Loyola College, Chennai

Loyola College, Chennai

Chennai, Tamil Nadu NAAC-A | Estd 1925 University of Madras, Chennai Public (Autonomous)

about college

Swati Mishra Swati Mishra
Content Curator

Loyola College Chennai, established in 1925 and granted the status of autonomy in 1978, is affiliated to the University of Madras. The college offers UG, PG and Doctoral courses in fields of Arts, Science and Commerce. The research program offered by the college is the most popular among students of not only South India but across the whole India. The sprawling campus of Loyola college is one of the best college campuses in Southern India.

Loyola College Highlights

Established year1925
AffiliationUniversity of Madras
Approvals and AccreditationsUGC and NAAC 
Courses23 UG, 19 PG, and Research
Admission CriteriaMerit-Based
Mode of RegistrationOnline
Official websitehttp://www.loyolacollege.edu
Rankings
  • Ranked 6th Top College in India by NIRF 2019.
  • Elevated to the status of the college of excellence by UGC.
  • Reaccredited by NAAC with 3.70 CGPA out of 4.00.

Loyola College Courses

Loyola College has various courses offered through its eight departments and a research center. The departments are mentioned below:

  • School of Commerce and Economics
  • School of Computational Sciences
  • School of Physical Sciences
  • School of Vocational Studies
  • School of Humanities
  • School of Languages
  • School of Life Sciences
  • School of Media Studies

The courses offered by the college are tabulated below:

CoursesSpecializationsEligibility
B.AEconomics, English, History, Sociology, Tamil10+2 passed in any stream.
B.ScPhysics, Biology, Maths, Chemistry, Visual Communications, Food chemistry, and Food processing10+2 passed in the science stream.
B.ComAccountancy, Mathematics, Statistics, Economics10+2 passed in commerce stream. 
M.AEconomics, English, History, Sociology, Tamil, Social Work, Sociology, Philosophy, Psychology, Applied HistoryGraduation with 50% marks in the relevant stream. For M.Com- BBA or B.Com
M.ScPhysics, Biology, Maths, Chemistry, Visual Communications, Biotech, Data Science, Food Chemistry and Food Processing
M.ComAccountancy, Mathematics, Statistics, Economics
M. PhilEconomics, English, History, Tamil, Physics, Biology, Maths, Chemistry, Visual Communications, Philosophy, PsychologyPostgraduate in relevant stream.
Ph.D

Read More Loyola College Course and Fees

Loyola College Admissions

Admissions at Loyola College is a two-stage process. Loyola College releases the cut off after the submission of application forms on the basis of which merit is prepared and students are called for the personal interviews.

Stage 1: Qualification of Merit

Stage 2: Selection Interview After application, the list of selected students is made merit wise. Those who are in merit are called for the interview process.

Note: It is a minority Roman catholic institution. There are two lists that every department releases at the end of admissions.
  • First list: As Loyola is a Catholic institution, they reserve 50% of the seats to Roman Catholic. 
  • Second list: Out of the remaining 50%, rest all categories can compete including General, SC, ST, OBC and other religious community students.

Application Procedure

  • Step 1: Registration through Online Application Portal
  • Step 2: Filling-in the Basic and Specific details
  • Step 3: Attaching the Documents
  • Step 4: Payment of Application Fee
  • Application Fees:
    • General Candidates: INR 150 for UG and INR 200 for PG
    • SC/ST Candidates: INR 123 for UG and INR 158 for PG

Read More Loyola College Admissions

Loyola College Placements

There are regular campus recruitment drives conducted on the campus and various companies visit the campus for the same. Different online training programs are organized for further grooming of the students. Few of the recently visited companies are:

  • HCL
  • Cactus
  • Akshar Arbol Schools
  • Real Foundations
  • Sutherland and Many more

Recent Placement Summary of the Loyola College Chennai:

  1. Training Given: 19 
  2. Companies Visited: 100 
  3. Recruited Students: 804 (100%) 
  4. Companies Participated: 47 

Read More Loyola College Placements

Loyola College Scholarships

Fee concessions for poor family students, merit scholarship for well-studying students, free food for eligible students, the gold medal for outstanding students, etc they provide a lot of recognition awards to all.

