Manipal College of Dental Sciences - [MCODS], Mangalore - Reviews

Mangalore, Karnataka DCI Estd 1987 MAHE, Manipal Private 1 Questions Answered Ranked 6 For Dental By NIRF 2020 +4 more

College Rating

Based on 9 Students RatingClaim this college

8.7 out of 10
9.0/10Academic
7.2/10Accommodation
9.1/10Faculty
9.4/10Infrastructure
8.2/10Placement
9.3/10Social Life
Filter By
StreamCourse TagCourseBatch
SORT BY :
Relevance

Dental (8)

Most Popular Tags

Course (6)
Hostel (6)
Manipal (6)
Campus (5)
Entrance (5)
Research (5)
Curriculum (4)
Council (3)
Dental (3)
Experience (3)
Infrastructure (3)
Placement (3)
Practice (3)
Clinic (2)
Network (2)

9 Reviews found


VU
8.2 /10

Internships Opportunities :

Yes,ofcourse..they do provide a one year rigourous internship training which helps you enhance and re revise and improvise your clinical skills... It is a paid internship and back in my time,we were paid 15000 per month..Now it must be around 20000 per month...the training you get here is simply worth it!!

Remarks :

I can't find anything bad about the college...Plus in every situation you will have your own good and bad experiences..but rest assured,you will sail smoothly..everyone will be there to help you...manipal is ready to welcome you...you will have a good time here...its like living in a different world...a new family..

Loan/ Scholarship Provisions :

The Scholarship is provided to students who topped the entrance examination...moreover students who are localities do get scholarships.. When buying dental instruments, some shops provide discounts to students owing to the popularity of our college in the city...

Exam Structure :

Exams were divided into quarterly sessional exams and annual final exams..we had ample time to prepare for each of them..the exams included theory and practical or clinical exam..the assessment was fair and you would be given an opportunity to identify your weak points and improve on them.

Fee Structure And Facilities :

I would say that the fees right now is slightly more on the expensive side and since national banks do provide loans for college education,i suggest taking advantage of that..being a private university,the fees is more,but it is worth for what you are paying..but I will strongly suggest you to meet your national bank manager and talk to him or her about prospective loans...

Entrance Preview :

I had given the Manipal UG entrance examination initially to go into MBBS,but since my score was not ample for medical stream,I decided to opt for BDS and many of my relatives had told me the popularity of MCODS in India and the world and the large alumni network it supported..moreover manipal had its own share of fame...hence I decided to go for it..

College Events :

Once a year we used to have an interclass fest and an intercollege fest which happened almost immediately after each other...there are different items to take part in to suit your passions..each day of national or international importance was celebrated in the college...there will be happy and sad moments..and winning moments ofcourse...you will surely have memories worth treasuring once you leave the college...

Hostel Facilities :

There are different hostels located in different parts of the city,each suited for different needs...the facilities were above average based on my experience...the rooms are fine with good ventilation..all basic facilities are available round the clock..the mess food is homely enough..but if you come from abroad,the best will be to opt to stay in the NRI hostel which will help you adapt better..

Campus Life :

Once you join the college,you will find that there are more girl students compared to boys..you will find students from all racial backgrounds,different states,nationality and cultures...I promise you you will never get bored here on weekends...you get to take part in cultural meets and enjoy their feasts..the college is completely apolitical so no worries about that...and yes they do hold debates during college fests..you will have a good time here..

Alumni/Alumna :

Since you will be learning in a clinic environment, you will always be surrounded by seniors..they will be ready to help you out..for clinics or exam preparation..you can count on them. Our college has a very strong alumni network and organized yearly reunions for each batch..once you pass out, make sure you get connected.

Faculty :

The faculty of MCODS is one the best in the country..the fact that a majority of them had obtained training from abroad,they immensely are committed to impart quality dental education to the students...they are always available in the college hours and ever ready to give you valuable tips during your clinical training...by the end of your training period,they would have made sure that you would have become skilled enough to impart good quality treatment to your patient,independently..

