IIM Calcutta Review

AR
8.1 /10

Remarks :

IIM Calcutta is one of the best Business schools in India. The education standard is the reason why IIM Calcutta one of the best Institutes. Students hold the key position in the administration and the campus is run by students. Being a part of the student council gives students leadership skills and enhance them as a team player.

Course Curriculum Overview :

The course curriculum of the MBA Program at IIM Calcutta helps the students to understand management theory through insights into real life examples of industry and organizations. The curriculum consists of surprise/announced quizzes, individual and group assignments, case studies and end term examinations. Summer Internship is compulsory after the completion of the first year.

Internships Opportunities :

The summer internship experience at IIM Calcutta is very good. Internship is a compulsory part of curriculum for the MBA students after completing the first year. IT, Consulting, Manufacturing and e-commerce were the major sectors that recruited students for the summer internship process.

Placement Experience :

The highest salary package offered in the final placement process of IIM Calcutta is INR 80 LPA and the average salary package offered is INR 27.8 LPA. A total of 498 offers were provided for 444 students. Some of the top recruiters are Uber, McKinsey & Co. Paytm, Samsung, JP Morgan Chase, Flipkart, Johnson & Johnson, Amazon, Adani, Barclays, KPMG, Citi, Loreal, Hinduja, Google, Mondelez International, ITC, MasterCard and Capgemini.

Fee Structure And Facilities :

IIM Calcutta has increased its yearly fees by 5% which made the fee more expensive. The total fee for the 2 year MBA program at IIM Calcutta is INR 21,00,000. This fee only covers the academic cost and does not include the hostel fee, membership fee, library fee, internet, travel and other expenses. The Institute also provides financial assistance to the SC and ST category students.

Campus Life :

IIM Calcutta hosts two festivals namely Intaglio and Carpe dium. Intaglio is the business festival and Leaders from different fields share their experiences through discussions arranged by the institute. Carpe dium is the annual cultural festival held in January/February every year. It consists of various events such as Dramatics, literary arts, game events, comedy shows, fashion shows, dance, music, concerts, etc.

Hostel Facilities :

IIM Calcutta provides hostel accommodation to the students. The hostel fees are not included in the total academic fee and students should pay it separately before the commencement of each term. Students will be provided individual rooms. The mess food is delicious and prepared in a hygienic manner.

Admission :

I appeared for the CAT 2017 examination and secured 92.24 percentile in it. The examination was conducted during October - November 2017 and the results were declared in the month January 2018. On the basis of the CAT score, candidates were shortlisted for the personal interview round. The final selection is based on the CAT score, performance in Personal Interview, score in Class 10, 12 and graduation examinations and previous work experience.


8.1 out of 10
8.0/10Faculty
9.0/10Placement
8.0/10Course
8.0/10Campus Life
8.0/10College
8.0/10Hostel Life
8.0/10Interviews
8.0/10Internships

Similar Reviews View All

AY
9.7 /10

Placement Experience :

Placement scenarios in this college are pretty much decent. Attracting both core and non core companies gives a very fair placement percentage. The students can start applying for internships for the 3rd year itself. And the number of offers matches the number of internships. The number of companies visiting the campus is above 100. And the offers made are about 500. The highest package is given by Microsoft 39 lpa while the lowest is offered by Cognizant Solutions 4 LPA. The percentage of students getting place pre covid scenario crossed 60 but had reduced during the covid era. My plans after getting the degree are to take up a job and earn.

9 /10 placement
10 /10 college
10 /10 course
10 /10 hostel
9 /10 internship
10 /10 campus life
AS
8.8 /10

Placement Experience :

Campus placements happen in the last year that is 4 year. There are many companies visits like Tanishq and many more. Usually, the very big company are there. Package offer from 15-45 lakhs and more. 90% placements. After my degree, I would work under some company and would start up my own brand.

