Vivekananda College, Kolkata - Reviews

Kolkata, West Bengal Estd 1950 University of Calcutta, Kolkata Public NAAC Ranked 64 For Arts By Indiatoday 2020 +3 more

College Rating

Based on 51 Students RatingClaim this college

7.5 out of 10
7.9/10Academic
7.0/10Accommodation
8.2/10Faculty
8.0/10Infrastructure
5.8/10Placement
8.3/10Social Life
Filter By
StreamCourse Tag (1)CourseBatch
SORT BY :
Relevance

B.Sc (23) ×
B.Com (5)
BA (2)
BCA (2)

Most Popular Tags

Science (14)
Department (13)
Placement (11)
Scholarship (9)
Faculty (8)
Fee Structure (8)
Merit List (7)
Annual Sport (6)
Hostel Room (4)
Online Form (4)
Table Tennis (4)
Admission Fee (3)
Course Curriculum (3)
Semester System (3)
Middle Class (2)

23 Reviews found out of 51


SB
8.3 /10

Placement Experience :

3rd year students are eligible for placement. There is a placement cell of College. Though this is a general degree college most of student prefer to study more and go to another prestigious university to pursue their masters, but some department like Journalism, mass communication, electrical, computer science, electronics participate actively every year in placement cell. Sadhana TV, News 18, companies from Behala Industrial Estate, TCS group are those where students are employed directly after college.

Remarks :

Vivekananda College is ranked among top colleges of Kolkata. This college is mainly famous for it's Zoology, Botany, Physics and Chemistry department. Being the youngest department Geography is growing day by day. This department will provide you a very modern infrastructure with projectors in class rooms, modern instruments like dumpy, theodolite, prismatic campus, barometer etc.. and a computer lab for Girls. This college give me a lot of scopes.. beside my study there was a lot scope of extra curriculum.. personality development cell, NCC, NSS, mountaineering cell for geography students, rock climbing cell for geography students,, Astronomy club,, very active drama club,, very active debate club (already during my 3 years of college it won state level competition twice), Vivekananda College being a reputed 'A' grade college always prefer to take admission through Merit and marks.. no entrance exam is required here.

8 /10 placement
9 /10 college
6 /10 course
10 /10 campus life
report
Read More
Bs
6.2 /10

Remarks :

2nd Top science college in our city, kolkata. Our college campus is big. And there is a field for play.

4 /10 faculty
5 /10 placement
4 /10 social life
9 /10 course
6 /10 hostel
9 /10 campus life
report
Read More
RN
7.5 /10

Remarks :

If I have to give any remark then I would say that this is one of the best college to study a degree course or those who want to be in the academic career. The faculty, the environment, the overall experience is great.

9 /10 faculty
5 /10 placement
9 /10 social life
8 /10 course
5 /10 hostel
9 /10 campus life
report
Read More
SA
7.0 /10

Remarks :

I think Job placement area is weaker side of our college. Nowadays Placements is needed for every students. So in every college placement opportunity is very needful. And the other thing is Hostel facility which is nit available there.

8 /10 faculty
1 /10 placement
9 /10 social life
9 /10 course
7 /10 hostel
8 /10 campus life
report
Read More
S
6.0 /10

Remarks :

The main reason I got admitted here is because the college is at a walking distance from my home with fair reputation. And since I couldn't get admission in any high end colleges I chose it so as to invest maximum time in my studies and not to waste time on daily travels.

8 /10 faculty
5 /10 placement
5 /10 social life
6 /10 course
7 /10 hostel
5 /10 campus life
report
Read More
MM
8.2 /10

Remarks :

College management needs some good staffs, otherwise management has always been courteous in solving administration related issues and student issues.

10 /10 faculty
6 /10 placement
9 /10 social life
9 /10 course
6 /10 hostel
9 /10 campus life
report
Read More
RM
8.8 /10

Remarks :

No negative remarks. College is really nice ,neat and clean. College have such a good depsrtments with some good labs and hightech class. College have gym,sports ground.every senior junior relationships are quite adorable. We help each other in every prospect of life. Mainly we have got a nice madam who hlp us in everything and alwys connected with us in whatsappp. I just love this college. Its great.

10 /10 faculty
8 /10 placement
10 /10 social life
8 /10 course
8 /10 hostel
9 /10 campus life
report
Read More
GS
7.2 /10

Remarks :

College campus is very clean and the environment is very good. The canteen and the cheap store is also very good. The library is one of the special attractions. The students union is also very peaceful.

9 /10 faculty
3 /10 placement
8 /10 social life
8 /10 course
7 /10 hostel
8 /10 campus life
report
Read More
SN
8.5 /10

Remarks :

There are too many positive remarks to say like teaching quality, library facilities, lab infrastructure and many more. There are very few negative things those are canteen, no hostel facilities, and if internship is possible in some department it will be great.

