Indian Institute of Technology - [IIT], Bhubaneswar - Reviews

Bhubaneswar, Orissa AICTE Estd 2008 Autonomous University 394 Questions Answered Ranked 56 For Overall By NIRF 2020 +15 more

College Rating

Based on 23 Students RatingClaim this college

7.7 out of 10
8.1/10Academic
7.7/10Accommodation
7.9/10Faculty
7.5/10Infrastructure
7.8/10Placement
7.2/10Social Life
Filter By
StreamCourse TagCourseBatch
SORT BY :
Relevance

Engineering (19)
Management (1)
Science (1)

Most Popular Tags

Placement (14)
Faculty (13)
Scholarship (13)
Admission (12)
Scholar (12)
Semester (12)
Campus (11)
Jee Advance (11)
Bhubaneswar (10)
Course Curriculum (10)
Hostel (8)
Engineering (6)
Income (6)
Tution Fee (5)
Lakh Candidate (1)

23 Reviews found


H
6.0 /10

Remarks

Teaching has to improve.2nd phase construction underway. Infrastructure is decent and will get better after the construction.Many things have to improve and will get better.I have mentioned most things in the above questions already.

5 /10 faculty
7 /10 placement
4 /10 social life
6 /10 course
7 /10 hostel
7 /10 campus life
report
Read More
TK
7.8 /10

Remarks

The rules are quiet strict. Try not to break those. Like there is an in-time for main gate of the College and in-time for the hostels as well. Sports facilities are not that good but work is in progress for new grounds and badminton courts.

7 /10 faculty
8 /10 placement
9 /10 social life
8 /10 course
7 /10 hostel
8 /10 campus life
report
Read More
RK
7.8 /10

Remarks

I love my college and each moment i spend there. I want to rejoin my college as a research scolar. I say and feel proud to say that I am student of IIT Bhubaneswar. I got a good platform in the path of creating my future.

9 /10 faculty
7 /10 placement
8 /10 social life
9 /10 course
8 /10 hostel
6 /10 campus life
report
Read More
SP
6.0 /10

Remarks

Students life is not much good here. Academics are ok but students face extreme rules and fines for trash reasons. And you wouldn't be able to argue with them. Here we have no good ground till August 2019, broken glasses in many infrastructures due to fani cyclone (still not repared).

8 /10 faculty
7 /10 placement
2 /10 social life
7 /10 course
6 /10 hostel
6 /10 campus life
report
Read More
VK
7.8 /10

Remarks

Campus is quite big and most if the time climate is pessimistic in nature that will tire you during day time, Transportation between different departments is a different choice as it way to hot and sunny almost every time in the year.

9 /10 faculty
6 /10 placement
9 /10 social life
8 /10 course
8 /10 hostel
7 /10 campus life
report
Read More

AS
9.0 /10

Remarks

College management is on of the finest and they do every help in every case they care about the academics more than our parents and they love there students they are strict and kind hearted ones but stern in there official matters they provide better inf

8 /10 faculty
9 /10 placement
10 /10 social life
9 /10 course
10 /10 hostel
8 /10 campus life
report
Read More

MR
8.8 /10

Remarks

Iit bbs one of the top iit of India and is also recognised in the world. It gives every student a better perspective for future. Every student dreams of studying here. The college has a very big campus with almost every facility available. Admission is through the jossa counselling.

Admission

JEE ADVANCE SCORE - 1500 RANK

9 /10 faculty
9 /10 placement
8 /10 social life
9 /10 course
9 /10 hostel
9 /10 campus life
report
Read More
SR
8.7 /10

Remarks

I want to be IITian. And as by my rank best college I was getting is this college. As it is second biggest iit campus. World class institute with best faculty. For admission I have prepared for its entrance exam which is toughest exam at 12th level. Then I qualified jee mains nice rank. But for admission I have to qualify jee advanced. I qualified it and got rank to get admission in this college. I was getting some nits like Calicut computer science and iiit Allahabad information technology. But I choose this because it is an IIT. My dream to become IITian true here only. IIT Bhubaneswar is very beautiful and green campus. It's placement is very nice as it is an IIT. Apart from academic it also give us chance to prove us in sports and social activities. Fest of campus are biggest fest of East India after IIT Kharagpur. Overall enjoying this college life.

Admission

Only 2 written test. First round jee mains.and second round jee advanced. I prepared 2 years for it. For admission I have prepared for its entrance exam which is toughest exam at 12th level. Then I qualified jee mains with nice rank. But for admission I have to qualify jee advanced. I qualified it and got rank to get admission in this college.

