Assam Agricultural University - [AAU] Rankings

×

Assam Agricultural University - [AAU], Jorhat

Assam Agricultural University - [AAU], Jorhat

Jorhat, Assam UGC Estd 1969 State University

Content Curator

Assam Agricultural University - [AAU] Recent Admission Alerts and Updates

Assam Agricultural University was set up in the year 1969, in Jorhat, Assam. It is a UGC approved university which offers undergraduates and postgraduate courses in streams like Agriculture, Veterinary science, Community science and Fisheries science, Horticulture and Sericulture. AAU also offers research level courses. Admissions to all courses are merit based except B.Sc Veterinary Science for which admissions are based on entrance exam known as AAU VET, conducted by the university itself.

Assam Agricultural University Highlights 

Established | Institute Type1969 | State
Approved byUGC
Entrance ExamAAU VET
Courses OfferedUG, PG and Doctoral level
Popular CoursesB.Sc Agriculture, MBA Agri Business
Application ModeOnline
Admission CriteriaEntrance and Merit based
Facilities AvailableLibrary, ARIS Cell, Training & Placement Cell, Medical Unit, Digital Classrooms, Hostels
Official WebsiteAssam Agricultural University

Assam Agricultural University Courses 

CourseSpecializationsDurationEligibilitySelection Criteria
B.Sc. HonsAgriculture4 years12th with 50% aggregate marksMerit in qualifying exam
Community Science
Food Nutrition & Dietetics
Horticulture
Fisheries Science
Sericulture
B.V.Sc & A.H.Veterinary Science5 ½ yearsVET
M.ScAgriculture2 yearsGraduation in relevant disciplineMerit in qualifying exam
Food Technology
Agricultural Biotechnology
Home Science
MBAAgricultural Business2 years
Ph.DAgriculture3 yearsPost graduate or equivalent degree
Veterinary Science
Home Science
Fisheries Science
M.V.ScVeterinary Science2 yearsBachelors in Veterinary science
M.F.Sc.Fisheries Science2 yearsBachelors in relevant field

Read More: AAU Courses & Fees

Assam Agricultural University Admissions

To get admissions to B.V.Sc & A.H. Veterinary Science course, candidates are required to appear for AAU VET entrance exam. Also, candidates belonging to General Category should have obtained 50% in English, Physics Chemistry and Biology for admissions to this course. However, there is a relaxation of 5% for reserved category students. 

How to apply?

Candidates who meet the above said criteria can apply for admission. 

  1. Candidates can register and apply online for any degree program at Assam Agricultural University at their official site. 
  2. The three steps to submit an application form are Registration, Payment and Submission of application.
  3. Register in the portal by filling in the required data. 
  4. For paying the fee, log in to the portal using the Registration ID, Username and Password. 
  5. After completing the payment upload the required photos and fill in the academic information.
  6. Submit the form and take a print out of the confirmation sheet.
  7. If the candidate is selected then the next process would be online counseling according to the schedule drafted in the AAU website. After the selection commission goes through a candidate’s application, the results will be intimated.

Read More: AAU Admissions

Cut-off:

The cut off for Assam Agricultural University is based on factors like difficulty of the question paper, the number of candidates who have qualified and number of vacancies. Below mentioned is the latest cutoff of first online counselling for different categories.

CourseCategory
OMSCSTEWS
Bachelor82.67%70.67%-67%
Master66%56%56%66%
Doctoral70%70%70%70%

Read More: AAU Cutoff

AAU Results

AAU releases its results on official website only. After results, merit lists and counselling details are also released on official university website only.

How to check AAU Results?

  1. Visit the official website of AAU and you will find a “notice” section in the homepage.
  2. Click on the link in the notice section which will take you to the results page.
  3. Enter your login credentials. 
  4. A new results window will appear. Results are released in PDF format which can be downloaded as required.

Assam Agricultural University Placements

The placements of the students is taken care of by the Training and Placement cell of the Assam Agricultural University. The cell caters to the needs of the student’s career development. Various training programs like Communication Skills, Personality Development, Leadership skills are organized by them. They also provide Campus interviews and placement in government as well as non government organizations. Students can find a career in fields like Research and Development, Banking areas related to Agriculture, Business, Fishery Science, Veterinary Science and Home Science.