Admission :

Initially I was invited for counselling in their main manipal university campus situated in manipal..when I reached the campus with my dad,I was overwhelmed looking at the campus..It was big,lush and green with students from different ethnic backgrounds studying under one roof...I was already excited..there were more than a 100 students in the counselling hall and I was not sure if I would even get a seat! But then by God's grace,my name was called and I already started looking at my future,being given the doctor tag...Iinitially I thought I was given admission in manipal campus,but I was informed that I would be placed in mangalore campus,just an hour away from the main campus..i was a little disappointed,but then made up my mind for it..mangalore was a totally different city for me..being used to living in a small and quiet town,i was taken by surprise..there was colour all around me..I met new friends,from different cities and even countries,it was an amazing experience..seldom did I know that these will be the people I would be spending the next five years in mangalore...the adventure started!!

Placement Experience :

The fact that you have the manipal tag on you once you pass out from this prestigious colleges has its own advantages..chances are,you may be invited to join as a trainee in dental clinics since you are a manipal alumni..I can assure you that you will never be ignored..even after undergraduation,you have good opportunities to get more training in private clinics..moreover,the college has started some post Graduate certificate courses which are aimed at students whose plan is to start their own private practice...so I am confident that your efforts will not go in vain..

Course Curriculum Overview :

The course we were taught was in line with the dental council of India prescribed norms..and our staff did their best,right from the first year to the last year..each year is targetted on specific section of dental medicine...the first year is totally dedicated to the basics of the human body,the second year is dedicated to pre clinical work wherein you would be trained to do basic dental treatments on models followed by third year where you would be apply whatever basics you learnt in second year in a real clinic environment supported by your staff..as final year approaches we do some more advanced treatment on patients..and ofcourse exams were to be given side by side..it will be an amazing experience..!! After you pass your final year exams,you get additional one year clinical training or house surgery program where you dedicate your entire one year in doing only clinical work..the college promotes research work immensely and the staff is always ready to guide you if you have any ideas..you will be given all due recognition ..

8 /10 faculty
9 /10 placement
9 /10 social life
8 /10 course
7 /10 hostel
8 /10 campus life
report
Read More

Comments


2 Comments
Sweezal Mendonca's profile photo
sweezal mendonca
I want to know after completing bds we should have our own clinical owht???
S
sanjay
I want to know how much marks we need to get admission in BDS there
S
shobhna chaturvedi

Hi Sanjay, kindly go through the Admission Procedure of the college from here.


- NO MORE COMMENTS -

Similar Colleges

College of Dental Sciences
REVIEWS RATING
8.3 /10

College of Dental Sciences

Davanagere, Karnataka
BDS 7.0 4.76 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
SDM College of Dental Sciences and Hospital - [SDMCDSH] Sattur
REVIEWS RATING
8.3 /10
BDS 8.3 4.69 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
I.T.S Dental College
REVIEWS RATING
8.4 /10

I.T.S Dental College

Ghaziabad, Uttar Pradesh
BDS 7.8 18.96 LTotal Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Coorg Institute of Dental Sciences - [CIDS]
REVIEWS RATING
7.5 /10
BDS 7.1 49.50 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Faculty of Dental Sciences, M. S. Ramaiah University of Applied Sciences
REVIEWS RATING
8.4 /10
BDS 6.31 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Bapuji Dental College and Hospital - [BDCH]
REVIEWS RATING
8 /10
BDS 7.5 95.81 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES

Nearby Colleges

A B Shetty Memorial Institute of Dental Sciences - [ABSMIDS]
REVIEWS RATING
8.6 /10
BDS 7.9 5.07 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Yenepoya Dental College - [YDC]
REVIEWS RATING
7.4 /10

Yenepoya Dental College - [YDC]

Mangalore, Karnataka
BDS 6.4 5.25 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Srinivas Institute of Dental Sciences - [SIDS]
REVIEWS RATING
7.3 /10
BDS 3.37 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
A.J. Institute of Dental Sciences
REVIEWS RATING
8.5 /10

A.J. Institute of Dental Sciences

Mangalore, Karnataka
BDS 6.78 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Manipal College of Dental Sciences - [MCODS]
REVIEWS RATING
8.7 /10
BDS 8.9 7 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
SDM College of Dental Sciences and Hospital - [SDMCDSH] Sattur
REVIEWS RATING
8.3 /10
BDS 8.3 4.69 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES

