Vidyasagar College - [VSC], Kolkata

Vidyasagar College - [VSC], Kolkata

Kolkata, West Bengal NAAC | Estd 1872 University of Calcutta, Kolkata Public

about college

Sujata Gaur Sujata Gaur
Content Curator

Vidyasagar College is one of the oldest institutions located in the city of Kolkata. Earlier it was known as Metropolitan Institution but was renamed after its founder Pandit Ishwar Chandra Vidyasagar. Vidyasagar College addresses in north Kolkata with its second campus in Salt Lake City. The college provides hostel facilities for students. College offers both UG and PG courses in Arts & Science.

Check Vidyasagar College Admissions


Vidyasagar College Highlights

Founded In

1872

Founder

Pandit Iswarchandra Vidyasagar

Affiliated to

University of Calcutta

Type of College

Public College

Accredited by

National Assessment and Accreditation Council, Bangalore

Departments

25

Location

Sankar Ghosh Lane, Kolkata

How to Reach

  • 3.5 Kms from CTC Bus Stand, Howrah
  • 2 km from Sealdah Railway Station, Kolkata
  • 20 minutes’ drive from Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose International Airport, Kolkata


Vidyasagar College Courses

The college offers both UG & PG Courses. Vidyasagar College is divided into three campuses in Kolkata city, namely, Sankar Ghose Lane for the UG course, Salt Lake for the PG course, and Bidhan Sarani. The college offers 43 courses under UG and PG programs, which includes BA (Honors), BA (General), B.Sc. (Honors), B.Sc. (General), and M.Sc. Vidyasagar College Subject Combination style is also offered to the students for better learning opportunities for combining the courses the learning experience becomes much more larger for the students.

Also, Check Vidyasagar College Fee Structure


Vidyasagar College Notable Alumni

With 143 years of glorious history, the college has many alumni’s who have reached unimaginable heights. Some of them are Manna Dey (singer), Sharadindu Bandyopadhyay (novelist), Brojen Das (swimmer) and Paoli Dam (actress).


Why join Vidyasagar College?

Healthy Faculty Count: 

The college has a large strength of teachers that are responsible for imparting quality education to the students so that they emerge as global leaders in the future. Almost all the teachers have their highest degree of qualification as Ph.D., and all are experienced too.

Learning and development:

The college has 10 well-equipped laboratories for carrying out research and experiments. College also provides a basic computer awareness course to give students an overview of basic programmes.

NCC & NSS Activities:

College also regularly organizes seminars, NCC & NSS activities in the college. Student’s Union and alumni association take an active part in organizing such activities. The college has a nominal fee structure.

3 Years Full Time220 seats4/10
5,370
FIRST YEAR
FEES

Get Detailed Fees



College Admission Reviews

Surojit Nandy , Batch: B.Sc General-2019

8/10

"After passing H.S exam I went to my college website VidyasagarCollege.edu to fill up the administration form then after a week or so college posted a Merit list on the same website, along with a date of counseling. I went to the college in that date, our senior students guided through the whole proc"   Read More

Satavisa Mullick , Batch: Computer Science-2019

8/10

"I filled up the admission form and waited for merit list. My name came up on the 2nd list and I got selected as there were still seats left for admission. Class started from next month. There's sports quota too."   Read More


3 Years Full Time62 seats4/10
13,540
FIRST YEAR
FEES

Get Detailed Fees



College Admission Reviews

Surojit Nandy , Batch: B.Sc General-2019

8/10

"After passing H.S exam I went to my college website VidyasagarCollege.edu to fill up the administration form then after a week or so college posted a Merit list on the same website, along with a date of counseling. I went to the college in that date, our senior students guided through the whole proc"   Read More

Satavisa Mullick , Batch: Computer Science-2019

8/10

"I filled up the admission form and waited for merit list. My name came up on the 2nd list and I got selected as there were still seats left for admission. Class started from next month. There's sports quota too."   Read More


3 Years Full Time84 seats5/10
4,195
FIRST YEAR
FEES

Get Detailed Fees



College Admission Reviews

Aratrika Maity , Batch: BA Hons in Mass Communication & Journalism-2019

7.2/10

"I filled up the application form online and then i was selected on the basis of merit list and after the first counseling i got my admission then i have to submit the fees for the start of the year and after that finally our session begun."   Read More

Tuhin Shuvra Das , Batch: B.A Political Science Honours-2013

6.7/10

"I got 58% marks in final exam. There is 2 exams held per year."   Read More


3 Years Full Time220 seats5/10
4,620
FIRST YEAR
FEES

Get Detailed Fees



College Admission Reviews

Aratrika Maity , Batch: BA Hons in Mass Communication & Journalism-2019

7.2/10

"I filled up the application form online and then i was selected on the basis of merit list and after the first counseling i got my admission then i have to submit the fees for the start of the year and after that finally our session begun."   Read More

