Loyola College, Chennai

Loyola College, Chennai

Chennai, Tamil Nadu NAAC | Estd 1925 University of Madras, Chennai Public (Autonomous)

about college

Swati Mishra Swati Mishra
Content Curator

Loyola College Chennai, established in 1925 and granted the status of autonomy in 1978, is affiliated to the University of Madras. The college offers UG, PG and Doctoral courses in fields of Arts, Science and Commerce. The research program offered by the college is the most popular among students of not only South India but across the whole India. The sprawling campus of Loyola college is one of the best college campuses in Southern India.

Loyola College Highlights

Established year1925
AffiliationUniversity of Madras
Approvals and AccreditationsUGC and NAAC 
Courses23 UG, 19 PG, and Research
Admission CriteriaMerit-Based
Mode of RegistrationOnline
Official websitehttp://www.loyolacollege.edu
Rankings
  • Ranked 6th Top College in India by NIRF 2019.
  • Elevated to the status of the college of excellence by UGC.
  • Reaccredited by NAAC with 3.70 CGPA out of 4.00.

Loyola College Courses

Loyola College has various courses offered through its eight departments and a research center. The departments are mentioned below:

  • School of Commerce and Economics
  • School of Computational Sciences
  • School of Physical Sciences
  • School of Vocational Studies
  • School of Humanities
  • School of Languages
  • School of Life Sciences
  • School of Media Studies

The courses offered by the college are tabulated below:

CoursesSpecializationsEligibility
B.AEconomics, English, History, Sociology, Tamil10+2 passed in any stream.
B.ScPhysics, Biology, Maths, Chemistry, Visual Communications, Food chemistry, and Food processing10+2 passed in the science stream.
B.ComAccountancy, Mathematics, Statistics, Economics10+2 passed in commerce stream. 
M.AEconomics, English, History, Sociology, Tamil, Social Work, Sociology, Philosophy, Psychology, Applied HistoryGraduation with 50% marks in the relevant stream. For M.Com- BBA or B.Com
M.ScPhysics, Biology, Maths, Chemistry, Visual Communications, Biotech, Data Science, Food Chemistry and Food Processing
M.ComAccountancy, Mathematics, Statistics, Economics
M. PhilEconomics, English, History, Tamil, Physics, Biology, Maths, Chemistry, Visual Communications, Philosophy, PsychologyPostgraduate in relevant stream.
Ph.D

Read More Loyola College Course and Fees

Loyola College Admissions

Admissions at Loyola College is a two-stage process. Loyola College releases the cut off after the submission of application forms on the basis of which merit is prepared and students are called for the personal interviews.

Stage 1: Qualification of Merit

Stage 2: Selection Interview After application, the list of selected students is made merit wise. Those who are in merit are called for the interview process.

Note: It is a minority Roman catholic institution. There are two lists that every department releases at the end of admissions.
  • First list: As Loyola is a Catholic institution, they reserve 50% of the seats to Roman Catholic. 
  • Second list: Out of the remaining 50%, rest all categories can compete including General, SC, ST, OBC and other religious community students.

Application Procedure

  • Step 1: Registration through Online Application Portal
  • Step 2: Filling-in the Basic and Specific details
  • Step 3: Attaching the Documents
  • Step 4: Payment of Application Fee
  • Application Fees:
    • General Candidates: INR 150 for UG and INR 200 for PG
    • SC/ST Candidates: INR 123 for UG and INR 158 for PG

Read More Loyola College Admissions

Loyola College Placements

There are regular campus recruitment drives conducted on the campus and various companies visit the campus for the same. Different online training programs are organized for further grooming of the students. Few of the recently visited companies are:

  • HCL
  • Cactus
  • Akshar Arbol Schools
  • Real Foundations
  • Sutherland and Many more

Recent Placement Summary of the Loyola College Chennai:

  1. Training Given: 19 
  2. Companies Visited: 100 
  3. Recruited Students: 804 (100%) 
  4. Companies Participated: 47 

Read More Loyola College Placements

Loyola College Scholarships

Fee concessions for poor family students, merit scholarship for well-studying students, free food for eligible students, the gold medal for outstanding students, etc they provide a lot of recognition awards to all.