Read More Loyola College Scholarships

Loyola College Facilities

There are numerous facilities offered by the College for the overall development of the students. Few of them are mentioned below:

  • Hostels: Hostels are provided for boys and girls separately. Admission into hostels will be considered only after the admission into Loyola College. Only limited seats are available in the hostels. For further details, please contact the Hostel Administration.
    • Loyola Hostel for Men: 044-28178352
    • The Dean of Women Students processes the admission of girls into the hostel.
    • Loyola Women's Hostel: 044-28178452
  • Library: Students and Staff who are at present working or studying are eligible to become members of this library. Membership for outsiders is not allowed. In case non-members and past students want to make a short reference they shall meet the Library Director or Librarian for permission.
  • Health Center: LHC has dedicated general physicians, staff nurse and lab technicians available on all working days to administer free medical treatments to all staff and students.
  • Food Court: There are multiple food vendors offering a variety of cuisines with Local, national and international flavor to cater to the recipe of the students.

Loyola College Faculty

Name: Dr. M. George Johnson

  • Designation: HOD, Department of Chemistry
  • Qualification - M.Sc., B.Ed., DCA., Ph.D.

Name: Dr. John R. Devadason

  • Designation: Professor, Department of Chemistry
  • Qualification - M.Sc., Ph.D.

Name: Dr. T. Joseph

  • Designation: HOD, Department of Commerce
  • Qualification - M.Com.,M.Phil.,M.B.A.,Ph.D.

Name: Dr. Francis Jose

  • Designation: Professor, Department of Commerce
  • Qualification - M.Com.,M.Phil.,Ph.D.

Loyola College FAQs

Ques. Which is the more superior college, Madras Christian College or Loyola College Chennai?

Ans. It depends on the course you want to study. Some of the courses of Loyola College like Bachelor of Humanities is excellent in terms of faculty and curriculum while Some courses of Madras Christian College beat Loyola College when it comes to the curriculum, e.g B.Sc.

Ques. Is Loyola College Co-ed?

Ans. Yes, Loyola College is co-ed for all PG Courses and Bachelors in Visual Communication. For rest courses, it is not co-ed.

Ques. Which college is better for BBA Course- MCC or Loyola College?

Ans. It entirely depends on what you want. If you want a wholesome experience of college life. I strongly suggest you join MCC. But if you're looking to study in college. Loyola will be a better option. MCC has a lot of diversity in its students with most of the students coming around from all parts of India. Whereas, you're more likely going to study with a majority of Chennai crowd at Loyola.

Ques. Is there any dress code at Loyola College?

Ans. There is no such thing called dress code, unlike some Engineering or Medical colleges. However, you can't wear torn jeans and a round neck tee shirt. What college wants from the students is that the proper dress. 

Ques. How is the Infrastructure of Loyola College?

Ans. Excellent infrastructure and a beautiful looking campus. The canopy of trees covering the pathways protecting you from the scorching sun of Chennai makes you never want to leave the campus once you enter, probably one of the best looking campuses in south India.

15,500
FIRST YEAR
FEES

Get Detailed Fees



College Admission Reviews

user
Sreekanth , Master of Business Administration [MBA], Pursued: 1st year

8.8/10

"Get the form from the college and up then go to the college with my parents then get the admission i have scored a good mark in ug degree thats what the reason I have been selected for admission easily.A nd also got a scholarship on the college my dream came college so Happytk join there"   Read More

Ganeshram , Batch: MBA-2014

10/10

"No admission process directly join but within the stipulated time. Interview process takes place. Thenafter placement based on the desire."   Read More


3 Years Full Time9/10


College Admission Reviews

Akilan A , Bsc., Physics, Pursued:
BATCH : 2020

8.5/10

"The application for this college is welcomed after the publication of 12th result. I applied through online. They will check every applications and release the selection list. My name came on 2nd list. And I admitted after the verification of certificates."   Read More

Rangarajan , Bsc mathematics, Pursued:
BATCH : 2019

7.8/10

"It is feasible for all the students. Though they give scholarships to poor students so in fees condition there is no problem. Many mentoring classes were taken and they find the needy and help them in studying ."   Read More


3 Years Full Time9/10


College Admission Reviews

Sreehari.A , BA economics, Pursued:
BATCH : 2022

10/10

"Apply through online and they will publish a list followed by an interview . Application submission is only through online. All the original documents want to be submitted at the time of interview. "   Read More

