The Institute of Vision

JS

Remarks :

Many of Second and Third generation IIM's admission process is done by Common Admission Process (CAP), whereas IIM Visakhapatnam conducts separate process for the admission. It evaluates candidates by using multiple parameters which includes academic performance in 10th, 12th, graduation and CAT Score along with relevant work experience to provide admission to the flagship PGP program. Based on all these parameters with a specific set of weightages to each category candidates are shortlisted for the interview. In 5 years of its inception, it gained a reputation to stand as one among the most successful third-generation IIM's. It also gives tough competition to second-generation IIMs with its small batch size (140 for the batch of PGP 2020-22). IIM V is established in the Executive Capital of Andhra Pradesh State with an advantage over many IIMs in terms of transportation to city, location and placements.

Course Curriculum Overview :

The curriculum at IIM V is designed to equip students with the required skillsets to be in line with the current world scenarios. It offers an International Immersion Program which helps students to understand international business by going to foreign counties. We have 3 terms per year in the flagship program that is a total of 6. In term 1&2 there are core courses that are mandatory for everyone to understand and enhance fundamental knowledge in Business Management. From term 3 onwards, that is in the first year itself students are given an opportunity to select suitable electives based on their interest which is unique as in all IIMs students can choose electives only from the second year (i.e, term 4). Most of the professors use a case study based approach (Harvard Business Cases) as their teaching methodology. Students are evaluated based on multiple parameters that include class participation, quizzes, assignments, projects, midterm and end-term exams.

Internships Opportunities :

We have an internship of duration 8 weeks after completion of the first year in the flagship program. The internship is an Academic requirement of the PGP flagship program. IM V is achieving 100% placements from the past 5 years. Our batch of PGP 2020-22, witnessed the highest stipend of Rs. 2 Lakhs, and an average stipend offered is Rs. 62, 264. That shows an increase of 20.4% in average stipend as compared to last year. This year more than 50 companies have come for recruitment and some of them are Bosch, Dalmia Bharat, ICICI Lombard, Lubrizol, MTR, Modern Foods, Outlook, TAFE, TATA AIG, V-Guard and Yes Bank etc in all major domains of BSFI, IT, Manufacturing, FMCG, EdTech, PSU, HR etc.

Placement Experience :

Despite the pandemic, IIM V could successfully achieve 100% placements for the 5th time (Current Batch PGP 2019-21). More than 100 companies have visited campus and 72 among them were new recruiters. Some of the prominent recruiters are Amazon, Amul, Anand Rathi, AU Bank, Byju's, Deloitte, Foxconn, Franklin Templeton, HCL, ICIC Lombard, KPMG, MUSigma, MTR, SBI GI, NCR Corporation, TATA AIA, TATA Power, TA Digital, Tech Mahindra, TVS Motors, Yes Bank etc. The offers were made from diverse sectors accounting for 39% from IT/ITES, 12%-BSFI, 11%-Manufacturing, 4%-Consulting, 4%-Edtech, 4%-FMCG etc. All the students are eligible to sit for placements from term 4 and we have the rolling type of placements where companies come for recruitment throughout the year.

Loan/ Scholarship Provisions :

IIM Visakhapatnam made education loan to be easily available for students by collaborating with banks like Union Bank of India, State Bank of India with low-interest rates and no collateral. It also provides financial assistants for economically backward students that is a tuition fee waiver of 25% to 100% depending on the condition. It also ensures to update students with different scholarships available across the nation. The fee Structure of IIM V is 13.65 Lakh (Tuition fee & Hostel fee)+ Mess Fess. Despite being pandemic and online education the institution fee increase annually.

Campus Life :

The classes are currently conducted at a temporary campus as the permanent campus is still under construction (expected to be finished by December 2021). The campus is equipped with all the necessary amenities and modern infrastructure. All classrooms are fully air-conditioned, canteens, gymnasium, medical facilities, library and many more. There are few important committees like Placement Committee, Students Affairs Council (SAC), Students Academic Council makes sure that students avail all requisite benefits from college. There are multiple clubs, committees & societies like Consulting Club, Marketing Club, Alumni Committee, Cultural Cluster, Sports etc. We have different fun-filled fests like Samaarabh (Cultural Fest of IIM V). Sports fest like Sangram which is an inter IIM sports competition (IIM Banglore, IIM Kozhikode, IIM Trichy and IIM Visakhapatnam). By participating in these events we develop social life and network. But due to pandemic many of these are conducted online.

