University level Sports Tournaments plays an important role in any players career. The VIZZY Trophy is one such tournament which has produced famous international players in Cricketing History. A competition of high standards, the VIZZY was named after Sir Vijay Ananda Gajapathi Raju or commonly known as the ‘Maharaj Kumar of VIZIANAGARAM’. He was a great Indian player who lived from 1905-1965. He took over the office as BCCI President in 1954 and accomplished many over-ambitious feats for Cricket in Indian sub-continent.

Read about ITM University Gwalior

Thinking in terms of exposure, the VIZZY is just an Inter-University level tournament which allows teams from all the 4 zones of India to compete and produce players worth of International exposure. Top selectors from BCCI have regarded VIZZY as an Important milestone in a players career. They judge the players upon their talent and caliber. Then, they provide them with opportunities in State, National or International Team of India.


Famous players like Sunil Gavaskar, Ajit Wadekar, Sanjay Manjrekar, and Bishan Singh Bedi have all been a part of this prestigious tournament.

This year the seven-match VIZZY series featuring top players from North, South, East and West zones was held in ITM University, Gwalior. Four out of those seven matches were played at ITM University’s Cricket Ground. The last match was telecast live on “Hostar and Star Network”.


Five students from Madhya Pradesh took part in the tournament, out of which two brilliant players Ravi Sikarwar and Abhishek Bhandari were the students of Physical Education at ITM University. After the competition concluded, all the players and officials from BCCI were ecstatic with the hosting done by ITM University.