Loreto College, Kolkata - Reviews

Loreto College, Kolkata - Reviews

Kolkata, West Bengal NAAC, UGC | Estd 1912 University of Calcutta, Kolkata Private

College rating

based on 5 students ratings

7.8/10

9.8/10academic
6.4/10accommodation
9.6/10faculty
7.0/10infrastructure
4.8/10placements
9.4/10social
CLEAR ALL
View All Streams
CLEAR ALL
View All Course Tags
CLEAR ALL
View All Courses
A
Anindita Chakraborty Bachelor of Arts [BA]Batch : 2005
8.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS
10/10academic
10/10faculty
10/10infrastructure
7/10food & accom
6/10placement
9/10social life

Loreto College - a towering stalwart of heritage and culture

Alumni/Alumna -

The alumni network of my prestigious collage is so strong that we are all still connected after 13years of pass out.We meet up almost every year in student reunion


Scholarship -

I did not use any loan or scholarship facility for my admission and don't have any knowledge of the rest was an option like this


Remarks -
8.7 /10

I can only afford to pay my bouquet of respect and gratitude for this college for shaping and making me what I am today.I am a proud Loreto girl.


Campus Life -
9 /10

My Loreto campus life is an unforgettable one.it taught value for peers, togetherness, goal orientation and team power. We were advised from day one to feel like a part of Loreto family and there was no gender war or ragging panics even. I enjoyed full freedom to think and talk what I needed and every single faculty and senior student was extremely liberal to push the envelope


Internship -
9 /10

My college did not have this option in my time. The only thing I remember was the option for a trainee faculty under B.ED


Exam Structure -

Loreto exam structure followed the WEST BENGAL board exam structure sick and span. As I came from a West Bengal board background, it took no time for me to cope with my new college syllabus. I felt every exam was falling in place naturally as they had been for years. There was a first term, second term and a final exam every year


Admission -

I was selected based on my class 12 marks. As my name appeared on the list I took no time to sit for the next criteria and that was the entrance test. I cleared the test and was called by the respected Principal Mrs Tina Farias.She took my interview and selected me with a warm greeting


Entrance Preview -

I has a long dream of taking admission in this prestigious institute for its award winning pedagogy, state of the art lab, great faculty members and progressive methodology.Its a great place to make future bright. Also, it's rank among the all India institutes makes it a dream of every futuristic candidate


Hostel Facilities -
7 /10

I was from Kolkata and my piece of this conversation is also from the same city. So I did not need any accommodation in my 2002-2005 batch of Arts Hons. graduation.All I needed was to enter the canteen that had decent food and drinks.I ate them regularly without having to break the bank.


Course Curriculum -
10 /10

The course curriculum follows the standard West Bengal board and comprises the same model of assesments and syllabus. The weightage of the 3yr course maintains full compatibility with any standard graduation. The 3yr curriculum was spread across Part 1 and Part 2


Placement -
6 /10

no such option was available in my time. I passed out in the years 2002-2005.At that time Loreto did not provide career opportunities to its passing out candidates. But the syllabus and assessment including the pedagogy was extremely helpful to build the core and basic skills of a student, a must for job of all types


Events -
9 /10

Samagam : the best event of Loreto college was it's annual program. It was a gala event where outsiders were also invited Christmas Carol : another was the Christmas event. It was full of fun and energy. We used to participate in different programs like chorus, drama and more and parents were invited


Fees -

The fee structure was extremely feasable in the sense the payment cycle and structure both did not seem to have burnt holes in my parent's pockets. They asked reasonable fees and it was a one time every year at the beginning only. There was a one time down payment and it was a comfortable option


Faculty -
10 /10

The superb team of faculty and their bond helped me a lot to get a hand on my syllabus.They are extremely caring, attentive, cooperative and always ready to help like no other. What's more, each of the faculty members were multi tasking for different dept.


05 Oct 201810report
M
Mahima ManiarBA Political SciencePursued
BATCH : 2019
7.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

College Review

Remarks -
7.8 /10

Our college still has a vast scope to improve upon certain aspects. Giving the students proper placements acts as a catalyst to boost their career. This, a proper placement cell would be really helpful. Also, a more participative environment to all the students equally would enhance their confidence. Our college has a systematic library and internet access within the library for us to refer to.


Admission -

I had filled a form for political science and my name appeared on the merit list based on the marks obtained in classes 10, 11 and 12. It was followed by an interview conducted by the faculty of the said department, followed by an interview with the Principal of the college.


10/10academic
10/10faculty
7/10infrastructure
5/10food & accom
5/10placement
10/10social life
S
Shania SardarBachelor of Arts [BA] (Editing)
8.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Everything at Once.

Remarks -
8.5 /10

Good remarks would be that my college is good what we need. Only if the could start more subjects and expand the college would help even more. The college could also work on the placement cell.


Entrance Preview -

This college makes a student a complete person. They train you and get you ready for the outside world rather than just teaching bookish knowledge. This college has discipline and works in a personal contact system. Students are recognized by their names and bit by their roll number.


10/10academic
10/10faculty
8/10infrastructure
8/10food & accom
5/10placement
10/10social life
Debalina Mukherjee Bachelor of Arts [BA]Pursued Third Year
BATCH : 2017
8.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS
Remarks -
8.8 /10

It is a great choice for a student to choose this college because it offers the best teaching faculty along with opportunities to showcase your talent in a disciplined environment.


