St Joseph's College - [SJC], Bangalore - Reviews

Bangalore, Karnataka Estd 1882 BU, Bangalore Public (Autonomous) NAAC Grade A++ 1 Questions Answered Ranked 16 For Arts By Indiatoday 2020 +16 more

College Rating

Based on 88 Students RatingClaim this college

8.1 out of 10
8.4/10Academic
7.3/10Accommodation
8.4/10Faculty
8.3/10Infrastructure
7.6/10Placement
8.6/10Social Life
Filter By
StreamCourse TagCourseBatch
SORT BY :
Relevance

Science (26)
Commerce (22)
Arts (15)
Computer Applications (9)
Vocational Courses (3)
Vocational Courses (2)

Most Popular Tags

Scholarship (66)
Provide (53)
Faculty (50)
Interview (45)
Fee Structure (31)
Course Curriculum (22)
Placement Cell (18)
Campus Life (13)
Course Syllabus (12)
Exam Structure (11)
Entrance Exam (10)
Admission Process (9)
Gender Ratio (9)
Mid Semester (9)
Sport Day (9)

88 Reviews found


S
5.7 /10

Remarks :

Currently, principal fr.victor Lobo is neglective towards the student's needs. He is all about the money-making and has very racist behaviour. Apart from that the college life/campus is a wonderful place to study.

Loan/ Scholarship Provisions :

I didn't opt for any scholarships or education loans, but the college has a tie-up with South Indian back to provide education loans for their students.

Fee Structure And Facilities :

The fee is very expensive considered the facility the college management is providing. We are charged for things which are not even a part of our curriculum such as outreach, fieldwork, etc which is important for other degree students in the college

College Events :

Every year the department organize an inter-college animation and art festival called Miraki. We have many masterclasses and Q&A sections by industry experts as a part of this fest. We also have an exhibition as a part of the fest where we display the works of the students.

Campus Life :

Currently, there is construction happening everywhere on the campus. There is dust everywhere. But after the construction, you'll have a beautiful campus to roam around during your education. We have a huge basketball court, a food court, and a very beautiful playground for the students. Christian is given priority during the time of entrance and interview but the campus is very friendly and open to students of all races, religions, gender, and ethnicity.

Alumni/Alumna :

We are forced to join the alumni club and pay 500rs for that once you complete your 5th semester but there's no active alumni network for the college

Faculty :

Currently, the B.voc department of st.josephs college doesn't have the required permanent faculties but they do have industry experts as guest lecturers. The department is trying their best to provide the best for their students even though the college management has a neglective behavior towards the department.

Admission :

Every student planning to join B.voc at st.josephs needs to apply for an entrance exam through their website. The date of the entrance exam will be notified on their website later. After the entrance exam, a list of selected students will be released on the website on the same day. You will be asked to come with your parents/guardian the very next day and after a very informal interview you can pay your first-year fee and you're done.

Placement Experience :

There is no placement provided for B.voc students currently. Although every 6th-semester student is required to complete an internship of 400hours to complete their degree. The department does help you by providing contacts to multiple companies for this purpose.

Course Curriculum Overview :

As the very 2nd batch of B.voc, our department did have difficulties finding faculties for us but later during the 2nd and 3rd year, we had very professional and talented faculties to guide us through. The curriculum is groomed to provide industry-specific knowledge to the students but the first year of your degree is pretty much just the basics. We do have a well-equipped animation lab and other studios. We also have industry experts visiting every now and then to teach the students about the current industry needs. St.josephs currently don't have any on-campus placements for B.voc, but if your final project is good enough, the external examiner might offer you a job. We organized one industrial visit during the three years of the degree and multiple inter-college animation and art fest every year.

6 /10 faculty
4 /10 placement
6 /10 social life
5 /10 course
7 /10 hostel
6 /10 campus life
report
Read More

Comments


1 Comments
T
tenzin choephel
this institution is one of the oldest institution in india and the oldest in bangalore, 136 years old this college and more than 300 yrs old this institution. from my experience this college provides lots of opportunities and all the facualties are very good and frank. never forget in my live. initially the construction is old and now lots of new buildings are build much beautiful then other college. just check out and u will know. i love this institution. jesuit organisation really helps others. this time this college got A 3.79/4 by NACC. first college by 4th circle.non of other college this type of grading. so joseph is the best.

