Rajiv Gandhi College of Veterinary & Animal Sciences - [RAGACOVAS], Pondicherry - Reviews

Pondicherry, Puducherry UGC Estd 1994 PU, Pondicherry Private NAAC

College Rating

Based on 5 Students RatingClaim this college

7.6 out of 10
9.4/10Academic
6.4/10Accommodation
9.4/10Faculty
7.4/10Infrastructure
5.4/10Placement
7.6/10Social Life
Filter By
StreamCourse TagCourseBatch
SORT BY :
Relevance

Veterinary Sciences (5)
Course (5)
Hostel (5)
Campus (4)
Government (4)
Scholarship (4)
Badminton (3)
Curriculum (3)
Experience (3)
Football (3)
Increase (3)
Internship (3)
Provide (3)
Review (3)
Structure (3)
Research (1)

5 Reviews found


ZW
7.8 /10

Internships Opportunities :

Yes. Our college provides internship for 6 months. 3 months in college itself and 3 months in Bangalore. It's a great experience. We go to all vet dispensaries in Pondicherry and practice there for 15 days maximum, in each dispensaries. The after 3 months we go to Bangalore for wild animal studies and handling.its great and I'm so excited about it.college pays us about RS 8000 per month.

Remarks :

The college is the best in India. I'm so glad that I'm here. The faculty is friendly and the rules are very fair. There is no bad I can think of about my college. The best college where you come to know the status of animal lives, their behavior and how superior they are to humans.

Loan/ Scholarship Provisions :

Our college provides gold medals with prize money to those who score more in Biochemistry, parasitology and Genetics and Breeding, pharmacology. Also the scholarship is provided through BACK (Veterinary Council of India) to economically backward students. Nagaland, Kashmir,and Goa students are getting the scholarship from their respective governments.

Exam Structure :

Exam is very tough. We have every subject divided in 2 portions theory and practical. Theory is divided in 2 , objective of 60 marks and subjective 0f 40 marks. Practical includes doing part, writing part assignment, and viva voice. Over all the schedule is good. We don't get much break between two successive papers. But college lets us to decide the exam schedule.

Fee Structure And Facilities :

Fee structure is feasible. It's not expensive. The tution fee is UpTo Rs-13000 per year and then adding the other charges like library, sports, lab, computer and all , it goes UpTo Rs-23000 per year. Mess fee per year is only RS-5000. Which means electricity and water is free. The mess fee come around RS 2500/ month. Also some VCI board exam fee is paid every year during final exams which goes UpTo RS 3000 depending on how many subjects we have in that particular year.

Entrance Preview :

All India pre veterinary test (AIPVT) . I was always obsessed with animals, their feelings and how they can be man's best partners and so loyal they are. I always wanted to understand them better and feel them.

College Events :

We have Cultural programme ever year which lasts for 3days, 1st day for talent hunting (essay writing, poems, pictionery, adzap, face painting, Collins, treasure hunt and all), 2nd day for rangoli and flower carpet comptetions, 3rd day for dance, fashion, variety , singing comptetions. There is a college day where awards are given to the people who outshined others on cultural day celebration.and awards are given to those who score more marks.There is a sports day were all can participate and win prizes. There is a hostel day for hostellers.Apart from these , we celebrate all festivals like Christmas, eid, Diwali, Holi etc.

Hostel Facilities :

Hostel facilities are good, I'll not say better. But still it is more than one expects. We have been given freedom in choosing the rooms and our hostel remains open UpTo 10 in night. Mess food is great. For both south and north Indians. Sometimes South Indian food and sometimes North Indian food. The quality is good. Mess cooks are good and cook Better. Overall it's great.

Campus Life :

Gender ratios, I'll say ,. Girls are more here and I think that's because of their love and affection to the animals,mostly dogs and cats.college throws a lots of parties in an academic year and celebrates almost all the festivals with great decorations and excitement. We have cultural programs, sports days, college day, hostel day. We celebrate festivals like Holi, Diwali, eid, and all other major ones together.Students from all religions and all parts of India study here. We have students from Kashmir, Nagaland, kerela, andhra Pradesh, Goa, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu, U.P. , haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Delhi etc. There is no racism and all love each other. We stay as students rather then divided in groups.thats the beauty of our college.

Alumni/Alumna :

They are the important part of our college life. They guide us in exams , help us with any problem , teach us , play with us , sort things out and they are loving and caring.

Faculty :

The faculty is the best among whole India. Big and renowned scholars are the HODs of different departments. They have written research blogs and papers worldwide , they have written their own books which we refer in classes. They are amazing and we are so glad that we have such faculty. The professors are so sincere that they don't waste any classes at all. They come in time and leave in time and they teach us with all their heart and it feels so satisfying. If we have any confusion or questions, they are always ready to answer it and face it and they make us understand it so well and easily.

Admission :

I got selected through the AIPVT and then while counseling, I got this college in Pondicherry. Then I came here , and submitted the form and the fee and all other charges. Got regestered and then finally after 5 days our classes began.i and my father met the higher officials and they describe everything to my father about the college and about the whole degree and what are the benefits and jobs we can get after that. We went to the farm complex and I got to see all the animals the college had , the cute dogs and the goats, the pics and horses , just wow. The I went to hostel. Got a room, my roommate was from U.P. and we became very good friends in no time.