9 /10 faculty
9 /10 placement
8 /10 social life
9 /10 course
9 /10 hostel
8 /10 internship
9 /10 campus life
report
Read More
S
8.6 /10

Remarks

IIT Bhubaneswar is close to my home, so I had a preference for it. The admission to IIT depends on the rank obtained in the JEE Advanced exam. So, Based on my rank in the JEE Advanced exam there will be 7 counseling rounds for the college selection. So, based on the opening and closing rank of a college or course of a college the web options are filled. By the End of the 7 rounds, the college is allocated. So, after paying the fee the student comes to college, and verification of documents is done.

Admission

No, admission to IIT depends on the rank obtained in the JEE Advanced exam. Initially, the JEE Mains exam is conducted, and whoever clears it will be allowed to write the JEE Advanced exam. So, based on the rank in the JEE Advanced exam there will be 7 counseling rounds for the final college allocation. So, based on the opening and closing rank of a college or course of a college the web options are filled by the students. By the End of the 7 rounds, the college is allocated. So, after paying the fee the student comes to college, and verification of documents is done.

8 /10 faculty
8 /10 placement
8 /10 social life
9 /10 course
10 /10 hostel
9 /10 internship
8 /10 campus life
report
Read More

PS
9.0 /10

Remarks

The reason for choosing is that I have heard about it much from my friends and my teachers that this college is nice for B.Tech. And also extract information from the google about it's placement which was matching my collegues review. Also it is closer to my hometown.

Placement Experience

9/10

Since I have not faced the pacement but on talking with our seniors I found that the placement it is well pretty good On taking about the facts 89 different companies have visited till yet and highest package gone is 39LPA

9 /10 faculty
9 /10 placement
9 /10 social life
report
Read More

Indian Institute of Technology - [IIT], Bhubaneswar : 394 answered questions

VIEW ALL

Ques. How are the placements at IIT Bhubaneswar for the EC branch?

● Top Answer By Ankita Sarkar on 29 Jan 21

Ans. The first batch of the ECE branch of IIT Bhubaneswar was supposed to get passed out in the academic year 2020. IIT Bhubaneswar has offered Electrical Engineering since its inception. But earlier this branch was a combination of traditional Electrical and Electronics Engineering (EEE) and Electronics and Communication Engineering (ECE). fROM 2016, these two batches have been divided. For the placement section, many-core companies, PSU’s and software companies are the recruiters of IIT Bhubaneswar. Placements: In the first batch of ECE placements around 10% went for the core companies like Marwell Electronics and Qualcomm.  Many were placed in the software companies including Amazon, Microsoft HSBC, Mathworks, Oyo, Razorpay, and many more.  It can be said that the first batch has done pretty well. If you are willing to change the domain to a software company you should definitely opt for IIT Bhubaneswar but for the core companies, any old IIT would be a better choice.Read more
0
0
1 Answer
●●●

Ques. What is the placement scenario for an M.Tech in mechanical design in IIT Bhubaneswar?

● Top Answer By Pratyasha on 29 Jan 21

Ans. IIT Bhubaneswar offers decent placements to the MTech Mechanical students. IIT Bhubaneswar has also witnessed increasing placements in the coming years.  Placements: The institute offers decent placement for postgraduate courses. The overall statistics for MTech placement decreases a little due to the fewer placement opportunities in the Civil Engineering branch. However, MTech Mechanical Engineering has decent placement records.  M.Tech placement for a mechanical design according to the 2020 statistics is around 80%.  Around 53% of students have been placed in the core companies like Tata Steel, L&T, etc. In IIT Bhubaneswar, the mechanical department is one of the strong domains of all the branches. With the best faculty for labs and machinery, IIT Bhubaneswar has all the perks for its mechanical department. Therefore, if you are getting a mechanical branch in IIT Bhubaneswar, he/she should not worry as the college, its academics, and placements all are very good.Read more
0
0
1 Answer
●●●

Ques. What will be the scope after doing an M.Tech in climate science and technology at IIT Bhubaneswar?