10 /10 faculty
10 /10 placement
8 /10 social life
9 /10 course
5 /10 hostel
9 /10 campus life
report
Read More
RM
8.3 /10

Remarks :

Our college is best. There are so many facilities provided by our college. There are no negative remarks. We hve a good gym. We hv a lovely principle. We hv a nice union room. And the teachers and staff are also as good as could be possible. Soo its a best college in south kolkata.

10 /10 faculty
7 /10 placement
10 /10 social life
8 /10 course
7 /10 hostel
8 /10 campus life
report
Read More

Comments



NO COMMENTS TO SHOW

Similar Colleges

Sivanath Sastri College
REVIEWS RATING
7.2 /10

Sivanath Sastri College

Kolkata, West Bengal
BA 5.8 7.72 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Sarsuna College
REVIEWS RATING
7.1 /10

Sarsuna College

Kolkata, West Bengal
B.Sc 3.5 10.97 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Behala College
REVIEWS RATING
8 /10

Behala College

Kolkata, West Bengal
Maharaja Sris Chandra College
REVIEWS RATING
4.9 /10

Maharaja Sris Chandra College

Kolkata, West Bengal
BA 2.60 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
New Alipore College
REVIEWS RATING
7.1 /10

New Alipore College

Kolkata, West Bengal
BA 5.66 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Asutosh College
REVIEWS RATING
7.5 /10

Asutosh College

Kolkata, West Bengal
B.Sc 6.3 7.25 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES

Nearby Colleges

Lady Brabourne College - [LBC]
REVIEWS RATING
7.6 /10

Lady Brabourne College - [LBC]

Kolkata, West Bengal
B.Sc 8.1
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Scottish Church College
REVIEWS RATING
7.8 /10

Scottish Church College

Kolkata, West Bengal
B.Sc 7.8 20.25 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Bethune College
REVIEWS RATING
8 /10

Bethune College

Kolkata, West Bengal
B.Sc 6.9 1.37 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
JD Birla Institute - [JDBI]
REVIEWS RATING
7.5 /10

JD Birla Institute - [JDBI]

Kolkata, West Bengal
B.Sc 6.9 1.75 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Global Institute of Fashion Technology - [GIFT]
REVIEWS RATING
7.2 /10
6.8
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
George Group of Colleges
REVIEWS RATING
7.9 /10

George Group of Colleges

Kolkata, West Bengal
B.Sc 6.6 88.55 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES

NewsView All

Calcutta University VC: Practical Classes can be Held on University Campus; Read Details
January 14, 2021
Calcutta University VC: Practical Classes can be Held on University Campus; Read Details

Calcutta University Vice-Chancellor, Sonali Chakravarti Banerjee, has informed on Monday (January 11, 2021) that students can attend on-campus practical classes, however, they need to attend in small batches.  Earlier the Teacher’s Association of Calcutta University had urged VC to res

Kolkata Colleges Ask Students to Submit Reason for Admission Cancellation in Order to Get Fees Refunded; Check Details Here
January 11, 2021
Kolkata Colleges Ask Students to Submit Reason for Admission Cancellation in Order to Get Fees Refunded; Check Details Here

Kolkata Colleges: Students who have taken multiple admission in different Kolkata colleges are now asked to give explanations for reimbursement of admission fees. Candidates need to put the exact date of admission and cancellation on the form to get their fees refunded.  Many principals

Kolkata College Admission 2020: Reserved Seats Opened Up for Waiting List Candidates; Read Details Here
December 30, 2020
Kolkata College Admission 2020: Reserved Seats Opened Up for Waiting List Candidates; Read Details Here

Kolkata College Admission 2020: Many colleges in Kolkata have opened up reserved seats which were vacant, for waiting list candidates to apply for admission.  For now, several colleges have already opened up seats, while some have begun de-reserving seats so that general category studen

Calcutta University Sets Domicile Term for Admission to a BTech Seat, Check Details here
December 18, 2020
Calcutta University Sets Domicile Term for Admission to a BTech Seat, Check Details here

Calcutta University has released a statement on Wednesday stating that candidates applying for decentralised counselling for BTech seats have to be domiciled in Bengal. CU introduced the condition after announcing counselling for 89 BTech seats out of the 237 seats are still vacant after concludi

Calcutta University: Affiliated Colleges Seek More Registration Time; Read Details Here
November 28, 2020
Calcutta University: Affiliated Colleges Seek More Registration Time; Read Details Here

Several affiliated colleges have approached Calcutta University Seeking more registration time to upload the scanned documents of the students along with the testimonials on the university's website to conclude the UG admission process.  Calcutta University (CU) has set up a deadlin