- NO MORE COMMENTS -

Similar Colleges

Presidency College
REVIEWS RATING
7.7 /10

Presidency College

Bangalore, Karnataka
MBA/PGDM 6.3 2 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
St. Claret College - [SCC]
REVIEWS RATING
8.3 /10

St. Claret College - [SCC]

Bangalore, Karnataka
BA 40 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
St. Joseph's College of Commerce - [SJCC]
REVIEWS RATING
8.3 /10
B.Com 7.8 1.39 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
St Joseph's Institute of Management - [SJIM]
REVIEWS RATING
8.3 /10
MBA/PGDM 4.9 4.15 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Bangalore University - [BU]
REVIEWS RATING
7.3 /10

Bangalore University - [BU]

Bangalore, Karnataka
BA 1.86 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Garden City University - [GCU]
REVIEWS RATING
7.8 /10

Garden City University - [GCU]

Bangalore, Karnataka
B.Sc 5.8 93.10 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES

Nearby Colleges

Mount Carmel College - [MCC]
REVIEWS RATING
8.3 /10

Mount Carmel College - [MCC]

Bangalore, Karnataka
M.Sc 8.7
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Christ University
REVIEWS RATING
8.3 /10

Christ University

Bangalore, Karnataka
B.Sc 8.7 35 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Kristu Jayanti College - [KJC]
REVIEWS RATING
8.4 /10

Kristu Jayanti College - [KJC]

Bangalore, Karnataka
B.Sc 8.3 50 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
The Oxford College of Science - [TOCS]
REVIEWS RATING
7.1 /10
M.Sc 7.9 50 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Army Institute of Fashion and Design - [AIFD]
REVIEWS RATING
9 /10
B.Sc 7.7 1.93 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
St George College of Management Science and Nursing
REVIEWS RATING
6.4 /10
B.Sc 6.7 3.21 LTotal Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES

NewsView All

Bangalore University PG Admission 2020: Provisional Merit List to Release on Jan 5 @bangaloreuniversity.ac.in
January 04, 2021
Bangalore University PG Admission 2020: Provisional Merit List to Release on Jan 5 @bangaloreuniversity.ac.in

Bangalore University will release the provisional merit list or Omnibus merit list for PG Admissions on January 5 on its official website Bangalore university.ac.in. The varsity will issue the final merit list on January 8. The Bangalore University releases the merit list based on rank and d

Bangalore University Provisional Merit List for PG Courses (Released);  Direct Link Here
December 21, 2020
Bangalore University Provisional Merit List for PG Courses (Released); Direct Link Here

December 21, 2020: Bangalore University has released the provisional merit list for all the PG courses on December 19, 2020. Final merit list to be published on December 31, 2020. Bangalore University - (BU), Bangalore is a state university which offers regular and distance education into various

Bangalore University: PG Provisional Merit List 2020 to be Released on Dec 16; Check Details Here
December 15, 2020
Bangalore University: PG Provisional Merit List 2020 to be Released on Dec 16; Check Details Here

Bangalore University will announce the provisional merit list for admission in various PG courses on December 16, 2020.  Candidates must note that the omnibus merit list is provisional, and Bangalore University will release the final merit list on December 23, 2020.  Once the provisi

Bangalore University Recorded Higher Pass Percentage in B.com and BBA; Details Here
November 08, 2020
Bangalore University Recorded Higher Pass Percentage in B.com and BBA; Details Here

November 08, 2020: Admit Covid-19 Pandemic, Bangalore University has recorded a considerable improvement in pass percentage students in arts and commerce stream Programs.  Bangalore University conducted the final semester/year examination for candidates in September and October 2020. The exa

Bangalore University: VC Planning to Resume Offline Classes from Nov 17
October 31, 2020
Bangalore University: VC Planning to Resume Offline Classes from Nov 17

Bangalore University is planning to resume offline classes in alternative shifts. The classes will be starting from November 17, 2020. Vice-Chancellor Venugopal of Bangalore University - [BU], Bangalore informed that commerce and management classes will be resuming from November 17, 2020. In ligh

Bangalore University:  B.Com Final Year Question Paper Leaked; Exam Postponed, Check Details Here
October 13, 2020
Bangalore University: B.Com Final Year Question Paper Leaked; Exam Postponed, Check Details Here