● Top Answer By Arushi Anand on 29 Jan 21

Ans. There is no job scope after doing an M.Tech in climate science and technology at IIT Bhubaneswar. This branch is not for the ones who want to have a job and a secure guaranteed amount of money in their hands after the end of the month. MTech Climate Science and Technology:  Until and unless you opt for the Ph.D., this branch does not have many career prospects. The teachers at IIT Bhubaneswar are good and experienced. But they try to pursued students to do their Ph.D. under their guidance after the completion of the course. If you want to remain only in the research work or academics you can surely opt for this branch. From the placement perspective, this branch has only 10% placements which are minimal. Also, for acquiring these jobs you should have very high knowledge of programming because getting a placement in IIT without any programming knowledge is not possible. Moreover, in the next coming years, the branch would probably shut down and this is the reason you should not consider this branch.  This was the scope related to M.Tech in climate science and technology in IIT Bhubaneswar.Read more
0
0
1 Answer
●●●

Ques. Is NIT Warangal better than IIT Bhubaneswar?

● Top Answer By Deepika Kunwar on 29 Jan 21

Ans. One of my friends is pursuing his Electrical Engineering from IIT Bhubaneswar. He had the cutoff required for CS at NIT Warangal but chose IIT Bhubaneswar instead. Although IIT Bhubaneswar is a still developing institute than NIT Warangal but still let’s look upon some points to contrast between these colleges. Academics: In terms of infrastructure and laboratories, IIT Bhubaneswar does have many labs for all the students under graduation, post-graduation, and Ph.D. The labs are well-equipped to carry out the course works.  At the undergraduate level, you do not need to do fundamental research works. You will work under the professors researching in various fields.  So, even though IIT Bhubaneswar is a new institute, it can certainly offer the required amenities. Student Crowd: For the quality of students to be compared, IIT Bhubaneswar has students between 1000 and 6000 JEE Advanced rank holders which are definitely better than the group of students in NIT Warangal. Faculty: IIT Bhubaneswar has less experienced faculty but they have immense knowledge. If approached, they clear all the doubts and help in all the academic-related works. Placements: IIT Bhubaneswar has witnessed increasing placements in recent years.  Currently, NIT Warangal is ahead for the placement section due to the vast alumni base.  But you should not choose an institute purely based on placement statistics. A good placement record does not guarantee you will get a good job offer too. Also, placements depend a lot on how you perform during the placement process. Extra-Curricular Activities: IIT Bhubaneswar does have activities and fests and cultural events but these events in NIT Warangal have fests that are much bigger and recognized than IIT Bhubaneswar.  In the Inter-IIT meets and competitions, IIT Bhubaneswar secured ranks under the top 6 institutes among all 23 institutes participating in the meet. Sports: There are upcoming events planned for the sports in the coming years in IIT Bhubaneswar but there are no such great facilities now as compared to NIT Warangal. For postgraduate courses, i.e. Masters or PhDs NIT Warangal is a great option. However, undergraduate students do not benefit much from the research happening and other accomplishments of old reputed institutes like NIT Warangal. So, for an undergraduate degree, IIT Bhubaneswar is better than NIT Warangal.Read more
0
0
1 Answer
●●●

Ques. Is M.Tech in CSE from IIT Bhubaneswar good?

● Top Answer By Kanu Priya on 19 Jan 21

Ans. M.Tech in CSE from any IIT across India has seen the maximum package offered to its students from all departments in campus placement. Details listed below state an overview of M.Tech CSE from IIT Bhubaneswar. Average Salary Offered ?15.8 Lakh GATE Cut-off score 625 (Round 1) Eligibility 60% marks or 6.5 CGPA in B.E./ B.Tech in CSE/IT No. of Seats 20 Mentioned below are some statistics regarding the past placement records: In 2017-2018, CSE has seen a 52% placement, 62% in 2018-2019, and straight to 97% in 2019-2020, which is a huge increment. Batches of 2018 and 2019 have had complaints regarding placement and marked them as an average graded result.  The 2020 batch has seen a tremendous increase in both the count and the average CTC offered. The overall average in IIT Bhubaneswar is 15.8 lakhs in the last year, the average of CSE being even higher than that.   The current M.Tech in the CSE batch got exclusive opportunities in the R&D departments in companies. They got a decent package and a satisfying job at the same time. Overall, IIT Bhubaneswar, though being a newer IIT and comes in priorities after IISc, ISI, older IITs, DTU, NSUT, etc. is still a decent option for M.Tech in CSE to get enough opportunities in reputed MNCs and grab a handsome salary package at the same time.Read more
0
0
1 Answer
●●●

