Vivekananda College, Kolkata - Reviews

Kolkata, West Bengal Estd 1950 University of Calcutta, Kolkata Public NAAC Ranked 64 For Arts By Indiatoday 2020 +3 more

College Rating

Based on 51 Students RatingClaim this college

7.5 out of 10
7.9/10Academic
7.0/10Accommodation
8.2/10Faculty
8.0/10Infrastructure
5.8/10Placement
8.3/10Social Life
Filter By
StreamCourse TagCourseBatch
SORT BY :
Relevance

Science (27)
Commerce (10)
Arts (4)
Computer Applications (1)

Most Popular Tags

Placement (23)
Science (22)
Department (21)
Scholarship (21)
Faculty (19)
Fee Structure (16)
Merit List (12)
Annual Sport (10)
Middle Class (8)
Course Curriculum (7)
Hostel Room (7)
Admission Fee (6)
Online Form (6)
Semester System (5)
Table Tennis (5)

51 Reviews found


AJ
9.7 /10

Remarks

The college is one of its kind. One thing it should improve is its strictness. Sometimes its become a lot hectic for students so they should be more understanding amd lenient towards good students.

10 /10 faculty
10 /10 placement
9 /10 social life
10 /10 course
10 /10 hostel
9 /10 campus life
report
Read More
S
6.3 /10

Placement Experience

4/10

I have no idea about placements. There is no placement or very little. There is no technical course in this college so there is minimum placement at all. They do not provide any placement. Students do score a good Percentage in their respective departments but that doesn't ensure any placement.

Remarks

It is considered as one of the best colleges in Kolkata under CU for Science faculty. Every year students get through the best IIT institutes. As far chemistry is concerned as B.Sc chemistry Hons it is one of the best departments with good faculty and proper laboratory. I have seen seniors and my classmates cracking IIT Jam and getting a good institute for further studies. Teachers are cooperative and provide help to the students. The campus is good too. Not so knowledgeable about the canteen and union, didn't interact much. But the college has a very good environment and hustle free always.

4 /10 placement
7 /10 college
7 /10 course
7 /10 campus life
report
Read More
SS
7.3 /10

Placement Experience

7/10

My next plan is to crack IIT jam and then go far. I am not dependent on my college Campussing at all.

Remarks

At first I am emphasizing on our physics Department, not on the whole college. There are 10 teachers in our department and after all it seems that they all do promise before leaving their house that today they will do something for their students and then they will return home. Believe me their heartiest desire is to teach the students and create a good, civilized and a scientific society among us. They pick up every point of view in physics and show us the actual taste and tweets in physics. They will die but to the end of their life they will try how we, the students can be more benefitted. But last of all I have to say that in this world there is detractor of every good and noble job. My advice is not to listen others review and own thinking. I request all of you that come a day in our college and take a review of our department through that eyepiece who have made a bright results year by year from our college. Last of all too many thanks for reading my view.

7 /10 placement
8 /10 college
8 /10 course
6 /10 campus life
report
Read More

AC
7.3 /10

Remarks

Moderate distance from house, soothing atmosphere,cozy environment,lack of union interference,good teachers,Also morning section which allows me to do another course, a rich library, my college's functions are the best with limited resources

Placement Experience

4/10

By just doing b.com. you won't get a good and reliable job. You have to do some professional course besides that

8 /10 faculty
4 /10 placement
10 /10 social life
report
Read More

S
9.3 /10

Remarks

I opted this course because I wanted to study about the subject and explore the subject. Vivekananda college is the No. 1 science college in our city and it's campus is student friendly and has has the best discipline. These reasons drove me to get admitted in this college.

Placement Experience

9/10

The alumni networking for job referrals are pretty well. In our course, there is no such rooms for placements. But our department, helds many seminars to educate and give ideas about the future with the subject.

9 /10 faculty
9 /10 placement
10 /10 social life
report
Read More

S
9.0 /10

Remarks

Lot of things were there,the college was a reputed one,the departments were good,the teachers were fantastic,also most importantly the subject for which i applied,the department for that was really good,so all those factors,combined made me decide to choose this college

Placement Experience

9/10

Placements are more or less good,though not excellent,but they are good,also it depends on a person's hardwork

9 /10 faculty
9 /10 placement
9 /10 social life
report
Read More

S
7.0 /10

Remarks

Good infrastructure. cooperative teachers.education in bilingual language (eng,beng). systematic and organized college. Takes initiatives in Organising different events and games.initiativesin annual sports.

Placement Experience

7/10

I haven't applied for the placement so no such idea about it. but maybe it is very helpful for those who have applied for it.