Read More: AAU Placements

Assam Agricultural University Scholarships

Assam Agricultural University provides students the opportunity of availing below mentioned scholarships:

  • State Merit Scholarship: Students from each department, belonging to the State of Assam are eligible for this scholarship. A GPA of 7.5 and above is required for the ones pursuing masters and a GPA of 8.00 and above for Ph.D scholars.
  • INSPIRE Fellowship: Department of Science and Technology of the Government of India offers this fellowship to the Ph.D scholars upto INR 2,57,600. Any student with the highest CGPA is eligible for the scholarship.
  • Rajiv Gandhi National Scholarship: This is offered by UGC for post graduate students from Scheduled Caste and Scheduled Tribe upto INR 3,00,000.
  • Bayer Fellowship: The fellowship is initiated by the Bayer crop science Ltd. for the Masters and Phd students and is offered upto INR 1,20,000.
  • DBT Fellowship: It is offered by the Department of Biotechnology of Government of India.
  • ICAR JRF, ICAR SRF: The Indian Council of Agricultural Research offers SRF and JRF for PG students upto INR 3,30,690.

Read More: AAU Scholarships

Assam Agricultural University Facilities

Keeping in mind the comfort and leisure needs of the students and faculty, the university is equipped with various educational and recreational infrastructure and facilities.

  • The university has an air conditioned group discussion room, interview room, office room, waiting hall for facilitating a good experience during campus interview.
  • Library with extensive resources and a developing center for e-learning and e-books.
  • In- campus hostel facilities for girls and boys.
  • Well equipped computer labs and other required laboratories.
  • Various facilities for sports, music, drama and other extra-curricular activities are provided to improve the culture, literary and social activities.
  • Well maintained, spacious playgrounds, fully equipped indoor stadium, swimming pool and gymnasium are provided.
  • Good provision of medical care and health services has been developed by the university.
  • To offer a helping hand for the students who are economically underdeveloped, the university has introduced a financial aid scheme.

Read More: AAU Facilities

Assam Agricultural University Faculty

Assam Agricultural College employs some of the best faculties whose expertise of the subject helps drive the students experience in learning. With the Board of Management as the administrative authority, the management body functions with the Vice Chancellor monitoring the everyday activities of the university. The Faculties of all the departments of the university work under the monitoring of the Deans and Associate Deans. The various departments of the university are handled by HODs, Professors and Associate Professors holding degrees from reputed institutions.

Read More:  AAU Faculty

Assam Agricultural College FAQs

Ques. Where to find the merit lists for the degree program applied at Assam Agricultural University?

Ans. The merit list for any program you have applied to will be displayed in the official website of AAU. Go to the portal using the link and select the required courses from the list and view the merit list.

Ques. Will there be entrance exams for admission in UG for Assam Agricultural University? What documents should be uploaded while submitting the admission form for AAU?

Ans. There is an all India entrance test for getting admission into different agricultural universities of India conducted by ICAR. But if you are a candidate from assam itself than you have an option of getting admission on the basis of your 10+2 PCB marks. Preferences are given on the basis of ranking on the entrance.Passport photograph, scanned signature copy, high school mark sheets, age proof certificate, Permanent Residence/ Nativity certificate, Medical Fitness Certificate, Caste certificate for Indian candidates.

Ques. What is the eligibility to take admission in B.Sc agriculture in Assam Agricultural University? What are the subjects required for its qualification?

Ans. The basic eligibility criteria for admissions to B.Sc agriculture is 50% in 12th examinations for general category candidates. Also, for candidates belonging to SC/ ST or other reserved categories, minimum aggregate marks required are 45% to be eligible for this course. The subjects required are Physics, Chemistry, Biology/ Mathematics.

Ques. Which companies recruit students from Assam Agricultural University?

Ans. Various companies like Nestle, Amul, Levis, Fabric Plus, fertilizer companies, Monsanto, Bayer’s Crop Science etc. to name a few recruit students from the university through placement.

