St. Xavier's College - [SXC], Kolkata - Reviews

St. Xavier's College - [SXC], Kolkata - Reviews

Kolkata, West Bengal NAAC, UGC | Estd 1860 University of Calcutta, Kolkata Private (Autonomous)

College rating

based on 116 students ratings

8.3/10

8.9/10academic
7.4/10accommodation
8.4/10faculty
8.4/10infrastructure
7.6/10placements
8.8/10social
CLEAR ALL
View All Streams
CLEAR ALL
View All Course Tags
CLEAR ALL
View All Courses

POPULAR TAGS

semester exam
entrance exam
fee structure
placement cell
course curriculum
campus placement
gender ratio
campus life
exam structure
internship
faculty
admission
scholarship
department
interview
S
Sinjini BoseB.edPursued
BATCH : 2016
9.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS
Remarks -
9.3 /10

Its one of the best college in Kolkata. Extremely strict yet fun. The fraternity and faculty of dream with all kind of perks related to fest which is of huge demand Xavostav as well as any kind of co-curricular activities.


Admission -

First a merit list comes out according to the marks obtained in 10th, 12th, graduation and post graduation (optional). Then most of them are called for an interview process which is based on subjective knowledge as well as general knowledge.


9/10academic
10/10faculty
10/10infrastructure
8/10food & accom
9/10placement
10/10social life
D
Disha RustgiBcom honsBatch : 2019
7.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

My experience

Remarks -
7.7 /10

I have said it all. There's always to say about college. And just like every institutions, it has its perks and cons. Overall, it was a good experience to study in Xavier's and be one of them, to be a part of it.


Admission -

I got into the list from my percentage, followed by a formality interview. I chose Bcom because it had the mixture of Finance and Marketing equally and I liked the syllabus and their education system.


8/10academic
7/10faculty
9/10infrastructure
6/10food & accom
6/10placement
10/10social life
S
Sanchari Kar ChowdhuryComputer Science Bachelor'sBatch : 2019
6.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Good college, not the best

Remarks -
6.5 /10

College can try changing some outdated policies. Like compulsory attandance. It becomes very difficult for students pursuing CA or preparing for exams like CAT, NIMCET etc. The syllabus should also be reviewed and updated regularly to keep up with the changing trends.


Admission -

Admission is on the basis of 12th board marks.Out of all the applications, a merit list is prepared and the students are notified accordingly.The number of seats are fixed.From the students in the merit list, a first list is published.If seats remain after the first round of admission, a second list is published and the same prosecco takes place.


7/10academic
6/10faculty
6/10infrastructure
7/10food & accom
6/10placement
7/10social life
Soham senguptaBachelor of Science [B.Sc] {Hons.} (Mathematics)Pursued 1st year
BATCH : 2022
9.0
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Once a xavierian always a xaverian

Remarks -
9 /10

The college management society is too good and all things are balanced I think so


Admission -

I love mathematics and Saint Xaviers College kolkata is one of the best Honours college in West Bengal so I option out for that. The factors- One of the best college in West Bengal, superior faculty, placement After the result of board examination, you just have to fill up the online form of the College and then you will get shortlisted and after being short listed you have to go to the college and directly admit.


8/10academic
9/10faculty
10/10infrastructure
10/10food & accom
7/10placement
10/10social life
J
Jerin SojanB.Com (Hons)Batch : 2018
8.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

St:Xavier’s College Kolkata- B.Com Morning

Remarks -
8.2 /10

The reservation of morning batch only for boys gives a negative vibe for class room interactions. The lack of diversity among students created by it is negative. On the positive side the academics is top notch. The facilities are at par with any good college.


Admission -

The students were selected based on their 12th marks. The cut off usually comes around 95% for the morning batch. For my process the list was announced the day before interview. We had to reach the college next day for the interview. The interview process was pretty simple rather than an interview its just a verification of your certificates and confirmation of your acceptance.


10/10academic
10/10faculty
8/10infrastructure
6/10food & accom
7/10placement
8/10social life
S
SHAON BALLAVBachelor of Science in MathematicsPursued
BATCH : 2022
9.0
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

St.Xavier's college (Autonomous), Kolkata, Mathematics Honours Course review

Remarks -
9 /10

The college campus is very good. All the facilities are available here laike ARTS, SCIENCE, COMMERCE Departments. Also the facility members are very friendly and well trained and highly educated and professional. All total its a very good college and its has a very good environment to study.


Admission -

First i had to create a account of myself. Then I had choosen to fill up the application form of maths honors and uploaded my documents like boards marks sheets and the numbers of the subject i got in the boards. After a few weeks the merit lists are published by the college and i got my chance in the college.


10/10academic
10/10faculty
9/10infrastructure
7/10food & accom
9/10placement
9/10social life
U
Umarta DasBSc Computer Science HonoursPursued
BATCH : 2020
9.0
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Life at Xavier's

Remarks -
9 /10

My college is a college of excellence and a heritage college. It stresses on the need for discipline and advocates its students to do the same. Other than that, the staff and faculty are quite helpful and down to earth. Overall, this is a life you would wish for.


