Mithibai College of Arts, Mumbai

Mithibai College of Arts, Mumbai

Mumbai, Maharashtra AICTE, UGC | Estd 1961 University of Mumbai, Mumbai Private Institute

about college

Swati Mishra Swati Mishra
Content Curator

Mithibai College of Arts, Chauhan Institute of Science and Amrutben Jivanlal College of Commerce and Economics, located in Mumbai is popularly known as Mithibai College of Arts. The college is affiliated to the University of Mumbai. India Today has ranked the faculty of Science and Commerce at First position and faculty of Arts at second position among the various college faculties of the University of Mumbai. It also received the title of one of the best colleges of the University of Mumbai by Mumbai Mirror Magazine.

It has 32 departments of which 16 are postgraduate departments with 10 of them conducting Ph.D. programs. Mithibai College has more than 35,000 students, 217 teaching staff and 174 non-teaching staff in its Degree and Junior College together. It imparts education in Undergraduate, Postgraduate and Research Level Programs. 

Mithibai College Highlights

Established year1961
Governing BodyShri Vile Parle Kelavani Mandal Public Charitable Trust established in the year 1934
Type of InstitutePrivate Institute
Approved byUGC Grade 1 Autonomy, AICTE
CoursesUG, PG and Research Program
Selection CriteriaMerit-Based
Library Booksmore than 60,000
Application modeOnline
Official Websitewww.mithibai.ac.in
LocationBhaktivedanta Swami Marg, Gulmohar Road, Suvarna Nagar, Vile Parle (W) Mumbai - 400056 Maharashtra, India

Mithibai College Courses

The college offers a variety of undergraduate, postgraduate and doctoral programs in multiple specializations. Application to UG courses starts by the end of May month, whereas, application procedure of PG courses start in the month of June. The application process for the Ph.D. courses starts around mid- October.

CourseDurationEligibility
B.A 3 years 10+2 passed with minimum 45% marks in any stream. 
B.M.M (Bachelor in Mass Media) 3 years10+2 passed with minimum 45% marks in any stream. 
B.Sc 3 years10+2 passed with Science stream and a minimum 55% marks.
B.Sc ( Biochemistry)3 years10+2 passed with a minimum of 50% and science stream.
B.Com3 years10+2 passed with a minimum 45% and commerce stream.
B.M.S (Bachelor in Management Studies)3 years10+ 2 passed in any stream.
M.Com2 yearsGraduation in B.Com or B.M.S degree
M.Sc2 yearsGraduation in the science stream.
M.A2 yearsGraduation in any stream.

Mithibai College Ph.D. Admission

Mithibai College provides Ph.D. Program in 8 different specializations i.e. Botany, Chemistry, Microbiology, Physics, Mathematics, Commerce and Zoology. A postgraduate degree is minimum eligibility for the Ph.D. program. Eligible candidates need to appear for the Ph.D. entrance test (PET) to be conducted by the University of Mumbai. The duration of the program depends upon the completion of the necessary research work. Applicants having valid GATE / SET / NET / (JRF) Examination/ teacher fellowship holder scores are exempted from the entrance exam.

Note: Students belonging to reserved category (SC/ ST/ DT/ NT/ OBC /SBC) are entitled to get fee concession, provided they have submitted necessary relevant documents at the time of admission. 

Check Mithibai College Fee Structure

Mithibai College Admission

Admission to Mithibai College is done through online mode. Applicants who wish to apply can submit the application form on the official website of the college. The selection is purely based on the merit list. Shortlisted candidates on the basis of their marks obtained in the last qualifying examination are considered for the admission process.  Mumbai University charges no fees to apply for Program. 

For admission to UG courses, applicants should have passed class 12 in relevant discipline with minimum required marks. While for PG programs students should have a graduate degree in a relevant discipline with required marks from a well-recognized university or institute.

Application Procedure

  • Visit the website.

  • Create login credentials to register.

  • Fill the application form.

  • Select the program.

  • Select the college.

  • Submit the form.

  • Take a print out of the form for future reference.