Assam Agricultural University - [AAU], Jorhat Fees & Eligibility

CourseFeesEligibility
B.Sc₹13,230 (1st Year Fees)10+2
B.V.Sc₹13,230 (1st Year Fees)10+2 with 50% + AAU VET
M.Sc₹19,670 (1st Year Fees)Graduation
B.Sc {Hons.}₹13,230 (1st Year Fees)10+2
M.F.Sc₹20,210 (1st Year Fees)Graduation
B.F.Sc₹13,230 (1st Year Fees)10+2
M.F.Sc₹19,670 (1st Year Fees)Graduation
Select Degree : B.Sc B.V.Sc M.Sc B.Sc {Hons.} M.F.Sc B.F.Sc Ph.D M.V.Sc MBA + 3 More
Select Stream : Agriculture Science Veterinary Sciences Design Management

Assam Agricultural University - [AAU] Top Courses, Fees & Eligibility

  • All
  • Honours

2 Years Degree On Campus Post Graduation Full Time Check Detailed Fees
Admission Guide 2020 Download Brochure

College rating

based on 16 students ratings

8.1/10

8.3/10academic
7.8/10accommodation
8.3/10faculty
8.3/10infrastructure
7.6/10placements
8.1/10social

college Info reviews view all

FILTER BY
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL

    16 Reviews found

    P
    Priyanki BorahBsc in Community Science
    Batch : 2024
    9.0
    STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS
    Admission -
    9 /10

    College courses, teaching faculty, college environment,The natural beauty, its infrustructure, scope of this course,merit scholarship, college staff, hostel facility, friendly manner of the staff, teaching procedure

    9/10faculty
    9/10placement
    9/10social life
    S
    StudentBSc (Hons.) Agriculture
    Batch : 2023
    6.7
    STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS
    Admission -
    6.7 /10

    Factors that made me choose this college are course offered, connectivity and transport, closeness to my house, proper facilities such as smart class, hostels and because it is a technical education institute.

    8/10faculty
    6/10placement
    6/10social life
    S
    StudentBSc (Hons.) Agriculture
    Batch : 2020
    7.0
    STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS
    Admission -
    7 /10

    I chose this college because based on my marks, I could get a seat here for the course of my choice. Seats in this college as well as university are very limited and competition is high as well. So once alloted, I took admission without a second thought.

    8/10faculty
    7/10placement
    6/10social life
    S
    StudentBSc. (Hons.) Agriculture
    Batch : 2023
    7.3
    STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS
    Admission -
    7.3 /10

    This is one of the 3 colleges under Assam Agricultural University that offers BSc (Hons) Agriculture. The course offered as well as closeness to my hometown made me choose this college. Also, I was in contact with an alumni of this college which helped me gain confidence over my choice.

    9/10faculty
    6/10placement
    7/10social life
    S
    StudentB.Sc(Hons) Agriculture
    Batch : 2022
    6.3
    STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS
    Admission -
    6.3 /10

    Since the time I found myself loving biology more than any other subject, I was quite sure to pursue my career either in Botany or Zoology. After a lot of research and attending career counseling, I finalized to opt for Agriculture. The most fascinating thing about this course is, it sets out nobel professions. Agriculture is the backbone of India. Farming is the major occupation of her father. So after completion of Agriculture counseling in AAU, I was admitted in SCS College of Agriculture,Dhubri. The college is situated miles and miles apart from my home town. To be more specific, both the districts are poles apart. It was a tough decision whether to go and study that far or not. But I pr...

    5/10faculty
    7/10placement
    7/10social life
    S
    StudentBSc Horticulture
    Batch : 2023
    9.7
    STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS
    Admission -
    9.7 /10

    It has wide scope. and Horticulture is a new field in NE india. so it has many opportunities. AAU is also one of the best educational institution of India. it's campus is so big, which attracted me a lot. since studying in a beautiful campus is everyone's dream that's why I choose Assam Agricultural University, Jorhat.

    9/10faculty
    10/10placement
    10/10social life
    S
    StudentLibrary and information science
    9.3
    STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS
    Admission -
    9.3 /10

    Assam Women's University happens to the first women's University of Assam the most prestigious one also because the distance from my hometown to Jorhat city it was convinent and mainly because of the fees structure it was very reasonable.

    10/10faculty
    9/10placement
    9/10social life
    S
    Sugandha KashyapBachelor's in Fishery SciencePursued
    BATCH : 2021
    9.3
    STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

    My Review

    Admission -
    9.3 /10

    Our college is a mix of both academics and creative learning and it has a very good practical view about the course which is the most essential element of study.