6 /10 faculty
7 /10 placement
8 /10 social life
report
Read More

S
6.3 /10

Remarks

This college was under Calcutta University. It had good environment, good scope of faculty, facilities, proper manner of management,it has got the best college award by government, it has good department, helpful environment elsewhere

Placement Experience

5/10

Our college is best for science facilities within Calcutta but it doesn't give any assurance for any other department students for there future

6 /10 faculty
5 /10 placement
8 /10 social life
report
Read More

S
8.7 /10

Placement Experience

8/10

Since it is a honours subject so jobs will not handed to the students from the college.But you can do interns in some channels for experience and also a better exposure.College will also help to do that.

Course Curriculum Overview

My Course syllabus is very unique comparing to others. Because it is a practical based subject mostly you to have to study the subject by working in field, capturing situations happen now and then. Always need to be clear and sharp about all the situations.Always be prepared to face any kind of situations.Make yourself ready to deal with all those My college is providing me some opportunities regarding my subject.They are also helping me to do some extracurricular activities to make my exposure high.Faculty is good as i mentioned before. Especially Zoology faculty is very good and also ours.

9 /10 faculty
8 /10 placement
9 /10 social life
report
Read More

S
6.0 /10

Remarks

Good Faculties, short distance from my house, good reputed college in our area, no pressure from union, decent college campus and favorable classmates, well attended class rooms, cultural activity clean and fresh canteen food

Placement Experience

1/10

Our college has no placement facility yet but our faculty are looking after it. There is a high chance that many company will come to interview us for placement from this year

8 /10 faculty
1 /10 placement
9 /10 social life
report
Read More

Comments



NO COMMENTS TO SHOW

Similar Colleges

Khudiram Bose Central College
REVIEWS RATING
7.3 /10

Khudiram Bose Central College

Kolkata, West Bengal
BA 4.57 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Maheshtala College
REVIEWS RATING
7.5 /10

Maheshtala College

Kolkata, West Bengal
BA 2.02 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Charuchandra College
REVIEWS RATING
6.2 /10

Charuchandra College

Kolkata, West Bengal
B.Sc 6.05 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Jogamaya Devi college
REVIEWS RATING
7.3 /10

Jogamaya Devi college

Kolkata, West Bengal
B.Sc 12.44 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Sarsuna College
REVIEWS RATING
7.1 /10

Sarsuna College

Kolkata, West Bengal
B.Sc 3.5 10.97 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Sivanath Sastri College
REVIEWS RATING
7.2 /10

Sivanath Sastri College

Kolkata, West Bengal
BA 5.8 7.98 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES

Nearby Colleges

Lady Brabourne College - [LBC]
REVIEWS RATING
7.6 /10

Lady Brabourne College - [LBC]

Kolkata, West Bengal
B.Sc 8.1
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Scottish Church College
REVIEWS RATING
7.8 /10

Scottish Church College

Kolkata, West Bengal
B.Sc 7.8 20.25 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Bethune College
REVIEWS RATING
8 /10

Bethune College

Kolkata, West Bengal
B.Sc 6.9 1.37 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
JD Birla Institute - [JDBI]
REVIEWS RATING
7.5 /10

JD Birla Institute - [JDBI]

Kolkata, West Bengal
B.Sc 6.9 1.75 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Global Institute of Fashion Technology - [GIFT]
REVIEWS RATING
7.2 /10
6.8
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
George Group of Colleges
REVIEWS RATING
7.7 /10

George Group of Colleges

Kolkata, West Bengal
B.Sc 6.6 88.55 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES

NewsView All

Calcutta University VC: Practical Classes can be Held on University Campus; Read Details
January 14, 2021
Calcutta University VC: Practical Classes can be Held on University Campus; Read Details

Calcutta University Vice-Chancellor, Sonali Chakravarti Banerjee, has informed on Monday (January 11, 2021) that students can attend on-campus practical classes, however, they need to attend in small batches.  Earlier the Teacher’s Association of Calcutta University had urged VC to res

Kolkata Colleges Ask Students to Submit Reason for Admission Cancellation in Order to Get Fees Refunded; Check Details Here
January 11, 2021
Kolkata Colleges Ask Students to Submit Reason for Admission Cancellation in Order to Get Fees Refunded; Check Details Here

Kolkata Colleges: Students who have taken multiple admission in different Kolkata colleges are now asked to give explanations for reimbursement of admission fees. Candidates need to put the exact date of admission and cancellation on the form to get their fees refunded.  Many principals

Kolkata College Admission 2020: Reserved Seats Opened Up for Waiting List Candidates; Read Details Here
December 30, 2020
Kolkata College Admission 2020: Reserved Seats Opened Up for Waiting List Candidates; Read Details Here

Kolkata College Admission 2020: Many colleges in Kolkata have opened up reserved seats which were vacant, for waiting list candidates to apply for admission.  For now, several colleges have already opened up seats, while some have begun de-reserving seats so that general category studen

Calcutta University Sets Domicile Term for Admission to a BTech Seat, Check Details here
December 18, 2020
Calcutta University Sets Domicile Term for Admission to a BTech Seat, Check Details here