Once, the admission is confirmed, the university demands the candidate to deposit the admission fees. For offline application, the candidate has to submit the duly filled Pre-admission Enrolment form to the University or affiliated college.

Application Fees

There is no application fee required by the students seeking admission to the University of Mumbai. However, the candidates need to deposit the admission fees to the college once the admission is confirmed.

For Ph.D. courses, the candidates must pay INR. 1000 as application fee.

Read More Mithibai College Admission

Mithibai College Placement

The college has a Training & Placement Cell comprising of the placement officer, trainer, faculties and student coordinators. This Cell is the prime force responsible for all activities of Training and Placement chores, providing an opportunity for Part-Time / Full-Time jobs in reputed organizations to eligible students. The cell organizes various mock activities and guiding sessions through various drills, seminars, and workshops such as Soft Skills Sessions, PD & GD sessions, etc.

Below are some statistics related to the annual package gone in some past years:

Sessions

2017-18

2016-17

2015-16

Highest Package (in INR Lacs Per Annum)

INR 19.5 Lacs Per Annum

INR 8.5 Lacs Per Annum

INR 7.5 Lacs Per Annum

Average Package (in INR Lacs Per Annum)

INR 7 Lacs Per Annum

INR 5 Lacs Per Annum

INR 4 Lacs Per Annum

Some of the prime recruiters of the college are such as Google, Tech Mahindra, L&T Infotech, Capgemini, KPMG, Ernst & Young, etc.

Click here Mithibai College Placement

Mithibai College Scholarship

Mithibai College offers financial assistance to students based on their merit and performance in the College exams.

Name of the scholarship

Requirement

Government open merit scholarship

At least 85% mark in the S.S.C. Examination only

Government open merit

For SSC Arts, Commerce Science 85% marks in the immediately preceding examination

Talent Development scholarship

For S.Y.J.C student who has scored the highest marks in mathematics and physics and will continue in the same college till B.Sc. Degree

Government of India scholarship to backward Class Students i.e. SC/SBC/OBC/VJNT-DT ST

Eligible only for students belonging to Maharashtra State. Photocopy of the following required:

  • Cast Certificate
  • Income certificate
  • Ration Card
  • SSC/XI/ XII Mark sheets
  • Aadhar Card

Government open merit scholarship from Minority community Sikh/ Muslim/ Christian / Buddhist /Jain

Eligible only for students belonging to Maharashtra State. Photocopy of the following required:

  • Cast Certificate
  • Income certificate
  • Ration Card
  • SSC/XI/ XII Mark sheets
  • Aadhar Card

Know more Mithibai College Scholarship

Mithibai College Facilities

  • Library: The Library holds more than 60,000 books in different fields of learning. These also include journals, periodicals, encyclopedias, handbooks and books on general knowledge. The College Library has been renovated to a state of the art, fully air-conditioned avatar having an E-Library Facility. It is centrally air-conditioned and supported with modern technology like Wi-Fi and digital video recording cameras Library users can access Online Databases through Wi-Fi
  • Auditorium: Juhu Jagruti Hall and Mithibai Seminar Hall are excellent centrally air-conditioned halls, technically well-equipped with state of the art acoustics, light and sound facilities. Its seating capacity is 114 approximately.
  • Activity Room: The College has acquired a vibrant atmosphere due to co-curricular and extension activities. It is a place to develop creative thoughts in young minds with an emphasis on Cultural milieu.
  • Laboratories are spacious, well equipped with the latest apparatus and sophisticated equipment. Most of the labs are High-Tech labs and used for Research work.
  • Lifts/ Ramps /Wash-rooms/Water Coolers: These facilities are available in common floor-wise to suit the needs of everyone. Proper arrangements with great precautions are made for the differently able and persons with special needs

Mithibai College Extracurricular Activities

  • DELLE: DELLE (Department of Life-Long Learning & Extension) Students affiliated with this Department are involved in various Career Oriented and Community-based activities.  Career Fair, Industry oriented Program, Information Technology Program, Skits and Street Plays on Social issues, Poster Making, Cleanness Drive, etc. are the unique mix of activities in that the students participate.
  • N.S.S: The N.S.S. unit of the college has adopted a village in the rural area of Dahanu and has helped in the formation of 'BALWADI' to teach tribal children. N.S.S. Undertakes projects like blood donation, AIDS awareness drives, Beach Cleaning campaign, etc.
  • N.C.C: N.C.C. is the dynamic organization of young Boys and Girls all over the country. It plays an important role in inculcating the value of character, patriotism, unity and selfless service amongst the youth. It helps in shaping the youth into disciplined, responsible, confident and patriotic citizens of the country.