Bangalore University has made the decision to postpone the final year B.Com exam of 'Principles and Practice of Auditing' which was scheduled to be conducted on October 12, 2020, at 2:00 PM. According to the press reports, the decision was taken by the Bangalore University as the exam pap

Bangalore University postpones UG, PG Final Year Examinations 2020; Check Revised Schedule Here
September 26, 2020
Bangalore University postpones UG, PG Final Year Examinations 2020; Check Revised Schedule Here

Bangalore University recently announced the postponement of UG and PG final year examinations which were scheduled to commence from September 25, Friday. However, there is no delay in the exam that is to be held on September 26. According to the revised exam schedule issued by the Bangalore

Bangalore University Released Final year UG/ PG Exam Time Table; Check at bangaloreuniversity.ac.in
September 07, 2020
Bangalore University Released Final year UG/ PG Exam Time Table; Check at bangaloreuniversity.ac.in

Bangalore University has released the Final Year Timetable for Graduate and Postgraduate Programs. Students attending undergraduate and postgraduate final year examinations are advised to visit the university's official website to check the revised schedule. Depending on the dates set out in

interested in this College ?

Top Courses
BA (Psychology) AVG FEE - ₹ 28,800/Yr
3 Years
M.Sc Data Analytics AVG FEE - ₹ 128,250/Yr
2 Years
BA (Journalism) AVG FEE - ₹ 28,800/Yr
3 Years
Other Colleges In The Same Group
Placements
company
company
company
company
company
company
Faculties
Dr. M. N. Nachappa Associate Professor, Department of Computer Science
Ms. Mary Merline Rani Assistant Professor, Department of Computer Science
Mr. Madappa Professor & Head, Department of Biotechnology
Reviews
10 /10 Student Satisfactory Rating

"Honest Course Review: B.Voc Visual Media and Filmmaking"

I had applied to two colleges, Christ University and St. Joseph's Autonomous College, Bangalore. Even though I got admission at Christ University, I was not very keen on learning about psychology and it was just a backup option. However, the admission process at St. Joseph's College was quite simple. The first step was to attend a written entrance examination. Once you clear the exam, you will be called for an interview with two of the professors from the Communication department. The professors were very welcoming and I did not feel intimidated. And before the academic year starts, there will be an orientation day where the professors would give the students a brief introduction about the c

by Student
8.3 /10 Student Satisfactory Rating

"B.voc Film at SJC helped me get my basics right. Grateful."

I had already graduated with a Psychology degree in Ahmedabad. I was looking for a postgraduate course in Film making. I ended up finding St. Joseph's and decided to start with the basics. I had no idea what to expect after joining SJC and I am not very disappointed. The admission process was quite basic. I enrolled for the college, wrote an entrance exam, and then I had a one on one interview with two of our faculty members. They asked me basic questions related to films and Film making. They kindly told me the requirements of this course, the project, the equipment, etc. You need to have a basic camera and laptop which is very necessary for this course for the students who can't buy thes

by Abhinaya Nair
9.7 /10 Student Satisfactory Rating

"Review of St. Joseph's College (Autonomous), Bangalore SJC"

Starting from the infrastructure, the facilities provided, the faculty and everything that the college provides can be rated more than 9.5 out of 10. The admission cell of the college is very effective which makes the admission procedure very smooth and easy for students. Especially, during this time of the pandemic admission in the college was very smooth. The college is also taking good care of the students in their academics even during these hard times through online classes. Even though all the classes and activities are being held online, the college is taking very effective initiatives towards the students. I personally preferred this college because the overall review of the college

by Arnab Sen
Students also visited
REVA University
REVA University, BangaloreBE/B.Tech, ₹2.25 L First Year Fees
8.4
Jyoti Nivas College - [JNC]
Jyoti Nivas College - [JNC], BangaloreBA, ₹20.49 K First Year Fees
7.8
Indian Academy Degree College - [IADC-A]
7.9
Christ University
Christ University, BangaloreB.Sc, ₹35 K First Year Fees
8.3
Kristu Jayanti College - [KJC]
Kristu Jayanti College - [KJC], BangaloreB.Sc, ₹50 K First Year Fees
8.4
Jain University - [JU]
Jain University - [JU], BangaloreBE/B.Tech, ₹1.98 L First Year Fees
7.8