Top Kolkata Colleges Report Deluge of Vacant UG Seats, Demand Centralized Counselling from 2021
November 27, 2020
Top Kolkata Colleges Report Deluge of Vacant UG Seats, Demand Centralized Counselling from 2021

Top Kolkata Colleges have been demanding a centralized counselling system, reporting a large number of vacant UG seats even when registration deadline is nearing for the academic year of 2020-21. As days pass, more Kolkata based colleges are adding to the clamour for a centralized counselling ses

Calcutta University Draft Merit List Released for MSc Ag, B Tech, MSc, MA Courses on November 18
November 18, 2020
Calcutta University Draft Merit List Released for MSc Ag, B Tech, MSc, MA Courses on November 18

Calcutta University has issued provisional merit list for MSc Ag, B Tech, and MSc MA on November 18. Applicants can download the merit list on November 21 via official website caluniv.ac.in. Calcutta University prepares the merit list on the basis of score in the entrance exam of the last qu

Calcutta University Clarifies on Intermediate Sem Exams Starting from Nov 23; Read Details Here
November 18, 2020
Calcutta University Clarifies on Intermediate Sem Exams Starting from Nov 23; Read Details Here

On Tuesday, November 17, 2020, Calcutta University has cleared all airs about conducting intermediate semester exams. Lately, Principals of many Calcutta University affiliated colleges had raised queries on the mode of conducting exams. Answering to all such queries, Calcutta University&nbsp

interested in this College ?

Top Courses

BA (Hons.) Journalism AVG FEE - ₹ 5,533.33/Yr
3 Years
B.Sc (Hons.) Biochemistry AVG FEE - ₹ 5,953/Yr
3 Years
B.Sc (Hons.) Computer Science AVG FEE - ₹ 5,953/Yr
3 Years

Faculties

Sukanya Sanyal Associate Professor, Department of English
Dr. Ratna Ghosh Associate Professor, Department of Bengali
Aparajita Bhattacharyya Associate Professor, Department of History

Reviews

6.3 /10 Student Satisfactory Rating

"My college journey"

It is considered as one of the best colleges in Kolkata under CU for Science faculty. Every year students get through the best IIT institutes. As far chemistry is concerned as B.Sc chemistry Hons it is one of the best departments with good faculty and proper laboratory. I have seen seniors and my classmates cracking IIT Jam and getting a good institute for further studies. Teachers are cooperative and provide help to the students. The campus is good too. Not so knowledgeable about the canteen and union, didn't interact much. But the college has a very good environment and hustle free always.

by Student
7.3 /10 Student Satisfactory Rating

"Overlooking of Vivekananda college Kolkata with a few words"

At first I am emphasizing on our physics Department, not on the whole college. There are 10 teachers in our department and after all it seems that they all do promise before leaving their house that today they will do something for their students and then they will return home. Believe me their heartiest desire is to teach the students and create a good, civilized and a scientific society among us. They pick up every point of view in physics and show us the actual taste and tweets in physics. They will die but to the end of their life they will try how we, the students can be more benefitted. But last of all I have to say that in this world there is detractor of every good and noble job. M

by Seikh Salehuddin
7.3 /10 Student Satisfactory Rating

Moderate distance from house, soothing atmosphere,cozy environment,lack of union interference,good teachers,Also morning section which allows me to do another course, a rich library, my college's functions are the best with limited resources

by Abhranil Chatterjee

Students also visited

Jogamaya Devi college
Jogamaya Devi college, KolkataB.Sc, ₹12.44 K First Year Fees
7.3
Vivekananda College for Women
Vivekananda College for Women, KolkataBA, ₹4.38 K First Year Fees
8.6
Maheshtala College
Maheshtala College, KolkataBA, ₹2.02 K First Year Fees
7.5
Rammohan College
Rammohan College, KolkataBA, ₹2.96 K First Year Fees
7.4
Seth Anandaram Jaipuria College
Seth Anandaram Jaipuria College, KolkataBA, ₹4.57 K First Year Fees
7.2
Prafulla Chandra College
Prafulla Chandra College, KolkataBA, ₹5.07 K First Year Fees
6.7
Derozio Memorial College - [DMC]
Derozio Memorial College - [DMC], KolkataBA, ₹3.15 K First Year Fees
7.5
Khudiram Bose Central College
Khudiram Bose Central College, KolkataBA, ₹4.57 K First Year Fees
7.3
Charuchandra College
Charuchandra College, KolkataB.Sc, ₹6.35 K First Year Fees
6.2
Heramba Chandra College - [HCC]
Heramba Chandra College - [HCC], KolkataBA, ₹5.28 K First Year Fees
7.1