Mithibai College FAQs

Ques. What are the eight subjects in which Mithibai College offers a Ph.D.?

Ans. The subjects in which a Ph.D. is offered are: English, Commerce, Botany, Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics, Microbiology, Zoology, Biotechnology.

Ques. Does Mithibai College offer any counseling services?

Ans. Yes, the college has in House Counselling service which can be availed for any professional or personal reasons. 

Ques. What is the application fees for applying in any program at Mithibai College?

Ans. There is no application fees for applying in any program at Mithibai College. However, the PhD applicants are charged INR 1000 as application fees.

Ques. What is the publication of Mithibai College?

Ans. Every year, Mithibai College published a magazine called Mithaas.

Ques. Does Mithibai College has any Film society?

Ans. Yes, Mithibai College has a film society called “Mithibai Film Society” which guides and trains the students for acting classed and bollywood opportunities. 

3 Years Full Time7/10
5,545
FIRST YEAR
FEES

Get Detailed Fees



College Admission Reviews

Dhruvil Parekh , Bachelor of Commerce [B.Com] (Accounting and Finance), Pursued: 3rd year
BATCH : 2019

8.2/10

"Admission is based on your merit in std 12 board examination, forms consisting all your details to be filled online and submitted in college with the amount of the fee once your name appears in the merit list."   Read More

user
Nemish , B.Com, Pursued:
BATCH : 2018

9.3/10

"The admission procedure for entering into B. Com course for this college is either through in-house category,gujarati quota or online admission based on your score in H.S.C"   Read More


3 Years Full Time5/10
28,645
FIRST YEAR
FEES

Get Detailed Fees



College Admission Reviews

Saurav jadhav , Bsc, Pursued:
BATCH : 2022

8.3/10

"On the basis of Merit of hsc board, first we have to fill the admission form then the merit lists will be displayed if ur name is there in the first list then two days will be given for u to take admission, if not then wait for the second list"   Read More

Jai Navani , Bachelor's of Science, Pursued:
BATCH : 2020

7.8/10

"Filled admission forms online and the merit list was released on the website. I was selected and took an offline admission. I had to make a demand draft that had to be submitted to the college along with all necessary documents "   Read More


17,445
FIRST YEAR
FEES

Get Detailed Fees


College Admission Reviews

Pritesh , Batch: BMS-2016

8.3/10

"On the basis of HSC marks and applicabliy of Minority quota. All the docs were submitted like marksheets, caste certificate, etc. Also an interview was conducted to judge the capability of mine. After that I was selected. "   Read More

Mitesh , B.M.S, Pursued:
BATCH : 2020

9.3/10

"The fee is not that high as per the aminities that the college provides. The fee is around 40000 per year so which i think it's pretty reasonable. However there are various expenses that u need to take out while you work on projects and presentations"   Read More


17,645
FIRST YEAR
FEES

Get Detailed Fees


College Admission Reviews

Himanshi Goyal , Bachelor of Mass Media [B.M.M.], Pursued: Second Year
BATCH : 2018

7.5/10

"I did not appear for any kind of entrance examination, as I already knew that I want to enroll in this course.I already had this subject called "Mass Media" in my school so it was quite clear in my mind that I have to continue with this stream only. The only entrance exam I appeared for was of the S"   Read More