Anbudhasan , Bachelor of Arts [BA], Pursued: Third Year
BATCH : 2019

7.7/10

"I have passed my schooling with high percentage, Then I looking for well-known art college and I have found LOYOLA COLLEGE. Then i have followed the website and have applied in online and had sent my printed application and enclosed the necessary certificates and sent through post to my college addr"   Read More


3 Years Full Time9/10


College Admission Reviews

sagaya Raj , B.com cs, Pursued:
BATCH : 2020

9.7/10

"To get admission in Loyola,it took more than one month for me, because Loyola is top ranked college in India,so I have to prove myself to be a eligible student to get the admission.I got admission in Loyola through Interview"   Read More

SATHIYA P , B.com corporate secretaryship, Pursued:
BATCH : 2021

9.5/10

"Firstly I applied college admission through online then they send sms to my number later I checked my application a call letter seem my form I generate it all conditions are mentioned there as per the conditions I took those documents then I got admission in my college."   Read More



College Admission Reviews

Arivusudar , Batch: BCA-2009

9.5/10

"No entrance Exam they have selected through 12th marks. I have got 1089 marks in 12th. So i have got thorough easily."   Read More


148,700*
FIRST YEAR
FEES

Get Detailed Fees


College Admission Reviews

Naman Jhabak , B.B.A, Pursued:
BATCH : 2020

5.5/10

"The fee structure for shift-1 in my college is cheap as they say. However the fee for shift- 2 is feasible enough considering the college as such, however the exam fees which is taken separately must not be done when the normal fees is not such low."   Read More

Shibin , B.B.A, Pursued: 2nd year
BATCH : 2021

10/10

"I didn't get admission very easily. They didn't give B.COM seat for me, but I got 1030 marks in 12th standard. Then at last after coming daily to the college for 3 weeks, they gave me BBA rather than B.COM."   Read More


*Estimated Fees, Official Verification is Pending


College Admission Reviews

sagaya Raj , B.com cs, Pursued:
BATCH : 2020

9.7/10

"To get admission in Loyola,it took more than one month for me, because Loyola is top ranked college in India,so I have to prove myself to be a eligible student to get the admission.I got admission in Loyola through Interview"   Read More

SATHIYA P , B.com corporate secretaryship, Pursued:
BATCH : 2021

9.5/10

"Firstly I applied college admission through online then they send sms to my number later I checked my application a call letter seem my form I generate it all conditions are mentioned there as per the conditions I took those documents then I got admission in my college."   Read More


2 Years Full Time9/10


College Admission Reviews

Alisha James , MA Economics, Pursued:
BATCH : 2017

8/10

"THE ADMISSION STARTS WITH ONLINE APPLICATION. THEN WE HAVE TO WRITE AN ENTRANCE Exam (for pg courses only). then have to attend interview at department. ug marks with entrance AND INTERVIEW IS CONSIDERED FOR ADMISSION."   Read More

ANNIE NIRMALA , MA MEDIA ARTS, Pursued:
BATCH : 2020

8/10

"Entrance exam after that an personal interview and then selecting for call letters also they send messages and it will take up to 1 full day to finish the admission process and ecach student is given a private portal to check updates"   Read More


RANKING

India Today logo

Indiatoday Ranking 2019

RANKED  #5

Science (National)

RANKED  #4

Management (National)

RANKED  #3

Computer Applications (National)

RANKED  #5

Social Work (National)


The Week logo

The Week Ranking 2019

RANKED  #4

Arts (National)

RANKED  #3

Commerce (National)

RANKED  #2

Science (National)

No Result Found

College rating

based on 95 students ratings

8.5/10

8.7/10academic
8.2/10accommodation
8.2/10faculty
8.8/10infrastructure
8.3/10placements
8.8/10social

college Info reviews view all

CLEAR ALL
View All Streams
CLEAR ALL
View All Course Tags
CLEAR ALL
View All Courses

POPULAR TAGS

hostel food
fee structure
semester exam
internal exam
entrance exam
course curriculum
semester mark
mess food
fee concession
campus
experience
department
scholarship
placement
loyola
sagaya RajB.com csPursued
BATCH : 2020
9.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Student review

Remarks -

Loyola has only positive and good name in the society,so far I personally didn't find any negative remarks.Loyola is the number one of my state and top ranked college of our nation.there is no negative remarks about Loyola college.


