Tezpur University, School of Engineering Tezpur, Sonitpur - Reviews

Sonitpur, Assam AICTE TU, Tezpur Public

College Rating

Based on 3 Students RatingClaim this college

8.1 out of 10
8.7/10Academic
7.7/10Accommodation
8.3/10Faculty
8.7/10Infrastructure
6.7/10Placement
8.3/10Social Life
Filter By
StreamCourse TagCourseBatch
SORT BY :
Relevance

Engineering (3)

Most Popular Tags

Course (3)
Gender (3)
Placement (3)
Scholarship (3)
Campus (2)
Department (2)
Engineering (2)
Fee Structure (2)
Hostel (2)
Scheme (2)
Semester (2)
Tezpur (2)
Zaloni (2)
Location (1)
Number (1)

3 Reviews found


AN
7.8 /10

Internships Opportunities :

No our college do not provide Internship as of now. We go out to some companies after brief research for internship. And I heard from senior most of them do not even provide stipends. Tough for us!

Remarks :

Our College is fairly good considering it is still in its juvenile stage. I am happy and proud to be part of Tezpur University.

Loan/ Scholarship Provisions :

There is scholarship provided by the UGC for North East students. Some other scholarships are also available for SC/ST students provided by the State Government. I don't know of any loan facilities but the former Vice-Chancellor did provide financial help to some students.

Exam Structure :

The exams killed almost us last two years. We had to write test every two weeks and on top of that we had two major exams. But with change in Vice-Chancellor it has been reduced to two test and two major exams, a relieve for us. Though we have labs throughout the week, with two groups being divided, we go turn by turn. Not much of a problem there.

Fee Structure And Facilities :

The fee structure is not that expensive. We paid around 32,000 in first semester. After that we have to pay only around 24,000 per semester excluding mess fees. For Hostel mess, we pay around 1,600 per month depending on the number of days we have to stay in Hostel. Fee structure is different for Self Supported Schemes.

Entrance Preview :

I appeared in JEE (mains) and scored only 47. Bummer, I didn't study much then. Back then, I was interested in Medical studies and was hoping to write AIPMT, But some of my friends suggested Engineering would be a better choice. So after some thoughts i decided to undergo the JEE procedures, and then submitted my Choice list. I searched for Engineering colleges nearby and came to know Tezpur University. So I put Tezpur University on top of some of the choices I had to enter on "Choice List". I thought i wouldn't seat in Tezpur University, but thankfully I got lucky. My class 12 marks must have helped me somehow.:)

College Events :

We have tons of activities here in Tezpur university. Each school organize their own festival. School of Engineering has a festival called " TECHXETRA". It is the second biggest tech-fest in North-East. We have workshops for all departments. There is even Futsal and Gully Cricket tournament too with other games!!!

Hostel Facilities :

The Hostel facilities are fairly good. The bathrooms and toilets are sufficient. There is WiFi everywhere, and there is major electricity shortage. The food depends on the amount of mess fee we pay and on the mess managers. Some managers eats up too much money to give good food, while the others are okay.:D

Campus Life :

We have a busy life here in Tezpur University as class starts from 0900 to 1700 hour. There are people from all around the Country with all religions, though people from North East is more. Considering there are equal number of Boys and Girls hostels, the gender ratio could be 50:50.

Alumni/Alumna :

The seniors are really frank in Hostel and School. They are ready to help whenever we approach them. We always rely on them in case we have to organize an event or go for project etc.

Faculty :

`The faculty of our department is well qualified. They have a good idea on how to make us understand the subject matter. They are all graduates from NITs and IITs. Most of them have even completed PhDs and some are currently undergoing. They all shuffle and teach us each subject with great interest in making us understand.

Admission :

Like I stated above, I got admission through (JEE mains). After getting a seat from JEE, I had to deposit Rs.20000 as a security for admission. Then, I had to go to one of the reporting stations for JEE to verify my documents and to confirm my seat in University. And then, I came to university for admission. The admission procedure was really simple.I went to the JEE assigned office and I just had to verify my documents and pay the remaining admission fee.

Placement Experience :

The placement condition of our department is really poor. But, the other departments like Mechanical and Computer science do get Placements even though it is not a great number. Last year , DALMIA Cement came and offered a placement with base salary of around Rs.12000 to 4-5 to our seniors.

Course Curriculum Overview :

`The course is really vast. In the first and second semesters, we were taught Physics, Mechanics, Maths , Basic Electrical Engineering and some other basic courses of other departments. From the third semester, we started learning basics of our own core courses. And then more core subjects in fourth and fifth(current) semesters.

