Anna University to conduct TANATA 2017 for B.Arch Admissions

    Simran Nigam Simran Nigam
    Content Curator

    Anna University will be conducting separate Tamil Nadu Aptitude Test in Architecture (TANATA) for the year 2017-18. The reason for this change is to fill in the vacant seats in the Private and Government Colleges in Tamil Nadu.

    TANATA 2017 will evaluate the aptitude of candidates in the field of Architecture. The test makes an assessment of drawing and observation skills, sense of proportion, aesthetic sensitivity, mathematics and critical thinking ability.  Through this exam, candidates will get admission to B. Arch program under Management Quota and Government Quota.

    Listed below are quick facts about TANATA 2017:

    • Anna University has scheduled the exam for August 12, 2017 (10.00 am to 1.00 pm)
    • It will be held across six cities in Tamil Nadu.
    • The last date to register for TANATA 2017 is July 31, 2017
    • The minimum eligibility is 10+2 with mathematics as a compulsory subject. Check TANATA Eligibility
    • TANATA Admit Card will be available for download from August 07, 2017 at

    TANATA Exam Dates

    Anna University has released official exam dates for the architecture exam. Tabulated below are all the important dates for the examination:

    Publication of TANATA brochure and guidelines 2. 3. 4. 5. 6.
    Commencement of registration through online24.07.2017
    Date of test12.08.2017
    Last date for registration through online31.07.2017
    Downloading of Hall Tickets from Anna University website07.08.2017
    Announcement of marks and valid score18.08.2017
    Downloading of mark sheets19.08.2017

    Why is Tamil Nadu conducting a separate test this year?

    • This test is conducted to fill the lapsed 1034 vacancies of undergraduate architecture seats across 49 affiliated colleges.
    • Only 2,009 candidates had taken NATA out of total 3,043 seats.

    Can last year candidates apply?

    • Yes, TANATA is open for all including last year candidates.
    • If any candidate from last year applies than scores of both the year will be calculated.
    • Out Of the 3,043 seats, 1892 seats are government seats and 2,049 seats are allotted to management quota.

    What is the segregation of colleges?

    • There are total 49 colleges for architecture.
    • Out of it, 41 colleges are private colleges and the rest are government colleges, which have both engineering and architecture.

    What is the allotment of preference?

    While filling the vacant seat it will be first given to NATA qualifiers, followed by JEE candidates followed by those who cleared TANATA.

    What is the Eligibility Criteria for TANATA?

    The eligibility requirements for the candidates appearing for TANATA 2017 are as follows.

    • Secured 50% marks in 10+2 or equivalent examination with Mathematics as one of the subjects; OR
    • 10+3 Diploma (any stream) recognized by Central/State Government with 50% aggregate marks with Mathematics; OR
    • International Baccalaureate Diploma passed after 10 years of Schooling with 50% marks in aggregate and with Mathematics as compulsory subject of examination

    How many  Examination Centres are there across Tamil Nadu?

    There are six exam centers in Tamil Nadu. The preference of allotment is based on the choice of candidates in the application form. Once the preference is submitted it cannot be altered. Following are the list of centers:

    S. NO.Name of the City

    What is the Registration Fees?

    Registration fees of TANATA are:

    • OBC, SC, ST (residing in Tamil Nadu) -  INR 1000
    • Others- INR 2000

    What is Mode of examination of TANATA?

    • TANATA will be conducted in offline mode only.
    • It will be held in two stages:
    1. Part A-

    It is an MCQ test in which a candidate will be given an OMR Sheet in which they need to mark correct answer in 90 minutes.

    1. Part B-

    In this section, a candidate will have to draw according to the instructions. The duration of this exam will be 90 minutes.

    How will the Marks Distributed?

    There are two phases in which exam is held. The total marks allotted to this exam is 200. The duration is 90 minutes each. Given below is a table which gives a clear insight of detailed distribution:

    SubjectsMarks of examQualifying score
    PART A
    Mathematics (MCQ )20 X 2 = 40 marks (OMR Based)30 marks out of 120
    General Aptitude (MCQ)40 X 2 = 80 marks (OMR Based)
    PART B
    Drawing Test2 X 40 = 80 marks(Drawing Based)20 marks out of 80

    What is the Basis of Qualifying Marks?

    Qualifying marks for TANATA 2017 are based on the following rules:

     1. Minimum 25% must be secured in MCQ portion (30 out of 120).

    2. At least 25% must be secured in drawing portion (20 out of 80).

     3. Overall qualifying marks (out of 200) will be based on post-exam statistics and at the discretion of Coordination Committee of TANATA 2017.



    No Comments To Show


    Related News & Articles

    April 16, 2020NATA 2020

    NATA Or JEE Main B.Arch Paper ..

    May 28, 2020NATA 2020

    NATA 2021 Admit Card