filter your searchallcollegesexamnews

Elphinstone College, Mumbai

Elphinstone College, Mumbai

Mumbai, Maharashtra NAAC-A | Estd 1835 University of Mumbai, Mumbai Public Institute
3 Years Full Time6/10
3,945
FIRST
YEAR

Get Detailed Fees



College Admission Reviews

user
Vishal Vishwakarma , Bachelor of Arts [BA] (English), Pursued: 1st year
BATCH : 2021

6.8/10

"I was trying to get admission in this college since 2017 but due to my personal reason I can't get admitted in this college so after 1 year gap I studied BSc from Wilson college and after that I was not good at PCM so I tried to back up and start a new course so I went to college and collected the i"   Read More

user
RUCHIRA VILAS VHATKAR , Bachelor of Arts [BA], Pursued: 2nd year

8.8/10

"1st I applied for this college online. Then I went to the college they gave me their College form I filled the form submitted it with the Xerox copies of my documents Later I waited for the merit list Then I went to the college checked the merit list and i took admission as my name was there in"   Read More


3 Years Full Time35 seats per course7/10
5,695
FIRST
YEAR

Get Detailed Fees



College Admission Reviews

user
Akshay Bandivdekar , Batch: Bachelor of Science [B.Sc] (Computer Science)-

8.2/10

"The fees for us was 25,000 a year. The 3 year course cost me 75,000. It was quite less than the regular engineering college fees who also taught the same thing, a bit here and there. There was also scholarship for the deserving students and so the fees is affordable for everyone."   Read More

Salim Qureshi , Batch: MICROBIOLOGY-2000

7.8/10

"After S.S.C. Scored 72% in SSC and 45% in H.S.C Took this course along with other subject: Botany and Chemistry. No interview Since my 12th was from the same college, not much hassle for getting the admission"   Read More


3 Years Full Time240 seats per course6/10
3,945
FIRST
YEAR

Get Detailed Fees


College Admission Reviews

user
William Dondapati , Batch: Bachelors In Commerce-2013

6.7/10

"I haven't taken any of the entrance test it was a graduation course of bachelors in commerce for three years and also did my high school in the same college."   Read More


College rating

based on 10 students ratings

7.1/10

8.0/10academic
6.5/10accommodation
7.5/10faculty
7.2/10infrastructure
5.4/10placements
7.7/10social

college Info reviews view all

CLEAR ALL
View All Streams
CLEAR ALL
View All Course Tags
CLEAR ALL
View All Courses

POPULAR TAGS

merit list
course
faculty
structure
interview
admission
campus
scholarship
hostel
facility
amount
government
experience
curriculum
education
Vishal VishwakarmaBachelor of Arts [BA] (English)Pursued 1st year
BATCH : 2021
6.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Best college ever

Remarks -

What good what bad every institution provides good education the students itself should be honest so I don't have any issue on this but on the office coworkers have the most attitude compared to professors that's the issue with all colleges.


8/10academic
7/10faculty
6/10infrastructure
5/10food & accom
8/10placement
7/10social life
RUCHIRA VILAS VHATKARBachelor of Arts [BA]Pursued 2nd year
8.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Learned to live life

Remarks -

What to say about my college I agree I don't like my college much Because of the outstanding College faculty, I cannot dare to leave the College.


9/10academic
10/10faculty
9/10infrastructure
8/10food & accom
8/10placement
9/10social life
Paliwal Vipul RameshB.Sc (Computers)
7.0
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Academic, disciplined and balanced between social life and studies.

Remarks -

The whole campus was well maintained, the location is also very good, there is also parking facility if in case students travel on their own bike or scooter.


