Assumption College, Kottayam - Reviews

Assumption College, Kottayam - Reviews

Kottayam, Kerala NAAC | Estd 1949 MGU, Kottayam Private

College rating

based on 4 students ratings

7.1/10

8.3/10academic
7.8/10accommodation
8.0/10faculty
6.0/10infrastructure
6.3/10placements
6.0/10social
CLEAR ALL
View All Streams
CLEAR ALL
View All Course Tags
CLEAR ALL
View All Courses
parvathyBachelor of Commerce [B.Com] (Taxation)Pursued 1st year
BATCH : 2021
3.0
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS
5/10academic
4/10faculty
1/10infrastructure
5/10food & accom
2/10placement
1/10social life

horrible experience

Alumni/Alumna -

I don't know anything about the alumni network. I know the college had some really great athletes, other than that there is no one. As for the senior students, some are supportive while others just show a ton f attitude. But all in all, they are not bad


Scholarship -

I have opted for a single girl child scholarship offered by the central government. I availed this through the CBSE website. Other scholarships that I have applied for are central and state merit scholarships. Both of these can be applied through the national merit scholarship portal.


Remarks -
3 /10

I will not recommend this college to anyone cause of many reasons. If you are someone who wants to develop and widen your horizons and get more opportunities then don't come here. If you are looking for a college where you can enjoy your ug life then please choose some other college. Also if you are someone like me with good grades then please do not come here because finally, you will end up sitting with people who scored just 70 or 75% percentage so what is the difference between you and them, also all your hard work in 12th boards will go into vain. Choose somewhere else where you can reap the benefit of your hard work in 12th exams. The management is also not that great. All in all, I wo...


Campus Life -
1 /10

There is no such thing as a campus life here. Everything is so dull and boring. As for the gender ratio its a women's college so no gender ratio. The only extracurricular activity that the college actively supports is sports. Rest everything is just for namesake. The debate competition that I participated in this college was absolute rubbish. It was not even a debate competition. As for freedom that everyone wishes for, in their college, here you will feel like you are trapped in a prison. You will only get 5/5 if you have90% above attendance. Also, there is no such thing as diversity here, all you get to meet is the good old mallus which destroys all your chance for development.


Admission -

the admission process to this college is quite easy. Since the college is an autonomous college under mg university students can apply directly through the college website instead of applying through the mg university portal. By May or June, they will start accepting the application forms online.


Course Curriculum -
5 /10

Since I have been only in this college for the past 2 months I can't say much about the course curriculum but I think it's not that great cause as a b.com student the most important thing for us is accounts and I came to know that this college will only start teaching accounting in the next semester. By that time we will most probably forget the basics of accounting that we learned in the 12th and 11th. Else everything about the course curriculum is fine As for the exams, it's conducted regularly and systematically. We have 2 internal exams in 1 semester itself. This will help us in keeping in touch with the portions.


Placement -
2 /10

Yes, there are placements in college. The hr department actively strives for this. But about the internships, I have no idea. But as far as I know, there is no such thing as an internship here.


Events -
1 /10

There are some good events in the college like freshers day, arts fest, mission day, and many more. All of this is celebrated with great enthusiasm and fun and since its a women's college everything is done by ladies itself and that gives us an opportunity to show our talents too


Fees -

The course I study is self-financing so the fees per semester itself are 17000 which is feasible. But for other aided courses the fees will come around 8000 per year. The other expense that u have to bear is the traveling expense which again is not that much if you can get concession cards from he government.


Faculty -
4 /10

The faculty is not that great. Avery few are good with English. They take almost all classes in Malayalam itself, which is very disturbing and not efficient at all. Some of them don't even know how to explain the concepts properly but yet think so highly of themselves. All in all, there is only a handful of teachers who are at least good and the rest of them just come to the class and vomit exactly whats written in the text. So I personally think the faculty is not that good.


24 Aug 201900report
C
Chandana KaleekalBcom Computer ApplicationBatch : 2019
9.0
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Assumption - Queens cottage

Remarks -
9 /10

Assumption college is a women's college which provide opportunity for the students to be independent nd hardworking.They can find out their inborn talentsby participate ng in various events organised by the college .