10/10academic
10/10faculty
9/10infrastructure
10/10food & accom
10/10placement
9/10social life
SATHIYA PB.com corporate secretaryshipPursued
BATCH : 2021
9.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

About college

Remarks -

My college strictly following holistic activities. They reduce fees for the poor student who come from rural background poor students which are got good mark from his school level. My college also having loyola student support service (LSSS)office For all the medium level students.


10/10academic
9/10faculty
10/10infrastructure
9/10food & accom
9/10placement
10/10social life
Kowshik RamB.comPursued
BATCH : 2020
8.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Under graduate

Remarks -

There are no negative remarks, there are only positive remarks or college improves us in being a better human being and a socially responsible person and also a socially aware person and also very knowledgeable person


10/10academic
6/10faculty
9/10infrastructure
5/10food & accom
10/10placement
10/10social life
DominickB. ComBatch : 2016
8.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Nick

Remarks -

Positive : no ragging, many job offers and placement, strict system, free water supply, park inside, all are same men and women equally treated, no restrictions to follow same religion, many festival holidays, many courses for learning, skills development Negative : minimum seats when apply


9/10academic
9/10faculty
9/10infrastructure
7/10food & accom
7/10placement
10/10social life
R.sumanrajB.comBatch : 2016
10.0
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Review about my college

Remarks -

Not even a single negative remarks about my college for me three years went like 3minutes. It was a great atmosphere at Loyola and it was new to me at 8.05 i enter my college 8.15 Prayer at classroom and i were at old commerce building for one year those train sounds make us most memorable one.And those days will never come back.


10/10academic
10/10faculty
10/10infrastructure
10/10food & accom
10/10placement
10/10social life

Load More reviews

facilities

Sports
Medical
Library
Auditorium
Hostel
Laboratory
Comp Labs
Cafeteria
Security
Classrooms

placements View All

₹ 3.5 Lakhs average package
Amazon
STRATAGEM
Genmedic

GALLERY IMAGES view all

Sterling Road, Near Nungambakkam Railway Station, Nungambakkam
Chennai - 600034
Tamil Nadu , India

0.59KmStaff Quaters Bus Stop

044-28178200 , Office Number - 28178261 , 28178262

Comments

Comments


112 Comments
divya devaraj

MBA joined in Loyola. Fees sollunga

14 May, 2019 10:32
Shobhna Chaturvedi

Hi Divya, kindly check the detailed Fee Structure of MBA in the college from here.

14 May, 2019 11:34
Richa kumari

Admission procedure for M.com

24 Dec, 2018 15:50
Akansha Expert

Hi Richa, You may please check the Admission Eligibility for Loyola college Chennai.

24 Dec, 2018 16:17
Sulumol ajinas

Ma english entrance exam and applying date

17 Dec, 2018 18:24
Akansha Expert

Hi Sulumol, You may please check the official website of the college i.e. http://www.loyolacollege.edu for getting the entrance exam detail or Application detail.

18 Dec, 2018 13:14
Spykar

Hello...Is there any entrance exam for the admission of MA English literature?

02 Nov, 2018 09:57
Akansha Expert

Hi Spykar, The Minimum eligibility for PG courses is a candidate must pass in Bachelor’s degree in relevant specializations. Selection to all the courses is done on the basis of an entrance test followed by an interview conducted by the college.

02 Nov, 2018 10:29
Naveen Akash

Best college for M.sc multimedia and animation

09 Sep, 2018 07:41
Garima Bansal

Hi Naveen, To get best colleges for the msc animation and multimedia you may check this link:- Top colleges.

10 Sep, 2018 11:31
Balaji K

I want to pursue MA in english literature...could you please tell me about the percentage of marks required ?

24 Aug, 2018 19:52
Akansha Expert

Hi Balaji, It is depends Upon the College merit list under the College and that Admission is Based on it.

27 Aug, 2018 12:24
chinmaya sahu

Hii...I want to pursue PhD in commerce...will you please explain the enrollment process and course fee ??