Tuhin Shuvra Das , Batch: B.A Political Science Honours-2013

6.7/10

"I got 58% marks in final exam. There is 2 exams held per year."   Read More


5,370
FIRST YEAR
FEES

Get Detailed Fees


College Admission Reviews

Surojit Nandy , Batch: B.Sc General-2019

8/10

"After passing H.S exam I went to my college website VidyasagarCollege.edu to fill up the administration form then after a week or so college posted a Merit list on the same website, along with a date of counseling. I went to the college in that date, our senior students guided through the whole proc"   Read More

Satavisa Mullick , Batch: Computer Science-2019

8/10

"I filled up the admission form and waited for merit list. My name came up on the 2nd list and I got selected as there were still seats left for admission. Class started from next month. There's sports quota too."   Read More


College rating

based on 17 students ratings

6.6/10

7.4/10academic
6.1/10accommodation
7.6/10faculty
7.2/10infrastructure
3.7/10placements
7.7/10social

college Info reviews view all

CLEAR ALL
View All Streams
CLEAR ALL
View All Course Tags
CLEAR ALL
View All Courses

POPULAR TAGS

admission
education
course
scholarship
calcutta
curriculum
structure
hostel
government
quality
entrance
knowledge
environment
option
facility
S
Surojit NandyB.Sc GeneralBatch : 2019
8.0
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

One of the Heritage college in Kolkata Vidyasagar College

Remarks -
8 /10

Every colleges have their positive and negatives in my 3 year experience I did not noticed much of negatives on my college. most of my experience was awesome. Although I want to mention some of the negatives below. Loose and labs are not well lit by the natural light. There is no lifts so I have to climb stairs to the 3rd floor for classes. Our college ground its small it is good enough for one team to play a game but there is no room for two teams to play at once. these problems are not exactly real life problems but I thought I need to mention them.


10/10academic
10/10faculty
9/10infrastructure
8/10food & accom
1/10placement
10/10social life
D
Debanjan BhattacharyaB.Sc Physiology HonoursPursued
BATCH : 2020
6.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

College Review

Remarks -
6.2 /10

The authority should look after the building, accommodation, library and the cafeteria. Library doesn't at all contain a good collection of quality books for individual subjects.The Canteen/Cafeteria is not upto the mark and the building should be remodeled.


7/10academic
8/10faculty
6/10infrastructure
6/10food & accom
3/10placement
7/10social life
S
Satavisa MullickComputer ScienceBatch : 2019
8.0
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Review of my college

Remarks -
8 /10

Greatest college in North Kolkata. The surrounding area has a little water logging problem in monsoon but with respect to college, it's a prestigious institution with large campus and every facilities and friendly atmosphere.


9/10academic
10/10faculty
8/10infrastructure
7/10food & accom
4/10placement
10/10social life
A
Aman kumar JhaBsc pure scienceBatch : 2017
5.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Vidyasagar evening college, Kolkata

Remarks -
5.2 /10

The teachers should be generous in awarding internal marks as it cost them nothing but mean a lot for students as it decide there future. The labs should be more hygiene and apparatus should be well equipped with no faulty instruments.


7/10academic
5/10faculty
6/10infrastructure
5/10food & accom
3/10placement
5/10social life
B
Bijay DebnathB.ScBatch : 2019
7.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS
Remarks -
7.2 /10

I can't say that the college provides their best to make us comfort like they never gave us wifi. And some other fields some stuffs were jerks. Not that bad. So theres some negativity. But it was our college, so what can I say about its bad things. so the college was good.


7/10academic
9/10faculty
7/10infrastructure
7/10food & accom
5/10placement
8/10social life
A
Aratrika MaityBA Hons in Mass Communication & JournalismBatch : 2019
7.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

My College Review

Remarks -
7.2 /10

I really love my college and all the faculty members and these 3 years of my college life was really good. They are still developing themselves for their students betterment. All needing amenities are there in our college. The only thing which they need to improve but it's a little tough,that is, there are two buildings of our college one new and one old. the condition of the old building is not so upto the mark and that's where they need to work harder.


9/10academic
9/10faculty
9/10infrastructure
5/10food & accom
2/10placement
9/10social life
D
DivyaB.comPursued
BATCH : 2019
8.0
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Vswc has a very good teaching staffs and we can lean many extra curricular activities.

Remarks -
8 /10

Good college to join and to learn and very feasibil for poor students to get learn and have service and then our management are the best one to council our inferior and they provide best results and give council


9/10academic
8/10faculty
8/10infrastructure
7/10food & accom
6/10placement
10/10social life
S
SASWATA SAHABSC honsBatch : 2015
8.0
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

A very good college

Remarks -
8 /10

All remarks are positive. All conditions are positive. There are no bad remarks. There are very good response from college. There are no one to get bad feed back about college.


