Dr. M V Shetty College of Nursing, Mangalore - Reviews

Mangalore, Karnataka INC, KNC Estd 1987 RGUHS, Bangalore Private

College Rating

Based on 3 Students RatingClaim this college

7.2 out of 10
8.0/10Academic
5.0/10Accommodation
7.7/10Faculty
5.5/10Infrastructure
8.3/10Placement
8.7/10Social Life
Filter By
StreamCourse TagCourseBatch
SORT BY :
Relevance

Paramedical (2)

3 Reviews found


MM
7.5 /10

Remarks :

Every college has its ups and downs, or in a way, its own pros and cons. Same for my college too. The infrastructure is bit old, though it does give off some nostalgic vibes. Its all old school in this college. There are blackboards, chalks, long benches and occasionally classes with projectors and stuff. The infrastructure could be a lot better but still gets by. The syllabus or curriculum is near perfect. The faculties too could be better. Everything else is pretty good, but old.

Loan/ Scholarship Provisions :

Scholarships are usually not offered for most students. Only students from north india and some localites of Karnataka are given scholarship. Other students who are from Kerala get scbolarship and loans by themselves. I was told that loan is offered by the college under government orders and is yet to start in our college.

Fee Structure And Facilities :

The fee structure is quite cheap in my opinion. The overall tuition fee for 3 and half years is a total of Rs 1,90,000, excluding examination fee and other college obligations like Id Card, Uniforms etc. And the fee is to be paid semesterly, not yearly, i. e every 6 months. This might be the only college with a feasible fee and top level academics. The fee varies if failed in examinations, by having a 6 month extension due to failure. Also, the hostel fee is excluded and has a separate amount which is okay.

Hostel Facilities :

I had opted for Hostel stay. The only good thing about the hostel, is that it is just opposite of the campus and is not very far. The infrastructure is pretty basic. There are 2 types of rooms, for 3 persons and 4 persons. The rooms are okay in my opinion. There are separate toilets and bathrooms with 8 toilets and 8 bathrooms on each floor. There is also a canteen for eating food on the ground level. The food is quite horrible but gets by. The monthly fee for hostel stay is Rs. 5000. Overall, not bad infrastructure but really bad food.

Campus Life :

Lots of extracurricular activities are organized by our college as mentioned before. These occasions were really great in the past year, in my experience. The programs are really great that it leaves a mark in your life. The labs are highly equipped with various apparatuses and quips. There are 4 different labs for various subjects. There is also a well equipped sports room with various sports equioments and kits. The sports section is one of the highlights of the campus.

Alumni/Alumna :

The alumni and senior students were really helpful although there was a lot of tension between at first. It all cooled down eventually. The seniors are really great and down to help at any moment just like the faculty. Although I havent met many alumni, I had contact with some, and they had nothing but only good insights about the campus.

Faculty :

The faculty is one of the best that the college offers. I am not exxagerating. It is one of the best. The faculty is the best thing about the college as they are the backbone of our campus. They are well experienced and well achieved. Some could be annoying, but it will all come to pass.

Admission :

Usually to get admitted, your 12th marks/ percentage is considered. But for me, due to having low 12th grade percentile, I had to attend an interview conducted by the college faculty and principal. Luckily, I got in without a sweat. There was the admission fee and the rest fee. It all concluded with an orientation class as usual.

Placement Experience :

The job opportunities are plenty after the internship year. And yes, our college providea an internship for 6 months as part of the course. I dont have any experience yet, because I am still in the First year. Although I had asked around (from the seniors). I was told that internship is good amd jobs come pouring soon after completion but stipend is only given to students with higher marks and selected students with about Rs. 6000 per month. Internship is much better, because of clinical postings in various hospitals and laboratories, providing experience.

9 /10 faculty
8 /10 placement
9 /10 social life
8 /10 course
5 /10 hostel
6 /10 campus life
report
Read More

Comments



NO COMMENTS TO SHOW

Similar Colleges

SCS College of Nursing Sciences

SCS College of Nursing Sciences

Mangalore, Karnataka
B.Sc (Nursing) 5.50 LTotal Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Srinivas Institute of Nursing Sciences - [SINS] Valachil
B.Sc (Nursing) 75.75 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Masood College of Nursing
REVIEWS RATING
8.5 /10

Masood College of Nursing

Mangalore, Karnataka
Shree Devi College of Nursing
REVIEWS RATING
6.8 /10

Shree Devi College of Nursing

Mangalore, Karnataka
B.Sc (Nursing) 50 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES

Nearby Colleges

Shree Devi College of Nursing
REVIEWS RATING
6.8 /10

Shree Devi College of Nursing

Mangalore, Karnataka
B.Sc (Nursing) 50 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Father Muller College of Nursing
REVIEWS RATING
9.5 /10

Father Muller College of Nursing

Mangalore, Karnataka
B.Sc (Nursing) 49.74 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Masood College of Nursing
REVIEWS RATING
8.5 /10