Admission -

All candidates are requested to apply online and the short listed candidates according to their marks are called to visit the department head before a particular date .The selection procedure is purely merit based.


10/10academic
10/10faculty
8/10infrastructure
9/10food & accom
8/10placement
9/10social life
RamyaBachelor of Arts [BA] (Archaeology)Batch : 2017
9.0
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Self finding with the education

Remarks -
9 /10

the college is worth studying as it provides good teachers, activites and its safe for girls.


Entrance Preview -

this is the only college in south India offering this course for archaeology and museology in basic degree. and the college has the good quality education system and great teachers who put in good effort in teaching. the college as far has good placements for other courses and presents us with extra activities and certification courses for small skills too.


10/10academic
10/10faculty
8/10infrastructure
10/10food & accom
8/10placement
8/10social life
Sara MariamBAPursued
BATCH : 2018
7.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Its been three years and I use to go to college as it is its my home.

Remarks -
7.2 /10

There are good and bad sides for every college.. the gate never opens during class hours and atmosphere is a bit clumsy..more like school


Entrance Preview -

There was mgu cap online application and that was it


8/10academic
8/10faculty
7/10infrastructure
7/10food & accom
7/10placement
6/10social life


Load More reviews

Comments

Comments



No Comments To Show

Similar Colleges

news view all

April 03, 2020

MGU Result 2020: Revaluation, Entrance Exam, Admit Card, Notification

The Mahatma Gandhi University (MGU) conducts examinations for admission to UG, PG and research level courses. The results are published online on the official website of the university.  MGU displays results of the semester exams as well as the entrance exams. There are numerous affil

April 02, 2020

Mahatma Gandhi University (MGU) Kerala Time Table 2020: Hall Ticket, Instructions, Dates

Mahatma Gandhi University, Kottayam, also known as MGU Kerala has released its previous year’s MGU Time Table 2020 and Results on the official website of the University. Eligible students can check for their respective exams, regular or supplementary from the Exam Time Table page on

March 30, 2020

MGU Kerala Result 2020: Time Table, Result, Entrance Exam, Revaluation

Mahatma Gandhi University, a public university in Kerala, provides various UG, PG and doctoral courses. Mahatma Gandhi University conducts entrance exam to admit students to the courses offered. Entrance exam conducted by university is UGCAP, PGCAP, CAT and PHD WAT. The counselling process star

apply now Download Brochure
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

top courses

BBAAVG FEE - ₹32,000/Yr
3 Years
B.Sc Computer ScienceAVG FEE - ₹9,500/Yr
3 Years
view more courses[23]

ADMISSION

news

faculties

Ms. Theresa ThomasProfessor, Department of English
Ms. Rosamma V.A.Head & Professor, Department of Mathematics
Ms. Jessy MathewProfessor & Head, Department of Physics
view all faculties[5]

reviews

STUDENTS ALSO VISITED

Kuriakose Gregorios College, Kottayam logo

Kuriakose Gregorios College, Kottayam

B.Sc , ₹ 1.05 K FIRST YEAR FEES
6.8
CMS College, Kottayam logo

CMS College, Kottayam

B.Sc , ₹ 7.06 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.2
St. Mary's College - [SMCM] Manarcadu, Kottayam logo

St. Mary's College - [SMCM] Manarcadu, Kottayam

B.Sc , ₹ 6.21 K FIRST YEAR FEES
8.3
Deva Matha College - [DMC] Kuravilangad, Kottayam logo
8.0
Baselius College, Kottayam logo

Baselius College, Kottayam

B.Sc , ₹ 22.5 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.0
Henry Baker College Melukavu, Kottayam logo

Henry Baker College Melukavu, Kottayam

B.Com , ₹ 1.78 K FIRST YEAR FEES
St Stephen's College Uzhavoor, Kottayam logo

St Stephen's College Uzhavoor, Kottayam

B.Sc , ₹ 1.98 K FIRST YEAR FEES
5.7
Alphonsa College, Kottayam logo

Alphonsa College, Kottayam

B.Sc , ₹ 3.1 K FIRST YEAR FEES
5.8
×