St. Xavier's College, Mumbai

St. Xavier's College, Mumbai

Mumbai, Maharashtra NAAC, UGC | Estd 1869 University of Mumbai, Mumbai Private (Autonomous)

about college

Akanksha Gupta Akanksha Gupta
Content Curator

St. Xavier’s College in Mumbai is a private roman catholic college affiliated to the University of Mumbai. The college offers Undergraduate, Postgraduate, Certificate, and Diploma programs in the fields of Arts, Science, Business and Commerce. Admission to these courses is both merit and entrance based. The cut off for the entrance exam conducted by the college ranges between 92-98 percentile for the general category students.

St. Xavier’s College Highlights

Established | University type1869 | Private (Autonomous)
Recognized byUGC
Courses offered Undergraduate and Postgraduate
Selection criteriaMerit and Entrance-based
Application modeOnline
Facilities availableHostel, Library, Counselling center, etc.
Official website | Contact numberhttp://xaviers.edu/ | 022 22620661

St Xavier's College Mumbai Courses

The college offers various programs at undergraduate, postgraduate, certificate and diploma courses in multiple specializations. The list of UG courses consists of BA, B.Sc., B.Sc.(IT), B.Voc, B.Com, BMS, and BMM, while MA and M.Sc. at postgraduate level. It also provides diploma and certificate courses in 6 disciplines.

Read More: St. Xavier’s College Mumbai Fees

St Xavier's College Mumbai Admission

The registration for all programs is done through both online and offline mode. Those who wish to apply can submit the application form on the official website of college as well as they can download the same. Applicants are suggested to check eligibility criteria before applying for any program.

The basic eligibility is 10+2 for UG courses while for PG programs applicants must have a graduate degree in a relevant discipline from a well-recognized university or institute. The minimum marks required for admission is 50%.

Admission to all UG and PG courses is made through the entrance exam. Shortlisted candidates on the basis of their performance in the entrance exam are called for interview round.

Read More: St Xavier's College Mumbai Admission

St Xavier's College Mumbai Placement

The college has a unique Training & Placement Cell to work on the interests of the students as per their desire to choose their career paths after the due academic courses. The college organizes on-campus recruitment sessions as well as off-campus internship programs by various elite and reputed industries. Every year, many prominent companies have been invited for the campus Placement sessions as the college provides the best placement opportunities to its students. Some of the prominent recruiting visitors of the college are such as Accenture, Axis Bank, Crisil, Mahindra & Mahindra, SAP, and many more like them.

St. Xavier’s College Faculty

The faculty of St. Xavier’s College in Mumbai is highly qualified with a Ph.D./ M.Phil degree in their relevant field and has experience in teaching. The faculty has published many research papers and is working on various teaching posts at the college. Here is a list of the same:

  • Dr. Rajendra Shinde
    • Qualification: M.Sc and Ph.D.
    • Experience: 30 years
    • Designation: Associate Professor & Principal, HOD Botany, Director Blatter Herbarium
  • Dr. (Fr.) Roy Pereira, S.J.
    • Qualification: M.Th., MA, M.Sc, Ph.D.
    • Experience: 25 years
    • Designation: Assistant Professor, HOD, Director, Provost/ Vice-Principal (Academics)
  • Dr. Hrishikesh Samant
    • Qualification: M.Sc (Applied Geology), M.Tech (Geoexploration), and Ph.D.
    • Experience: 20 years
    • Designation: Associate Professor & Principal (Science)
  • Dr. Annapurna Shankarnarayanan
    • Qualification: M.Sc, DCST, DORM, and Ph.D.
    • Experience: 25 years
    • Designation: Associate Professor & Vice-Principal (Arts)
  • Dr. Anita Rane Kothare
    • Qualification: MA and Ph,D.
    • Experience: 29 years
    • Designation: Associate Professor & HOD & Vice Chairman Museum Society of Mumbai
  • Dr. Aditi Sawant
    • Qualification: MA and Ph.D.
    • Experience: 12 years
    • Designation: Associate Professor & HOD
  • Dr. Pearl Pastakia
    • Qualification: MA, Ph.D., and M.Phil.
    • Experience: 22 years
    • Designation: Assistant Professor & HOD
  • Ms.Alpana Palkhiwale 
    • Qualification: MA
    • Experience: 19 years
    • Designation: Associate Professor
  • Dr. Avkash Jadhav
    • Qualification: MA and Ph.D.
    • Experience: 24 years
    • Designation: Associate Professor & HOD
  • Ms. Ruby Pavri
    • Qualification: MA and B.Ed
    • Experience: 22 years
    • Designation: Assistant Professor & HOD

