The Oxford College of Physiotherapy, Bangalore - Reviews

Bangalore, Karnataka Estd 1986 RGUHS, Bangalore Private NAAC Grade A

College Rating

Based on 3 Students RatingClaim this college

5.4 out of 10
5.7/10Academic
6.3/10Accommodation
4.7/10Faculty
6.3/10Infrastructure
3.7/10Placement
5.7/10Social Life
Filter By
StreamCourse TagCourseBatch
SORT BY :
Relevance

Medical (3)

Most Popular Tags

Course (3)
Hostel (3)
Oxford (3)
Physiotherapy (3)
Admission (2)
Bangalore (2)
Entrance (2)
Gandhi (2)
Internship (2)
Management (2)
Profession (2)
Research (2)
Stipend (2)
Newspaper (1)
School (1)

3 Reviews found


DS
4.2 /10

Internships Opportunities :

Yes, they did. There was no stipend. Internships are easy to get in Bangalore. But they are all UNPAID. Most of the big hospitals provide good learning opportunities. I did in Wockhardt hospitals in Nagarbhavi, Bangalore.

Remarks :

College management is the worst I have seen in my life. I have studies at prestigious school and college and trust me, Oxford is the last place you want to go. But, if you are already there or have no option, don't worry about that, but work a lot more harder. Colleges hardly make difference , its your hard work, perseverance and thoughts that do.

Loan/ Scholarship Provisions :

College didn't offer any loan. Some of my classmates did take a loan but that wasn't assisted by college.

Exam Structure :

Exam structure is defined by RGUHS and is pretty standard one. There were also lot of written assignments for homework within the annual cycle. There i think 3 internal exams and one final University exam. Internal exams were taken seriously along with the practicals.

Fee Structure And Facilities :

Many people find the fee expensive. I feel it is average compared to other colleges. Hostel, Mess fee is not included in the college fee. It was around INR 45,000 per year in 2004, sure it multiplied now. For a middle class huosehold, i think the fees is kind of ok, again comparing to Indian standards.

Entrance Preview :

I took direct admission, there is no entrance exam for BPT. I chose BPT in 2004 because people said it is lucrative and close to medical sciences (since I was a Biology student). I got into Oxford after seeing an advertisement in newspaper. It seemed to be a decent college then. For students now, if you are opting for BPT, it is just an average choice.

College Events :

There were around 2 or 3 festivals. These were freshers, Farewell and some other in between.They were nice and fun, although not very big. There were no technical festivals. Hostel had other festivals too, like Diwali, Dusshera etc.They also showed movies in hostel audi every weekend on projector, which was good. Hostel was same for all courses so there was good diversity present. I had lovely gujarati roommates. Hostel wardens were not good. They made it more like prison than like a house. There were other fests going on with other courses, which we could also enjoy.

Hostel Facilities :

Hostel facilities were ok. We had hard time with the gysers. Water in the bathrooms was a constant issue. Food int he mess was good. It was proper south indian food. It was good in taste and variety. Wardens used to take attendance at night which mean you can't stay with friends outside or anything else.

Campus Life :

Oxford is good on having diversity on campus, from people all over India , Nepal, Bhutan etc. Labs are fine and facilities were arranged when they are not present. Life on campus was good, because of friends and the general vibe that Bangalore has. Oxford has too strict rules for girls , we couldn't go out of the hostel except on Tuesday and Saturday for 2 hours. It was too gender biased. There were absolutely no rules for boys. The hostel superintendents , as well as the MD had slapped students, which is totally disgusting. If students wanted to leave the hostel and stay in PG or flats , they were not allowed to, they just wouldn't give permission to take your luggage. If some people were allowed, we had to apy all years hostel fee inspite of not living there.

Alumni/Alumna :

Not at all. We were hardly in touch with any senior, moreover everyone was struggling themselves or changes professions.

Faculty :

Average faculty. They were too strict after girls clothing which I found too regressive. Lot of attention was given by professors to unnecessary stuff (like who is going out with whom) rather than the curriculum. I had amazing professors in only third year. Other were average and again focused on our personal lives more than our curriculum. There were a few exceptions here and there, but really they were only exceptions. Principal was good person although he never took any classes for our batch.

