Punjab Institute of Engineering and Applied Research - [PIER], Mohali - Reviews

Punjab Institute of Engineering and Applied Research - [PIER], Mohali - Reviews

Mohali, Punjab AICTE | Estd 2008 IKG-PTU, Jalandhar Private

College rating

based on 2 students ratings

4.8/10

4.5/10academic
5.0/10accommodation
4.5/10faculty
5.5/10infrastructure
4.0/10placements
5.5/10social
CLEAR ALL
View All Streams
CLEAR ALL
View All Course Tags
CLEAR ALL
View All Courses
D
DHIRAJ GARGMaster of Philosophy [M.Phil] (Mechanical Engineering)Batch : 2017
8.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS
8/10academic
8/10faculty
9/10infrastructure
9/10food & accom
7/10placement
10/10social life

Wonderful

Alumni/Alumna -

Pec has a strong alumni network. Students are working in all he major multinational corporations in India and abroad. During my time in college to go there was a 3 day event on entrepreneurship in which leading business persons such dr. Arvind bali, mr manmohan suri to give talk on startups.


Scholarship -

There was no further scholarship that i know of that is available other than the monthly scholarship provided to us. But there is an opportunity to work in a research project that is undertaken by pec administration. One project that i know of where students have participated is the satellite mapping of the city of Chandigarh which was given by Chandigarh administration in which students can involve themselves.


Remarks -
8.5 /10

Students that come to this college are one of the best brains of the country and they are fully exposed to hone there skills here.


Campus Life -
10 /10

As the campus is situated in the city beautiful Chandigarh you get the full pleasure of scenic landscapes. The college in its management is so open and friendly so there is no such problem as gender gap that is seen in rest of the engineering colleges. There are lots of extra curricular activities that keep on happening all year along. There are students clubs such as dramatics club, speakers club, literary club, SAE club which keep on conducting events.


Internship -
10 /10

Yes. But the stipend we were paid came from aicte and not college. We were given a monthly stipend of 12400 rupees.


Exam Structure -

In a semester you have sessionals and semester exam. We were also given assignments and quizzes. There was no specific weight age to exams but generally 20 marks sessionals 10-15 marks assignments, quizzes and 5-10 marks attendance. Semester exam was of 50-60 marks. We had grading system in m tech program but it was absolute grading system not commutative. There were labs which also carried grades for final scores. We only had to make practical files and had some problems given on mat lab.


Admission -

My admission was through gate examination. Most of the registration process was completed online . You have to put your preference list of colleges and programmes. Then they scrutinize you on basis of gate score. I had to come to college just for documents check and final registration.


Entrance Preview -

Gate - 666 It is the best engineering college in Punjab. It is also one of the oldest colleges, founded in 1921. Many great people have studied from this college. It has up to date lab facilities and some very knowledgeable. mentors. Students also holds annual fests and there are many extra curricular activities one could be part of.


Hostel Facilities -
9 /10

There are four boys hostels and two girls hostels. As i was a day scholar i didn't take the hostel facilities. During m tech program me you get an individual rooms but for b tech students you get a shared accommodation. Hostel rooms are spacious and comfortable. I had occasionally eaten mess food in Himalaya and kurukshetra hostel and the quality of food there is excellent.


Course Curriculum -
8 /10

We had all together 12 subjects and thesis. Subjects were of advanced level than what we have studies in b.tech. In first two semesters we had regular classes for 5-5 subjects and in third semester we had 2 subject courses and thesis work. Last semester was fully kept for thesis work. In these 12 subjects some were elective inter-department and elective from other departments. But still i didn't found the course curriculum to be that effective or relevant. It doesn't guide you towards a specific field of study but is a mismatch of different subjects.


Placement -
7 /10

Placements are ample on graduation basis. As i said it is the best engineering college of Punjab lots of companies come for placements but only some have vacancies for m tech students. But still we had opportunity to sit in Hyundai, Maruti, l&t and LPU.


Events -
10 /10

There are two annual fests that are held in Pec one is PECFEST which a annual cultural and technical fest held in the month of October. There are many events you can participate in pecfest such as literary events,, dance competitions, fashion shows, music competitions etc. During my time we had a rock show by Indian ocean and musical night by amit trivedi. Then there is Vyom technical fest which is held in march. There are many technical events from each engineering branch that you could participate in.


Fees -

Fee structure for masters program me is feasible and cheaper than other government colleges. Semester fee of maters program me in pec is around 20k which is not a burden on our shoulders as we could easily cover it with our stipend money. I was a day scholar but my friends in hostel also had a very genuine hostel fee and mess fee.


Faculty -
8 /10

Faculty is good and friendly. They are equipped with full knowledge of the subject. Teachers come prepared to classes. They use all the latest technologies like animations, you tube videos via projectors that are fitted in each lecture hall. Teachers are well educated having doctorates from iits.