Admission -

Once the board results are out, students have to fill up the college form online at www.sxccal.edu.Post this, based on the trends, the college will publish a merit list. If your name is in the list you'll have to report on a particular date as given in the list and go through the admission documentation. If your name is in the list and you have the marks that you had provided in the form, your admission is inevitable.


9/10academic
8/10faculty
10/10infrastructure
9/10food & accom
9/10placement
9/10social life
P
Promit Kanti ChaudhuriBachelor of Science in Mathematics, BSc (Hons.)Batch : 2019
9.0
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

The College of your dream

Remarks -
9 /10

The college is really good, and a dream for any student, any day. Though, apart from that, the food quality is not that good. And unnecessary restrictions on the boys to wear round neck TShirt is really irritating. Apart from that, this is one of the best place to study.


Admission -

It takes in students, bases on the secondary and higher secondary examinations' marks. Some courses demand an interview session. At first, you have to submit your scores from the secondary and higher secondary courses, then they will bring out a merit list based on the marks.


9/10academic
10/10faculty
10/10infrastructure
7/10food & accom
9/10placement
9/10social life
A
Anubhav PandeyB.com (Honors)Batch : 2019
7.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

One of the best and most disciplined college

Remarks -
7.7 /10

Everything is good about the college but their over discipline creates uncomfortable situations. In case of attendance they are least bothered about genuine medical cases also and do not allow the student to sit in exams.


Admission -

After getting 12th result we have to fill online admission form the website. After this the college releases merit list and in this list your interview date and time is also mentioned. We have to go for a interview with Vice principal and Dean after filling all the necessary admission forms and fee. Interview is just a formality type pf thing where they sign on your admission form and wish all the best. After submitting fees we get the date of joining and our id cards.


9/10academic
8/10faculty
7/10infrastructure
6/10food & accom
7/10placement
9/10social life
U
Umang GandhiB.Com (Honours)Pursued
BATCH : 2022
9.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

The best college in kolkata

Remarks -
9.2 /10

According to me this is the best college to study in Kolkata for NOC the best college to study in India the best things that we want possibly are available to us all the time there has been a good library a good playground and a good faculty as a good infrastructure for us so that we can develop our cells into better human beings.


Admission -

At first we have to apply on the college website where we have to specify our percentages of class 10 and 12 and also and names and have to pay the fees for the form and then a merit list is shown on the website on a specific date in which the code number which was given to us at the time of the registration of the forms will be shown and the timing slot will also be shown in which our admission process will take place. In the admission process all the necessary documents are given up to the college and they will verify all those so that admission process will be complete.


10/10academic
9/10faculty
9/10infrastructure
8/10food & accom
9/10placement
10/10social life


Load More reviews

Comments

Comments


14 Comments
A
Anjali Tiwari

Is there campus placement opportunity for B.Ed course

18 Dec, 2019 12:04
S
Shobhna Chaturvedi

Hi Anjali, you can check the placement details for the concerned course in this college from here: St. Xavier's College, Kolkata Placement Record

18 Dec, 2019 12:16
V
Venisha jaluka

Sir I want to do bsc in maths which college do u recommend best in kolkata

08 Apr, 2019 15:11
S
Shobhna Chaturvedi

Hi Venisha, it will be advisable if you choose the college as per your preference and field of interest.

08 Apr, 2019 15:55
D
Dolly

Sir,I have completed my graduation in 2015....nw i want to continue my higher study again and i want to know what is procedure for PGDM admission in your and what is the last date for applying this course.Kindly reply.

06 Mar, 2019 14:32
S
Shobhna Chaturvedi

Hi Dolly, admission will start from July 2, 2019 (tentatively).

06 Mar, 2019 16:48
R
Rahul Kumar Raj

sir, i belongs to bihar board . how much percentage i should obtain in class 12th to admission in b.com. Please reply.

27 Sep, 2018 20:21
A
Akansha Expert

Hi Rahul, The basic eligibility is Candidate Passed 10+2 with an aggregate of 60% with pass marks in English for getting the admission in B Com Course in this college.

28 Sep, 2018 11:54
R
Rohit Samanta

Sir, 60% from west benga board for required eligibity, is sufficient to get admission in this college for commercial law and prelimineries of auditing.( for session 2018- 19)

09 Jun, 2018 11:08
G
Garima Bansal

Hi Rohit, The admissions are closed for this session.

28 Aug, 2018 16:21
M
MONON BHATTACHARYYA

sir,if i get chance in admission into under graduate course and want to avail hostel what will be the hostel fee per month.

22 May, 2018 18:59
G
Garima Bansal

Hi Mohan, The hostel fee is Rs 22.1 k - 22.9 k

24 May, 2018 16:12
R
RUPAM SAMANTA

Sir 92% from WBCHSE board is sufficient to get admission in this college for Chemistry hons? (year 2018-19)

20 May, 2018 21:13
P
Priya Sharma

Hi Rupam, please contact on ( 91 33) 2255-1101, to get relevant information.

22 May, 2018 18:48
M
M Khupjangam haokip

Will students who scored 60% in 10 2 get selected by the college for arts sociology honors belonging to ST??