Hostel Facilities :

One of the best thing about the IIM V hostel is its beach view. This is the only IIM in India to have a beach view hostel where the beach is visible to students from their hostel windows. The hostels are located from less than 300 m distance from the beach The hostels are provided with worked class amenities ranging from air-conditioned rooms, fully furnished hostel rooms that include beds, mattress, study table, wardrobe, chairs etc. There was also a common area with a sofa set, TV and refrigerator to chat with friends and pass the time. IIM V has given a contract to a 4-star hotel for food and it tastes absolutely delicious. Due to the pandemic although only half of our batch got the opportunity to stay at the hostel the experience was amazing.

Interview Experience :

After the first shortlist from CAT Score and previous Academic performance an interview will the conducted. The interview basically touches upon our work experience and generic questions related to current affairs. It also revolves around how you take up the interview and they test upon basic skills and knowledge. The final shortlist for admission will be released based on the cumulative sum of interview performance, academic scores & CAT score.


8.9 out of 10
8.0/10Placement
9.0/10Course
9.0/10Campus Life
9.0/10College
10.0/10Hostel Life
9.0/10Interviews
8.0/10Internships

Similar Reviews View All

A
9.9 /10

Remarks :

Studying at IIM Vishakhapatnam has its own advantages and disadvantages. The institute is excellent in terms of talented and versatile faculty, world-class management education, collaborations, partnerships, global exposure, experiential learning experience, etc. Admission process at IIM Vishakhapatnam is based on the CAT Scores, followed by group discussions and personal interviews. Final selection will be done on the basis of their performance in the work experience, academic records, resume etc.

Placement Experience :

The placement cell of the IIM Visakhapatnam trains and moulds the students to be industry ready and future-ready. Even, the institute made around 16 PPOs and around 100 students took in the placement drive who received 108 lucrative offers. The highest CTC was recorded at INR 27 LPA. Maximum number of students were employed by Amazon, Deloitte, USI, PwC, McKinsey, HDFC Bank, Infosys, JP Morgan, HSBC, IBM, etc.

9 /10 faculty
10 /10 placement
10 /10 college
10 /10 course
10 /10 hostel
10 /10 interview
10 /10 internship
10 /10 campus life

Remarks :

IIM Visakhapatnam is one of the newer IIMs. It was established in the year 2015 and is mentored by none other than IIM Bangalore. After getting rejected from the older IIMs and failing to convert the other new IIMs, I decided to go for IIM V. At the end of it all, I do not think I made a wrong choice at all.The admission process involves multiple stages, where one has to first appear for CAT and then wait for shortlisting by the college they apply to (IIM V in my case). This is followed by a WAT/PI round and finally, the acceptance, provided one's profile triumphs out on all aforementioned factors.

Admission :

Shortlisting is done on the basis of CAT score, performance in academics, work experience and overall relevance of the profile. There are multiple admission rounds with the PI being held after the conclusion of WAT (in the second round). The listening, speaking, writing and critical thinking skills of the candidates are tested here, with the interviewers being the institute professors and alumni themselves.Final admission offer is for those who have performed the best across categories. The scores are added in order to prepare the final merit list. It was a gruelling and strenuous process, with the grilling nature of the interview. However, I was glad to come out on top at the end.

10 /10 faculty
9 /10 placement
9 /10 college
10 /10 course
9 /10 hostel
10 /10 interview
10 /10 internship
9 /10 campus life
RP
9.1 /10

Remarks :

IFMR is recognized by The Ministry of Science & Technology, Government of India as a Scientific & Industrial Research Organization and this is the reason I chose it. IFMR was placed 53rd by NIRF in its 2020 MBA program rankings. The Institute is affiliated to Krea University and also holds approval by AICTE. For admissions to MBA program at IFMR the entrance score and interview round performance of the candidates are checked.

Admission :

The CAT/XAT/CMAT/GRE/GMAT exam score and previous academic records of the applied candidates was referred to by the institute to shortlist them for the interview round. In the PI round the panel of judges examines different aspects regarding the candidate and their overall performance in all the rounds finalised the admissions.

9 /10 faculty
9 /10 placement
9 /10 college
9 /10 course
10 /10 hostel
9 /10 interview
9 /10 internship
9 /10 campus life
MS
9.0 /10

Remarks :

The reason for choosing IFMR for my MBA was its recognition by Ministry of Science & Technology, as a Scientific & Industrial Research Organization. The institute was at 53rd position in 2020 MBA rankings of NIRF. IFMR has approval by AICTE and it is affiliated to Krea University. MBA is the most opted program of the institute are admissions to the program are done on the basis of entrance score and interview performance

Admission :

The CAT/XAT/CMAT/GRE/GMAT exam score of the students was the factor on which the applied candidates were shortlisted by the institute. Those candidates were then called for the interview round during which questioning was done. The performance which is done by the student in all these rounds finalised the admissions.