Admission :

I saw an advertisement in the newspaper, called them , sent a DD and requested a prospectus. After I and my parents made the decision to go to Oxford, Bangalore, my father went to Bangalore, registered me and did other formalities. Although the fees was collected etc. , there was no date as to when classes would start. I had to call them multiple times to ask if the course had started. We even were worried if it was a fake college. Finally the session started in September 2004.

Placement Experience :

There was absolutely no assistance in placements. I had tough time. Physiotherapy as a profession itself was not well paid and on top college didn't provide any help. Having said that, some of my classmates did higher studies in physiotherapy abroad and in India and are earning well. I feel students should do Masters and start their own clinics , specially in smaller towns. I did find a job in Wockhardt Hospitals, but the pay was too low to survive in any town in India, forget Bangalore.

Course Curriculum Overview :

Course curriculum is fine as it is defined by RGUHS. Bachelor of physiotherapy was a 4 years course with 6 months of internship. People who fail in more than 2 subjects would get 6 months back. Subjects seem a bit difficult after just completing school. But this is also because the professors don't teach well. I had amazing professors in third year.

4 /10 faculty
1 /10 placement
4 /10 social life
5 /10 course
4 /10 hostel
7 /10 campus life
report
Read More

Comments



NO COMMENTS TO SHOW

Similar Colleges

JSS College of Physiotherapy
REVIEWS RATING
7.6 /10

JSS College of Physiotherapy

Mysore, Karnataka
Bachelor of Physiotherapy(BPT) 45.35 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Apollo Physiotherapy College
REVIEWS RATING
8.6 /10

Apollo Physiotherapy College

Hyderabad, Telangana
Srinivas College Of Physiotherapy And Research Centre - [SCPRC]
REVIEWS RATING
7.2 /10
Bachelor of Physiotherapy(BPT) 8.25 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Ramaiah Medical College
REVIEWS RATING
8.8 /10

Ramaiah Medical College

Bangalore, Karnataka
Kempegowda Institute of Physiotherapy - [KIPT]
REVIEWS RATING
6.5 /10
Padmashree Institute of Physiotherapy
REVIEWS RATING
8.2 /10

Nearby Colleges

St John's Medical College
REVIEWS RATING
8.6 /10

St John's Medical College

Bangalore, Karnataka
MD 8.8 9.10 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Ramaiah Medical College
REVIEWS RATING
8.8 /10

Ramaiah Medical College

Bangalore, Karnataka
Bangalore Medical College and Research Institute - [BMCRI]
REVIEWS RATING
8.4 /10
B.Sc (Medicine) 7.8 17.97 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Oxford Medical College Hospital and Research Centre
REVIEWS RATING
7.6 /10
MBBS 4.6
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Bowring and Lady Curzon Medical College & Research Institute
MBBS 70.47 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Colaco Academy of Paramedical Sciences
UG Diploma in Medical 35 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Bapuji Ayurvedic Medical College and Hospital
REVIEWS RATING
6.3 /10
BAMS 28.59 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES

NewsView All

RGUHS Time Table
April 27, 2021
RGUHS Time Table

Rajiv Gandhi University of Health Science (RGUHS) has released the Timetable for the upcoming undergraduate and postgraduate examinations which will be conducted at the University.  The Timetable for the upcoming semester examination is released in February 2021. Candidates can check the tim

RGUHS issues Notice on Special Chance MBBS Theory Exam for February 2021; Check Details Here
January 04, 2021
RGUHS issues Notice on Special Chance MBBS Theory Exam for February 2021; Check Details Here

Rajiv Gandhi University of Health Sciences (RGUHS) has notified about the conduct of a "Special Chance" MBBS Theory Exam during February 2021. RGUHS Bangalore organised its 155th syndicate on December 11, 2020, where they decided to conduct a special chance examination for tho

RGUHS Postpones Final Year Exams for BAMS, BHMS, BUMS, BNYS; Details Here
December 21, 2020
RGUHS Postpones Final Year Exams for BAMS, BHMS, BUMS, BNYS; Details Here

Rajiv Gandhi University of Health Sciences (RGUHS) Bangalore has postponed the AYUSH UG Examination 2021 for BAMS, BHMS, BUMS, BNYS final year students for which the time table will be released by the varsity in due course. Moreover, RGUHS Bangalore has clarified that BAMS, BHMS, BUMS, BNYS