25 Sep 201701report
D
Deepak ThakurBEBatch : 2014
1.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS
Entrance Preview -

AIEEE score 45 exam nd my uncle told me about this college. Because I want to be mechanical engineering so prefer ths to be my option for my career.


Placement -
1 /10

They were no single company in college campus for interview. So can what they were offering to student. They were no chance provided for sitting in campus placement.


1/10academic
1/10faculty
2/10infrastructure
1/10food & accom
1/10placement
1/10social life


Load More reviews

Comments

Comments



No Comments To Show

NEARBY COLLEGES

CGC College of Engineering, Mohali logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING/ 10

CGC College of Engineering

Mohali, Punjab
AICTE
Chandigarh Engineering College - [CEC], Mohali logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING8.1 / 10
Chandigarh Group of Colleges - [CGC], Mohali logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING8.1 / 10
Indo Global Group of Colleges, Mohali logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING9.3 / 10

Indo Global Group of Colleges

Mohali, Punjab
NCTE
Indo Global College of Engineering, Mohali logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.6 / 10

news view all

January 27, 2020

JEE Main 2020 AP Topper Landa Jitendra's Journey

For most of the students, getting admission in IIT is a dream and to chase their dream, students study hard to score well in JEE Mains. Cracking JEE Mains is surely the happiest moment in any person’s life and the feeling of scoring 100 percentile is beyond explanation. Same is th

January 24, 2020

JEE Main 2020 Topper Chagari Koushal Kumar Reddy’s Success Mantra (100 Percentile)

The results for Paper 1 of Joint Entrance Examination (JEE) Main 2020 has recently been announced on January 17, 2020. According to the official notification released by National Testing Agency (NTA), there are a total number of 9 candidates who have the highest score. These whizz-kids demonstrat

January 31, 2020

"Success doesn't matter, what matters is how you deal with the failures" says JEE Main 2020 Topper Parth Dwivedi

Parth Dwivedi, one of the 9 students who topped JEE MAIN 2020 with 100 percentile. Shocked seeing his result, Parth secured 100 marks in Mathematics and 96 marks in both Physics & Chemistry. The initial brick to fulfill his IIT dream was put in 11 standard, when he started his preparation.

January 31, 2020

Rongala Arun Siddardha’s Journey to the Top in JEE Main 2020 (100 Percentile)

Rongala Arun Siddhardha topped the charts of JEE Main 2020 January session results by being one amongst the 100 Percentile scorers in the B.E/ B. Tech Paper. Coming from a middle class financial background, Rongala sees Mr. Sundar Pichai as his ideal. He has completed his schooling from the Telan

January 20, 2020

JEE Main 2020 IIT's Seat Intake

The ultimate goal of every engineering aspirant who wants their academic lives to be secured within the proper environment of IITs and NITs has to be JEE Main. JEE Main is the first step towards getting into these prestigious institutions. Previously, an aspirant had to compete against more than

January 20, 2020

JEE Main GFTI's Seat Intake 2020

JEE Main is an entrance examination for admission in the top engineering colleges in the country. Earlier different institutes used to conduct different entrance tests for admission in engineering courses all over India. But now, JEE Main has become the single entrance test to get admission to un

January 24, 2020

JEE Main 2020 January Session Result : List of Toppers

JEE Main 2020 January session result is out. A total of 9 students have scored 100 percentile in the examination. Out of these toppers, 2 are each from Andhra Pradesh, Rajasthan and Telangana. There is one topper each from Delhi, Gujarat and Haryana.  

January 18, 2020

JEE Main Result Calculator 2020: Normalization and Percentile Score

With JEE Main 2020 being an online test conducted in multiple sessions, it is most likely that difficulty level of examination may differ from candidate to candidate. See JEE Main P

apply now Download Brochure
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

top courses

news

Placements

reviews

STUDENTS ALSO VISITED

Sachdeva Engineering College For Girls - [SECG], Mohali logo

Sachdeva Engineering College For Girls - [SECG], Mohali

BE/B.Tech , ₹ 80.75 K FIRST YEAR FEES
Chandigarh Engineering College - [CEC], Mohali logo

Chandigarh Engineering College - [CEC], Mohali

BE/B.Tech , ₹ 90 K FIRST YEAR FEES
8.1
KC College of Engineering and Information Technology, Nawanshahr logo
7.5
Indo Global College of Engineering, Mohali logo

Indo Global College of Engineering, Mohali

BE/B.Tech , ₹ 90 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.6
Doaba Institute of Engineering and Technology - [DIET], Mohali logo
7.5
Baba Kuma Singh Ji Engineering College, Amritsar logo

Baba Kuma Singh Ji Engineering College, Amritsar

BE/B.Tech , ₹ 1.42 L TOTAL FEES
8.3
Swami Parmanand Engineering College - [SPEC], Mohali logo

Swami Parmanand Engineering College - [SPEC], Mohali

BE/B.Tech , ₹ 97.89 K TOTAL FEES
RIMT Maharaja Aggrasen Engineering College, Gobindgarh logo
6.8
×