Read More Loyola College Scholarships

Loyola College Facilities

There are numerous facilities offered by the College for the overall development of the students. Few of them are mentioned below:

  • Hostels: Hostels are provided for boys and girls separately. Admission into hostels will be considered only after the admission into Loyola College. Only limited seats are available in the hostels. For further details, please contact the Hostel Administration.
    • Loyola Hostel for Men: 044-28178352
    • The Dean of Women Students processes the admission of girls into the hostel.
    • Loyola Women's Hostel: 044-28178452
  • Library: Students and Staff who are at present working or studying are eligible to become members of this library. Membership for outsiders is not allowed. In case non-members and past students want to make a short reference they shall meet the Library Director or Librarian for permission.
  • Health Center: LHC has dedicated general physicians, staff nurse and lab technicians available on all working days to administer free medical treatments to all staff and students.
  • Food Court: There are multiple food vendors offering a variety of cuisines with Local, national and international flavor to cater to the recipe of the students.

Loyola College Faculty

Name: Dr. M. George Johnson

  • Designation: HOD, Department of Chemistry
  • Qualification - M.Sc., B.Ed., DCA., Ph.D.

Name: Dr. John R. Devadason

  • Designation: Professor, Department of Chemistry
  • Qualification - M.Sc., Ph.D.

Name: Dr. T. Joseph

  • Designation: HOD, Department of Commerce
  • Qualification - M.Com.,M.Phil.,M.B.A.,Ph.D.

Name: Dr. Francis Jose

  • Designation: Professor, Department of Commerce
  • Qualification - M.Com.,M.Phil.,Ph.D.

Loyola College FAQs

Ques. Which is the more superior college, Madras Christian College or Loyola College Chennai?

Ans. It depends on the course you want to study. Some of the courses of Loyola College like Bachelor of Humanities is excellent in terms of faculty and curriculum while Some courses of Madras Christian College beat Loyola College when it comes to the curriculum, e.g B.Sc.

Ques. Is Loyola College Co-ed?

Ans. Yes, Loyola College is co-ed for all PG Courses and Bachelors in Visual Communication. For rest courses, it is not co-ed.

Ques. Which college is better for BBA Course- MCC or Loyola College?

Ans. It entirely depends on what you want. If you want a wholesome experience of college life. I strongly suggest you join MCC. But if you're looking to study in college. Loyola will be a better option. MCC has a lot of diversity in its students with most of the students coming around from all parts of India. Whereas, you're more likely going to study with a majority of Chennai crowd at Loyola.

Ques. Is there any dress code at Loyola College?

Ans. There is no such thing called dress code, unlike some Engineering or Medical colleges. However, you can't wear torn jeans and a round neck tee shirt. What college wants from the students is that the proper dress. 

Ques. How is the Infrastructure of Loyola College?

Ans. Excellent infrastructure and a beautiful looking campus. The canopy of trees covering the pathways protecting you from the scorching sun of Chennai makes you never want to leave the campus once you enter, probably one of the best looking campuses in south India.

15,500
FIRST YEAR
FEES

Get Detailed Fees



College Admission Reviews

user
Sreekanth , Master of Business Administration [MBA], Pursued: 1st year

8.8/10

"Get the form from the college and up then go to the college with my parents then get the admission i have scored a good mark in ug degree thats what the reason I have been selected for admission easily.A nd also got a scholarship on the college my dream came college so Happytk join there"   Read More

Ganeshram , Batch: MBA-2014

10/10

"No admission process directly join but within the stipulated time. Interview process takes place. Thenafter placement based on the desire."   Read More


3 Years Full Time9/10


College Admission Reviews

Prabhakar , Bsc, Pursued:
BATCH : 2020

6/10

"I got admission by applying to the college via application given via online by my college and the application process is easy there will be a three merit list and also a separate recommendation list once you've been shortlisted you have to check in the loyola college official website then they will "   Read More