    9/10faculty
    10/10placement
    9/10social life
    9/10course
    9/10hostel
    10/10campus life
    S
    Sanjay HazarikaB.Sc (hons) AgriculturePursued
    BATCH : 2020
    9.2
    STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

    Assam Agricultural University

    Admission -
    9.2 /10

    No, there isn't any bad remark that can be provide against the college. One will be very much fruitful in the campus.

    9/10faculty
    8/10placement
    10/10social life
    10/10course
    9/10hostel
    9/10campus life
    S
    StudentBSc. Agriculture
    Batch : 2024
    6.7
    STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS
    Admission -
    6.7 /10

    It is one of the best Agricultural University in North - East India. And it was ranked one if the best Agricultural University in India in the past years. There are a lot of well known and experienced teachers and the practicals held are good.

    7/10faculty
    6/10placement
    7/10social life
    7/10course
    6/10hostel
    7/10campus life

    Load More reviews

    facilities

    Comp Labs
    Sports
    Library
    Auditorium
    Cafeteria
    Medical
    Laboratory
    E-Classroom
    Classrooms
    Gym

    reservation

    50%Gen
    27%OBC
    15%sc
    8%st

    placements View All

    GALLERY IMAGES view all

    Borbheta
    Jorhat - 785013
    Assam , India

    2.05KmJorhat Airport airport

    0376-2340052

    9435090305

    Comments

    Comments


    11 Comments
    q
    qb

    Hello sir can I get admission in msc agriculture after bsc botany?

    15 Nov, 2020 16:36
    A
    Admin

    Hi Greetings, you must be a graduate in agriculture in order to get admission in msc agriculture. For more details visit: AAU ADMISSIONS

    15 Nov, 2020 19:03
    R
    Rakesh Kumar

    Hlw sir I want to study bsc ag in this college Please give me information about its fees and how to enter it

    28 May, 2020 17:15
    S
    Shobhna Chaturvedi

    Hi Rakesh, annual fees of this course is INR 13,230 (approx). You can check the Admission Procedure in detail from here.

    28 May, 2020 17:50
    d
    dushmanta neog

    Hlw sir i passed my hs exam frm ahsec board in 2017 with 59% but i passed in physics through grace marks ... thn am i elegible for vet in 2020 ...plzz reply

    05 Nov, 2019 12:17
    S
    Shobhna Chaturvedi

    Hi Dushmanta, yes, you can apply for VET.

    05 Nov, 2019 12:24
    S
    Sumitra Sau

    Sir can i get admission in this college in bsc agriculture in this year i have 86.4 persentage.

    27 Sep, 2019 15:26
    S
    Shobhna Chaturvedi

    Hi Sumitra, May 21, 2019 (tentatively) was the last date to apply for admission in this course. Thus, you cannot apply for admission in this session.

    27 Sep, 2019 18:01
    A
    Anushree Roy

    As per the merit list for UG courses in Assam Agriculture University my rank is 607. Is there any chance that I might get admission in agricultural b.sc?

    02 Jul, 2019 16:52
    S
    Shobhna Chaturvedi

    Hi Anushree, considering your rank in the entrance, you have fair chances of getting admission in the university. However, admission to B.Sc Agriculture does not require any entrance score as it is done on merit basis.

    02 Jul, 2019 17:07
    A
    Anushree Roy

    I know that it is done on merit basis and my pcb aggregate is 80.6. I am really worried if I will get an admission or not

    02 Jul, 2019 17:36
    S
    Shobhna Chaturvedi

    Considering your score in intermediate, you have fair chances of getting admission in the university.

    02 Jul, 2019 17:42
    A
    Anushree Roy

    I have 80.6 % aggregate in PCB is there any chance that I will get admission in AAU for B.sc in agriculture?

    12 Jun, 2019 12:19
    S
    Shobhna Chaturvedi

    HI Anushree, last date to apply for admission in AAU was in last week of May, 2019. Thus, you cannot apply for admission in this session.