Calcutta University has released a statement on Wednesday stating that candidates applying for decentralised counselling for BTech seats have to be domiciled in Bengal. CU introduced the condition after announcing counselling for 89 BTech seats out of the 237 seats are still vacant after concludi

Calcutta University: Affiliated Colleges Seek More Registration Time; Read Details Here
November 28, 2020
Calcutta University: Affiliated Colleges Seek More Registration Time; Read Details Here

Several affiliated colleges have approached Calcutta University Seeking more registration time to upload the scanned documents of the students along with the testimonials on the university's website to conclude the UG admission process.  Calcutta University (CU) has set up a deadlin

Top Kolkata Colleges Report Deluge of Vacant UG Seats, Demand Centralized Counselling from 2021
November 27, 2020
Top Kolkata Colleges Report Deluge of Vacant UG Seats, Demand Centralized Counselling from 2021

Top Kolkata Colleges have been demanding a centralized counselling system, reporting a large number of vacant UG seats even when registration deadline is nearing for the academic year of 2020-21. As days pass, more Kolkata based colleges are adding to the clamour for a centralized counselling ses

Calcutta University Draft Merit List Released for MSc Ag, B Tech, MSc, MA Courses on November 18
November 18, 2020
Calcutta University Draft Merit List Released for MSc Ag, B Tech, MSc, MA Courses on November 18

Calcutta University has issued provisional merit list for MSc Ag, B Tech, and MSc MA on November 18. Applicants can download the merit list on November 21 via official website caluniv.ac.in. Calcutta University prepares the merit list on the basis of score in the entrance exam of the last qu

Calcutta University Clarifies on Intermediate Sem Exams Starting from Nov 23; Read Details Here
November 18, 2020
Calcutta University Clarifies on Intermediate Sem Exams Starting from Nov 23; Read Details Here

On Tuesday, November 17, 2020, Calcutta University has cleared all airs about conducting intermediate semester exams. Lately, Principals of many Calcutta University affiliated colleges had raised queries on the mode of conducting exams. Answering to all such queries, Calcutta University&nbsp

interested in this College ?

Top Courses

BA (Hons.) Journalism AVG FEE - ₹ 5,533.33/Yr
3 Years
B.Sc (Hons.) Biochemistry AVG FEE - ₹ 5,953/Yr
3 Years
B.Sc (Hons.) Computer Science AVG FEE - ₹ 5,953/Yr
3 Years

Faculties

Sukanya Sanyal Associate Professor, Department of English
Dr. Ratna Ghosh Associate Professor, Department of Bengali
Aparajita Bhattacharyya Associate Professor, Department of History

Reviews

6.3 /10 Student Satisfactory Rating

"My college journey"

It is considered as one of the best colleges in Kolkata under CU for Science faculty. Every year students get through the best IIT institutes. As far chemistry is concerned as B.Sc chemistry Hons it is one of the best departments with good faculty and proper laboratory. I have seen seniors and my classmates cracking IIT Jam and getting a good institute for further studies. Teachers are cooperative and provide help to the students. The campus is good too. Not so knowledgeable about the canteen and union, didn't interact much. But the college has a very good environment and hustle free always.

by Student
7.3 /10 Student Satisfactory Rating

"Overlooking of Vivekananda college Kolkata with a few words"

At first I am emphasizing on our physics Department, not on the whole college. There are 10 teachers in our department and after all it seems that they all do promise before leaving their house that today they will do something for their students and then they will return home. Believe me their heartiest desire is to teach the students and create a good, civilized and a scientific society among us. They pick up every point of view in physics and show us the actual taste and tweets in physics. They will die but to the end of their life they will try how we, the students can be more benefitted. But last of all I have to say that in this world there is detractor of every good and noble job. M

by Seikh Salehuddin
7.3 /10 Student Satisfactory Rating

""

Moderate distance from house, soothing atmosphere,cozy environment,lack of union interference,good teachers,Also morning section which allows me to do another course, a rich library, my college's functions are the best with limited resources

by Abhranil Chatterjee

Students also visited

Seth Anandaram Jaipuria College
Seth Anandaram Jaipuria College, KolkataBA, ₹4.57 K First Year Fees
7.2
Vivekananda College for Women
Vivekananda College for Women, KolkataBA, ₹4.38 K First Year Fees
8.6
Rammohan College
Rammohan College, KolkataBA, ₹2.96 K First Year Fees
7.4
Heramba Chandra College - [HCC]
Heramba Chandra College - [HCC], KolkataBA, ₹5.28 K First Year Fees
7.1
Derozio Memorial College - [DMC]
Derozio Memorial College - [DMC], KolkataBA, ₹3.15 K First Year Fees
7.5
New Alipore College
New Alipore College, KolkataBA, ₹5.66 K First Year Fees
7.1
Asutosh College
Asutosh College, KolkataB.Sc, ₹7.25 K First Year Fees
7.5
Maharaja Sris Chandra College
Maharaja Sris Chandra College, KolkataBA, ₹2.60 K First Year Fees
4.9