Maharani Laxmi Bai Medical College, Jhansi - Reviews

Jhansi, Uttar Pradesh MCI Estd 1968 Bundelkhand University, Jhansi Government

College Rating

Based on 15 Students RatingClaim this college

7.3 out of 10
7.3/10Academic
7.0/10Accommodation
7.5/10Faculty
6.5/10Infrastructure
8.3/10Placement
7.3/10Social Life
Filter By
StreamCourse TagCourseBatch
SORT BY :
Relevance

Medical (15)

Most Popular Tags

Course (10)
Hostel (9)
Faculty (8)
Internship (8)
Scholarship (8)
Admission (7)
Government (7)
Department (6)
Entrance Exam (5)
Experience (4)
Research (3)
School (3)
Mention (2)
Biology (1)
Survellience (1)

15 Reviews found


RB
5.2 /10

Internships Opportunities :

I'd never thought a question about a medical internship would be asked. No one gives it enough importance to ever talk about it. Yes, internship in compulsory in every medical college. It is mandatory to complete 1 full year to get your MBBS degree. The stipend when I started was 1700 rupees a month ( enough to pay the mess fees). After a few protests it was increased to 7500 rupees a month. The experience is deplorable.

Remarks :

Balancing all the pros and cons, the overall experience was different and enriching for me. I appreciate it more now especially the skills I learnt there have made me a more adjustable person. Ragging is something that should stop, but then again insolence towards seniors should not be tolerated either.

Loan/ Scholarship Provisions :

It is a government college. I guess that is a subsidy in its self. I paid a pittance compared to the same course in private colleges. Though there were a few scholarships for student who were not UR (unreserved).

Exam Structure :

The exam structure was quite troublesome. We have 19 subjects spread across 9 semesters. With practicals and written examinations for all. The practicals could last 2 days for some subjects. Most subjects had 2 written papers of 3 hours each. Add that to classes starting at 8 am, ending at 4 pm. Then to be taught with patients in the evening supervised by a postgraduate doctor.

Fee Structure And Facilities :

Feasible. I paid on of the highest fees in college being UR ( that is not unrecognized, it is unreserved, some quota bullshit). About 80000 rupees for the whole course. Including tuition, hostel and mess fees. Despite that students would forge income certificates to pay a quarter of that.

Entrance Preview :

I sat the CBSE AIPMT. I think it's called NEET UG now. I don't really remember how much I scored. All I know it was just enough to get over the line. Well I didn't get much of a choice which college to opt for. In hindsight doing my undergrad here was probably the best choice I made.

College Events :

Difficult to come by, these events were shameful and quite disgraceful. They were only to suite someone's ego. There was no standardization of the events. Even the name wasn't the same every year! They were only attended by our college students. Not big.

Hostel Facilities :

Hostel facilities were as expected. We ended up employing a cook and we decided our own menu's. The costs were split between 20 odd students. We only received 2 hours of water supply a day. That was also the drinking water supply. If that is not enough, no western toilets/washing machines/dryers.

Alumni/Alumna :

I think that is one thing medical colleges have maintained. We are directly supervised by our seniors. Some of them 10 years senior. As the hospital is attached to the college, there is a lot of intermixing. Yes, of course the seniors were mostly useful.

Faculty :

The faculty was amazing. They were less approachable than I would have liked. But they knew what they were talking about as they were so experienced. Despite that most of them were less than interested in teaching as they would make a quick buck doing private practice. But it wasn't one sided, we the students were not as proactive to attend all the clinics/lectures as after one gets their degree you aren't guaranteed post graduation. It's another entrance exam although more objective, it comes with MBBS honors playing no role. Just another reason to attend more coaching. Yes, fully qualified doctors instead of practicing are sitting in dingy rooms solving MCQ's

Admission :

The admission was via the counselling after making the cut-offs for AIPMT. AIPMT is the biggest medical exam akin to AIEEE for engineering. So, basically look at the newspaper for the advertisement, the coaching centers will inform you or like me some 'nosy aunty' will tell your mother.

Placement Experience :

Unfortunately, the concept of placements doesn't yet exist in medical colleges. However, I would expect in the next few years that big corporate hospitals recruit fresh graduates on the basis of their soft skills and then make them sign a bond to work with them and end up with a post graduate degree.

Course Curriculum Overview :

Course structure is quite old school. It has hardly changed in the last 50 odd years. It is based a lot on rote memory rather than problem solving, unlike the West. If you are diligent you will build a good knowledge bank, but approaching the patient is not well taught, something that bites once you start practicing. But this particular problem is wide spread in all medical schools across the country. I would say less focus on research than bigger centers.