    12 Jun, 2019 13:14
    A
    Ankit pandey

    Sir mere mp pat entrance me 93/200 hai kya mujhe koi Govt. College mil sakta hai

    29 Jun, 2018 17:24
    R
    Ritika Sharma

    Hi Ankit, Its totally depend on the merit list which college you will get according to your rank.

    30 Jul, 2018 18:48
    m
    maine kalita

    Placement faacilities i want to know... Plz help

    19 Jun, 2018 18:21
    R
    Ritika Sharma

    Hi Maine, You may contact 0376-2340052 to get placement details.

    03 Aug, 2018 13:01
    MOBILE FRAME
    Keisham Nanz

    Respected Sir/Madam I am an undergraduate student studying Biotechnology and I have applied in your University through Online Portal (application no: 1816963) for Msc Food Technology which I would like to change it to Msc Agricultural Biotechnology. The reason why I am requesting this change is because I want to pursue my postgraduation in Agricultural Biotechnology which I unknowingly registered myself for Food Technology. As there is no option to edit it and make the correction, I humbly request you to grant me one more chance for the correction. Your cooperation in this regard will be highly appreciated. Thanking You.

    14 Jun, 2018 13:17
    A
    Akansha Expert

    Hi Keisham,Please visit the official website to get in touch with faculty member i.e. http://www.aau.ac.in/ that will help you to change you Course.

    14 Jun, 2018 15:51
    u
    umesh bonthagorla

    dear sir/madam, i want to kow about the detailes of the colleges

    22 Feb, 2017 17:03
    n
    Admin

    Hello Umesh, to check the details of this college, please visit the given link http://collegedunia.com/university/25390-assam-agricultural-university-aau-jorhat/courses-fees

    30 Mar, 2017 15:03

    Show More comments

    Similar Colleges

    Kaziranga University - [KU], Jorhat logo
    follow
    REVIEWS RATING7.3 / 10
    Gogamukh College, Dhemaji logo
    follow
    REVIEWS RATING9.1 / 10

    Gogamukh College

    Dhemaji, Assam
    Central Agricultural University - [CAU], Imphal logo
    follow
    REVIEWS RATING7.5 / 10
    Jagannath Barooah College, Jorhat logo
    follow
    REVIEWS RATING8.3 / 10
    apply now Download Brochure
    INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
    Ask a Question

    Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

    top courses

    B.Sc (Hons.) AgricultureAVG FEE - ₹10,253/Yr
    4 Years
    B.Sc Agricultural BiotechnologyAVG FEE - ₹10,253/Yr
    4 Years
    M.Sc Food TechnologyAVG FEE - ₹17,475/Yr
    2 Years
    view more courses[119]

    Placements

    faculties

    Dr. Mahendra ModiHead and Professor
    Dr. S. SinghHead and Professor
    Dr. Robin C. BoroHead and Professor
    view all faculties[8]

    reviews

    STUDENTS ALSO VISITED

    B. Borooah College, Guwahati logo

    B. Borooah College, Guwahati

    BA , ₹ 5.84 K FIRST YEAR FEES
    7.5
    Jorhat Medical College - [JMC], Jorhat logo

    Jorhat Medical College - [JMC], Jorhat

    MBBS , ₹ 17.5 K FIRST YEAR FEES
    8.1
    Assam University, Silchar logo

    Assam University, Silchar

    MA , ₹ 12.2 K FIRST YEAR FEES
    7.5
    Dibrugarh University, Dibrugarh logo

    Dibrugarh University, Dibrugarh

    MA , ₹ 12.38 K FIRST YEAR FEES
    7.7
    Cotton University, Guwahati logo

    Cotton University, Guwahati

    BA , ₹ 4.45 K FIRST YEAR FEES
    7.5
    Tezpur University - [TU], Tezpur logo

    Tezpur University - [TU], Tezpur

    BE/B.Tech , ₹ 58.19 K FIRST YEAR FEES
    8.0
    Assam Medical College, Dibrugarh logo

    Assam Medical College, Dibrugarh

    Diploma in Medical , ₹ 25 K FIRST YEAR FEES
    8.6
    Assam Down Town University - [ADTU], Guwahati logo

    Assam Down Town University - [ADTU], Guwahati

    B.Sc , ₹ 1 L FIRST YEAR FEES
    8.2
    ×