Kevin Nicholas J , B.Sc Mathematics, Pursued:
BATCH : 2021

10/10

"As I scored 1063 in my 12th exam I got admission in first list i mean Merit list and i have also provided a letter from my village priest for preference to join in the college as i was a Roman Catholic ."   Read More


3 Years Full Time9/10


College Admission Reviews

karthick , BA FRENCH, Pursued:
BATCH : 2021

7.3/10

"At first I applied through online. And then I get call letter from the Loyola College to attend the entrance exam.And then in the same day afternoon I got selected in entrance exam and then attended interview.After one week I got call letter to join the course."   Read More

Sreehari.A , BA economics, Pursued:
BATCH : 2022

10/10

"Apply through online and they will publish a list followed by an interview . Application submission is only through online. All the original documents want to be submitted at the time of interview. "   Read More


3 Years Full Time9/10


College Admission Reviews

Vasanthan , B.Com Corporate Secretaryship, Pursued:
BATCH : 2021

8.2/10

"I got in through recommendation. You have to bring your call letter and admission form to the college and meet the Deputy Principal and verify your 10th, 12th marks, birth certificate, community certificate, etc to get verifed. After the verification you have to pay the semester fees. And you would "   Read More

KARTHEESHWARAN M , B com, Pursued:
BATCH : 2022

10/10

"I scored high marks and my brother last year past out this college and my brother told to me you wil go to loyola college and i will apply for the college admissions and listed for my name and then meet the principal next i gotthe admission"   Read More



College Admission Reviews

Naveen Roshan , BCA, Pursued:
BATCH : 2020

10/10

"It was a good process. firstly they checked all certificates, then we met the HOD of dept, then met principal for general orientation, paid college fees, then took a photo shoot for ID card and a refreshments room for parents."   Read More

Arivusudar , Batch: BCA-2009

9.5/10

"No entrance Exam they have selected through 12th marks. I have got 1089 marks in 12th. So i have got thorough easily."   Read More


148,700*
FIRST YEAR
FEES

Get Detailed Fees


College Admission Reviews

Naman Jhabak , B.B.A, Pursued:
BATCH : 2020

5.5/10

"The fee structure for shift-1 in my college is cheap as they say. However the fee for shift- 2 is feasible enough considering the college as such, however the exam fees which is taken separately must not be done when the normal fees is not such low."   Read More

Shibin , B.B.A, Pursued: 2nd year
BATCH : 2021

10/10

"I didn't get admission very easily. They didn't give B.COM seat for me, but I got 1030 marks in 12th standard. Then at last after coming daily to the college for 3 weeks, they gave me BBA rather than B.COM."   Read More


*Estimated Fees, Official Verification is Pending


College Admission Reviews

Vasanthan , B.Com Corporate Secretaryship, Pursued:
BATCH : 2021

8.2/10

"I got in through recommendation. You have to bring your call letter and admission form to the college and meet the Deputy Principal and verify your 10th, 12th marks, birth certificate, community certificate, etc to get verifed. After the verification you have to pay the semester fees. And you would "   Read More

KARTHEESHWARAN M , B com, Pursued:
BATCH : 2022

10/10

"I scored high marks and my brother last year past out this college and my brother told to me you wil go to loyola college and i will apply for the college admissions and listed for my name and then meet the principal next i gotthe admission"   Read More


2 Years Full Time9/10


College Admission Reviews

Alisha James , MA Economics, Pursued:
BATCH : 2017

8/10

"THE ADMISSION STARTS WITH ONLINE APPLICATION. THEN WE HAVE TO WRITE AN ENTRANCE Exam (for pg courses only). then have to attend interview at department. ug marks with entrance AND INTERVIEW IS CONSIDERED FOR ADMISSION."   Read More

ANNIE NIRMALA , MA MEDIA ARTS, Pursued:
BATCH : 2020

8/10

"Entrance exam after that an personal interview and then selecting for call letters also they send messages and it will take up to 1 full day to finish the admission process and ecach student is given a private portal to check updates"   Read More


