Assumption College, Kottayam - Reviews

Kottayam, Kerala Estd 1949 MGU, Kottayam Private NAAC Grade A

College Rating

Based on 5 Students RatingClaim this college

7.0 out of 10
8.2/10Academic
7.4/10Accommodation
8.0/10Faculty
6.4/10Infrastructure
6.0/10Placement
6.0/10Social Life
Filter By
StreamCourse TagCourseBatch
SORT BY :
Relevance

Arts (3)
Commerce (2)

Most Popular Tags

Department (4)
Internship (4)
Semester (4)
Course (3)
Faculty (3)
Scholarship (3)
Application (2)
Education (2)
Archaeology (1)
Assumption (1)
Effort (1)
Everything (1)
Offering (1)
Quality (1)
System (1)

5 Reviews found


p
3.0 /10

Remarks

I will not recommend this college to anyone cause of many reasons. If you are someone who wants to develop and widen your horizons and get more opportunities then don't come here. If you are looking for a college where you can enjoy your ug life then please choose some other college. Also if you are someone like me with good grades then please do not come here because finally, you will end up sitting with people who scored just 70 or 75% percentage so what is the difference between you and them, also all your hard work in 12th boards will go into vain. Choose somewhere else where you can reap the benefit of your hard work in 12th exams. The management is also not that great. All in all, I would like to say please don't make a mistake by coming here. You will surely regret it.

Loan/ Scholarship Provisions

I have opted for a single girl child scholarship offered by the central government. I availed this through the CBSE website. Other scholarships that I have applied for are central and state merit scholarships. Both of these can be applied through the national merit scholarship portal.

Fee Structure And Facilities

The course I study is self-financing so the fees per semester itself are 17000 which is feasible. But for other aided courses the fees will come around 8000 per year. The other expense that u have to bear is the traveling expense which again is not that much if you can get concession cards from he government.

College Events

1/10

There are some good events in the college like freshers day, arts fest, mission day, and many more. All of this is celebrated with great enthusiasm and fun and since its a women's college everything is done by ladies itself and that gives us an opportunity to show our talents too

Campus Life

1/10

There is no such thing as a campus life here. Everything is so dull and boring. As for the gender ratio its a women's college so no gender ratio. The only extracurricular activity that the college actively supports is sports. Rest everything is just for namesake. The debate competition that I participated in this college was absolute rubbish. It was not even a debate competition. As for freedom that everyone wishes for, in their college, here you will feel like you are trapped in a prison. You will only get 5/5 if you have90% above attendance. Also, there is no such thing as diversity here, all you get to meet is the good old mallus which destroys all your chance for development.

Alumni/Alumna

I don't know anything about the alumni network. I know the college had some really great athletes, other than that there is no one. As for the senior students, some are supportive while others just show a ton f attitude. But all in all, they are not bad

Faculty

4/10

The faculty is not that great. Avery few are good with English. They take almost all classes in Malayalam itself, which is very disturbing and not efficient at all. Some of them don't even know how to explain the concepts properly but yet think so highly of themselves. All in all, there is only a handful of teachers who are at least good and the rest of them just come to the class and vomit exactly whats written in the text. So I personally think the faculty is not that good.

Admission

the admission process to this college is quite easy. Since the college is an autonomous college under mg university students can apply directly through the college website instead of applying through the mg university portal. By May or June, they will start accepting the application forms online.

Placement Experience

2/10

Yes, there are placements in college. The hr department actively strives for this. But about the internships, I have no idea. But as far as I know, there is no such thing as an internship here.

Course Curriculum Overview

5/10

Since I have been only in this college for the past 2 months I can't say much about the course curriculum but I think it's not that great cause as a b.com student the most important thing for us is accounts and I came to know that this college will only start teaching accounting in the next semester. By that time we will most probably forget the basics of accounting that we learned in the 12th and 11th. Else everything about the course curriculum is fine As for the exams, it's conducted regularly and systematically. We have 2 internal exams in 1 semester itself. This will help us in keeping in touch with the portions.

4 /10 faculty
2 /10 placement
1 /10 social life
5 /10 course
5 /10 hostel
1 /10 campus life
report
Read More

Comments



NO COMMENTS TO SHOW

Similar Colleges

Ettumanoorappan College Ettumanoor
REVIEWS RATING
8.5 /10
Devaswom Board College Thalayolaparambu
REVIEWS RATING
7.5 /10
B.Sc 2.95 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Parumala Mar Gregorios College - [PMG] Valanjavattom
REVIEWS RATING
7.1 /10
Deva Matha College - [DMC] Kuravilangad
REVIEWS RATING
7.8 /10
B.Sc 2.67 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
St. Thomas College
REVIEWS RATING
8.2 /10

St. Thomas College

Kottayam, Kerala
B.Sc 4.91 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Baselius College
REVIEWS RATING
7.3 /10

Baselius College

Kottayam, Kerala
B.Sc 22.50 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES

Nearby Colleges

Bishop Vayalil Memorial Holy Cross College
REVIEWS RATING
7.6 /10
BA 6.6 45.48 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Ettumanoorappan College Ettumanoor
REVIEWS RATING
8.5 /10
Mar Thoma Theological Seminary

NewsView All

Mahatma Gandhi University Colleges Set for Partial Reopening from Jan 4; Check Details Here
January 02, 2021
Mahatma Gandhi University Colleges Set for Partial Reopening from Jan 4; Check Details Here