St. Xavier's College Facilities

  • Hostel: College has a small hostel for senior male students which can accommodate 60 students.
  • Library: College library consists of over 133489 books out of which half are reference books. College Library also subscribes to 62 national and 14 international journals and 6000 periodicals.
  • Audio-Visual Centre: College has two audio-visual centers, the Smith Centre for Audio-Visual Instruction (SCAVI), with a seating capacity of 100, and the Multi-Media Room (MMR), with a seating capacity of 110.
  • Classrooms: Classrooms have IT enabled accessories, fiberglass boards, and pull down screens.
  • Counseling Centre: Counseling center was founded in the year 1954 in order to provide information on various studies, professions in India and abroad

St Xavier's College Mumbai Extra-Curricular Activities

  • Indian Music Group
  • Economic Circle
  • Xavier College Chorus
  • Stats Society
  • Sociology Academy

St. Xavier’s College Department

There are a total of 26 Departments in the college. Below are names of all the departments:

Ancient Indian CultureBiotechnology
BotanyChemistry
Commerce (Arts)Commerce (B.Com)
EconomicsEnglish
French Geology
HistoryInformation Technology
Inter-Religious StudiesLifesciences and Biochemistry
Management StudiesMass Media
MathematicsMicrobiology
PhysicsPolitical Science
PsychologyPublic Policy
SociologyStatistics
Vocational StudiesZoology
3 Years Full Time60 seats9/10
7,187
FIRST YEAR
FEES

Get Detailed Fees



College Admission Reviews

Atrayee dutta chowdhury , Bsc statistics honours, Pursued:
BATCH : 2020

9/10

"The students had to fill up an online application form after their class 12 results were out. The college prepared a merit list and published it on its official website on a previously specified day. After I found my name in the list I went to take admission on the given date for admission "   Read More

Nikil vishak s , BSC Geology, Pursued:
BATCH : 2020

7.8/10

"The admission is entirely based on merit and they have reservation system as well.And they have 50% reservation for christian minority students.The application is through online.once applied we will three consecutive lists of selected students.if you are eligible for the admission your name will be "   Read More


3 Years Full Time9/10
5,537
FIRST YEAR
FEES

Get Detailed Fees



College Admission Reviews

user
Rochelle Serrao , Bachelor of Arts [BA] (Economics), Pursued: 1st year
BATCH : 2021

7.7/10

"The admission process is a bit messy but the dates are strictly followed. I always had a dream of coming to this college. I had to submit my documents and fill up forms to get in. I also had an interview taken. The ID took time to be given we had to show our fee receipts."   Read More

user
Aliya ban , Bachelor of Arts [BA], Pursued: 1st year

8.3/10

"The procedure is exclusive to UG BA,BSC students who are not from the college(in house) 1. Go to Mumbai University website, register and get the unique ID and application number. You'll also have to upload some documents and a picture. 2. Wait for the college to open the admission portal, once the"   Read More


7,355
FIRST YEAR
FEES

Get Detailed Fees



College Admission Reviews

Akhilesh Kulkarni , Batch: Bachelor's in vocational studies in software development-2019

7.7/10

"I got in this college post my 10th for junior college. It was through the online merit list process. Post junior college, I continued in the college for my graduation. The procedure was through a preliminary list, followed by an interview and a final merit list."   Read More

Dhruv Mahesh Gohel , B.voc Software development, Pursued: 1st year

8.2/10

"No entrance exam for this course. You just need to qualify 12th pass or HSC pass with certain percentage according to the college cut-offs and i got admission "   Read More


3 Years Full Time240 seats9/10
5,537
FIRST YEAR
FEES

Get Detailed Fees


College Admission Reviews

Indrajeet Karmakar , B.com, Pursued:
BATCH : 2020

7/10

"Entrance Examination is held in the month of May and then merit list is sorted out based on the entrance exams results and in some courses after the Entrance Exams Interview is conducted by the college officials and between June to July results and admission process is started"   Read More

Preety Pal , Bcom, Pursued:
BATCH : 2020

8.2/10

"First I cleared the entrance test by answering some questions from my 12th class then I was interviewed infront of some of the selecting members, they asked some questions and i answered them all and then i was selected."   Read More


3 Years Full Time60 seats
36,009
FIRST YEAR
FEES

Get Detailed Fees


College Admission Reviews

Nikunj Pasari , BMS, Pursued:
BATCH : 2022

9.3/10

"In BMS course you have to appear for an entrance exam and then 50% of marks scored in the exam and 50% marks in the board exam is calculated and then a cutt off percentage is decided. If you meet the criteria then you will be callee for an interview, and when you pass the interview you get the admis"   Read More

