Shillong College, Shillong - Reviews

Shillong, Meghalaya Estd 1956 NEHU, Shillong Public NAAC Grade A

College Rating

Based on 34 Students RatingClaim this college

7.0 out of 10
6.5/10Academic
6.0/10Accommodation
8.6/10Faculty
6.7/10Infrastructure
6.4/10Placement
7.8/10Social Life
Filter By
StreamCourse TagCourseBatch
SORT BY :
Relevance

Science (10)
Commerce (5)
Course Curriculum (20)
Experience (19)
Internship (18)
Fee Structure (17)
Semester (16)
Afford (15)
Knowledge (15)
Extracurricular (11)
Total Fee (11)
Admission Form (9)
Extra Curricular (8)
Merit List (8)
Placement Cell (7)
Campus Placement (6)
Faculty Member (6)

34 Reviews found


DL
3.3 /10

Internships Opportunities :

Unfortunately the college does not provide any internship to its students. The college is still developing and i really wish it soon provide it to very talented students for a better future.

Remarks :

My college life here is a breathtaking, remarkable and a very unforagtable moment of my life. I learned to stand on my own. The diversity, the unity and the hard works of teachers and students were amazing. It was indeed an awsome experience.

Loan/ Scholarship Provisions :

The scholarship provided through the college was from the state government in which the student belongs. One can apply through the college and it is applicable only for the ST and SC students. I got roughly 10,000 per year from it. It depends on course and streams.

Exam Structure :

Exams were very strict as it should be. Once exams were started, it was a pin drop silent in the hall. We had three exams a year and a selection examonation by year end. The final exam was conducted under NEHU University comsisting both theory and practicals. NEHU Examination/ Final examination was more strict then college exams.

Fee Structure And Facilities :

Fees was preety afforable for common people. During my three year course, i spend around 50,000 only in fees fees were payable through three installments per year , 1st during admisdion, 2nd by mid year and 3rd before selection exams which makes it even more better.

Entrance Preview :

I didn' t take any particular kind of entrance examination for entering in this college as I was looking for my 1st year in BSc (physics) department for which the 12th marks were considered sufficient especially my marks in Science and Maths, although other marks were equally important. I took the brochure/admission form as soon as my 12th result. I acted quick and was lucky enough to get an admission. I chose this college mainly because of the quality they provided with minimal expences from a common people like me.

College Events :

I'll do a listing of events celebrated. Teachers day - We all know it well. Different cultural shows, dance, music from different tribes were presented besides honouring teachers. College Week - This is the moment students have been waiting for the whole long year. Held over a week by year end with different sports snd activities.

Hostel Facilities :

I was a dayscholar during my studies here but all i know is that the college has two Residence blocks each for male and female, and roughly one-sixth of the students from each stream are residents there.Rooms are allotted on twin-sharing basis, rooms are allotted as per availability. Each block has common washrooms for the residents of that block. The hostel residents are served breakfast, lunch and dinner in the college mess, and although the spread is limited, the quality of the food is reasonably good. Hostel fees are roughly 5000 pm and PG's near and around colleges ranges from 3000-5000 pm.

Campus Life :

Campus life is very dynamic in my college. People from all over the country and other countries can be seen in the campus. We played many games, had good labs and our college day is one of a kind in the state. To sum it up its awesome to be out in our college campus. I miss it the most. There is no politics there. Discipline is strict with full camera surveillance of campus. And you find rich and poor at same place studying together. Different kind of sports were held during college weeks,indoors and outdoors. Debates, extempore speech were held occasionally, presentations im class-a mustm Those thing added flavour to my college live.

Alumni/Alumna :

Our college dosen't have such allumni networks as such. But being one of the oldest college in the state, it is very likely that you would come across an old student in a good position in a company or institution of repute, and rest assured- just stating your college is sure to bond you better than anything else.

Faculty :

Most of the faculty comprises of senior and well-experienced professors who are allotted the crucial subjects. Although the teachers are not out-of-the-world or anything to match the hype that Shillong college has created in the state, the students are satisfied and do not wish for more. “They are friendly and co-operative. They encourage innovative ideas” says a student. Regarding attendance students with above 85% attendance are awarded full five marks allocated to attendance and they start losing marks proportional to the lectures they miss. Once it falls below the university norm of 66% warnings are given and students are given a chance to cover up for attendance.

Admission :

1st year Admission forms were usually provided one or two weeks ahead of announcement of 12th results. As soon as i heard that forms were provided i grab one (costs 100 Rs). My 12th result was out (got 79℅ overall), i rush to the college with forms duly filled and showed my marks to the Head of Department physics and gave me a spot admission. I submitted the form to the office, paid the fees and done.

