to students of B.sc (Honours) 1st year
  • Shrimati Jamuna Devi Memorial Scholarship awarded to students of B.A. (Honours) English
  • Shrimati Rikha Devi Memorial Scholarship awarded to B.Com. (Honours) 1st year
  • Shri Rajiv Kapur Memorial Scholarship awarded to B.Sc Physical Science 1st year
  • Shri S.P. Kapoor Scholarship is awarded to B.A. (Honours) Economics 3rd year

GALLERY IMAGES view all

Block H, Kalkaji
New Delhi - 110019
Delhi NCR , India

1.05KmNehru Place

011-26439565

Comments

Comments



No Comments To Show

Similar Colleges

Janki Devi Memorial College  - [JDMC], New Delhi logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.4 / 10
Janki Devi Memorial College - [JDMC]
New Delhi, Delhi NCR
AICTE
Motilal Nehru College - [MLNC], New Delhi logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.4 / 10
Motilal Nehru College - [MLNC]
New Delhi, Delhi NCR
NAAC-A
Maitreyi College, New Delhi logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.7 / 10
Maitreyi College
New Delhi, Delhi NCR
NAAC-A
Rajdhani College, New Delhi logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.1 / 10
Rajdhani College
New Delhi, Delhi NCR
NAAC
Ram Lal Anand College - [RLA], New Delhi logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.2 / 10
Ram Lal Anand College - [RLA]
New Delhi, Delhi NCR
AICTE
Acharya Narendra Dev College - [ANDC], New Delhi logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.8 / 10
Acharya Narendra Dev College - [ANDC]
New Delhi, Delhi NCR
NAAC-A

NEARBY COLLEGES

Lady Shri Ram College for Women - [LSR], New Delhi logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING8.4 / 10
BA 9.7 ₹16.39 K first year fees
Miranda House, New Delhi logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING8.6 / 10
Miranda House
New Delhi, Delhi NCR
NAAC-A+
BA 9.1 ₹14.16 K first year fees
Jawaharlal Nehru University - [JNU], New Delhi logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING8.6 / 10
Jawaharlal Nehru University - [JNU]
New Delhi, Delhi NCR
NAAC-A
Hindu College, New Delhi logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING8.2 / 10
Hindu College
New Delhi, Delhi NCR
NAAC-A
BA 8.7 ₹16.54 K first year fees
Jamia Millia Islamia University-[JMI], New Delhi logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.8 / 10
Jamia Millia Islamia University-[JMI]
New Delhi, Delhi NCR
AICTE

news view all

June 13, 2019

DU Admission 2019: New Eligibility Criteria Debacle

The registration process of Delhi University admission has started from May 30, 2019. This year, around 2.29 lakh aspirants have registered on Delhi University’s admission portal for undergraduate courses. The University has introduced numerous changes in the eligibility criteria. As a resu

May 31, 2019

DU Admission 2019: Scholarships, Waiver and Web Tools for Aspirants

Delhi University plans to assist students whose parents are deceased or unemployed and economically weaker sections by providing scholarships and increasing number of reserved seats. The University recently shared its plan to provide full scholarship to students whose both parents are d

August 28, 2019

Delhi University 8th Cut off 2019: Check College and Course wise Cutoff

Delhi University has released the 8th cutoff list for various undergraduate courses offered on August 27, 2019. The University will further release more cutoff lists for remaining seats. As per our analysis Cutoffs for the colleges have a marginal decli

December 24, 2018

दिल्ली विश्वविद्यालय प्रवेश 2019: यूजी, पीजी, पाठ्यक्रम और शुल्क, परिणाम, प्रवेश पत्र, कट ऑफ

दिल्ली विश्वविद्यालय (DU) एक सार्वजनिक केंद्रीय कॉलेजिएट विश्वविद्यालय है जो विभिन्न स्नातक  पाठ्य�

June 29, 2019

Deshbandhu College Result 2019: Cutoff, Exam Date, Ranking

Deshbandhu College results/notification links are given below in the article. The university releases the result soon after the commencement of the examinations. Deshban

September 18, 2019

Delhi University (DU) Results 2019: Statement of Marks, NCWEB, Revaluation result, SOL result

DU results for May-June 2019 examination has been released. Delhi University students may download the Statement of Marks for UG and PG courses under the categories of Choice

apply now Download Brochure
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

top courses

B.Sc (Hons.) MathematicsAVG FEE - ₹13,250/Yr
3 Years
BA (Hons.) EnglishAVG FEE - ₹1,696/Yr
3 Years
B.Sc Computer ScienceAVG FEE - ₹13,250/Yr
3 Years
view more courses[25]

news

Placements

faculties

Dr. Rajni JainAssociate Professor, Department of Bio-Chemistry
Dr. Preeti KarwalAssistant professor, Department of Bio-Chemistry
Dr. E. ChauhanAssociate Professor, Department of Botany
view all faculties[10]

reviews

STUDENTS ALSO VISITED

Gargi College, New Delhi logo
Gargi College, New DelhiBA , ₹ 12.3 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.9
Daulat Ram College - [DRC], New Delhi logo
Daulat Ram College - [DRC], New DelhiBA , ₹ 15.89 K FIRST YEAR FEES
Deen Dayal Upadhyaya College, New Delhi logo
Deen Dayal Upadhyaya College, New DelhiB.Sc , ₹ 17.53 K FIRST YEAR FEES
5.9
Dyal Singh College - [DSC], New Delhi logo
Dyal Singh College - [DSC], New DelhiBA , ₹ 13.01 K FIRST YEAR FEES
Shivaji College, New Delhi logo
Shivaji College, New DelhiBA , ₹ 16.7 K FIRST YEAR FEES
PGDAV College, New Delhi logo
PGDAV College, New DelhiBA , ₹ 13.7 K FIRST YEAR FEES
Kalindi College, New Delhi logo
Kalindi College, New DelhiBA , ₹ 9.2 K FIRST YEAR FEES
5.9
Zakir Husain College, New Delhi logo
Zakir Husain College, New DelhiBA , ₹ 9 K FIRST YEAR FEES
Ramanujan college, New Delhi logo
Ramanujan college, New DelhiBA , ₹ 12.24 K FIRST YEAR FEES
×