Placement Experience :

Placement and jobs are fair enough. Some go for VAS( vet assistant sergeon) some go for private practice, some join NGO's , some research field, some start business. There is a wide variation but in any case, everyone is successful.so there is a fair placements. Mostly people go for civil services.

Course Curriculum Overview :

The course structure is very well organized. The course changes after every 6 months, after the semestwise exams. We do a lot of experiments which are hardly done in other colleges. They let us handle pathogenic organisms in sterile conditions so that we get the knowledge of them which is hardly done by other colleges. We go to the college library, we have been given extra time for that . All types of books and magazines are available their. We have a canteen here also. Finally as far as research is concerned, this course is better. Because when ever there is any new invention, firstly it's practiced on animals before using it in humans . So in that sense our course has an important role in research.

10 /10 faculty
5 /10 placement
8 /10 social life
10 /10 course
6 /10 hostel
8 /10 campus life
report
Read More

Comments


1 Comments
K
karuturi sapta sandep
Is this icar based
G
garima bansal
HI Karuturi, You may contact to 0413- 2274985 to get information regarding to your query.

- NO MORE COMMENTS -

Similar Colleges

Veterinary College
REVIEWS RATING
7 /10

Veterinary College

Bangalore, Karnataka
MVSc 43.51 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Veterinary College and Research Institute Orathanadu Campus - [VCRI]
BVSc 21.41 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Madras Veterinary College - [MVC]
REVIEWS RATING
8 /10
BE/B.Tech 13.10 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
KVASU, College of Veterinary and Animal Sciences - [COVAS] Mannuthy
REVIEWS RATING
8.4 /10
BVSc 5.7 33.10 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Veterinary College Vidyanagar
REVIEWS RATING
8.4 /10
BVSc 24.50 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Tamil Nadu Veterinary and Animal Sciences University - [TANUVAS]
REVIEWS RATING
8.3 /10
MVSc 6.5 33.33 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES

NewsView All

AIPVT Veterinary Counselling Seat Allotment Results 2020 Released; Check Details & Download Here
January 07, 2021
AIPVT Veterinary Counselling Seat Allotment Results 2020 Released; Check Details & Download Here

Veterinary Council of India (VCI) has officially released the new dates for the AIPVT Veterinary Counselling Seat Allotment Results 2020 on its official VCI website - aipvt.vci.nic.in. Candidates are required to enter their login credentials such as the NEET registration number/roll number and pa

Pondicherry University: Two More Special Chances to be Provided to Students to Appear for Examinations
December 28, 2020
Pondicherry University: Two More Special Chances to be Provided to Students to Appear for Examinations

Pondicherry University has decided to provide two more special opportunities for students who have not yet completed their courses through Directorate of Distance Education (DDE) and twinning programs.  Pondicherry University has released an official notification stating that the univer

Pondicherry University Students Fear Losing out on PG Admission over Delay in Certificates
November 14, 2020
Pondicherry University Students Fear Losing out on PG Admission over Delay in Certificates

Pondicherry University students fear losing out on admissions in other institutes as the varsity has been delaying in issuing their transfer and migration certificates.  As per the sources, the Student's Council of Pondicherry University, PUSC has asked the varsity administration to

Pondicherry University Introduces MBA in Financial Technology; Check Details
October 23, 2020
Pondicherry University Introduces MBA in Financial Technology; Check Details

Pondicherry University has introduced a new program- 'MBA in Financial Technology' from the academic year 2020 - 2021. During the 36th foundation day celebration of Pondicherry University, the vice-chancellor of the University, Gurmeet Singh introduced the new course of the Departmen

Pondicherry University Aspirants Approach CM After Varsity Withdraws Reservation For Local Residents
October 19, 2020
Pondicherry University Aspirants Approach CM After Varsity Withdraws Reservation For Local Residents

Pondicherry:  As per sources, aspirants in Pondicherry have approached the UT Chief Minister, V Narayanasamy and have sought his help after the Pondicherry University withdrew the reservation in a PG course.  Pondicherry University had withdrawn 25% of the reserved seats and converted t

Pondicherry University to conduct End Semester Exams in 'Open Book Mode'
September 20, 2020
Pondicherry University to conduct End Semester Exams in 'Open Book Mode'

Pondicherry University has decided to conduct term-end semester examinations for affiliated college students via "Open Book Mode”. The necessary instructions and study materials have been allocated to the students of the university.  Referring to students' queries related to t

Pondicherry University Entrance Exams 2020 To Commence in September 
August 01, 2020
Pondicherry University Entrance Exams 2020 To Commence in September 

Pondicherry University has released the official notification stating the entrance exams for various PG and Ph.D. programs to be conducted in the third week of September 2020.  The Pondicherry University has also extended the registration dates till August 17, 2020. Earlier the entrance exam

Pondicherry University decides to promote all final year students without exams
June 17, 2020
Pondicherry University decides to promote all final year students without exams

Pondicherry University has announced that it will be canceling all the final year examinations and will be promoting the students without having to appear for the final examinations. The assessment of results at Pondicherry University will be evaluated on the basis of marks obtained by studen

interested in this College ?

Top Courses
BVSc & A.H. AVG FEE - ₹ 44,801/Yr
5 Years
5 Years
MVSc AVG FEE - ₹ 50,320/Yr
2 Years
Faculties
Dr. M. Sivakumar Professor and Head, Department of Veterinary Anatomy & Histology
Dr. S. Ramalingam Associate Professor, Department of Veterinary Anatomy & Histology
Dr. K. Rajalakshmi Assistant Professor