Entrance Preview -

I filled up the online form for the college and they called me up for an interview. The Principal herself took the interview. My marks were fitting in the eligibility criteria and other requirements of the college and hence I got through the admission process.


10/10academic
10/10faculty
8/10infrastructure
8/10food & accom
7/10placement
10/10social life
H
Harshita Anand BA Honours Pursued 2017
5.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Enriching and inspiring under the umbrella of an able faculty.

Remarks -
5.3 /10

Our college is a Christian Minority with the nun as a principal, giving the entire college a very strict rule of decorum. The management could have been better but the faculty is amazing.


Entrance Preview -

I've taken CLAT last year and I scored 80/200.I chose English at Loreto because I wanted to follow my passion of and finally I could once the college accepted me.


9/10academic
8/10faculty
2/10infrastructure
4/10food & accom
1/10placement
8/10social life


Load More reviews

Comments

Comments


2 Comments
L
Lawanya Singh

Does it takes entrance test for admission in b.a honours??

27 May, 2019 11:53
S
Shobhna Chaturvedi

HI Lawanya, yes, the college grants admission only on the basis of score in entrance exam followed by an interview.

27 May, 2019 12:40
R
Rituparna Ghosh

When will Loreto College, Kolkata start issuing forms for B.ed 2017 session? Thanks

15 Mar, 2017 12:49
A
Admin

Hi Rituparna, the admission details for B. ed. course are not announced yet. To get info, please contact at loretcol@cal2.vsnl.net.in

15 Mar, 2017 13:02

- No more comments -

Similar Colleges

University of Calcutta, Kolkata logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.3 / 10

University of Calcutta

Kolkata, West Bengal
NAAC
Seth Anandaram Jaipuria College, Kolkata logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.1 / 10

Seth Anandaram Jaipuria College

Kolkata, West Bengal
UGC
Rani Birla Girl's College, Kolkata logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING4.3 / 10

Rani Birla Girl's College

Kolkata, West Bengal
NAAC
Shri Shikshayatan College, Kolkata logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING/ 10

Shri Shikshayatan College

Kolkata, West Bengal
NCTE
The Bhawanipur Education Society College - [BESC], Kolkata logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING/ 10

NEARBY COLLEGES

University of Calcutta, Kolkata logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.3 / 10

University of Calcutta

Kolkata, West Bengal
NAAC
Presidency University, Kolkata logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.9 / 10

Presidency University

Kolkata, West Bengal
NAAC
Gokhale Memorial Girls' College, Kolkata logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.1 / 10

Gokhale Memorial Girls' College

Kolkata, West Bengal
NAAC
BA 6.6 ₹27.14 K first year fees
The Bhawanipur Education Society College - [BESC], Kolkata logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING/ 10
Seth Anandaram Jaipuria College, Kolkata logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.1 / 10

Seth Anandaram Jaipuria College

Kolkata, West Bengal
UGC
Seth Soorajmull Jalan Girls College - [S.S.J.G.C], Kolkata logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING4.7 / 10

news view all

January 20, 2020

Calcutta University Result 2020: Exam Schedule, BA, B.Sc, B.Com

Calcutta University Latest result Updates are given below. Calcutta University publishes the result for UG & PG courses. Students can check their respe

apply now Download Brochure
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

top courses

BA (Hons.) EnglishAVG FEE - ₹21,725/Yr
3 Years
B.EdAVG FEE - ₹22,690/Yr
2 Years
BA (Hons.) PsychologyAVG FEE - ₹22,192/Yr
3 Years
view more courses[18]

news

Placements

faculties

Dr. Ranjana BanerjeeProfessor, Department of Education
Dr. Ranjita DawnProfessor, Department of Education
Dr. Aditi DasguptaAssociate Professor, Department of English
view all faculties[11]

reviews

STUDENTS ALSO VISITED

South Calcutta Girls College, Kolkata logo

South Calcutta Girls College, Kolkata

BA , ₹ 10.96 K FIRST YEAR FEES
8.3
Asutosh College, Kolkata logo

Asutosh College, Kolkata

B.Sc , ₹ 7.25 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.5
Maulana Azad College - [MAC], Kolkata logo

Maulana Azad College - [MAC], Kolkata

BA , ₹ 1.55 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.0
St. Xavier's College - [SXC], Kolkata logo

St. Xavier's College - [SXC], Kolkata

B.Sc , ₹ 85 K FIRST YEAR FEES
8.2
Scottish Church College, Kolkata logo

Scottish Church College, Kolkata

B.Sc , ₹ 18.99 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.8
Acharya Jagadish Chandra Bose College, Kolkata logo

Acharya Jagadish Chandra Bose College, Kolkata

BA , ₹ 11.2 K FIRST YEAR FEES
6.2
Gokhale Memorial Girls' College, Kolkata logo

Gokhale Memorial Girls' College, Kolkata

BA , ₹ 27.14 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.1
Presidency University, Kolkata logo

Presidency University, Kolkata

BA , ₹ 2 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.9
Jadavpur University, Kolkata logo

Jadavpur University, Kolkata

BE/B.Tech , ₹ 2.4 K FIRST YEAR FEES
8.4
Bethune College, Kolkata logo

Bethune College, Kolkata

B.Sc , ₹ 1.37 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.5
×