University of Mysore, Institute of Development Studies - [IDS], Mysore - Reviews

University of Mysore, Institute of Development Studies - [IDS], Mysore - Reviews

Mysore, Karnataka NAAC | Estd 1971 UOM, Mysore Public

College rating

based on 1 students ratings

5.7/10

8.0/10academic
4.0/10accommodation
10.0/10faculty
6.0/10infrastructure
1.0/10placements
5.0/10social
CLEAR ALL
View All Streams
CLEAR ALL
View All Course Tags
CLEAR ALL
View All Courses
V
Vindi GovindMasters in Food and Agricultural ManagementBatch : 1996
5.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS
8/10academic
10/10faculty
6/10infrastructure
4/10food & accom
1/10placement
5/10social life
Alumni/Alumna -

Though I don't stay in Mysore any more, I have moved to Pune, I got connected to many of my friends at the University through FACEBOOK. I don't know many Seniors.


Campus Life -
5 /10

Manasagongotri is the hugest I have seen till date. Amazing collection of books. The hostel had a little space where kabbadi tournaments were held. But there was any sports ground as such.


Internship -
5 /10

There wasn't any sort of internship in my department. But because the course was all about processed foods we did have opportunities in this field, but we had to hunt that for ourselves.


Exam Structure -

Exams were divided into 4 semesters. Third semester we had to present a brief of our dissertation. And in the Final semester the Dissertation. Final semester was very hectic, I had to visit more than 15 Prawn farms for my dissertation.


Entrance Preview -

Had taken the Mysore University entrance exams. Was selected for M.Com too, but opted for Masters in Food and Agricultural Management as my father was working for NABARD (National Bank for Agriculture and Rural Development) and also I was sure that processed food would be the new in thing in the future.


Hostel Facilities -
4 /10

We very provided accommodation in the PG women's hostel. Every room was shared by 2 girls. The hostel rooms were good but common bathrooms/toilets were very dirty. Food used to have a lot of soda in it. But over all the accommodation with the food was very cheap. The top floor of our hostel used to be used by ladies who pursued their Doctorate studies.


Course Curriculum -
8 /10

It was a two year masters degree. The course was divided into four semesters. In the third semester we had various filed visits - visit to the various APMCs (Agriculture Produce and Marketing Committee), Various Processed food manufacturing centres. Final semester we had to prepare a dissertation of our choice. My Dissertation was on GROWING / CULTIVATION TIGER PRAWNS ON LAND - its pros and cons.


Events -
5 /10

We had a lot of cultural festivals organised in the department. Firstly we had a Miss and Mr IDS competition. I had won the Miss IDS title in the first year. Then we had a Annual get togethers. And many more.


Faculty -
10 /10

My course was under the department of -INSTITUTE OF DEVELOPMENT STUDIES in Manasagangotri, Mysore. This University is one of the oldest universities in India. We had a fabulous, huge campus (which can be compared to any IIT/ IIM campus). My department had some excellent lecturers - each one of them was a Doctorate in their field. I would like to mention that here they also offer a course on Women Development Studies.


16 Sep 201500report


Load More reviews

Comments

Comments



No Comments To Show

news view all

January 22, 2020

Mysore University Results 2020: B.com Results, Revaluation Results, Entrance Examination Result, Distance Education

Mysore University results are tabulated in the article given below. The university follows the semester course system divided into two sections i.e. odd semester & even semester. Notifications regarding University of Mysore Results for odd and even semester are released by the university th

apply now Download Brochure

Parent College In This Group

INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

top courses

MA Development StudiesAVG FEE - ₹18,745/Yr
2 Years
MA Rural DevelopmentAVG FEE - ₹24,800/Yr
2 Years
MBA AgribusinessAVG FEE - ₹44,670/Yr
2 Years
view more courses[2]

Other Colleges In The Same Group

news

faculties

Dr. K. V. AiahannaDirector & Professor, Department of Development Studies
Dr. S. M MangalaAssistant Professor, Department of Development Studies
Dr. M. MeeraAssistant Professor, Department of Development Studies
view all faculties[7]

reviews

STUDENTS ALSO VISITED

Yuvaraja's College, Mysore logo

Yuvaraja's College, Mysore

B.Sc , ₹ 4.22 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.3
SBRR Mahajana First Grade College, Mysore logo

SBRR Mahajana First Grade College, Mysore

B.Sc , ₹ 25.15 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.8
Vijaya First Grade College, Mandya logo

Vijaya First Grade College, Mandya

BA , ₹ 9.43 K FIRST YEAR FEES
University of Mysore - [UOM], Mysore logo

University of Mysore - [UOM], Mysore

BA , ₹ 11 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.3
Maharaja Institute of Technology - [MIT], Mysore logo

Maharaja Institute of Technology - [MIT], Mysore

BE/B.Tech , ₹ 6.1 L TOTAL FEES
7.2
×