10 May, 2018 01:56
A
Akansha Expert

Hi Haokip, Yes, you got the admission in this college for B.A. Sociology Hon. Please fulfill this

Eligibility Compulsory Subjects in 10 2 English Aggregate Calculation English Any 3 Marks required for application 60% in Aggregate Selection On the basis of index calculated with the board marks in 2 level. Index Calculation (2 X ENG%) AGG% (OUT OF 200)

10 May, 2018 14:01
A
Aman Kumar Singh

Mam....I have done my BBA from Hindustan University, Chennai... I want to do B.ed from st.xavier Kolkata ... Can u guide me please ?

05 May, 2018 23:15
G
Garima Bansal

Hi AMAN, The eligibility for b.ed is 50% in Bachelors or Masters Degree for General Category and 45% for Reserved Categories. For the admission in b.ed,the Selection of the candidates will be done through interview on the basis of merit considering the academic performance, performance in the interview and co-curricular excellence.

01 Jun, 2018 16:28
A
Aman Singh

Can i also opt this college if i complete my intermediate with good marks through jharkhand board

02 May, 2018 21:53
G
Garima Bansal

Hi Aman, Yes you can also take admission in this college for more details contact to ( 91 33) 2255-1101,

31 May, 2018 12:28

Show More comments

Similar Colleges

Scottish Church College, Kolkata logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.9 / 10

Scottish Church College

Kolkata, West Bengal
NAAC
Seth Anandaram Jaipuria College, Kolkata logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING/ 10

Seth Anandaram Jaipuria College

Kolkata, West Bengal
UGC
Asutosh College, Kolkata logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.5 / 10

Asutosh College

Kolkata, West Bengal
AICTE
Loreto College, Kolkata logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.8 / 10

Loreto College

Kolkata, West Bengal
NAAC
BA 6.9 ₹24.12 K first year fees
Presidency University, Kolkata logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.9 / 10

Presidency University

Kolkata, West Bengal
NAAC

NEARBY COLLEGES

Scottish Church College, Kolkata logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.9 / 10

Scottish Church College

Kolkata, West Bengal
NAAC
Bethune College, Kolkata logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.6 / 10

Bethune College

Kolkata, West Bengal
NAAC
West Bengal University of Animal and Fishery Sciences, Kolkata logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING8.6 / 10
NSHM Knowledge Campus, Kolkata logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.6 / 10

NSHM Knowledge Campus

Kolkata, West Bengal
AICTE

news view all

March 06, 2020

Calcutta University Result 2020: Exam Schedule, BA, B.Sc, B.Com

Calcutta University Latest result Updates are given below. Calcutta University publishes the result for UG & PG courses. Students can check their respective results by logging into the official result portal of the University.  There is scope for the re-evaluation of the limited

February 10, 2020

St. Xavier's College Kolkata Result 2020: Cut off, Entrance Result

St. Xavier’s College is an autonomous college in West Bengal affiliated by the University of Calcutta. The college offers undergraduate and postgraduate degrees in Arts and Science departments. The college also offers diplomas and certificates. The college follows the semester pattern for t

January 31, 2020

St. Xavier's College (SXC) Result 2020: Students Selection, Time Table

St. Xavier’s College is an autonomous college in West Bengal affiliated by the University of Calcutta. The college offers undergraduate and postgraduate degrees in Arts and Science departments. The college also offers diplomas and certificates. The college follows the semester pattern for t

apply now Download Brochure
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

top courses

B.ComAVG FEE - ₹42,967/Yr
3 Years
B.Sc (Hons.) MathematicsAVG FEE - ₹30,600/Yr
3 Years
BMSAVG FEE - ₹74,200/Yr
3 Years
view more courses[46]

news

Placements

average package ₹950,000
HIGHEST PACKAGE ₹1,400,000

faculties

Prof. Christina MirzaAssistant Professor, Department of English
Prof. Bertram Da SilvaAssociate Professor, Department of English
Dr. Prothoma Rai ChaudhuriAssistant Professor, Department of Political Science
view all faculties[8]

reviews

STUDENTS ALSO VISITED

Techno India University, Kolkata logo

Techno India University, Kolkata

BE/B.Tech , ₹ 89.2 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.6
Bethune College, Kolkata logo

Bethune College, Kolkata

B.Sc , ₹ 1.37 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.6
Jadavpur University, Kolkata logo

Jadavpur University, Kolkata

BE/B.Tech , ₹ 2.4 K FIRST YEAR FEES
8.4
Amity University, Kolkata logo

Amity University, Kolkata

BA , ₹ 86 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.9
University of Calcutta, Kolkata logo

University of Calcutta, Kolkata

BA , ₹ 1.18 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.3
Shri Shikshayatan College, Kolkata logo

Shri Shikshayatan College, Kolkata

BA , ₹ 34.4 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.7
Maulana Azad College - [MAC], Kolkata logo

Maulana Azad College - [MAC], Kolkata

BA , ₹ 1.55 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.4
JD Birla Institute - [JDBI], Kolkata logo

JD Birla Institute - [JDBI], Kolkata

B.Sc , ₹ 1.64 L FIRST YEAR FEES
7.6
×