9 /10 placement
8 /10 college
9 /10 course
9 /10 internship
9 /10 campus life
DR
7.6 /10

Remarks :

The University should improve there infrastructure. By the way I choose this because is one of the best university in india, you have appear in entrance exam for admission.I chose this college because in west bengal it is the best college for those who want be a physical education.Except this the sangit bhaban and kala bhaban in this University is world famous. Lots of foreign students are studying here, only because of the University culture and education system of the University.

Placement Experience :

Yes. very much good placement.After completing bped, mped we can easily get a TGT or PGT teacher job.70% students gets placement easily.You can go nsnis coachig and easily go for coaching life.

9 /10 faculty
9 /10 placement
9 /10 college
7 /10 course
9 /10 hostel
7 /10 interview
1 /10 internship
10 /10 campus life
SM
7.2 /10

Placement Experience :

I have not graduated yet, so i do not know about the placement opportunities in great detail. However the placement cell does offer occasional internships in the middle of the course.

5 /10 placement
7 /10 college
6 /10 course
9 /10 interview
8 /10 internship
8 /10 campus life
J
10.0 /10

Remarks :

First of all to be precise, it is an University seeded by the Great Poet Gurudev Rabindranath Tagore. It was the best place near my hometown offering the subjects I wanted to persue. What I liked the most is the campus, the buildings, the environment any every other considering factor. I really enjoy the lifestyle and the exposure of being a student of this University. And also the Education codt and fee structure is very nominal.

Placement Experience :

There are alot of future scopes and placements offered. My department does not provides placement sessions for students.

10 /10 faculty
10 /10 placement
10 /10 social life
MA
8.8 /10

Remarks :

Teachers are excellent, office management were really helpful, in simple words, the College Life was Amazing.

Admission :

Simply went for the admission, had talks with the authoriy there paid the fees and I was registered as a student. By the time of June the admission took place and admission sum amount for my course was approx 50k in "Rs". I choose this college cause my brother has studied in the same, as well as my uncle, my school teacher's son too.

10 /10 faculty
8 /10 placement
10 /10 social life
10 /10 course
6 /10 hostel
9 /10 campus life
Ss
8.7 /10

Admission :

I had selected based in merit list and there are so many deferent courses that you can choose as your criteria not only that its a only college you can select your future education.

9 /10 faculty
8 /10 placement
9 /10 social life
9 /10 course
8 /10 hostel
9 /10 campus life
A
8.0 /10

Admission :

After completing my higher secondary examination with quite decent percentage, I took admission in this college. My admission was through an entrance exam, conducted by the college. My name was on the first shortlist itself.

Placement Experience :

We did not receive any placement offers from our college. But, our professors had arranged many workshops and seminars and also some training programs which really helped us to understand the opportunities that we had in our domain.

9 /10 faculty
7 /10 placement
8 /10 social life
SR
8.8 /10

Remarks :

A good place to build up carrer.

10 /10 faculty
8 /10 placement
9 /10 social life
9 /10 course
8 /10 hostel
9 /10 campus life
PS
10.0 /10

Remarks :

It is a good decision to join this college. every one is good people and helper seniors are so helpful and teachers also and good environment. Bad thing is My college doesn't have swimming and stationery.

10 /10 faculty
10 /10 placement
10 /10 social life
10 /10 course
10 /10 hostel
10 /10 campus life
WRITE A REVIEW

Students also visited

Vinod Gupta School of Management - [VGSoM]
8.8
Institute of Management Study - [IMS]
Institute of Management Study - [IMS], KolkataBBA/BBM, ₹91 K First Year Fees
7.2
Institute of Engineering and Management - [IEM]
7.5
Indian Institute of Management - [IIMK]
Indian Institute of Management - [IIMK], KozhikodeMBA/PGDM, ₹9.50 L First Year Fees
8.9
Indian Institute of Management - [IIM]
Indian Institute of Management - [IIM], IndoreM.Phil/Ph.D in Management, ₹9.80 L Total Fees
8.9
XLRI - Xavier School of Management - [XLRI]
9.0