BA College of Agriculture Rankings

×

BA College of Agriculture, Anand - Reviews

BA College of Agriculture, Anand - Reviews

Anand, Gujarat AICTE | Estd 1947 AAU, Anand Public

College rating

based on 12 students ratings
Claim This College

8.1/10

8.5/10academic
8.0/10accommodation
8.2/10faculty
8.4/10infrastructure
7.5/10placements
8.2/10social
FILTER BY
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL

    POPULAR TAGS

    Campus
    Scholarship
    Agriculture
    Course
    Admission
    Hostel
    Culture
    Fee Structure
    Semester
    Placement Cell
    End Exam
    Exam Structure
    Free Education
    Prelim Exam
    Process Start

    12 Reviews found

    S
    Shashikant MandalB. Sc. (Agriculture)
    Batch : 2001
    4.0
    STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS
    4/10faculty
    3/10placement
    3/10social life
    4/10course
    5/10hostel
    5/10campus life

    Good education overall

    Internship -
    3 /10

    Our college did not have any internship program, it's not even today. We got hands on field training from first semester onwards and practical crop production in fifth semester. Plus, there were field trips to farmers villages in seventh semester and visit to other Agriculture colleges in other states. The only time we got paid was in practical crop production where we got to keep what we earned by selling our produce. Anyways, the fee was very less and we never had any issues managing ourselves.

    Alumni/Alumna -

    The official alumni association was started in 2010 only and we are now connected with our juniors and senior college mates who are note positioned differently in all walks of life.

    Faculty -
    4 /10

    The faculties were good, experienced, qualified & more than willing to share knowledge. They took much pains in imparting knowledge by way of lectures, discussions, practicals, field visits, etc. We studied in a time when digital technology and audio visual aids were not available. The lecturers took great pains in writing the slides for presentations, handing over printed bullet points, at times we took notes in lectures, etc. But we enjoyed to the fullest the personal touch and attention we got. It's not like now a days where there's no personal touch.

    Admission -
    4 /10

    College management was little old fashioned then, interactions with lady students were not encouraged, hostels were separate, we were all made to concentrate more on studies and less on extra curricular activities life NSS, NCC, etc. Even preparing for IAS was not encouraged. Now, students are given coaching from fifth semester onwards which is good.Plus many new courses like MBA has started opening doors for students to new avenues.

    Fees -

    Fee structure was very good for us students. We paid 2000 rupees per semester and hostel fees were 3000 rupees per semester. Rest was covered by government grants, we also got scholarship of 2500 per semester. That was not at all expensive.

    Exam Structure -

    Exams used to consist of 03 short & un announced quizzes, two hourly examinations, one practical exam plus assignments , semester ending external examinations. In all, we only had a month free of exams during start of the semesters which was good keeping in mind the vast scope of the subjects

    Scholarship -

    I availed of scholarship from central government which was given to meritorious students, it was rupees 2500 per semester which used to be substantial during the 1990s and covered all expenses on books and stationery.

    Placement -
    3 /10

    There was no placement cell when we passed out in 1997, we had to ourselves look for jobs which were hard to come by. The best opportunities were available only in agriculture inputs marketing like pesticides, seeds, etc. The packages offered then were around 50k per annum. Now, there is a placement cell and a coordinator who keeps in touch with prospective companies, the packages offered are around 250k now and many agriculture input marketing companies, banks, research institutions hire students and there are only a handful who do not get good placement.

    Entrance Preview -

    There was no entrance exam in Gujarat in 1993, for admission based on merit, also got scholarship.Among Bachelor's in Veterinary medicine, B. Sc. Agriculture and B. Sc. Geology, I chose agriculture. This was because agriculture is the best field among all

    Hostel Facilities -

    Hostel facilities were very good, the rooms were spacious, wash rooms were maintained clean, tv room and space for indoor and outdoor activities were provided. There was also a college gymnasium and huge ground for playing football, cricket, volleyball, etc. The mess facility was also very good, food provided was of excellent quality and charges were only 1000 bucks a month which was very cost effective.

    Events -
    3 /10

    There used to be annual function celebrations, debate competitions, cultural events, sports events, musical festivals, drama, paper presentations, research meets, agriculture gays on state level, national level seminars, etc.

    Campus Life -
    3 /10

    Campus life was very good. Our college was situated away from busy city, had a lot of greenery, there was real piece of mind to study, we got to interact with our seniors from masters and those doing their Ph.D and learnt a lot from them.There were also students from dairy science which was the only college in India. We did participated in inter college culture fest called volcano where we competed against students from arts, sciences, engineering, HR, social science, commerce, etc. All these colleges including ours had co education system.

    Course Curriculum -

    It spanned over 4 years with subjects in soil chemistry, meteorology, applied mathematics & statistics, entomology, plant pathology, agronomy, agricultural engineering, field studies & visits, horticulture, etc. It was divided into eight semesters of six months each with eighth one for visit to agriculture colleges and living among farmers to get first hand experience. The best one was practical crop production where we had to raise a crop on an allotted plot, it was great fun !

    18 Dec 201521report

    Load More reviews

    Comments

    Comments



    No Comments To Show

    apply now Download Brochure
    INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
    Ask a Question

    Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

    top courses

    B.Sc (Hons.) AgricultureAVG FEE - ₹27,500/Yr
    4 Years

    reviews

    9.0/10 student satisfactory rating

    "Agriculture reviews"

    Admission to all UG programs is based on Student's Performance in GUJCET Relaxation of 5% for ST,SC, Candidates Application process is online For B.sc Agriculture minimum of 40% Aggregate in Class 12 from PCB group It is providing support to farming community in three aspects such as education, research and extension activities in Agriculture, Horticulture, Home science and product processing. There are seven college more than seven research center and six extension education institute in Anand Agriculture University . Woking nine district of gujarat This University is recognized by the Indian council of Agriculture research (ICAR) Officials website www.aau.in In 2020 adm...
    by HARSHIL PATEL
    8.5/10 student satisfactory rating

    "Anand agriculture University College life"

    Anand Agriculture University is topmost priority agriculture University in state and also worldwide. Admission process is started during the month March to August on 1st August the college started. This university gives you very good knowledge from the very good knowledgeable professor. I prefer to you one magazine name state Gujarat ranking which is very amazing.
    by Student
    7.4/10 student satisfactory rating

    "AAU -ANAND AGRICULTURAL UNIVERSITY.LIFE"

    Anand Agriculture University is the most reputable university in Gujarat state. The admission process is very simple -merit-based but the filling a form a website is not good. I prefer this college because AAU is the top-ranking college worldwide.
    by Student
    view more reviews[9]

    STUDENTS ALSO VISITED

    Swami Keshwanand Rajasthan Agricultural University, Bikaner logo

    Swami Keshwanand Rajasthan Agricultural University, Bikaner

    B.Sc (Agriculture) , ₹ 12.46 K FIRST YEAR FEES
    8.1
    Navsari Agricultural University, Navsari logo

    Navsari Agricultural University, Navsari

    M.Sc (Agriculture) , ₹ 45.1 K FIRST YEAR FEES
    8.0
    R. H. Patel Institute of Technology - [RHPIT], Kheda logo

    R. H. Patel Institute of Technology - [RHPIT], Kheda

    Diploma in Engineering , ₹ 37 K FIRST YEAR FEES
    School of Agriculture, Rai University - [SOA], Ahmedabad logo

    School of Agriculture, Rai University - [SOA], Ahmedabad

    B.Sc (Agriculture) , ₹ 90 K FIRST YEAR FEES
    College of Agricultural Engineering and Technology, Junagadh logo
    7.9
    ×