St. Xavier's College, Mumbai - Reviews

Mumbai, Maharashtra UGC Estd 1869 MU, Mumbai Private (Autonomous) NAAC Grade A 2 Questions Answered Ranked 12 For Science By The Week 2020 +4 more

College Rating

Based on 201 Students RatingClaim this college

8.2 out of 10
8.7/10Academic
7.3/10Accommodation
8.3/10Faculty
8.8/10Infrastructure
7.6/10Placement
8.7/10Social Life
Filter By
StreamCourse Tag (1)CourseBatch
SORT BY :
Relevance

Commerce (71)
Science (47)
Arts (25)
Management (12)
Mass Communications (7)
Computer Applications (5)
Vocational Courses (2)
Department (3)
Internship (3)
Course Curriculum (2)
Good Course (2)
Experience (1)
Faculty (1)
Good Placement (1)
Placement Cell (1)
Scholarship (1)

5 Reviews found out of 200


RB
7.5 /10

Placement Experience :

Usually, campus placements are from the third year of under graduation, but internships or even job options are available before that. Through the guidance of the professors or also listening to your peers, you may get to appear as an intern at small companies. Any kind of internship that may be, with small works, but what will matter is that students get an insight into the general functioning of an organization.

Remarks :

St. Xavier's College is considered to be the best for students studying in the field of humanities or arts or media. That's how the word about this college is circulated. So like any other student and that too living in Mumbai, I found St. Xavier's to be the best option. The teaching staff as well visiting professors for the BMM course of St. Xavier's are phenomenal. They are industry professionals or the former ones, and hence, students get to learn a lot. Moreover, the professors encourage more learning and applying the knowledge acquired rather than just studying. The college has various other seminars like foreign diplomats do show up on these seminars, the TATA Literature Festival's inauguration programme is held in the college. In fact, the college is teeming with such interesting stuff, and you may get learn things over here pretty unexpectedly.

7 /10 placement
8 /10 college
8 /10 course
7 /10 campus life
report
Read More
KG
8.0 /10

Placement Experience :

I haven’t explored this aspect as of yet because I plan on higher education instead of getting placed somewhere. However, reputed companies like media houses, ad agencies, banks, etc. do come to the campus and from what I’ve heard from my seniors, the experience is pleasant.

Remarks :

1. Xavier has an unparalleled legacy pan India. Works as a perfect brand name. 2. Being a north-Indian, this meant an opportunity for me to expand my network and connections to the south and west of India as well. 3. Ranked in top 3 colleges for Media 4. The admission took into account both the marks of grade 12 and entrance test (which was easy as compared to other colleges) and the procedure is detailed on the official website. 5. For the general category, there were only 13 seats which made it really competitive. 6. The college focuses on your holistic development- pushes you to be empathic towards society and engage in social work, be a critical consumer, question everything around you, do extracurricular - all apart from academics. Attendance is compulsory too. So, in general, there’s an environment of sincerity. 7. Having diverse alumni working in almost all industries, exposure is excellent. College fests, workshops, guest lectures are a highlight.

7 /10 placement
8 /10 college
9 /10 course
8 /10 campus life
report
Read More
Sc
10.0 /10

Placement Experience :

Yes this is one of the toughest thing to do . Campus placement were according to your stability and your rank percentage ; good company from different sectors visited our college form shows and drama also Bollywood actors used to visit our college , nearly 70 percentage of students used to get their placement. My plans was to complete my degree and make use of it in a different country as i can get the maximum output of my studies.

Remarks :

I choose this College because its one of the best college in Mumbai. Having brilliant teaching skills and qualified professionals teachers.

10 /10 placement
10 /10 college
10 /10 course
10 /10 campus life
report
Read More
S
8.7 /10

Remarks :

The atmosphere, the legacy, the faculty and the extra curriculars. I come from generations of xavierietes so I wanted to be a part of the tradition and it was totally worth it. I also heard a lot about the inclusivity on campus and the diversity of the crowd and after being here for a little over 4 years I can say that it lived up to all my expectations and then some.

7 /10 faculty
10 /10 placement
10 /10 social life
8 /10 course
9 /10 hostel
8 /10 campus life
report
Read More
S
8.0 /10

Remarks :

This college is known as the best college for arts in the city. It takes only the finest students which was a driving factor behind me selecting this college. The approach towards education taken by this college is quite novel. We don't have textbooks but have to rely on taking down notes and doing a lot of reading.

8 /10 faculty
7 /10 placement
9 /10 social life
9 /10 course
7 /10 hostel
8 /10 campus life
report
Read More

Comments


9 Comments
B
bhamre himanshu vilas
Is distance course available for Bsc (Economics) at St.Xavier College ?
D
Diya Suresh

No, the course is available in only full time mode and no distance/correspondence mode is available at the college. B.Sc has different streams and the minimum required academic qualification is pass in 12th class exam with atleast 45% marks in aggregate. Admissions are done on the basis of merit in last qualifying marks.