Masood College of Nursing

Mangalore, Karnataka
SCS College of Nursing Sciences

SCS College of Nursing Sciences

Mangalore, Karnataka
B.Sc (Nursing) 5.50 LTotal Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Srinivas Institute of Nursing Sciences - [SINS] Valachil
B.Sc (Nursing) 75.75 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Unity Institute of Nursing

Unity Institute of Nursing

Mangalore, Karnataka
B.Sc (Nursing) 70 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES

NewsView All

RGUHS Time Table
April 27, 2021
RGUHS Time Table

Rajiv Gandhi University of Health Science (RGUHS) has released the Timetable for the upcoming undergraduate and postgraduate examinations which will be conducted at the University.  The Timetable for the upcoming semester examination is released in February 2021. Candidates can check the tim

RGUHS issues Notice on Special Chance MBBS Theory Exam for February 2021; Check Details Here
January 04, 2021
RGUHS issues Notice on Special Chance MBBS Theory Exam for February 2021; Check Details Here

Rajiv Gandhi University of Health Sciences (RGUHS) has notified about the conduct of a "Special Chance" MBBS Theory Exam during February 2021. RGUHS Bangalore organised its 155th syndicate on December 11, 2020, where they decided to conduct a special chance examination for tho

RGUHS Postpones Final Year Exams for BAMS, BHMS, BUMS, BNYS; Details Here
December 21, 2020
RGUHS Postpones Final Year Exams for BAMS, BHMS, BUMS, BNYS; Details Here

Rajiv Gandhi University of Health Sciences (RGUHS) Bangalore has postponed the AYUSH UG Examination 2021 for BAMS, BHMS, BUMS, BNYS final year students for which the time table will be released by the varsity in due course. Moreover, RGUHS Bangalore has clarified that BAMS, BHMS, BUMS, BNYS

Karnataka: Final MBBS Examinations Postponed, Check Details Here
December 21, 2020
Karnataka: Final MBBS Examinations Postponed, Check Details Here

The final examinations for the MBBS students which were scheduled to be held in January 2021 have been postponed to February and March 2021. As per sources, Rajiv Gandhi University of Health Sciences will conduct exams for the first-year students from February 8, 2021, while the exams f

RGUHS affiliated colleges to reopen from December 1, 2020; check details here
November 13, 2020
RGUHS affiliated colleges to reopen from December 1, 2020; check details here

As per a recent notification issued by the Karnataka Government, all medical institutes and colleges affiliated to Rajiv Gandhi University of Health Sciences will be reopening on December 1, 2020.  In accordance with the SOP from the government, colleges affiliated with RGUHS will be re

Karnataka PGCET 2020: M.Pharm Students Waiting Eagerly for Entrance Exam Dates
October 12, 2020
Karnataka PGCET 2020: M.Pharm Students Waiting Eagerly for Entrance Exam Dates

Students who want to take admission in M.Pharm course are worried as the officials have not decided the date of entrance examination yet. Usually, the exams are conducted each year around this time but this year students have not received any notification about the scheduled date. Karnataka PG

RGUHS MBBS October 2020 Exam Fee Payment Deadline Extended, Read Details Here
October 08, 2020
RGUHS MBBS October 2020 Exam Fee Payment Deadline Extended, Read Details Here

On October 5, 2020, Rajiv Gandhi University of Health Sciences (RGUHS) declared the extension of the last fee payment date for its upcoming RGUHS MBBS theory examination 2020 scheduled to be held in October.  Meanwhile, RGUHS MBBS theory examination 2020 which was scheduled to be held from S

RGUHS BDS Exams 2020 Postponed; Check Schedule Here
October 07, 2020
RGUHS BDS Exams 2020 Postponed; Check Schedule Here

Rajiv Gandhi University Health Sciences(RGUHS) postpones the BDS examination 2020, due to the impact of the pandemic situation in the Karnataka State.  Recently, A notification was issued by RGUHS regarding the postponement of the BDS examination 2020, which was scheduled to be hel

interested in this College ?

Students also visited
Vagdevi School and College of Nursing
Vagdevi School and College of Nursing, BangaloreB.Sc (Nursing), ₹70 K First Year Fees
Ellen College Of Nursing Madukkarai
Ellen College Of Nursing Madukkarai, CoimbatoreB.Sc (Nursing), ₹75 K First Year Fees
Nitte University - [NITTE]
Nitte University - [NITTE], MangaloreB.Sc (Medicine), ₹1.27 L First Year Fees
7.6
St. Ignatius Institute Of Health Sciences
St. Ignatius Institute Of Health Sciences, HonavarB.Sc (Nursing), ₹50 K First Year Fees
Udupi Dhanvantari College of Nursing
Udupi Dhanvantari College of Nursing, UdupiB.Sc (Nursing), ₹50 K First Year Fees
Unity Institute of Nursing
Unity Institute of Nursing, MangaloreB.Sc (Nursing), ₹70 K First Year Fees
Father Muller College of Nursing
Father Muller College of Nursing, MangaloreB.Sc (Nursing), ₹49.74 K First Year Fees
9.5