Aniket Marathe , Bachelor of Management Studies, Pursued:
BATCH : 2021

8.7/10

"It depends upon the course which you will select: For BA and BSc: (Aided Courses) The admission is whole based on the merit basis of your 12th standard marks. Even the selection of a subjects is on merit basis. A short interview is taken before the verification of admission. For BMS, BMM and BSc (IT"   Read More


2 Years Full Time20 seats9/10
15,674
FIRST YEAR
FEES

Get Detailed Fees



College Admission Reviews

Merrill , Batch: MSc Geology-2018

8.2/10

"The college has an online admission process. Admission forms are available online on the college website. One needs to fill the form and submit it. The college let’s the applicant know when he has to come to college with a print of the online admission form and hard copy of all documents for verific"   Read More

Subrata Jana , Batch: Master of Science [M.Sc] (Botany)-2015

7.8/10

"They have a very simple online procedure where they list dates accordingly. First one has to get the application form. Second fill it and submit it at general office. Third- Date of merit list would be displayed in website. One has to go physically and look if their name appears in merit list. If se"   Read More


RANKING

The Week logo

The Week Ranking 2019

RANKED  #6

Arts (National)

RANKED  #4

Commerce (National)

RANKED  #10

Science (National)

No Result Found

College rating

based on 73 students ratings

8.3/10

8.7/10academic
7.3/10accommodation
8.5/10faculty
8.8/10infrastructure
7.6/10placements
8.7/10social

college Info reviews view all

CLEAR ALL
View All Streams
CLEAR ALL
View All Course Tags
CLEAR ALL
View All Courses

POPULAR TAGS

entrance exam
fee structure
course curriculum
end semester
placement cell
merit list
cannot afford
job opportunity
entrance test
experience
faculty
internship
hostel
scholarship
admission
S
Sabin CastelinoBSc MathematicsBatch : 2015
9.0
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

A loving wholesome home

Remarks -
9 /10

This college has been the sole reason I have developed and blossomed into who I am. I owe it all to Xavier's. I have loved every moment of my time here. There is nothing I would take in exchange for my time here.


9/10academic
10/10faculty
10/10infrastructure
8/10food & accom
8/10placement
9/10social life
A
Atrayee dutta chowdhuryBsc statistics honoursPursued
BATCH : 2020
9.0
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Xavier's : one of the best colleges in india

Remarks -
9 /10

My college is very good. They give a lot of importance to discipline besides academics and extra curricular activities. Faculties are very good. And the college gives us a lot of opportunities to explore our hidden talents


10/10academic
9/10faculty
10/10infrastructure
7/10food & accom
8/10placement
10/10social life
I
Indrajeet KarmakarB.comPursued
BATCH : 2020
7.0
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

College with New Upgradation in Curriculum

Remarks -
7 /10

Very good college for those students who are ambitious about their career. Provides a very good platform for developing the career and knowledge. Attendance is the most important thing which is strictly followed in the college and no exceptions or excuses are tolerated whichever the case may be.


9/10academic
8/10faculty
9/10infrastructure
5/10food & accom
5/10placement
6/10social life
A
Amit kumarIntermediateBatch : 2021
8.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Best college

Remarks -
8.8 /10

St Xavier's college is the best college in our state.students from various states come to study in this prestigious college.everyone has the dream to study in the Xavier's college to complete all his studies


9/10academic
9/10faculty
9/10infrastructure
9/10food & accom
8/10placement
9/10social life
A
Adarsh AryaBAPursued
BATCH : 2021
7.0
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Good but it could be better

Remarks -
7 /10

Very good very good college throughout only negative remark is that the attendance criteria is very strict accepted all the teachers are very good and the college facilities very goodthe most positive thing is that students are awarded for a lot of things that the participated to including academic and sports that helps them to encourage themselves


9/10academic
8/10faculty
7/10infrastructure
7/10food & accom
4/10placement
7/10social life
B
Bijesh ThomasBCAPursued
BATCH : 2021
8.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Very nice college

Remarks -
8.5 /10

Positive remarks are a lot lot lot there for St. Xavier's College. It plays an important role in my as well as many student's life. The kind of energy, activeness, helpfulness, cleanliness, etc are rarely available in any college in India


10/10academic
8/10faculty
10/10infrastructure
7/10food & accom
9/10placement
7/10social life
P
Preety PalBcomPursued
BATCH : 2020
8.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

College Review

Remarks -
8.2 /10

There is a lack of holidays given to us on the occasion of Hindu festivals because the college is Christian. But other than these the faculty is very helpful to us, infrastructure is we designed, so it's a great experience being here.