Placement Experience :

And again, I have never heard companies coming to our college and made an offer to students. Had they come, it would be a great challenge and enthusiastic for students It would have had a great impact on our zeal to learn and interest us more in their studies.

Course Curriculum Overview :

The course curriculum is of no different from the other colleges in Shillong, almost all colleges in the state/city were under NEHU, the course is very easy to grab on and very easy to clear but requires hard work to secure good grades. It includes both practicals and theories in which one have to perform equally well

5 /10 faculty
1 /10 placement
3 /10 social life
4 /10 course
3 /10 hostel
4 /10 campus life
report
Read More

Comments


1 Comments
S
suiyidaule
Can I get admission for BA hons with 52%?
G
garima bansal
Hi Suiyidaule , Yes you are eligible for this course

- NO MORE COMMENTS -

Similar Colleges

Synod College
REVIEWS RATING
3.5 /10

Synod College

Shillong, Meghalaya
Mahatma Gandhi University - [MGU]
REVIEWS RATING
8.1 /10
MA 5.0 40 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
North-Eastern Hill University - [NEHU]
REVIEWS RATING
7.9 /10
MA 6.3 4.91 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
ICFAI University
REVIEWS RATING
7.1 /10

ICFAI University

Shillong, Meghalaya
BBA/BBM 4.5 41 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Martin Luther Christian University - [MLCU]
REVIEWS RATING
7.9 /10
M.Phil/Ph.D in Arts 6.2 30.50 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
MIT University
REVIEWS RATING
3.3 /10

MIT University

Shillong, Meghalaya
BBA/BBM 4.5 55 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES

Nearby Colleges

St Anthony's College
REVIEWS RATING
8.2 /10

St Anthony's College

Shillong, Meghalaya
Union Christian College
REVIEWS RATING
8.4 /10

Union Christian College

Shillong, Meghalaya
B.Sc 43.98 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
University of Science and Technology - [USTM]
REVIEWS RATING
8.4 /10
M.Sc 5.4 1.48 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES

NewsView All

NEHU Result 2021
June 15, 2021
NEHU Result 2021

North Eastern Hill University has released the NEHU Exam Result 2021 online at the official website @nehu.ac.in. Students who appeared for the exam can visit the official website to check the results. NEHU carried out an odd semester examination in October 2020. NEHU Results are available in

NEHU Final Year Exam 2020 commences on October 7, Read Details
September 19, 2020
NEHU Final Year Exam 2020 commences on October 7, Read Details

North-Eastern Hill University (NEHU) has finally issued dates for Final Year Exam 2020 for even-semester students. It is likely to be held from October 7, 2020 following UGC Guidelines. NEHU has issued an official notification that reads, “The NEHU Final Year Exams 2020 will start from

North-Eastern Hill University Extends Online Admission Dates; Check Extended Dates Here 
July 28, 2020
North-Eastern Hill University Extends Online Admission Dates; Check Extended Dates Here 

The North-Eastern Hill University Shillong, Meghalaya has extended the last date to apply for B.A, L.L.B, B.Tech, M.Tech, M.B.A and Ph.D. programs. The last date to submit the application has now changed to July 31, 2020. The NEHU Shillong has also extended the last date for admission in

interested in this College ?

Top Courses
B.Sc Microbiology AVG FEE - ₹ 64,857/Yr
3 Years
BA (Hons.) English AVG FEE - ₹ 19,960/Yr
3 Years
B.Sc Computer Science AVG FEE - ₹ 38,177/Yr
3 Years
Faculties
Smt. Darina Kharshandi Professor, Department of Botany
Shri. Kenneth Umdor Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry
Shri A. Khanduri Professor, Department of Commerce
Students also visited
Techno Global University - [TGU]
Techno Global University - [TGU], ShillongMA, ₹2.50 L First Year Fees
8.1
College of Teacher Education - [PGT]
College of Teacher Education - [PGT], ShillongB.Ed, ₹54.15 K First Year Fees
William Carey University - [WCU]
William Carey University - [WCU], ShillongBE/B.Tech, ₹1.06 L First Year Fees
8.5
Union Christian College
Union Christian College, ShillongB.Sc, ₹43.98 K First Year Fees
8.4
Umshyrpi College
Umshyrpi College, ShillongB.Com, ₹24.55 K First Year Fees
7.6
Sankardev College
Sankardev College, ShillongBA, ₹14.51 K First Year Fees
8.1
CMJ University
CMJ University, Ri-BhoiBA, ₹75 K Total Fees
8.3