RANKING

India Today logo

Indiatoday Ranking 2019

RANKED  #5

Science (National)

RANKED  #4

Management (National)

RANKED  #3

Computer Applications (National)

RANKED  #5

Social Work (National)


The Week logo

The Week Ranking 2019

RANKED  #4

Arts (National)

RANKED  #3

Commerce (National)

RANKED  #2

Science (National)

No Result Found

College rating

based on 107 students ratings

8.5/10

8.6/10academic
8.2/10accommodation
8.2/10faculty
8.8/10infrastructure
8.3/10placements
8.8/10social

college Info reviews view all

CLEAR ALL
View All Streams
CLEAR ALL
View All Course Tags
CLEAR ALL
View All Courses

POPULAR TAGS

hostel food
fee structure
semester exam
internal exam
entrance exam
course curriculum
semester mark
mess food
fee concession
campus
experience
department
scholarship
placement
loyola
P
PrabhakarBscPursued
BATCH : 2020
6.0
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Loyola college the school of wisdom

Remarks -
6 /10

Overall you gain alot of exposure and Mostly loyola has a big alumini network we have a alumni meet happening every year to motivate the students where the actors,industrialists,bussinessmans , other bigshots who studied in our college will be coming to the event


7/10academic
6/10faculty
5/10infrastructure
3/10food & accom
7/10placement
8/10social life
V
VasanthanB.Com Corporate SecretaryshipPursued
BATCH : 2021
8.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Worth to join

Remarks -
8.2 /10

Negative remarks are faculties are poor if you’re here only for studying the you’re in the wrong place. Major strength is the elections. And many don’t involve in those and don’t know about it. College is for enjoying


8/10academic
7/10faculty
9/10infrastructure
7/10food & accom
9/10placement
9/10social life
K
Kevin Nicholas JB.Sc MathematicsPursued
BATCH : 2021
10.0
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

College of Excellence

Remarks -
10 /10

Excellent infrastructure and a beautiful looking campus. The canopy of trees covering the pathways protecting you from the scorching sun of Chennai makes you never want to leave the campus once you enter, probably one of the best looking campuses in south India.To my knowledge, Loyola college arguably is the best campus for students with disabilities and the visually challenged. Support services offered by the management and positive attitude of fellow students is what makes it friendly for the students with disabilities.


10/10academic
10/10faculty
10/10infrastructure
10/10food & accom
10/10placement
10/10social life
P
Piyush jainB.comPursued
BATCH : 2020
7.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

MY DREAM COLLEGE

Remarks -
7.3 /10

Overall Loyola college is very good college compared to other colleges and I am greatly happy that I got admission into this college and I wanted it as it was my dream but the thing is the main priority year in this college is given to Christians and not the students were deserving and the selection process is also a little partial.


8/10academic
6/10faculty
8/10infrastructure
8/10food & accom
6/10placement
8/10social life
P
Piyush jainB.comPursued
BATCH : 2020
7.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

MY DREAM COLLEGE

Remarks -
7.3 /10

Overall Loyola college is very good college compared to other colleges and I am greatly happy that I got admission into this college and I wanted it as it was my dream but the thing is the main priority year in this college is given to Christians and not the students were deserving and the selection process is also a little partial.


8/10academic
6/10faculty
8/10infrastructure
8/10food & accom
6/10placement
8/10social life
S
Sai TanishqBSc Advancd Zoology & BiotechnologyPursued
BATCH : 2021
7.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

LOYOLA COLLEGE

Remarks -
7.5 /10

College gives all round development when used appropriately. It promotes wholistic development and betterment of student. Its mutlicultural and multinational college. Various club activities and Outreach programmes where you get exposure to slums and their lifestyle is appreciable. Though there is lack of modernised architecture, it always gives a vintage feel of a college.


7/10academic
7/10faculty
7/10infrastructure
8/10food & accom
8/10placement
8/10social life
D
David vasanthkumarB.ComPursued
BATCH : 2021
8.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

College review

Remarks -
8.3 /10

My college loyola has been there for more than 80+ years and they are the best arts college in chennai. Positives is that they have the best staff and students and no one can be as knowledgeable as they are.