8/10academic
7/10faculty
8/10infrastructure
6/10food & accom
6/10placement
7/10social life
Akshay BandivdekarBachelor of Science [B.Sc] (Computer Science)
8.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Wonderful Experience

9/10academic
9/10faculty
7/10infrastructure
8/10food & accom
6/10placement
10/10social life
Rita BhatBachelor of Arts [BA] (Advertising and Brand Management)Batch : 1996
4.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS
Remarks -

Management was so so but the teachers were extremely dedicated and devoted to the pursuit of education and students welfare. Gratitude is one word which fills my heart when I remember my alma mater.


5/10academic
5/10faculty
3/10infrastructure
3/10food & accom
4/10placement
5/10social life

Load More reviews

facilities

Comp Labs
Sports
Gym
Medical
Cafeteria
Library
Auditorium

about college

Elphinstone College occupies a unique position in the annals of education in the country. It is an outstanding place of learning which came into existences much before the University of Mumbai, to which it was later on affiliated.

  • The Institution is known for its open access to student from all strata of the society. This includes various communities, income groups and interests.
  • The building of the College with its gothic architecture has been classified as a grade 1 Heritage structure.
  • It has recently been restored by the Kala Ghoda Association and has regained its luminous look.
  • The College was awarded the Asia -Pacific Heritage Award for culture Heritage Conservation, by UNESCO in 2004.
  • Infrastructure goes a long way in enriching the teaching learning experience. The College has recently developed five 'smart' class rooms with interactive boards.
  • The enlightened citizens of Mumbai collected a sum of Rs.2, 29, 636.00, for teaching English Language, the Arts and Literature of Europe.
  • The interest of the students has always been at the heart of dedicated teachers, who are eminent personalities in their area of expertise.

Festival:

The College hosts four intercollegiate festivals:

  • Maharashtra Utsav brings out the flavour of the State of Maharashtra. This is a festival of music, dance, street plays, debate, besides creative arts such as rangoli, pot painting, etc. this has a good response from colleges all over Maharashtra. It receives a wide coverage in print media, television and radio channels.
  • Techtsar is the festival of the B.Sc. IT department
  • Department of Biotech has an annual event called Primers
  • Gymkhana department conducts ZEAL

Facilities:

Library

The College library is situated on the first floor of the building. It is a spacious hall that provides a quiet, serene environment for study.

  • There are approximately 1,20,000 books in the library, including some very old books
  • Recent additions include books on subjects as diverse as computer science biotechnology, microbiology, information technology, history, economics, etc.
  • The library subscribes to many journals and magazines
  • The library is fully automated

The Gymkhana

The Elphinstone College Gymkhana provides facilities for major games like Cricket, Football at the college playground which is a part of Oval Ground, a short distance away from the college.

  • College gives importance to maximum participation of the students at intercollegiate level in various games
  • Facilities are also provided within the college premises for playing volleyball and basketball. 
    There is an indoor badminton court in the College hall
  • Facilities for indoor games like table tennis carom and chess are also made available to the students

Earn and  Learn

The College runs "Earn and learn" scheme for students belonging to financially weaker sections. These students help out the college in activities such as library record updating.

  • Administrative records, preparation of list of admitted students/roll call, etc
  • Thus while the College can fill in the manpower gap, the scheme provides a sense of self-esteem to the students. Giving them a feeling of financial independence

Hostel

For bonafide male students of the college, 50 seats are reserved in Govt. Colleges Hostel; at Church gate (C Road). For Women students of the College, 60 Seats are available at Telang Memorial Girl's Hostel.

Scholarship:

Government of India’s Scholarships:

  • National Merit Scholarships 
  • National Loan Scholarships 
  • National Talent Search Scholarships 
  • National Scholarships Talent Search Scholarship
  • National Scholarships for Talented Children from Rural Area
  • Cultural Talent Search Scholarships 
  • Sports Talent Search Scholarships 

Government of Maharashtra’s Scholarships:

  • Open Merit Scholarships
  • Free-Studentships to students belonging to the Backward Classes
  • Free-Studentships to students belonging to the Economically Backward Classes

GALLERY IMAGES view all

156, M.G.Road, Fort
Mumbai - 400032
Maharashtra , India

0.20KmDr. Shyama Prasad Mukherjee Chowk
1.06KmTaj Wellington Mews Helipad airport

022-22844060 , 22843797

Comments

Comments


3 Comments
Daya Nakum

What is eligibility criteria for BBA

08 Oct, 2017 00:10
Sakshi Garg Expert

Hi Daya, Candidate should have passed his/her 10 2 (any stream) form a statutory Board of India or abroad or equivalent or those who have appeared for the Preparatory program for graduation as per YCMOU norms and after successfully passing in the entrance test.