3 Years Full Time6/10
5,545
FIRST YEAR
FEES

Get Detailed Fees


College Admission Reviews

Virat dodia , Batch: BA-2018

9/10

"My admission process was very simple as I am a Gujarati and everyone knows that Mithibai has a Gujarati quota and hence I got the admission in arts faculty just what I wanted, despite having scored only 74% in 10th I got the admission as the cut off in that year was very low compared to what today i"   Read More

Rahul jha , Bachelor of Arts [BA], Pursued: 2nd year
BATCH : 2021

10/10

"I got 466 marks in SSC, I filled the online admission form I got selected in the first merit list in mithibai college. Then I filled the online form of the college, I got a call and filled an offline admission form and got admission."   Read More


2 Years Full Time20 seats5/10
41,421
FIRST YEAR
FEES

Get Detailed Fees



College Admission Reviews

Hasan , M.Sc, Pursued: 2017

6.3/10

"Board exam Mumbai university. Bachelors in statistics from kc college through semester exam based on merit. No interview processes were there. I chose statistics as Data science is an uprising field in the coming future."   Read More

Kruti Sanghvi , Batch: Msc.Cs-2014

9/10

"I opted for this college because it offered the course i wanted to study. It was highly reputed and was nearby."   Read More


2 Years Full Time60 seats7/10
12,841
FIRST YEAR
FEES

Get Detailed Fees



College Admission Reviews

Shubham yadav , Masters of commerce, Pursued:
BATCH : 2020

6/10

"Fee structure is normal for a middle class family like mine the collge has an aided course ahich means aur course fee is low but unaided courses have higher fee structure that aided courses overall the fee structure is feasible"   Read More


3 Years Full Time7/10

BROWSE STREAMS

English

Commerce


College Admission Reviews

Gauravthakkar , M.Phil. (Commerce), Pursued: 3rd year
BATCH : 2018

7.5/10

"I got the admission on bases of HSC merit list Personally, it is recommended to visit the college on regular basis for notices put up in college. Then online form has to field upon a specific date on their website After submission of form and it's payment (online) merit list is carried out, In t"   Read More


RANKING

India Today logo

Indiatoday Ranking 2019

RANKED  #17

Science (National)


The Week logo

The Week Ranking 2019

RANKED  #27

Arts (National)

RANKED  #25

Commerce (National)

RANKED  #19

Science (National)

No Result Found

College rating

based on 73 students ratings

8.3/10

8.5/10academic
8.3/10accommodation
8.3/10faculty
8.8/10infrastructure
7.3/10placements
8.8/10social

college Info reviews view all

CLEAR ALL
View All Streams
CLEAR ALL
View All Course Tags
CLEAR ALL
View All Courses

POPULAR TAGS

fee structure
placement cell
exam structure
course curriculum
campus life
good job
extracurricular
gender ratio
admission form
faculty
experience
mumbai
internship
scholarship
scholar
Saurav jadhavBscPursued
BATCH : 2022
8.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS
Remarks -

Good college in Mumbai wich helps students to touch the sky n reach there goals. Infrastructure is good, faculty is good, canteen is Good, location ie good. In fact everything is good in Mithibai


9/10academic
9/10faculty
9/10infrastructure
8/10food & accom
5/10placement
10/10social life
Jai NavaniBachelor's of SciencePursued
BATCH : 2020
7.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Great College

Remarks -

It would be great if they focused on improving the academics as much as they focus on improving the infrastructure. The teaching faculty to have a better spoken english and find more ways to get all the students involved and paying attention


8/10academic
7/10faculty
8/10infrastructure
8/10food & accom
9/10placement
7/10social life
Prateek kothariBachelor's in accounts and financeBatch : 2019
7.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Mithibai college review

Remarks -

Positive remark - college is very good in academic as well as non academic activites. One good thing I like about college is that students in the college is so friendly. Negative remark about college is that attendance personally I don't like 75% attendance which is compulsory and we are dying to meet that criteria


8/10academic
8/10faculty
8/10infrastructure
9/10food & accom
7/10placement
7/10social life
JenilBscPursued
BATCH : 2022
10.0
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Mithibai college

Remarks -

The college faculty is awesome haa. They are best . The exams are also good . The campus of mithibai college is very very very much good . Loved the food of their canteen The prices of the eatables is very good


10/10academic
10/10faculty
10/10infrastructure
10/10food & accom
10/10placement
10/10social life
Dhruvil ParekhBachelor’s of commerceBatch : 2019
7.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

My college review

Remarks -

College offers world class infrastructure and facilities and academics is encouraged with improved curriculum after college getting autonomous status. The college has a wide range of extracurricular activities for students to excel to sum up college has positive remarks from students.