7/10academic
9/10faculty
10/10infrastructure
10/10food & accom
9/10placement
5/10social life
R
Roshan satheeshBsc.viscomPursued
7.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Starboy

Remarks -
7.8 /10

Postive remark is that everyone is treated very well. They actually helps the disabled person very much.they actually have a big library which helps most of the students. Negativitly speaking the food is too costly.


8/10academic
9/10faculty
8/10infrastructure
7/10food & accom
8/10placement
7/10social life
J
Joel Abraham ManojBsc. PhysicsPursued
BATCH : 2022
7.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Loyola rocks

Remarks -
7.8 /10

Negative remark. They can improve upon the syllabus and faculty. Also the cost of food at canteen is greater compared to the cost outside. Positive remarks. The faculty gives a great deal of care to the students.


7/10academic
6/10faculty
9/10infrastructure
9/10food & accom
7/10placement
9/10social life
s
sagaya RajB.com csPursued
BATCH : 2020
9.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Student review

Remarks -
9.7 /10

Loyola has only positive and good name in the society,so far I personally didn't find any negative remarks.Loyola is the number one of my state and top ranked college of our nation.there is no negative remarks about Loyola college.


10/10academic
10/10faculty
9/10infrastructure
10/10food & accom
10/10placement
9/10social life

Load More reviews

facilities

Sports
Medical
Library
Auditorium
Hostel
Laboratory
Comp Labs
Cafeteria
Security
Classrooms

placements View All

₹ 3.5 Lakhs average package
Amazon
STRATAGEM
Genmedic

GALLERY IMAGES view all

Sterling Road, Near Nungambakkam Railway Station, Nungambakkam
Chennai - 600034
Tamil Nadu , India

0.59KmStaff Quaters Bus Stop

044-28178200 , Office Number - 28178261 , 28178262

Comments

Comments


119 Comments
MOBILE FRAME
Dhanalakshmi Dhanalakshmi

What to know about correspondence admission details.

13 Feb, 2020 06:04
S
Shobhna Chaturvedi

Hi Dhanalakshmi, Loyola college does not offers distance education.

13 Feb, 2020 11:39
MOBILE FRAME
LOGOS

Am I eligible to apply for msc visual communication after my B.A in Arts

31 Jan, 2020 22:43
S
Shobhna Chaturvedi

Hi, sorry but you are not eligible for this course as candidates seeking admission in this course must have pursued graduation in relevant discipline only.

01 Feb, 2020 12:55
S
Sai priyadarshani sahu

Is there any entrance exam for Msc chemistry?

20 Jan, 2020 10:04
S
Shobhna Chaturvedi

Hi Priyadarshini, yes, admission to this course is done on the basis of candidates' score in entrance exam followed by an interview conducted by the college.

20 Jan, 2020 10:33
K
Krati

I want to do BA (economic) from LOYOLA college.what is the processor and is it for girls also

23 Dec, 2019 17:38
S
Shobhna Chaturvedi

Hi Krati, admission to this course will be done on the basis of merit followed by an interview conducted by the college. You can check the Admission Procedure in detail from here.

23 Dec, 2019 18:16
R
RAGNI DEVI

Session fee for BA SOcology.

20 Dec, 2019 14:41
S
Shobhna Chaturvedi

Annual fees for this course is INR 13,842 (approx).

20 Dec, 2019 17:38
R
RAGNI DEVI

Admission fee for BA Socology

20 Dec, 2019 12:56
S
Shobhna Chaturvedi

Hi Ragni, registration fee for all UG courses is INR 150 for general categories while it is INR 123 for reserved categories.

20 Dec, 2019 14:31
M
Manoj singh

MBA course duration?

17 Dec, 2019 17:59
S
Shobhna Chaturvedi

Hi Manoj, course duration of MBA course is two years only.

