Odisha Governor Extends Tenure of Six Vice-Chancellors

Arunasish Sen Arunasish Sen
Content Curator
Odisha Governor Extends Tenure of Six Vice-Chancellors

The Governor of Odisha has issued a notification that the tenures of Vice-Chancellors of six state-run universities in the state have been extended for three months. This decision has been made with the current situation in India brought about by the pandemic.

The vice-chancellors whose tenures have been extended include Atanu Kumar, the VC of Gangadhar Meher University; Madhumita Das, the VC of Fakir Mohan University; Pradeep Kumar Chand, the VC of North Orissa University; Mohan Patnaik, the VC of Utkal University; Amrendra Narayan Misra, the VC of Khallikote University; and Padmaja Mishra, the VC of Rama Devi Women’s University.

The tenures of the vice-chancellors are due to end either in July or August.

According to reports, the order has been exercised on the power conferred on the Governor by Subsection 8 of Section 6 of the Odisha Universities Act 1989. Reports suggest that Ganeshi Lal, the Governor of Odisha and ex-officio Chancellor of the six universities, has stated that the tenure has been extended with a clause.

The clause the Vice-Chancellors will make no policy decisions, or recruitments for teaching and non-teaching posts, without prior approval.