9 /10 faculty
9 /10 placement
9 /10 college
9 /10 course
9 /10 hostel
9 /10 interview
9 /10 internship
9 /10 campus life
KA
8.9 /10

Remarks :

Institute for Financial Management and Research (Graduate Business School) is located in Sri City, which is situated in Chittoor, Andhra Pradesh. It is one of the oldest management schools of the region and has built a niche for itself among various students like me. While still in my undergraduate course, I had decided that I wanted to be here, in order to learn the skills that mattered. The MBA started off in 2016, which was a welcome change for me.Owing to the relatively lenient eligibility criteria and hassle-free admission process, I was in a state of ease at my workplace too. Thus, the choice, while letting go of similar courses at other universities and B-Schools in the vicinity. All you need is a valid score in CAT/XAT/NMAT/CMAT/GMAT/GRE, which exceeds their cutoff, with a robust profile.

Admission :

For those meeting the eligibility criteria and having decent profiles, a WAT/PI test is organized. We were to report at a specific time, after which we would have a small writing ability test followed by a personal interview. These gauged our speaking, listening, writing and critical thinking skills.My experience was great, since the interviewer turned out to be from the same undergrad institute as I. He grilled me with questions initially but made it a point to laud me after we were done.

9 /10 faculty
9 /10 placement
9 /10 college
9 /10 course
8 /10 hostel
9 /10 interview
9 /10 internship
9 /10 campus life
U
10.0 /10

Remarks :

100% placements of IIM Visakhapatnam students are being registered for the past 4 years.Qualifying CAT examination is an important step for applying in PGP of IIM Visakhapatnam.To judge the suitability of candidates, some other parameters viz. gender diversity, academic performance and work experience are also given weightage.

Placement Experience :

Top 50% students of PGP batch of 2018-2020 received an average CTC of INR 15.38 LPA. Overall Average CTC- 13.08 LPA Highest CTC - 27 LPA Major recruiters of the institute:Franklin Templeton, The Quarry, UltraTech, Raam Group, Giant View, Wipro, MuSigma, Crompton, Kantar, Conneqt and Click Labs, among others.

10 /10 faculty
10 /10 placement
10 /10 college
10 /10 course
10 /10 hostel
10 /10 interview
10 /10 internship
10 /10 campus life
P
9.0 /10

Remarks :

IIM Vishakhapattanam gives the customised MBA program for experienced professionals for the first time in the country. The MBA program is digital Governance and Management is sponsored by Ministry of Electronics and IT of India. IIMV uses different parameters for admission such as - pre academic score , Entrance Exam and PI.

Placement Experience :

IIM Vishakhapattanam is quite good at Placement. The highest CTC is 22LPA and average CTC is 12.61 LPA. The 2017-2019 session witnessed participation from the high growth Sectors like marketing, research, hospitality etc. Some of the top recruiters are - Amazon, HDFC Bank, KPMG, Wipro,TVS Motors etc.

9 /10 faculty
9 /10 placement
9 /10 college
9 /10 course
9 /10 hostel
9 /10 interview
9 /10 internship
9 /10 campus life
S
10.0 /10

Remarks :

It?Ûªs a best college in AP, well disciplined and have ethical values. Faculty was very supportive and encourage in all aspects. We can get everything here to grow in career. Best college and best faculty.

Admission :

About E-commerce, role plays on situations.

10 /10 faculty
10 /10 placement
10 /10 college
10 /10 course
10 /10 hostel
10 /10 campus life
RS
7.5 /10

Remarks :

the college is one of the best colleges in ralayaseema region and is a well known college for its fests, faculty and the placements. there were education loans available for the students of vidyanikethan but, i didnt choose for that. as i got my seat through the entrance exam there was a fee reiumbersement for me from the government of Andhra pradesh and i have to pay the half of the college fee and the other half is paid by the goverment, this is the previlage for the students who opted for colleges based on their entrance exam scores.

Placement Experience :

The college has a moderate placement cell managing the placement opportunities for the students. There will be different formats of placement for different departments. MBA department will have to travel to the interview venue and to attend it based on their aptitude test of the regarding company.

8 /10 faculty
8 /10 placement
8 /10 college
7 /10 course
5 /10 hostel
9 /10 campus life
R
9.0 /10

Remarks :

There is any negative remark about our college. The positive remark is "The university which helps students to achieve their goals with good faculty and good infrastructure and also a good environment surrounded with lots of trees."

10 /10 faculty
8 /10 placement
10 /10 social life
9 /10 course
9 /10 hostel
8 /10 campus life
WRITE A REVIEW

Students also visited