17 Dec, 2019 18:05
d
divya devaraj

MBA joined in Loyola. Fees sollunga

14 May, 2019 10:32
S
Shobhna Chaturvedi

Hi Divya, kindly check the detailed Fee Structure of MBA in the college from here.

14 May, 2019 11:34
R
Richa kumari

Admission procedure for M.com

24 Dec, 2018 15:50
A
Akansha Expert

Hi Richa, You may please check the Admission Eligibility for Loyola college Chennai.

24 Dec, 2018 16:17
S
Sulumol ajinas

Ma english entrance exam and applying date

17 Dec, 2018 18:24
A
Akansha Expert

Hi Sulumol, You may please check the official website of the college i.e. http://www.loyolacollege.edu for getting the entrance exam detail or Application detail.

18 Dec, 2018 13:14

Show More comments

Similar Colleges

Christ University, Bangalore logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING8.2 / 10

Christ University

Bangalore, Karnataka
NAAC
Guru Nanak College, Chennai logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.6 / 10

Guru Nanak College

Chennai, Tamil Nadu
NAAC
AM Jain College, Chennai logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING8.1 / 10

AM Jain College

Chennai, Tamil Nadu
NAAC
Vels Institute of Science, Technology & Advanced Studies, Chennai logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING/ 10
Women's Christian College - [WCC], Chennai logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING8.3 / 10

Women's Christian College - [WCC]

Chennai, Tamil Nadu
NAAC
Queen Mary's College, Chennai logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING6.1 / 10

Queen Mary's College

Chennai, Tamil Nadu
NAAC

NEARBY COLLEGES

Ethiraj College for Women, Chennai logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING8.1 / 10

Ethiraj College for Women

Chennai, Tamil Nadu
NAAC
Ramakrishna Mission Vivekananda College, Chennai logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING8.1 / 10

Ramakrishna Mission Vivekananda College

Chennai, Tamil Nadu
AICTE
Guru Nanak College, Chennai logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.6 / 10

Guru Nanak College

Chennai, Tamil Nadu
NAAC
The New College, Chennai logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.6 / 10

The New College

Chennai, Tamil Nadu
NAAC
Mohamed Sathak College of Arts and Science, Chennai logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.5 / 10

news view all

February 01, 2020

Madras University Results 2020: Courses, Hall Ticket, Arrear Exam

Madras University conducts term-end examinations twice in a year. The results have been declared on the official website for both regular and distance UG & PG courses. Students, can check their results name-wise, roll number wise by navigating to the UNOM home page. 

January 31, 2020

Loyola College Result 2020: Exam Results, Student Portal, Revaluation

The end semester exams of Loyola College usually conducted in the month of December and June for odd and even semesters, respectively. Semester exam results for all the courses ar

apply now Download Brochure
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

top courses

news

Placements

average package ₹350,000

faculties

Dr. M. George JohnsonHead of Department, Department of Chemistry
Dr. John R. DevadasonProfessor, Department of Chemistry
Dr. T. JosephHead of Department, Department of Commerce
view all faculties[8]

reviews

STUDENTS ALSO VISITED

Presidency College, Chennai logo

Presidency College, Chennai

BA , ₹ 1.25 K FIRST YEAR FEES
8.1
Ethiraj College for Women, Chennai logo

Ethiraj College for Women, Chennai

B.Sc , ₹ 10.06 K FIRST YEAR FEES
8.1
University of Madras, Chennai logo

University of Madras, Chennai

MA , ₹ 5.31 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.6
PSG College of Arts and Science, Coimbatore logo

PSG College of Arts and Science, Coimbatore

B.Sc , ₹ 36.85 K FIRST YEAR FEES
8.2
Ramakrishna Mission Vivekananda College, Chennai logo

Ramakrishna Mission Vivekananda College, Chennai

B.Sc , ₹ 1.29 K FIRST YEAR FEES
8.1
The New College, Chennai logo

The New College, Chennai

B.Sc , ₹ 3.17 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.6
Stella Maris College, Chennai logo

Stella Maris College, Chennai

BA , ₹ 2.4 K FIRST YEAR FEES
8.2
×