MBA at a Third-Gen IIM

JA
8.8 /10

Remarks :

IIM Sambalpur stood out to me because it was close to my grandparents' home in Odisha. After doing my graduation in Mumbai and working for two years at a startup, I wanted to reorganize my career goals, so I decided to do an MBA. I applied for CAT, keeping IIM Sambalpur as my third or fourth preference, and actually scored in the 90 percentile. I got a call for interview from IIM Sambalpur, gave my personal interview after submitting an application, and was later informed that I had got in. I knew that the IIM brand value would stay with me no matter if I chose a first-gen IIM or a third-gen one, and I wanted to make use of that opportunity to connect with my distant family.

Course Curriculum Overview :

The first year began in June and ended in March next year, and in that time we learned all the basics of management. Then from April onwards we did summer internships, and by next June we began our second year by choosing electives in areas like Economics, Finance, IT, Operations Management, Human Resource Management, Marketing, and Strategy. The best part of the learning process was getting to brainstorm ideas for a case study or simulation with my peers and professors. The faculty made the discussions very interesting, often giving their personal inputs on certain situations, thereby giving us an insight into real-life applications.

Internships Opportunities :

There were 56 companies taking in students from our batch for summer internships. Mpst of them were hiring for positions in consulting and IT. I worked at OYO as a sales & marketing intern, for a stipend of INR 60,000. The median stipend was 50,000 but the highest stipend was, amazingly, 1,68,000!

Placement Experience :

100+ companies visited our campus for placements, including Aditya Birla Capital, Bajaj, Deloitte, EY and Vedanta. The average annual salary package offered was INR 10,87,000 and the highest was INR 18,92,000. I accepted a position in Tech Mahindra for a salary of INR 12,50,000 per year, and now I work in the marketing department there. Overall I think the placements at IIM Sambalpur are getting better and better each year, as more recruiters arrive with more lucrative offers.

Fee Structure And Facilities :

Paid in installments of nearly 195,000 per term, the total program fee came to be 13,03,000, including the mess deposit, which is actually a little cheaper than expected from an IIM. I did not have to pay extra for accommodation, utilities, library or Wi-Fi. I could also refund the caution deposit of 15,000 that I paid in the beginning.

Campus Life :

The campus has a very peaceful atmosphere, being located away from the city. But within the campus, we were always pulsing with activity, as we had to rush between classes and assignments, and manage club/committee work. I was a member of Sankalp, the social club, where we undertook many socially relevant activities targeting the underprivileged sections. I don't know who started the narrative that business students are cold-blooded, because that is not the case at all! We had a lot of fun doing sports and cultural activities too, and organizing events like Talkaholics.


8.8 out of 10
9.0/10Faculty
9.0/10Placement
9.0/10Course
9.0/10Campus Life
8.0/10College
9.0/10Hostel Life
8.0/10Interviews
9.0/10Internships

Similar Reviews View All

HK
9.6 /10

Placement Experience :

The placement scenario of the college is also decent. From the 5th trimester onwards students are eligible to sit for placements. Some big companies like Deloitte ICICI bank HDFC etc come to the college. The highest package is 16 lakhs and the average is around 7.5-8 lakhs. All the students get placed.

9 /10 placement
10 /10 college
10 /10 course
9 /10 hostel
10 /10 interview
9 /10 internship
10 /10 campus life
As
9.0 /10

Remarks :

The reason why I applied for the MBA program at IIM Sambalpur is its placement record and excellent education facilities. My college days went smoothly with the help of extra guidance from the teachers, and fun curriculum activities. At the end of the program, the college conducted a placement drive where many recruiters visited the campus ground to recruit students for various post vacancies.

Admission :

The admission process consists of shortlisting of candidates, which is done based on an interview round conducted by the exam authority. Students who secured minimum qualifying marks have appeared for the interview, and according to which they will be further selected for the admission process.

9 /10 faculty
9 /10 placement
9 /10 college
9 /10 course
9 /10 hostel
9 /10 interview
9 /10 internship
9 /10 campus life
M
9.2 /10

Remarks :

It is one of the best management schools in the country. It is relatively new, formed in 2015 by the government of India but has made great strides to stand with other IIM's of the country. The process to get into this college may be tough but the experience is worth it.