17 Aug, 2018 07:44
Akansha Expert

Hi Chinmaya, The Basic Eligibility is Candidate must have passed post graduation in the relevant stream from the recognized University. Please check this link for getting the information about College:-

17 Aug, 2018 12:21
Shyla Raji

I am Gracia studying at class 12th commerce at Saudi Arabia.... I wanted to know about 2019 B.com admission...and also about the ladies hostel....

29 Jul, 2018 19:30
Garima Bansal

HI Shyla, To get admission details for the b.com You may check this link:- Admissions.

02 Aug, 2018 11:31
G NANDHINI

Hi sir...i m Nandhini...I want PG chemistry course details....then division of PG chemistry courses...

15 Jul, 2018 09:13
Akansha Expert

Hi Nandhini, Please check this link for getting the information about the Admission Criteria of this college for PG Course.

20 Jul, 2018 18:03
Bhuvaneswari

M.phil physics part time course is available ya plz help me

08 Jul, 2018 09:15
Akansha Expert

Hi Bhuvaneswari, this college does provide the courses as Full time study.

10 Jul, 2018 14:52

Show More comments

Similar Colleges

The New College, Chennai logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.7 / 10

The New College

Chennai, Tamil Nadu
NAAC-A
Christ University, Bangalore logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING8.2 / 10

Christ University

Bangalore, Karnataka
UGC
Guru Nanak College, Chennai logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.9 / 10

Guru Nanak College

Chennai, Tamil Nadu
NAAC
AM Jain College, Chennai logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING8.1 / 10

AM Jain College

Chennai, Tamil Nadu
NAAC
Presidency College, Chennai logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING8.1 / 10

Presidency College

Chennai, Tamil Nadu
AICTE

NEARBY COLLEGES

Ethiraj College for Women, Chennai logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING8.1 / 10

Ethiraj College for Women

Chennai, Tamil Nadu
NAAC
Ramakrishna Mission Vivekananda College, Chennai logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING8.1 / 10

Ramakrishna Mission Vivekananda College

Chennai, Tamil Nadu
AICTE
Guru Nanak College, Chennai logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.9 / 10

Guru Nanak College

Chennai, Tamil Nadu
NAAC
The New College, Chennai logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.7 / 10

The New College

Chennai, Tamil Nadu
NAAC-A
Mohamed Sathak College of Arts and Science, Chennai logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING6.8 / 10

news view all

October 10, 2019

Madras University Results 2019: Courses, Hall Ticket, Arrear Exam

Madras University conducts term-end examinations twice in a year. The results have been declared on the official website for both regular and distance UG & PG courses. Students, can check their results name-wise, roll number wise by navigating to the UNOM home page. 

October 04, 2019

Loyola College Result 2019: Exam results, Student portal, Revaluation

The end semester exams of Loyola College usually conducted in the month of December and June for odd and even semesters, respectively. Semester exam results for all the courses ar

apply now Download Brochure
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

top courses

news

Placements

average package ₹350,000

faculties

Dr. M. George JohnsonHead of Department, Department of Chemistry
Dr. John R. DevadasonProfessor, Department of Chemistry
Dr. T. JosephHead of Department, Department of Commerce
view all faculties[8]

reviews

STUDENTS ALSO VISITED

University of Madras, Chennai logo

University of Madras, Chennai

MA , ₹ 5.31 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.6
Stella Maris College, Chennai logo

Stella Maris College, Chennai

BA , ₹ 2.4 K FIRST YEAR FEES
8.2
PSG College of Arts and Science, Coimbatore logo

PSG College of Arts and Science, Coimbatore

B.Sc , ₹ 36.85 K FIRST YEAR FEES
8.2
Ramakrishna Mission Vivekananda College, Chennai logo

Ramakrishna Mission Vivekananda College, Chennai

B.Sc , ₹ 1.29 K FIRST YEAR FEES
8.1
Ethiraj College for Women, Chennai logo

Ethiraj College for Women, Chennai

B.Sc , ₹ 10.06 K FIRST YEAR FEES
8.1
Queen Mary's College, Chennai logo

Queen Mary's College, Chennai

B.Sc , ₹ 1.53 K FIRST YEAR FEES
5.0
Women's Christian College - [WCC], Chennai logo

Women's Christian College - [WCC], Chennai

B.Sc , ₹ 37.51 K FIRST YEAR FEES
8.0
×