8/10academic
8/10faculty
9/10infrastructure
8/10food & accom
6/10placement
8/10social life

Load More reviews

facilities

Comp Labs
Sports
Cafeteria
Laboratory
Library
Auditorium
Medical
Classrooms
Hostel
Gym

placements View All

₹ 7.5 Lakhs highest package
₹ 3.5 Lakhs average package
Directi
Infosys
Saint
Kotak

GALLERY IMAGES view all

Bhaktivedanta Swami Marg, Gulmohar Road, Suvarna Nagar, Vile Parle (W)
Mumbai - 400056
Maharashtra , India

0.38KmVile Parle
0.75KmAir Works India Pvt. Ltd. airport
0.89KmVille Parle railway station

022-26184354 , 26184355 , 42339001 , 42339000

Comments

Comments


12 Comments
Neha Pai

Can anyone provide details on when to apply for TYBA Psychology, no. Of seats and last years cutoffs ? Would be of great help! Thank you!

19 Oct, 2019 21:56
Shobhna Chaturvedi

Hi Neha, there is no provision of admission to third year in this college. You will have to take admission in first year following the general procedure.

14 Nov, 2019 17:37
Michelle Babu

Is there any test or interview for management seats?

17 Jul, 2019 13:06
Shobhna Chaturvedi

Hi Michelle, no, candidates seeking admission through management quota need not to appear in any entrance test or interview. However, their admission will be done on the basis of merit among the students who have applied for management quota seat.

17 Jul, 2019 13:09
sana mir

i am from Kashmir and i scored 88% in Humanities. Can i get an admission for BA English course?

17 May, 2019 10:29
Shobhna Chaturvedi

Hi Sana, admission procedure for all the UG courses will start from May 31, 2019 (tentatively). Students who have scored at least 50% (45% for reserved categories) in intermediate from a recognized board are eligible for the course. Thus, you are eligible.

17 May, 2019 10:41
Mrinalinisaggi Tripathi

I want to do mass communication course. Is admission still on

22 Sep, 2018 12:57
Garima Bansal

Hi Mrinalinisaggi, The admissions are closed for this session.

24 Sep, 2018 16:09
Pankaj

Hii sir I have scored 50.76 in hsc science. I want to take admission in b.sc c.s . Can I get admission. If yes tell me the process.

13 Jun, 2018 00:49
Garima Bansal

Hi Pankaj, The admissions are closed for this session.

21 Aug, 2018 15:14
Sakshi Jain

Hii i want to take admission in scince in junior college .I have scored 91.6% in 10 cbse .what is cut off .can i get admission .if yes tell me the procedure

30 May, 2018 14:51
Akansha Expert

Hi Sakshi, If You want to get the information about Admission Criteria of this college, please contact on this no. 022-26184354 , 26184355.

30 May, 2018 15:17
Aashvi Amish Doshi

What is the cut of percentage for inhouse to get the admission for FYJC in Mithibai - ARTS this year

15 May, 2018 10:30
Garima Bansal

Hi Aashvi, you should have to secure a minimum 50% Aggregate with English as a subject. for the Bachelors of Arts

17 May, 2018 12:41
tanishqmishra

I want to know the criteria of your college if I want to apply for BBA i am in grade12th and taken humanities as my stream.

04 Oct, 2017 00:10
Sakshi Garg Expert

Hi Tanishq, This college does not provide BBA course.