Karnataka: Final MBBS Examinations Postponed, Check Details Here
December 21, 2020
Karnataka: Final MBBS Examinations Postponed, Check Details Here

The final examinations for the MBBS students which were scheduled to be held in January 2021 have been postponed to February and March 2021. As per sources, Rajiv Gandhi University of Health Sciences will conduct exams for the first-year students from February 8, 2021, while the exams f

RGUHS affiliated colleges to reopen from December 1, 2020; check details here
November 13, 2020
RGUHS affiliated colleges to reopen from December 1, 2020; check details here

As per a recent notification issued by the Karnataka Government, all medical institutes and colleges affiliated to Rajiv Gandhi University of Health Sciences will be reopening on December 1, 2020.  In accordance with the SOP from the government, colleges affiliated with RGUHS will be re

Karnataka PGCET 2020: M.Pharm Students Waiting Eagerly for Entrance Exam Dates
October 12, 2020
Karnataka PGCET 2020: M.Pharm Students Waiting Eagerly for Entrance Exam Dates

Students who want to take admission in M.Pharm course are worried as the officials have not decided the date of entrance examination yet. Usually, the exams are conducted each year around this time but this year students have not received any notification about the scheduled date. Karnataka PG

RGUHS MBBS October 2020 Exam Fee Payment Deadline Extended, Read Details Here
October 08, 2020
RGUHS MBBS October 2020 Exam Fee Payment Deadline Extended, Read Details Here

On October 5, 2020, Rajiv Gandhi University of Health Sciences (RGUHS) declared the extension of the last fee payment date for its upcoming RGUHS MBBS theory examination 2020 scheduled to be held in October.  Meanwhile, RGUHS MBBS theory examination 2020 which was scheduled to be held from S

RGUHS BDS Exams 2020 Postponed; Check Schedule Here
October 07, 2020
RGUHS BDS Exams 2020 Postponed; Check Schedule Here

Rajiv Gandhi University Health Sciences(RGUHS) postpones the BDS examination 2020, due to the impact of the pandemic situation in the Karnataka State.  Recently, A notification was issued by RGUHS regarding the postponement of the BDS examination 2020, which was scheduled to be hel

interested in this College ?

Top Courses
BPT AVG FEE - ₹ 40,222/Yr
4 Years 6 Months
MPT AVG FEE - ₹ 87,400/Yr
2 Years
Faculties
Shri.R.Vasanthan professor, Department of Neurological Physical
Smt P.C. Chandrika Professor, Department of Neurological Physical
Shri.C.Dinesh Professor, Department of Cardio-Respiratory
Students also visited
Krupanidhi College of Physiotherapy - [KCP]
Krupanidhi College of Physiotherapy - [KCP], BangaloreBachelor of Physiotherapy(BPT), ₹1.75 L First Year Fees
8.3
Sapthagiri Institute of Medical Sciences and Research Centre - [SIMSRC]
Sapthagiri Institute of Medical Sciences and Research Centre - [SIMSRC], BangaloreBachelor of Physiotherapy(BPT), ₹55 K First Year Fees
8.1
Acharya’S Nr Institute Of Physiotherapy
Acharya’S Nr Institute Of Physiotherapy, BangaloreBachelor of Physiotherapy(BPT), ₹1.66 L First Year Fees
8.7
Alvas College of Physiotherapy and Research Center
Alvas College of Physiotherapy and Research Center, MoodbidriBachelor of Physiotherapy(BPT), ₹1 L First Year Fees
6.6
RV College of Physiotherapy
RV College of Physiotherapy, BangaloreBachelor of Physiotherapy(BPT)
8.4
Navodaya College of Physiotherapy
Navodaya College of Physiotherapy, RaichurBachelor of Physiotherapy(BPT)
KLE University's Institute of Physiotherapy
KLE University's Institute of Physiotherapy, BelgaumBachelor of Physiotherapy(BPT), ₹1.42 L First Year Fees
9.4
Shree Devi College Of Physiotherapy
Shree Devi College Of Physiotherapy, MangaloreBachelor of Physiotherapy(BPT), ₹8.25 K First Year Fees
8.2