8 /10 faculty
6 /10 placement
8 /10 social life
8 /10 course
8 /10 hostel
9 /10 campus life
report
Read More

Comments



NO COMMENTS TO SHOW

Similar Colleges

Jorhat Engineering College - [JEC]
REVIEWS RATING
7.7 /10
BE/B.Tech 4.9 11 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
North Eastern Regional Institute of Science and Technology - [NERIST]
REVIEWS RATING
7 /10
BE/B.Tech 6.2 20.47 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Tezpur University - [TU]
REVIEWS RATING
8 /10
BE/B.Tech 6.5 58.19 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
International Institute of Information Technology - [IIIT] Naya Raipur
REVIEWS RATING
8.2 /10
BE/B.Tech 5.0 1.80 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
National Institute of Electronics and Information Technology - [NIELIT]
REVIEWS RATING
6.7 /10
BE/B.Tech 4.8 83.25 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Pondicherry Engineering College - [PEC]
REVIEWS RATING
7.8 /10
BE/B.Tech 6.8 14.05 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES

Nearby Colleges

Indian Institute of Technology - [IIT]
REVIEWS RATING
8.5 /10
BE/B.Tech 9.9 2.19 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
National Institute of Technology - [NIT]
REVIEWS RATING
8.1 /10
BE/B.Tech 7.3 1.48 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Tezpur University - [TU]
REVIEWS RATING
8 /10
BE/B.Tech 6.5 58.19 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Indian Institute of Information Technology - [IIITG]
REVIEWS RATING
7.5 /10
BE/B.Tech 5.1 2.25 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Central Institute of Technology - [CIT]
REVIEWS RATING
7 /10
BE/B.Tech 5.1 1.11 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES

NewsView All

Tezpur University Ph.D Admissions Spring 2021: Applications Window Open, Apply Before Jan 28; Check Details Here
January 12, 2021
Tezpur University Ph.D Admissions Spring 2021: Applications Window Open, Apply Before Jan 28; Check Details Here

Tezpur University releases the schedule for Ph.D. Admissions Spring 2021 for which candidates can apply till January 28, 2021. Eligible candidates who fulfill all the criteria should take part in an online interview round to gain admission. The admission will be provided to the Ph.D. program at&n

Tezpur University's Online Course Ranked as One of the "Best Online Courses of All Time", Read Details Here
December 23, 2020
Tezpur University's Online Course Ranked as One of the "Best Online Courses of All Time", Read Details Here

Tezpur University has been ranked for one of the "Best Online Courses of All Time" by Classcentral.com for its course Direct Tax Laws and Practice.  Professor Subhrangshu Sekhar Sarkar of Tezpur University has designed the online course. It is recognized by the University Gran

Tezpur University: CEED 2021 Scores to be Accepted for MDes Admission
December 17, 2020
Tezpur University: CEED 2021 Scores to be Accepted for MDes Admission

Tezpur University has confirmed that its Department of Design, School of Engineering will accept CEED 2021 results for the admission process of the upcoming year. Candidates must note that Tezpur University will only participate in the CEED exam as a result-sharing organization and it would not b

Tezpur University Releases Common Rank Lists for PG Programmes; Check @tezu.ernet.in
September 29, 2020
Tezpur University Releases Common Rank Lists for PG Programmes; Check @tezu.ernet.in

Tezpur University, Assam has released the common rank lists for various Postgraduate courses including M.Tech. and M.Com. on September 28, Monday on its official website.  In the wake of COVID, Tezpur University canceled its entrance exam, the Tezpur University Entrance Exam (TUEE)

24 Percent of Electricity Requirements of Tezpur University Met by Solar Energy
August 21, 2020
24 Percent of Electricity Requirements of Tezpur University Met by Solar Energy

In a bid to generate clean energy for power requirements within the campus, Tezpur University has installed a solar grid which replaced 24 percent of the monthly electricity consumption of the central university from October 2018 to July 2020. Tezpur University is the first academic instituti

Tezpur University Cancels Entrance Exams amid COVID-19 Crisis
July 10, 2020
Tezpur University Cancels Entrance Exams amid COVID-19 Crisis

On 7 July 2020 (Wednesday), Tezpur University issued an official notice recommending entrance exams to be dropped in view of the growing number of COVID cases in Assam.  The university reported that admissions for the current academic year will be held based on the performance of students in

Tezpur University Extends Last Date for TUEE Registration to June 15
May 23, 2020
Tezpur University Extends Last Date for TUEE Registration to June 15

The last date to apply for the Tezpur University Entrance Exam 2020 has now been extended to June 15 2020. This applies to all programmes except B.Tech, for which the last date to apply is July 15 2020. The extension in the deadline has come in the wake of the coronavirus pandemic. The students w

Tezpur University Result 2021:  Check UG, PG, Entrance Exam Result  @tezu.ernet.in
February 23, 2021
Tezpur University Result 2021: Check UG, PG, Entrance Exam Result @tezu.ernet.in

Tezpur University offers interdisciplinary courses on various subject and aims to specialize in emerging areas in science and technology. The university publishes result for all the courses on the official website.  The academic programmes are conducted through TUEE cell. The university

Parent College In This Group

interested in this College ?

Top Courses
B.Tech Civil Engineering AVG FEE - ₹ 43,961/Yr
4 Years
B.Tech Computer Science Engineering AVG FEE - ₹ 43,961/Yr
4 Years
B.Tech Electrical Engineering AVG FEE - ₹ 43,961/Yr
4 Years
Faculties
Dr. Dilip Kr. Saikia Professor, Department of Computer Science & Engineering
Dr. Dhruba K. Bhattacharyya Professor and Dean, Department of Computer Science & Engineering
Dr. Smriti Kumar Sinha Professor, Department of Computer Science & Engineering