04 Oct, 2017 17:06
ARCHANA GHOSH

I want do MA in Hindi, but I complete my graduation in English Literature. Is it possible for me take admission in MA in Hindi

12 Sep, 2017 00:10
Kalpana Sharma Expert

Hi Archana, Let me inform you that this college does not offer MA with Hindi course.

12 Sep, 2017 15:09
Abha Mandape

I am currently pursuing MBA and I want to pursue M.A. in psychology as i am very much interested in this field. Because i am pursuing MBA currently, I wont be able to join a full time course for M.A. Therefore, I am searching for distance and correspondence courses in M.A. psychology. How do I find out about the university? Could you please help me with searching the universities and the other details regarding the course? Also, will the M.A. degree have any value if I do it through distance or correspondence?

23 Feb, 2017 00:10

Show More comments

Similar Colleges

Bhavan's College, Mumbai logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.9 / 10

Bhavan's College

Mumbai, Maharashtra
NAAC
Sophia College for Women, Mumbai logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING8.7 / 10

Sophia College for Women

Mumbai, Maharashtra
AICTE
HR College of Commerce and Economics, Mumbai logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.9 / 10

HR College of Commerce and Economics

Mumbai, Maharashtra
NAAC
Jai Hind College - [JHC], Mumbai logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING8.2 / 10

Jai Hind College - [JHC]

Mumbai, Maharashtra
NAAC-A
Ramnarain Ruia Autonomous College, Mumbai logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING8.1 / 10

Ramnarain Ruia Autonomous College

Mumbai, Maharashtra
NAAC
St. Xavier's College, Mumbai logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING8.3 / 10

St. Xavier's College

Mumbai, Maharashtra
UGC

NEARBY COLLEGES

St. Xavier's College, Mumbai logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING8.3 / 10

St. Xavier's College

Mumbai, Maharashtra
UGC
Ramnarain Ruia Autonomous College, Mumbai logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING8.1 / 10

Ramnarain Ruia Autonomous College

Mumbai, Maharashtra
NAAC
Dr. BMN College of Home Science, Mumbai logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.3 / 10

Dr. BMN College of Home Science

Mumbai, Maharashtra
NAAC
Kirti M Doongursee College of Arts Science and Commerce, Mumbai logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.6 / 10
Ramniranjan Jhunjhunwala College - [R.J.C], Mumbai logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.8 / 10

Ramniranjan Jhunjhunwala College - [R.J.C]

Mumbai, Maharashtra
NAAC-A

news view all

December 12, 2019

Mumbai University Result 2019: Marksheet, Revaluation Results, Distance Education (IDOL)

Mumbai University publishes semester results for UG, PG, and Distance Education (IDOL) courses in various disciplines. Students can check their first half and second half results from the official website of

apply now Download Brochure
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

top courses

B.Com Financial MarketsAVG FEE - ₹5,545/Yr
3 Years
B.Sc Computer ScienceAVG FEE - ₹28,645/Yr
3 Years
B.Com Accounting and FinanceAVG FEE - ₹5,545/Yr
3 Years
view more courses[21]

news

Placements

average package ₹350,000
HIGHEST PACKAGE ₹750,000

faculties

Prof. Vidya PremkumarAssistant Professor, Department of English
Prof. Priya JosephAssistant Professor, Department of English
Prof. Geeta Ozwald MenezesAssistant Professor, Department of Economics
view all faculties[10]

reviews

STUDENTS ALSO VISITED

University of Mumbai, Mumbai logo

University of Mumbai, Mumbai

BA , ₹ 3.68 K FIRST YEAR FEES
6.8
RA Podar College of Commerce and Economics, Mumbai logo

RA Podar College of Commerce and Economics, Mumbai

B.Com , ₹ 40.9 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.7
Wilson College, Mumbai logo

Wilson College, Mumbai

BA , ₹ 4.1 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.6
SIES College of Arts Science and Commerce, Mumbai logo

SIES College of Arts Science and Commerce, Mumbai

B.Sc , ₹ 6.65 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.6
Narsee Monjee College of Commerce and Economics, Mumbai logo
8.1
Kishinchand Chellaram College - [KC College], Mumbai logo
8.2
×