V
vaibhav khimani
Does this college conduct ACET exams?
S
shobhna chaturvedi
Hi Vaibhav, no, the college does not conducts this exam.
U
ujjwal mishra
What is the minimum percentage required for admission in bsc. Statistics in class 12
S
shobhna chaturvedi
Hi Ujjwal, candidates who have scored at least 45% in intermediate will be considered eligible to apply for admission in this course. However, admission will be depend on merit in qualifying examination.
R
rasika mandhre
Hello I am from Pune. I have Completed my Graduation in Pune at Dr D Y Patil institute. can I eligible for Msc Microbiologyin our college. if yes then what is about fees and hostel?
S
shobhna chaturvedi

Hi Rasika, yes, you are eligible for the course provided you have scored minimum 50% in your graduation. You can check detailed Fee Structure of this course from here. However, July 14, 2019 was the last date to apply for admission.

S
sahib khan
I want to know the free structure of hostel
S
shobhna chaturvedi
Hi Sahib, kindly contact the college for the desired information.
K
kriti shah
Does this college offer BA Mass communication? Do we get placement after the course from this college?
S
sarthak mahajan
Hi Kriti, No, St. Xavier's college does not offer BA Mass Communication.
A
ashwini menon
Hi Kriti... St.Xaviers offers BMM - Bachelors in Mass Media.
P
palak binaykia
What is the cut off for BA?
G
garima bansal
Hi Palak, To get cutoff details you may check the official website .
S
sonal bhosale
Bba course are not available
R
ritika sharma
Hi Sonal, Yes this college does not offer BBA course.
Y
yogesh subhashrao adkine
I am a graduate engineering student. I want to take admission for MA. what is the process??

- NO MORE COMMENTS -

Similar Colleges

Punjab Agricultural University - [PAU]
REVIEWS RATING
7.8 /10
M.Sc 8.9 72.92 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Elphinstone College
REVIEWS RATING
7.5 /10

Elphinstone College

Mumbai, Maharashtra
BA 6.9 4 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Mithibai College of Arts
REVIEWS RATING
8.5 /10

Mithibai College of Arts

Mumbai, Maharashtra
B.Sc 8.6 55 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Jai Hind College - [JHC]
REVIEWS RATING
8.4 /10

Jai Hind College - [JHC]

Mumbai, Maharashtra
B.Sc 8.2 6.13 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Christ University
REVIEWS RATING
8.3 /10

Christ University

Bangalore, Karnataka
B.Sc 8.7 35 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Symbiosis College of Arts and Commerce
REVIEWS RATING
8.3 /10
BA 7.1 19.10 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES

Nearby Colleges

D.G. Ruparel College of Arts Science and Commerce
REVIEWS RATING
7.9 /10
B.Sc 8.6 7 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Mithibai College of Arts
REVIEWS RATING
8.5 /10

Mithibai College of Arts

Mumbai, Maharashtra
B.Sc 8.6 55 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Ramnarain Ruia Autonomous College
REVIEWS RATING
7.9 /10
M.Sc 8.5 37.30 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Jai Hind College - [JHC]
REVIEWS RATING
8.4 /10

Jai Hind College - [JHC]

Mumbai, Maharashtra
B.Sc 8.2 6.13 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Kishinchand Chellaram College - [KC College]
REVIEWS RATING
8.3 /10
B.Sc 8.2 10.73 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Central Institute of Fisheries Education - [CIFE]
REVIEWS RATING
8.9 /10
M.F.Sc 7.8 16.70 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES

NewsView All

Mumbai University Hall Ticket
May 31, 2021
Mumbai University Hall Ticket

Mumbai University Admit Card is now available online at the university's official website. After the official release, students can download the MU Admit Card 2021 from this page. Mumbai University Admit Card can be found by searching by college or by student. The online Admit Card is

Mumbai University fails to conduct RRC meeting for PhDs; Know Details Here
January 13, 2021
Mumbai University fails to conduct RRC meeting for PhDs; Know Details Here

Mumbai University has failed to conduct the Research & Recognitions Committee (RRC) meetings for the PhD candidates who have submitted their thesis in February 2020.  One of the Ph.D faculty of MU has paid the fees, completed the courseware, submitted the synopsis in October 2019 and the

Mumbai University Affiliated Colleges Plan to Continue Online Classes for Another Semester; Read Details Here
January 18, 2021
Mumbai University Affiliated Colleges Plan to Continue Online Classes for Another Semester; Read Details Here

Mumbai University affiliated colleges are planning to continue the online classes for another semester since the Maharashtra government has announced the extension of lockdown till January 31, 2021.  The colleges under Mumbai University informed that even if the state asks to resum

Mumbai University Cuts Summer Vacation to 13 days, Read Details Here
December 29, 2020
Mumbai University Cuts Summer Vacation to 13 days, Read Details Here

