Kanpur University-affiliated Colleges of Four UP Districts to be Affiliated with Lucknow University

Arunasish Sen Arunasish Sen
Content Curator

Colleges in four districts of the state of Uttar Pradesh, including Lakhimpur, are set to be affiliated with Lucknow University instead of Kanpur University. The matter will be discussed among the Principals and professors of the concerned colleges with the Chief Minister’s consent.

The four districts whose colleges will be affiliated with Lucknow University are Lakhimpur, Sitapur, Hardoi and Rae Bareli. According to the Chief Minister, this is a move to make the universities self-sufficient.

Lucknow University

A committee is yet to be formed with the consent of the Governor, who is the ex-officio Chancellor of all the universities in the state. With the formation of the committee, the process of affiliating the colleges with Lucknow University will be initiated. This is likely to take a lot of time. 

Once the affiliation is complete, students from the concerned colleges will be able to get a certificate from Lucknow University instead of Kanpur University. Dr DN Malpani, the Principal of Yuvraj Dutt College, feels that it will be beneficial for students, as they will not have to go as far as Kanpur. 

Professor SK Dubey of the same college said that it would also increase the income of the university. Yuvraj Dutt College was originally affiliated with Agra University. It was then affiliated with Kanpur University in 1972. Now, it will be affiliated with Lucknow University.

Read More:Lucknow University Introduces One Degree One Course Rule