NewsView All

NEET Study notes for Reaction Mechanism, Important Formulas, and Sample Questions
March 09, 2021
NEET Study notes for Reaction Mechanism, Important Formulas, and Sample Questions

A reaction Mechanism is the sequence of some simple steps that lead to a chemical reaction. At times when more than two steps get involved the reaction gets complicated. The slowest steps out of all determine the final reaction. The last step is the slowest it does not make a huge difference but if

NEET Study Notes for Chemical Equilibrium, Previous Year Solved Sample Questions with Preparation Tips and Important Formulas
March 08, 2021
NEET Study Notes for Chemical Equilibrium, Previous Year Solved Sample Questions with Preparation Tips and Important Formulas

Chemical Equilibrium is one of the common terms when it about Chemistry. This chapter holds a significant weightage of almost 4-5% and different styles of questions are asked in NEET. Like direct questions on reactions or sometimes questions required to be solved using formulas. Also Check NEET Chem

NEET Study Notes for Organic Chemistry, Important Formulas and Previous Year Solved Sample Questions
March 08, 2021
NEET Study Notes for Organic Chemistry, Important Formulas and Previous Year Solved Sample Questions

NEET Chemistry syllabus is segmented into 3 parts including Organic, Inorganic, and Physical Chemistry. The chapters included in the exam are based on the question asked in class 11th and 12th. Check NEET Chemistry Syllabus Organic Chemistry holds a weightage of 4% and different kinds of question

NEET Study Notes for Kinematics, Preparation Tips with Previous Years Solved Sample Questions
March 06, 2021
NEET Study Notes for Kinematics, Preparation Tips with Previous Years Solved Sample Questions

Kinematics is the sector of mechanics that defines the motion of points, systems, or objects. The Kinematics in NEET is approximately 3 to 4% and students can also imagine direct questions from the section which makes it one of the best scoring topics. To very useful students in their preparation, w

NEET Study Notes for Basic concepts of Chemistry, Important Topics with Solved Sample Questions
March 06, 2021
NEET Study Notes for Basic concepts of Chemistry, Important Topics with Solved Sample Questions

NEET Chemistry syllabus has broadly classified into 3 categories – Physical, Organic, and Inorganic. This subject can be considered as the scoring out of the other subjects, which can help the candidates to achieve a standing position in the all India entrance exam. NEET Study Notes for Basic

NEET Study Notes for Coordination Compounds, Quick Notes with Important Formulas and Solved Sample Questions
March 05, 2021
NEET Study Notes for Coordination Compounds, Quick Notes with Important Formulas and Solved Sample Questions

NEET Study Notes for Coordination Compounds will help candidates to understand important topics like ligands and their formulas, Werner theory, etc. The weightage of this chapter is around 6.70% in the NEET examination that means candidates can expect around 3-4 questions from this chapter. Check NE

NEET Study Notes for Planar Motion, Definitions, Formulas, and Sample Questions
March 05, 2021
NEET Study Notes for Planar Motion, Definitions, Formulas, and Sample Questions

Physics is viewed as the toughest among the three subjects of NEET. However, a good position can be considered typically when a candidate scores over 140 marks in physics for which he/she needs to attempt around 40 questions with a high accuracy rate. To score well in this segment of NEET 2021, stud

NEET Study Notes for IUPAC and Isomerism with Definitions of Important Topics, Solved Sample Questions, and Preparation Tips
March 04, 2021
NEET Study Notes for IUPAC and Isomerism with Definitions of Important Topics, Solved Sample Questions, and Preparation Tips

IUPAC and Isomerism are the widely used terms when it comes to Chemistry and to be specific it is organic chemistry. Classification and IUPAC nomenclature of organic compounds, types of organic compounds are some of the important topics. The weightage of this section is around 4% in NEET examination

Parent College In This Group

interested in this College ?

Top Courses
BDS AVG FEE - ₹ 692,500/Yr
4 Years
MDS Conservative Dentistry & Endodontics AVG FEE - ₹ 1,753,333/Yr
3 Years
MDS Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery AVG FEE - ₹ 1,603,333/Yr
3 Years
Faculties
Dr. Almas Binnal Assistant Professor
Dr. Anupama Nayak P. Assistant Professor, Department of Paedodontics & Preventive Dentistry
Dr. Arathi Rao Professor and Head
Students also visited