10 Oct, 2017 13:13
Mohammed Irfan S

i want bba in finance and mba in avaiation mangement

10 Sep, 2017 00:10
Sakshi Garg Expert

Hi Mohammed Irfan, This college does not provide any Management program.

11 Sep, 2017 18:16
paras

To take admission in bsc.. is it necessary to pass 12th from maharashtra board? can a CBSE board student also get admission in this course?

22 Feb, 2017 17:03

- No more comments -

news view all

July 22, 2019

CAT 2018 Topper Tips by Rickshesh Manchanda

“Work on your strengths and follow the graph of effort Vs improvement while dealing with your weakness.”  – Rickshesh Manchanda CAT 2018 Topper Rickshesh Manchanda i

July 18, 2019

CAT 2018 Topper Tips by Manaswi Kumar

“Anyone who is aspiring in any exam of India must understand setbacks are part of the journey. Resurgence and Perseverance complement the hard work.” Manaswi Kumar CAT Topper 2

July 18, 2019

CAT 2018 Topper Siddhant Dhawan’s Success Mantra

CAT 2018 Topper Siddhant Dhawan secured 99.28 percentile in the exam. His sectional percentiles for VARC, DILR and QA being 96.93, 99.45 and 97.57 respectively. He is an engineering student from Chandigarh. His success story has made him an inspiration for

July 18, 2019

CAT 2018 Topper Swapnil Suman’s Journey to the Top

CAT Topper 2018 Swapnil Suman secured a perfect 100 percentile in the exam. His sectional percentiles for VARC, DILR and QA being 99.23, 99.99 and 100 respectively. He is a Mechanical Engineer from Patna. His success is a motivation for lakhs of

July 04, 2019

CAT LR-Blood Relations Quiz

Given below is a quiz with questions from previous CAT exams based on Blood relations.This quiz will help CAT 2019 aspirants to check themselves and analyze their hold on the topic.Questions based on bl

July 04, 2019

CAT LR-Series Quiz

Given below is a set of questions for Logical Reasoning based on Series. Questions have been set based on the pattern of the exam and its difficulty level to help CAT aspirants . Series questions include numerical series, alphabetical series and letter series. These questions require

July 03, 2019

CAT QA-Ranking Quiz

Given below is a set of questions for Logical Reasoning based on Rankings. Questions have been set based on the pattern of the exam and its difficulty level to help CAT exam aspirants. In ranking questi

July 03, 2019

CAT QA-Progression Quiz

The quiz consists of 25 questions of varying difficulty level from the topic “Progression”. In CAT exam aspirant should solve the easy questions first and try to answer maximum questions cor

apply now Download Brochure
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

top courses

B.Sc ChemistryAVG FEE - ₹5,348/Yr
3 Years
BA (Economics)AVG FEE - ₹4,698/Yr
3 Years
B.Sc MathematicsAVG FEE - ₹5,348/Yr
3 Years
view more courses[22]

ADMISSION

news

faculties

Smt. J. S. PawarProfessor & Head of Department (Botany)
Shri. Amit SarafProfessor
Dr. R. S. DhamnaskarProfessor & Head of Department (Chemistry)
view all faculties[11]

reviews

STUDENTS ALSO VISITED

St. Xavier's College, Mumbai logo
9.4
Mithibai College of Arts, Mumbai logo
5.8
×