Valia Koonambaikulathamma College of Engineering and Technology - [VKCET] Parippally, Trivandrum - Reviews

Trivandrum, Kerala AICTE Estd 2009 KTU, Thiruvananthapuram Private

College Rating

Based on 5 Students RatingClaim this college

6.9 out of 10
7.8/10Academic
7.8/10Accommodation
7.6/10Faculty
7.6/10Infrastructure
5.4/10Placement
5.4/10Social Life
Filter By
StreamCourse TagCourseBatch
SORT BY :
Relevance

Engineering (5)

Most Popular Tags

Campus (2)
Cricket (2)
Experience (2)
Financing (2)
Kerala (2)
Management (2)
Placement (2)
Result (2)
Strict (2)
Course (1)
Engineering (1)
Government (1)
Guidance (1)
Publishing (1)
Software (1)

5 Reviews found


VJ
4.7 /10

Remarks :

Very bad. The management should know what is happening in the well-known engineering colleges. You can see in their advertisement that VKC is the best self-financing college having all pass percentage but never advertise on their activities, their students placed in good MNCs, their involvement in society.

Loan/ Scholarship Provisions :

In my batch, no one got the merit scholarships from any sources. There was no scholarship for outstanding and backward students. There was no availability of education loan assistance from the side of college.

Fee Structure And Facilities :

In 2010-14, The fee for Government seat was INR 35000 per year. There was a caution deposit of INR 20000. I could not remember the exam fee. At the end of the college life, they published a college magazine and every student needed to pay INR 250 for that magazine.

College Events :

I studied there for 4 years. Only 2 Onam, only one techfest, only one youth festival were celebrated in our college. The management and the faculties would not support any kind of extra curriculum activities. From my college, no one participated in the University Youth festival or University sports meet. And they did not allow us to participate in tech fest of other nearby colleges.

Campus Life :

I felt that there had no campus life at all. There is no such diversity. Majority of the students and teachers are coming from Kollam and they had made some internal groups. There were no such extracurricular activities. We had played cricket in the first few months. After that, the college did not allow us to play cricket inside the campus. Labs were good, but not up to the mark. We had an electronics lab in the third semester, most of the breadboards were not good. I did not know about other labs. There was no clubs, or forums to discuss the latest technologies or doing some debates. They told us that there was a placement cell, but I did not see their activities in my college life. In the final semester, there was a debate club. It was good. The college was not a member of IEEE or ICSA etc,

Alumni/Alumna :

There were no well-organized alumni. But something was there. I don't know well. I hated that college so that I never participated in such alumni meetings.

Faculty :

The classes had started at 8.30. I could not find any difference from my college life with school life. There would be some faculties who taught as a standard level students, giving handwritten notes and daily tests. Some faculties were very strict, means we had to write the same lines as per the notes in the answer sheet to get marks in internal series examinations. Even though you scored good marks in internal examinations and you submitted your assignments on time, you would lose internal marks and fall under 36.

Admission :

I got the admission through the Kerala engineering and medical entrance in 2010. The admission process was simple and as per the government rules and regulations. Admission process took only one day, they just verified my certificates and related documents including fee submission receipt, caste certificate and income certificate, and educational certificates.

Placement Experience :

Absolutely poor. There was no placement at all. In my final year, two companies came to our college for recruitment. One of them was a low-level company located somewhere in Cochin, and other one was an aptitude training company.

Course Curriculum Overview :

In 2010-14, the college was affiliated to Kerala University. In that time it had one of the oldest syllabi. There would not be any good exam and result publishing policy. The exam pattern contained some repeating questions. The level of challenging and skill based questions were very less. From my experience, Kerala University is one of the most student unfriendly university in India.

4 /10 faculty
1 /10 placement
2 /10 social life
4 /10 course
10 /10 hostel
7 /10 campus life
report
Read More

Comments



NO COMMENTS TO SHOW

Similar Colleges

Bishop Jerome Institute - [BJGI]
REVIEWS RATING
7.1 /10
BE/B.Tech 4.6 75 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Vidya Academy of Science and Technology Technical Campus
REVIEWS RATING
6 /10
BE/B.Tech 4.1 75 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Sree Chitra Thirunal College of Engineering - [SCTCE]
REVIEWS RATING
8 /10
BE/B.Tech 4.8 62.67 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
TKM College of Engineering - [TKMCE]
REVIEWS RATING
8.4 /10
BE/B.Tech 5.0 8.41 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
College of Engineering - [CEK]
REVIEWS RATING
7.2 /10

College of Engineering - [CEK]

Karunagapally, Kerala
BE/B.Tech 4.6 35 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
College of Engineering Perumon
REVIEWS RATING
7.9 /10
BE/B.Tech 4.7 24.36 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES

Nearby Colleges

College of Engineering
REVIEWS RATING
8.4 /10

College of Engineering

Trivandrum, Kerala
BE/B.Tech 6.9 50 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Rajadhani Institute of Engineering and Technology - [RIET] Attinga
REVIEWS RATING
7.8 /10
BE/B.Tech 4.7 1.15 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Sarabhai Institute of Science & Technology - [SIST] Vellanad
REVIEWS RATING
8 /10
BE/B.Tech 4.5 50 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
ACE College of Engineering
REVIEWS RATING
7.6 /10

ACE College of Engineering

Trivandrum, Kerala
BE/B.Tech 4.5 75 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
St Thomas Institute for Science and Technology - [STIST]
REVIEWS RATING
6.7 /10
BE/B.Tech 4.4 60 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
PRS College of Engineering and Technology - [PRSCET]
REVIEWS RATING
7.4 /10
BE/B.Tech 4.4 30 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES

NewsView All

KEAM 2021: Exam Centres List Released, Check Code Wise Test Cities List
January 05, 2021
KEAM 2021: Exam Centres List Released, Check Code Wise Test Cities List

Commissioner of Entrance Examination (CEE) has released the list of KEAM exam centres to conduct the KEAM 2021 exam for admissions into various engineering courses.  Before applying for the KEAM 2021 exam, candidates are advised to check the exam centres. Students need to enter three ch

UP Tech Institutes to Take Admission Through JEE Main from Next Session; Read Details Here
December 23, 2020
UP Tech Institutes to Take Admission Through JEE Main from Next Session; Read Details Here

December 23, 2020: The Government of Uttar Pradesh has announced that admission to UP Technical institutes will be given on the basis of JEE Main scores instead of UPSEE.  CM Yogi Adityanath announced on December 22, that in order to improve the quality of education, the new admission p

KEAM 2020 Eligibility Criteria for B.Arch Programme Amended; Check Details Here
November 20, 2020
KEAM 2020 Eligibility Criteria for B.Arch Programme Amended; Check Details Here

The Council of Architecture has announced that the eligibility criteria for B.Arch programmes have been modified. Now, following the new criteria as laid out, the applicants will only need to have a minimum passing score in PCM subjects. Previously the criteria to be eligible for admission in&nbs

CEE Kerala B.Tech LET Application Form 2020 Out; Apply till Nov 12 @cee.kerala.gov.in.
November 10, 2020
CEE Kerala B.Tech LET Application Form 2020 Out; Apply till Nov 12 @cee.kerala.gov.in.

CEE Kerala is accepting online applications from eligible candidates for admission to B.Tech LET 2020. Candidates can apply for admission before the last date, i.e., November 12, 2020.  This year CEE Kerala would be holding the admission process for the B.Tech Lateral Entry course online. El

KEAM Counselling 2020: Third Phase Registration Schedule Out, Check Details Here
November 09, 2020
KEAM Counselling 2020: Third Phase Registration Schedule Out, Check Details Here

KEAM Counselling third phase seat allotment registration has commenced for admission into Engineering, Pharmacy Courses. While the second phase of seat allotment to the Architecture Course commenced on November 07, 2020.  During KEAM Counselling third phase, students can register options to

KTU: B.Tech 3rd Semester Exam Canceled Due to Mass Cheating by Students, Check Details Here
October 25, 2020
KTU: B.Tech 3rd Semester Exam Canceled Due to Mass Cheating by Students, Check Details Here

The Kerala Technological University (KTU) has decided to cancel the B-tech third semester examination on Saturday after it found mass cheating by students using mobile phones during the exam, as per the reports. According to the Kerala Technological University (KTU) authorities, the mathematics e

KEAM 2020: Second Phase Seat Allotment List Declaration Postponed to October 23; Check Details Here
October 16, 2020
KEAM 2020: Second Phase Seat Allotment List Declaration Postponed to October 23; Check Details Here

CEE Kerala is likely to release the KEAM 2020 second seat allotment result on October 23, on its official website. Candidates who have written the KEAM 2020 examinations and are eligible for the seat allotment process can get the result here. Candidates can check KEAM 2020 First phase s

CEE Releases KEAM Architecture 2020 Rank List: Check Here to Download
October 12, 2020
CEE Releases KEAM Architecture 2020 Rank List: Check Here to Download

The Commission for Entrance Examinations released the KEAM 2020 Rank List on the official website. Candidates who have appeared for the KEAM 2020 examinations can download the rank list by visiting the official website of the CEE.  For admission to Architecture (B.Arch.) course, the KEA

interested in this College ?

Top Courses
B.Tech Civil Engineering AVG FEE - ₹ 55,000/Yr
4 Years
B.Tech Computer Science Engineering AVG FEE - ₹ 55,000/Yr
4 Years
4 Years
Faculties
Mr.Arun Karthick Manikandan.S Assistant Professor
Mrs.Priya V.K Assistant Professor
Mr.Jayakumar. Assistant Professor