Mahatma Gandhi University (MGU), and it’s affiliated colleges are gearing up for partial reopening of colleges from January 4, 2021, Monday.  The authorities of MGU have directed college managements to arrange the academic sessions for reopening colleges, under the guidelines

IBSAT 2020  Selection Briefing  Begins Today, Result Declared; Check Important Dates, Guidelines Here
January 09, 2021
IBSAT 2020 Selection Briefing Begins Today, Result Declared; Check Important Dates, Guidelines Here

Institute of Chartered Financial Analysts of India (ICFAI) Business School has begun the IBSAT 2020 selection briefing process from today, i.e. Jan 09. Read the article to know more about IBSAT 2020 selection briefing. Earlier ICFAI had declared the IBSAT 2020 result on December 30&nbsp

IBSAT 2020: Dec 26th Exam Analysis Released; Check Section-Wise Difficulty Level, Paper Analysis Here
December 29, 2020
IBSAT 2020: Dec 26th Exam Analysis Released; Check Section-Wise Difficulty Level, Paper Analysis Here

IBSAT 2020: ICFAI Business School began IBSAT 2020 from December 26. For the first time, IBSAT was held in online proctored mode, in view of COVID-19 pandemic. Check IBSAT 2020 detailed paper analysis for 26th December exam. On December 26, IBSAT 2020 was held from 10 am to 12 noon as scheduled.

IBSAT 2020: Registration Closes in Few Hours; Direct Link Here
December 16, 2020
IBSAT 2020: Registration Closes in Few Hours; Direct Link Here

IBSAT 2020 Registration will be closed in a few hours, today (December 16) at the official website:ibsindia.org. Read details below to apply for admission at ICFAI Business School. IBSAT 2020 is a computer-based entrance test conducted by ICFAI Foundation for admission to MBA/PGPM and PhD program

MGU CAT 2020 Result Declared @mgu.ac.in; Check Admission Schedule Here
October 30, 2020
MGU CAT 2020 Result Declared @mgu.ac.in; Check Admission Schedule Here

Mahatma Gandhi University has released the MGU-CAT 2020 results as well as rank list today (October 30). Students can check their results and download the score-cards from the official website http://cat.mgu.ac.in/ after the release.  MGU-CAT 2020 was conducted on 6th and 7th

Mahatma Gandhi University: Internal Exams go online for COVID-19 crisis
October 19, 2020
Mahatma Gandhi University: Internal Exams go online for COVID-19 crisis

Mahatma Gandhi University (MGU) has announced conducting the internal examination in online mode for the university and affiliated colleges. Mahatma Gandhi University (MGU) has introduced a new system to conduct internal exams because of the ongoing COVID 19 pandemic. The internal exams are us

TS DOST 2020: Third Phase Seat Allotment List Released on October 15, 2020, Check Details Here
November 02, 2020
TS DOST 2020: Third Phase Seat Allotment List Released on October 15, 2020, Check Details Here

Telangana State Council of Higher Education has released the TS DOST third phase seat allotment results on October 15, 2020, on their official website. Candidates can check the list of TS-DOST by logging in using their Id and PIN. The selected candidates of the third phase can self-report for onl

MG University 3rd Allotment Result 2020 to be Announced Soon; Check@cap.mg.ac.in
October 07, 2020
MG University 3rd Allotment Result 2020 to be Announced Soon; Check@cap.mg.ac.in

Mahatma Gandhi University will soon be releasing the result for the 3rd round of seat allotment of Undergraduate Courses in the month of October. Candidates can check the 3rd round seat allotment result on the official website of Mahatma Gandhi University. Candidates who wish to take admission in

interested in this College ?

Top Courses

BA AVG FEE - ₹ 9,000/Yr
3 Years
BA (Communicative English) AVG FEE - ₹ 9,000/Yr
3 Years
BA (Economics) AVG FEE - ₹ 9,000/Yr
3 Years

Faculties

Ms. Theresa Thomas Professor, Department of English
Ms. Rosamma V.A. Head & Professor, Department of Mathematics
Ms. Jessy Mathew Professor & Head, Department of Physics

Reviews

6.6 /10 Student Satisfactory Rating

"All about Assumption College"

Assumption College is an autonomous institution for young women run by Changanassery Archdiocese. The college provides an environment for the inner growth of youth. The teachers are really friendly and teach with great enthusiasm. The college provides hostel for students. To enrol in the college you need to apply directly through their online portal. Preferred this college as it is autonomous. The examination is done regularly with results published within 30 days.

by Anna George Antony
9 /10 Student Satisfactory Rating

"Assumption - Queens cottage"

Assumption college is a women's college which provide opportunity for the students to be independent nd hardworking.They can find out their inborn talentsby participate ng in various events organised by the college .

by Chandana Kaleekal
3 /10 Student Satisfactory Rating

"horrible experience"

I will not recommend this college to anyone cause of many reasons. If you are someone who wants to develop and widen your horizons and get more opportunities then don't come here. If you are looking for a college where you can enjoy your ug life then please choose some other college. Also if you are someone like me with good grades then please do not come here because finally, you will end up sitting with people who scored just 70 or 75% percentage so what is the difference between you and them, also all your hard work in 12th boards will go into vain. Choose somewhere else where you can reap the benefit of your hard work in 12th exams. The management is also not that great. All in all, I wo

by parvathy