8/10academic
9/10faculty
9/10infrastructure
7/10food & accom
7/10placement
9/10social life
S
Shreyas UrgundeArtsPursued
BATCH : 2021
8.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

The college who gave me wings to fly.

Remarks -
8.8 /10

Well I would like to mention both the remarks. Positive remark would be it has very rich and Cosmopolitan climate and there is very much diversity in the students. Students are often hardworking. They are also helpful to each other whenever needed. College's infrastructure, big wide library, canteen, open area with greenery are some of the things which an individual won't find in any college of Mumbai. Negative remark would be there is some sort of compartmentalization of the students based on their family income level. People do not easily hangout with students who are poor and are from different and rural parts of the India.


8/10academic
9/10faculty
10/10infrastructure
8/10food & accom
9/10placement
9/10social life
S
SURANJAN DHARB.Sc(Physics Honours)Batch : 2013
8.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Best College

Remarks -
8.2 /10

I would say it was a mix of good and bad experience. It was good for the students those are from english medium backgrounds. Not much for a bengali medium students. So one has to choose carefully. I think i made a mistake.


8/10academic
10/10faculty
10/10infrastructure
6/10food & accom
6/10placement
9/10social life
A
Abhishek Kumar BranwalB.ComPursued
BATCH : 2024
4.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS
Remarks -
4.8 /10

There soo many good things about the college along with a lot more or a way more negative things too as i told earlier. They were good good bit not that much in front of it's bad side. The academic teacher's were bad too.


4/10academic
5/10faculty
5/10infrastructure
4/10food & accom
6/10placement
5/10social life

Load More reviews

facilities

Canteen
Library
Auditorium
Sports
Comp Labs
Hostel
Classrooms
Medical
Cafeteria
Security

placements View All

Credit
Directi
Ernst
Futures

GALLERY IMAGES view all

VIDEOS view all

5, Mahapalika Marg
Mumbai - 400001
Maharashtra , India

0.50KmVasudeo B. Phadke Chowk
1.72KmChhatrapati Shivaji Terminus railway station

022-22620661

webadmin@xaviers.edu

Comments

Comments


98 Comments
A
Anand suragani

Is there any entrance exam for BA psychology

10 Jan, 2020 17:09
S
Shobhna Chaturvedi

Hi Anand, admission to all the UG courses is provided solely on the basis of merit in qualifying examination i.e. intermediate.

10 Jan, 2020 17:42
R
Rohit kumar

Can i get admission for ba in this collage with 60% marks from Punajb school open board.?

11 Oct, 2019 22:57
S
Shobhna Chaturvedi

Hi Rohit, yes, you are eligible for admission to this course as students who have scored 45% or above are taken eligible. However, merit-based admission will be done.

15 Oct, 2019 18:07
E
Eden Thara Hmar

Hi I'm from Shillong Meghalaya and I study in St.Anthony's School and it's an MBOSE board and so also, I happen to be an ST. If I happen to pass my board exams with 80% wil I get into St Xavier'?

09 Oct, 2019 15:35
S
Shobhna Chaturvedi

Hi Eden, this depends on the course you are seeking admission in. Admission to some of the courses is done on merit basis while for others, an entrance exam is conducted by the college. You can check the Admission Procedure for the concerned course (if available) in the college from here.

09 Oct, 2019 17:46
R
Ryan Carter

I HAVE SCORED 63% IN HSC IN COMMERCE STREAM SO IS THERE ANY CHANCE THAT I COULD GET AN ADMISSION IN THIS COLLEGE

12 Sep, 2019 22:49
S
Shobhna Chaturvedi

Hi Ryan, kindly mention the course in which you wish to take admission. You can also check the Eligibility Criteria for the concerned course in the college from here.

13 Sep, 2019 11:59
A
Anjali Shah

Can I pursue BBA without maths in this college?

21 Aug, 2019 23:31
S
Shobhna Chaturvedi

Hi Anjali, this course is not available in the college.

22 Aug, 2019 11:21
s
susmita

do youhave hostel

09 Jul, 2019 13:13
S
Shobhna Chaturvedi

Hi Susmita, yes, the college provides hostel facility.

09 Jul, 2019 13:18
S
SHARON NELSON BORGES

Will I get admission in this college my percentage is 44%

09 Jul, 2019 11:31
S
Shobhna Chaturvedi

Hi Sharon, kindly mention the course in which you want to take admission. You may also check the Admission Procedure of the concerned course (if available) in the college from here.