6 /10 faculty
5 /10 placement
3 /10 social life
6 /10 course
8 /10 hostel
3 /10 campus life
report
Read More

Comments



NO COMMENTS TO SHOW

Similar Colleges

Uttar Pradesh University of Medical Sciences - [UPUMS]
REVIEWS RATING
8 /10
Government Medical College - [GMC]
REVIEWS RATING
7.4 /10

Government Medical College - [GMC]

Kannauj, Uttar Pradesh
MBBS 49.80 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Moti Lal Nehru Medical College - [MLNMC]
REVIEWS RATING
7.7 /10
Autonomous State Medical College- [ASMC]
MBBS 36 KTotal Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Jawahar Lal Nehru Medical College - [JNMC]
REVIEWS RATING
8.4 /10
PG Diploma in Medical 32.45 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Shaikh-Ul-Hind Maulana Mahmood Hasan Medical College
MBBS 36 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES

Nearby Colleges

Sanjay Gandhi Postgraduate Institute of Medical Sciences - [SGPGIMS]
REVIEWS RATING
7.5 /10
MD 9.5 72.80 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
King George's Medical University - [KGMU]
REVIEWS RATING
8.9 /10
UG Diploma in Medical 9.3 73 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Institute of Medical Sciences - [IMS]
REVIEWS RATING
8.6 /10

Institute of Medical Sciences - [IMS]

Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh
BAMS 7.7 50 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Era's Lucknow Medical College and Hospital
REVIEWS RATING
7 /10
MBBS 7.5 16.60 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Shri Ram Murti Smarak Institute of Medical Science - [SRMS IMS]
REVIEWS RATING
5.7 /10
MBBS 7.2 13.52 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Baba Raghav Das Medical College - [BRD]
REVIEWS RATING
8.4 /10

Baba Raghav Das Medical College - [BRD]

Gorakhpur, Uttar Pradesh
PG Diploma in Medical 6.8 42 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES

NewsView All

NEET Study notes for Reaction Mechanism, Important Formulas, and Sample Questions
March 09, 2021
NEET Study notes for Reaction Mechanism, Important Formulas, and Sample Questions

A reaction Mechanism is the sequence of some simple steps that lead to a chemical reaction. At times when more than two steps get involved the reaction gets complicated. The slowest steps out of all determine the final reaction. The last step is the slowest it does not make a huge difference but if

NEET Study Notes for Chemical Equilibrium, Previous Year Solved Sample Questions with Preparation Tips and Important Formulas
March 08, 2021
NEET Study Notes for Chemical Equilibrium, Previous Year Solved Sample Questions with Preparation Tips and Important Formulas

Chemical Equilibrium is one of the common terms when it about Chemistry. This chapter holds a significant weightage of almost 4-5% and different styles of questions are asked in NEET. Like direct questions on reactions or sometimes questions required to be solved using formulas. Also Check NEET Chem

NEET Study Notes for Organic Chemistry, Important Formulas and Previous Year Solved Sample Questions
March 08, 2021
NEET Study Notes for Organic Chemistry, Important Formulas and Previous Year Solved Sample Questions

NEET Chemistry syllabus is segmented into 3 parts including Organic, Inorganic, and Physical Chemistry. The chapters included in the exam are based on the question asked in class 11th and 12th. Check NEET Chemistry Syllabus Organic Chemistry holds a weightage of 4% and different kinds of question

NEET Study Notes for Kinematics, Preparation Tips with Previous Years Solved Sample Questions
March 06, 2021
NEET Study Notes for Kinematics, Preparation Tips with Previous Years Solved Sample Questions

Kinematics is the sector of mechanics that defines the motion of points, systems, or objects. The Kinematics in NEET is approximately 3 to 4% and students can also imagine direct questions from the section which makes it one of the best scoring topics. To very useful students in their preparation, w

NEET Study Notes for Basic concepts of Chemistry, Important Topics with Solved Sample Questions
March 06, 2021
NEET Study Notes for Basic concepts of Chemistry, Important Topics with Solved Sample Questions

NEET Chemistry syllabus has broadly classified into 3 categories – Physical, Organic, and Inorganic. This subject can be considered as the scoring out of the other subjects, which can help the candidates to achieve a standing position in the all India entrance exam. NEET Study Notes for Basic

NEET Study Notes for Coordination Compounds, Quick Notes with Important Formulas and Solved Sample Questions
March 05, 2021
NEET Study Notes for Coordination Compounds, Quick Notes with Important Formulas and Solved Sample Questions

NEET Study Notes for Coordination Compounds will help candidates to understand important topics like ligands and their formulas, Werner theory, etc. The weightage of this chapter is around 6.70% in the NEET examination that means candidates can expect around 3-4 questions from this chapter. Check NE

NEET Study Notes for Planar Motion, Definitions, Formulas, and Sample Questions
March 05, 2021
NEET Study Notes for Planar Motion, Definitions, Formulas, and Sample Questions

Physics is viewed as the toughest among the three subjects of NEET. However, a good position can be considered typically when a candidate scores over 140 marks in physics for which he/she needs to attempt around 40 questions with a high accuracy rate. To score well in this segment of NEET 2021, stud

NEET Study Notes for IUPAC and Isomerism with Definitions of Important Topics, Solved Sample Questions, and Preparation Tips
March 04, 2021
NEET Study Notes for IUPAC and Isomerism with Definitions of Important Topics, Solved Sample Questions, and Preparation Tips

IUPAC and Isomerism are the widely used terms when it comes to Chemistry and to be specific it is organic chemistry. Classification and IUPAC nomenclature of organic compounds, types of organic compounds are some of the important topics. The weightage of this section is around 4% in NEET examination

interested in this College ?

Top Courses
M.B.B.S. AVG FEE - ₹ 38,182/Yr
5 Years 6 Months
MD Anaesthesia AVG FEE - ₹ 37,333/Yr
3 Years
MD Anatomy AVG FEE - ₹ 37,333/Yr
3 Years
Faculties
Dr. A. K. Gurwara Head, Department of Anaesthesiology
R. J. Thomas Head, Department of Anatomy
Dr. D. Nath Head, Department of Biochemistry