9 /10 faculty
10 /10 placement
9 /10 social life
9 /10 course
9 /10 hostel
9 /10 campus life
S
8.8 /10

Remarks :

Studying at IIM is every management hopefuls dream. I have lived that dream and I must say it was amazing. My 2 years at IIM Sambalpur were amazing and full of life long learnings. Some of the members of the faculty are still a mentor to me and the friendships that I made are still going strong.

9 /10 faculty
10 /10 placement
8 /10 social life
9 /10 course
8 /10 hostel
9 /10 campus life

Admission :

I am pursuing MBA from Dhaneswar Rath Institute of Engineering and Management Studies, Cuttack and I've to say that it is a really good institution imparting the best quality of education at a minimum fee.

Placement Experience :

It is very easy for a bright student to get placed at a very good company like Amazon, ICICI Bank, Intel etcetera as they visit the campus every year and take a good number of students with them who are bright and have a great personality.

8 /10 faculty
9 /10 placement
8 /10 social life
9 /10 course
8 /10 hostel
8 /10 campus life
R
8.3 /10

Remarks :

It was an amazing experience at khallikote University. This university taught me a lot whether it was educational knowledge or practical knowledge. The teachers, seniors and my batchmates were all really nice, cooperative and supportive. Thank you khallikote University for those two years of my MBA journey.

8 /10 faculty
9 /10 placement
9 /10 social life
8 /10 course
7 /10 hostel
9 /10 campus life
B
8.2 /10

Admission :

The confirmation procedure of our school is a straightforward and easy.No placement test is led for the understudies to get the affirmation. Just dependent on the consequences of my higher auxiliary test I got confirmation in B.A in History praises.

Placement Experience :

In our school, no organizations come here for arrangements and openings for work. It is an open learning college thus scouts do no seek enlistment for the most part. Yet, in the wake of finishing this course, one can secure appropriate positions.

9 /10 faculty
8 /10 placement
7 /10 social life
9 /10 course
8 /10 hostel
8 /10 campus life
V
7.5 /10

Admission :

To get admission in this course, a candidate has to passed 10+2 from a recognised board or equivalent. the candidate has to fill the offline or online form by submitting his important documents such as mark sheet, transfer certificate, character certificate and passport photos.

Placement Experience :

The university provides placement cell and training of students in soft skills to enhance employability. A lot of companies visit the company almost all the Mnc and its companies. this year we saw a lot of start-up companies coming to the campus. the placement process has not yet been completed due to the pandemic.

8 /10 faculty
7 /10 placement
7 /10 social life
7 /10 course
8 /10 hostel
8 /10 campus life
S
2.0 /10

Remarks :

There are only two big university in our city (bhubaneshwar) so have to choose one nothing special about this college. Infact it is bit outside the city and no facilities of grocery shops nearby. No malls or any good restaurants. Infact I thought to take admission in other university but they closed the admission dates so have to choose this college out of no options left.

Placement Experience :

Zomato, swiggy, wipro, infosys are few companies where they get job only for time being. There is also a partiality in getting the job. The favourites of teachers or any close relatives of them get the job easily with highest packages whereas other students with no special contact lacks getting any job

1 /10 faculty
4 /10 placement
1 /10 social life
ds
10.0 /10

Entrance Preview :

I took JEE entrance exam, I scored 1314 i choose this college because my friend's reference me.

Placement Experience :

Yes, placement is good approx 100% student were placed in good MNC companies and they gave good package.

10 /10 faculty
10 /10 placement
10 /10 social life
10 /10 course
10 /10 hostel
10 /10 campus life
WRITE A REVIEW

Students also visited

Indian Institute of Management - [IIM]
Indian Institute of Management - [IIM], KashipurMBA/PGDM, ₹7.83 L First Year Fees
8.5
Indian Institute of Management - [IIMU]
9.0
Indian Institute of Management - [IIM]
8.9
Indian Institute of Management - [IIM]
8.8
International Management Institute - [IMI]
9.0
Indian Institute of Management - [IIM]
Indian Institute of Management - [IIM], NagpurMBA/PGDM, ₹13.75 L Total Fees
9.0
Indian Institute of Management - [IIMR]
9.0
Indian Institute of Management - [IIM]
Indian Institute of Management - [IIM], RaipurMBA/PGDM, ₹7.28 L First Year Fees
8.9
Xavier Institute of Management - [XIMB]
Xavier Institute of Management - [XIMB], BhubaneswarMBA/PGDM, ₹10.80 L First Year Fees
8.1