9/10academic
8/10faculty
8/10infrastructure
9/10food & accom
5/10placement
9/10social life
A
Alankrita DuttaB.Sc (Biology)Batch : 2017
3.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

My College

Remarks -
3.8 /10

The buildings and physical view of the college is a bit thumbs down. Its new building are too old and some places are even dirty. needs good maintenance. But yes the new building is quite good. Otherwise okay.


6/10academic
7/10faculty
4/10infrastructure
2/10food & accom
1/10placement
3/10social life
R
Risha GoswamiB.sc generalPursued
BATCH : 2019
7.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

risha_goswami

Remarks -
7.5 /10

Overall good .. but office staff should be more attentive . Teachers are very helpful and respectful . Principal is very kind hearted person . No ragging in campus is the Plus point for freshers students . Studying environment and friendly weather


8/10academic
8/10faculty
8/10infrastructure
8/10food & accom
4/10placement
9/10social life

Load More reviews

facilities

Comp Labs
Sports
Medical
Cafeteria
Laboratory
Library
Auditorium
Wi-Fi Campus

GALLERY IMAGES view all

39, Sankar Ghosh Lane
Kolkata - 700006
West Bengal , India

9073520589 , 9007056921

Comments

Comments



No Comments To Show

Similar Colleges

Rammohan College, Kolkata logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING4.8 / 10

Rammohan College

Kolkata, West Bengal
NAAC-B
Maharaja Manindra Chandra College, Kolkata logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.1 / 10

Maharaja Manindra Chandra College

Kolkata, West Bengal
NAAC
Bidhannagar College, Kolkata logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.5 / 10

Bidhannagar College

Kolkata, West Bengal
UGC
Maulana Azad College - [MAC], Kolkata logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING/ 10

Maulana Azad College - [MAC]

Kolkata, West Bengal
NAAC
Scottish Church College, Kolkata logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.7 / 10

Scottish Church College

Kolkata, West Bengal
NAAC-A

NEARBY COLLEGES

St. Xavier's College - [SXC], Kolkata logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING8.2 / 10

St. Xavier's College - [SXC]

Kolkata, West Bengal
UGC
Scottish Church College, Kolkata logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.7 / 10

Scottish Church College

Kolkata, West Bengal
NAAC-A
Bethune College, Kolkata logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.5 / 10

Bethune College

Kolkata, West Bengal
NAAC-A
West Bengal University of Animal and Fishery Sciences, Kolkata logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING8.1 / 10

news view all

January 20, 2020

Calcutta University Result 2020: Exam Schedule, BA, B.Sc, B.Com

Calcutta University Latest result Updates are given below. Calcutta University publishes the result for UG & PG courses. Students can check their respe

November 21, 2018

Vidya Sagar College Result 2019: Merit List, UG & PG Result

Vidya Sagar College, Kolkata invites admission in its UG/PG programs and conducts entrance examination give admission. The College follows the semester-based curriculum and its each aca

apply now Download Brochure
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

top courses

B.Sc ElectronicsAVG FEE - ₹5,370/Yr
3 Years
B.Sc PhysicsAVG FEE - ₹5,370/Yr
3 Years
B.Sc (Hons.) MathematicsAVG FEE - ₹5,190/Yr
3 Years
view more courses[45]

news

faculties

Prof. Purnima ChakrabartiAssistant Professor & Head, Department of English
Prof. Avishek BiswasAssistant Professor, Department of English
Prof. Sukriti LahiriAssociate Professor, Department of Sanskrit
view all faculties[8]

reviews

STUDENTS ALSO VISITED

Bhairab Ganguly College, Kolkata logo

Bhairab Ganguly College, Kolkata

B.Sc , ₹ 6.26 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.2
Bangabasi College, Kolkata logo

Bangabasi College, Kolkata

BA , ₹ 4.81 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.3
City College, Kolkata logo

City College, Kolkata

B.Sc , ₹ 3.56 K FIRST YEAR FEES
6.0
Bethune College, Kolkata logo

Bethune College, Kolkata

B.Sc , ₹ 1.37 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.5
Seth Anandaram Jaipuria College, Kolkata logo

Seth Anandaram Jaipuria College, Kolkata

BA , ₹ 4.57 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.1
Acharya Prafulla Chandra College - [APCC], Kolkata logo

Acharya Prafulla Chandra College - [APCC], Kolkata

B.Sc , ₹ 3.15 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.9
Surendranath College, Kolkata logo

Surendranath College, Kolkata

BA , ₹ 3.81 K FIRST YEAR FEES
6.6
Acharya Jagadish Chandra Bose College, Kolkata logo

Acharya Jagadish Chandra Bose College, Kolkata

BA , ₹ 11.2 K FIRST YEAR FEES
6.2
Asutosh College, Kolkata logo

Asutosh College, Kolkata

B.Sc , ₹ 7.25 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.5
Women's College, Kolkata logo

Women's College, Kolkata

BA , ₹ 2.94 K FIRST YEAR FEES
8.3
×