09 Jul, 2019 11:48
S
Sharon Borges

I want to take in commerce

10 Jul, 2019 14:54
S
Shobhna Chaturvedi

Candidates who have scored 45% (40% for reserved categories) or more in intermediate will be considered eligible for the course. Hence, if you belong to any reserved category viz SC/ST/OBC, then, you are liable to apply. However, admission will be based on merit in qualifying examination.

10 Jul, 2019 15:08
S
Sharon Borges

Will I get admission in this college

10 Jul, 2019 15:22
M
Michelle Babu

Will I get admission for ba psychology in 2020-2021 if I have 77% in my hsc??

29 Jun, 2019 16:07
S
Shobhna Chaturvedi

Hi Michelle, yes, you can apply for admission to the same course in the coming year. As admission is done on merit basis, admission cannot be assured for now as merit depends on number of applicants and availability of seats.

29 Jun, 2019 16:37
T
Twinsi Savaliya

Is bsc and msc in maths available here??

26 Mar, 2019 14:27
S
Shobhna Chaturvedi

Hi Twinsi, B.Sc in Mathematics is available in the college but M.Sc Mathematics is not offered in the college.

26 Mar, 2019 14:42
C
Chandamala hannah juen

Is BBA available in St Xavier's Mumbai

16 Mar, 2019 10:33
M
Monika Content

Hello Chandamala, The college doesn't provide BBA course.

16 Mar, 2019 12:07

Show More comments

Similar Colleges

Ramnarain Ruia Autonomous College, Mumbai logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING8.1 / 10

Ramnarain Ruia Autonomous College

Mumbai, Maharashtra
NAAC
Symbiosis College of Arts and Commerce, Pune logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING8.2 / 10
BA 7.2 ₹26.61 K first year fees
Sophia College for Women, Mumbai logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING8.7 / 10

Sophia College for Women

Mumbai, Maharashtra
AICTE
SIES College of Arts Science and Commerce, Mumbai logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.6 / 10
Narsee Monjee College of Commerce and Economics, Mumbai logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING/ 10
Jai Hind College - [JHC], Mumbai logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING8.3 / 10

Jai Hind College - [JHC]

Mumbai, Maharashtra
NAAC

NEARBY COLLEGES

Ramnarain Ruia Autonomous College, Mumbai logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING8.1 / 10

Ramnarain Ruia Autonomous College

Mumbai, Maharashtra
NAAC
Dr. BMN College of Home Science, Mumbai logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.3 / 10

Dr. BMN College of Home Science

Mumbai, Maharashtra
NAAC
Kirti M Doongursee College of Arts Science and Commerce, Mumbai logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.7 / 10
Ramniranjan Jhunjhunwala College - [R.J.C], Mumbai logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.9 / 10
Jai Hind College - [JHC], Mumbai logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING8.3 / 10

Jai Hind College - [JHC]

Mumbai, Maharashtra
NAAC

news view all

February 18, 2020

Mumbai University Result 2020: Semester, Distance Education (IDOL), Admit Card, Revaluation, Exam Schedule

Mumbai University declared semester results for UG, PG, and Distance Education courses in various disciplines. Students can check their first half and second half results from the official website of

apply now Download Brochure
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

top courses

B.Sc PhysicsAVG FEE - ₹6,836/Yr
3 Years
B.ComAVG FEE - ₹5,523/Yr
3 Years
B.Sc Information TechnologyAVG FEE - ₹46,004/Yr
3 Years
view more courses[38]

news

Placements

faculties

Mr. Rakesh S. ChadhaAssistant Professor, Department of Biology
Mr. Adil M. GhiaraAssistant Professor, Department of Chemistry
Ms. Vandana KhadeAssistant Professor, Department of Geology
view all faculties[8]

reviews

STUDENTS ALSO VISITED

Kishinchand Chellaram College - [KC College], Mumbai logo
8.2
Wilson College, Mumbai logo

Wilson College, Mumbai

BA , ₹ 4.1 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.4
Christ University, Bangalore logo

Christ University, Bangalore

BA , ₹ 40 K FIRST YEAR FEES
8.2
University of Mumbai, Mumbai logo

University of Mumbai, Mumbai

BA , ₹ 3.68 K FIRST YEAR FEES
6.8
Fergusson College, Pune logo

Fergusson College, Pune

B.Sc , ₹ 11.03 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.9
Elphinstone College, Mumbai logo

Elphinstone College, Mumbai

BA , ₹ 3.95 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.2
HR College of Commerce and Economics, Mumbai logo

HR College of Commerce and Economics, Mumbai

B.Com , ₹ 18.16 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.9
Mithibai College of Arts, Mumbai logo

Mithibai College of Arts, Mumbai

B.Sc , ₹ 28.65 K FIRST YEAR FEES
8.4
×