Mumbai University and its affiliated colleges will cut short the Summer vacations to 13 days in this academic session from June 1, 2021, to June 13, 2021. The authority took this decision to ensure delays in the current academic session do not affect the next year.  The administration of&nbs

Maharashtra Gov Approves 54 New Colleges under Mumbai University, Read Details Here
December 28, 2020
Maharashtra Gov Approves 54 New Colleges under Mumbai University, Read Details Here

The Maharashtra state has cleared the space to set up 54 new colleges under Mumbai University, after adding 18 new locations to the prospective plan prepared by the varsity.  Although experts fear not many college managements or educationists would be in favour of launching institutes in the

Mumbai University: Teachers Still Await Academic Calendar; Check Details Here
December 23, 2020
Mumbai University: Teachers Still Await Academic Calendar; Check Details Here

Teachers of Mumbai University still await the academic calendar even after the completion of half-semester for the academic year 2020-21. The academic calendar consists of details such as the start and end of academic sessions and holidays.  The academic calendar helps the teachers to calcul

Mumbai University: Degree Colleges Streamlining Online Exam Process; Check Details Here
December 19, 2020
Mumbai University: Degree Colleges Streamlining Online Exam Process; Check Details Here

Mumbai University (MU) along with its affiliated colleges has started checking their system for errors, streamlining their software, and initiating measures to prevent cheating in the upcoming online winter semester exams. Some colleges have finished the winter semester practical examinations and

Mumbai University Allows Conduct of FY Semester-end Exams till Jan 9
December 08, 2020
Mumbai University Allows Conduct of FY Semester-end Exams till Jan 9

Mumbai University has issued a notification allowing the conduct of the first year semester exams till January 9, 2021. Mumbai University will be conducting the exams for Arts, Science and Commerce colleges affiliated with the varsity. Earlier, the university expected to complete the winter ex

interested in this College ?

Top Courses
BA (Psychology) AVG FEE - ₹ 6,523/Yr
3 Years
B.Sc Computer Science AVG FEE - ₹ 7,186/Yr
3 Years
BA (Economics) AVG FEE - ₹ 5,523/Yr
3 Years
Other Colleges In The Same Group
Placements
company
company
company
company
company
company
Faculties
Ms. Aarti Kulkarni Faculty Member, Department of Biology
Ms. Rajnipriya A. Sharma Faculty Member, Department of Biology
Dr. Smita Gaurea Faculty Member, Department of Biology
Reviews
8.3 /10 Student Satisfactory Rating

"St. Xavier's Kolkata- Heart of Mumbai"

I choose St. Xavier's College, Mumbai because it is one of the best colleges of not only Mumbai but it is one of the best colleges of India. The admission was merit-based so I had no problem getting into the college. The merits of this college are as follows: 1. The teachers here are very helpful and encouraging. 2. The infrastructure of the college is very fascinating. 3. The commerce faculty of the college is very good. 4. The college provides us with many opportunities via different societies, clubs, and cells to interact with different people. 5. The college and the fests of my college grabs the attention of the whole city. The demerits of the college are as follows: 1. Th

by Priya Singh
7.5 /10 Student Satisfactory Rating

"Basking I the Xavieriteness."

St. Xavier's College is considered to be the best for students studying in the field of humanities or arts or media. That's how the word about this college is circulated. So like any other student and that too living in Mumbai, I found St. Xavier's to be the best option. The teaching staff as well visiting professors for the BMM course of St. Xavier's are phenomenal. They are industry professionals or the former ones, and hence, students get to learn a lot. Moreover, the professors encourage more learning and applying the knowledge acquired rather than just studying. The college has various other seminars like foreign diplomats do show up on these seminars, the TATA Literature Festival's i

by Rugveda Rajan Bagwe
8.8 /10 Student Satisfactory Rating

"The heart of dream city Mumbai"

I choose St. Xavier's College, Kolkata because it is one of the best colleges of not only Kolkata but it is one of the best colleges in India. The admission was merit-based so I had no problem in getting into the college. The merits of this college are as follows: 1. The teachers here are very helpful and encouraging. 2. The infrastructure of the college is very fascinating. 3. The commerce faculty of the college is very good. 4. The college provides us with many opportunities via different socities, clubs and cells to interact with different people. 5. The college and the fests of my college grabs the attention of the whole city. The demerits of the college are as follows: 1. T

by MD KASHIF JAMEEL
Students also visited
Wilson College
Wilson College, MumbaiBA, ₹4.09 K First Year Fees
7.4
Fergusson College
Fergusson College, PuneB.Sc, ₹11.13 K First Year Fees
8.1
Mumbai University - [MU]
Mumbai University - [MU], MumbaiMA, ₹34.41 K First Year Fees
7.2
Kishinchand Chellaram College - [KC College]
8.3
Loyola College
Loyola College, ChennaiB.Sc, ₹16.79 K First Year Fees
8.6
Ramnarain Ruia Autonomous College
Ramnarain Ruia Autonomous College, MumbaiM.Sc, ₹37.30 K First Year Fees
7.9