Comments



NO COMMENTS TO SHOW

Similar Colleges

Indian Institute of Technology - [IIT]
REVIEWS RATING
7.8 /10
BE/B.Tech 8.7 2.14 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
International Institute of Information Technology - [IIIT]
REVIEWS RATING
7.7 /10
BE/B.Tech 5.2 1.99 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
National Institute of Technology - [NIT]
REVIEWS RATING
8.3 /10
BE/B.Tech 9.0 2.25 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
College of Engineering and Technology - [CET]
REVIEWS RATING
7.7 /10
BE/B.Tech 4.9 65.80 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
C. V. Raman Global University
REVIEWS RATING
7.6 /10

C. V. Raman Global University

Bhubaneswar, Orissa
BE/B.Tech 6.5 1.19 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Indian Institute of Technology - [IIT]
REVIEWS RATING
8.2 /10
BE/B.Tech 7.3 70.43 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES

Nearby Colleges

Institute of Technical Education and Research - [ITER]
REVIEWS RATING
8.1 /10
BE/B.Tech 7.8 2.35 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Kalinga Institute of Industrial Technology - [KIIT]
REVIEWS RATING
8.6 /10
BE/B.Tech 7.3 4.29 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
C. V. Raman Global University
REVIEWS RATING
7.6 /10

C. V. Raman Global University

Bhubaneswar, Orissa
BE/B.Tech 6.5 1.19 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
International Institute of Information Technology - [IIIT]
REVIEWS RATING
7.7 /10
BE/B.Tech 5.2 1.99 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Silicon Institute of Technology - [SIT]
REVIEWS RATING
7.7 /10
BE/B.Tech 5.0 97 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
College of Engineering - [COEB]
REVIEWS RATING
6.6 /10

College of Engineering - [COEB]

Bhubaneswar, Orissa
BE/B.Tech 5.0 2.92 LTotal Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES

NewsView All

GATE 2021 Environmental Science and Engineering (ES) Paper Analysis (Available), Question Paper and Answer Key
February 08, 2021
GATE 2021 Environmental Science and Engineering (ES) Paper Analysis (Available), Question Paper and Answer Key

GATE 2021 Environmental Science & Engineering (ES) paper is one of the two newly introduced papers in GATE 2021. The paper was successfully conducted in the afternoon session on February 7, 2021. According to the initial students’ reaction, the overall difficulty level of the paper was eas

GATE 2021 Biomedical Engineering (BM) Paper Analysis, Question Paper and Answer Key
February 05, 2021
GATE 2021 Biomedical Engineering (BM) Paper Analysis, Question Paper and Answer Key

GATE 2021 Biomedical Engineering (BM) paper is scheduled to be conducted on February 6, 2021. The paper will be held in the afternoon session from 15:00- 18:00 hrs.GATE 2021 Biomedical Engineering Paper Analysis will be updated here soon after the conclusion of the exam based on the initial student

GATE 2021: Last-minute Preparation Tips
February 01, 2021
GATE 2021: Last-minute Preparation Tips

GATE 2021 is just a week away and is scheduled to be conducted on Feb 6, 7, 13 & 14, 2021 in two sessions- Forenoon and Afternoon. Within these few days, students should practice, analyze and revise the course thoroughly without feeling stressed. Getting at least a minimum of six-hour sleep and

GATE 2021 Exam Day Guidelines and Important Instructions
January 28, 2021
GATE 2021 Exam Day Guidelines and Important Instructions

GATE 2021 is scheduled to be conducted on February 6, 7, 13 and 14 in two sessions- Forenoon (9:30- 12:30 hrs) and Afternoon (15:00- 18:00 hrs). IIT Bombay has released the exam day guidelines for smooth conduct of GATE 2021 and for the safety of students, staff involved in conducting the exam and t

JEE Main 2021: 75% Criteria Dropped for NIT, IIITs Admission 2021; Announces Education Minister
January 20, 2021
JEE Main 2021: 75% Criteria Dropped for NIT, IIITs Admission 2021; Announces Education Minister

The Ministry of Education on Tuesday declared that relaxation would be provided in admission criteria for NITs and centrally funded technical institutions like IIITs by eliminating the requirement of 75 per cent marks in Class 12 board examinations. Union Education Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal &lsqu

GATE 2021 Exam Day Process, Guidelines for Candidates Released; Check Details Here
January 18, 2021
GATE 2021 Exam Day Process, Guidelines for Candidates Released; Check Details Here

IIT Bombay has released the exam day guidelines of GATE 2021 which is scheduled to be conducted in the month of February 2021. An informatory video has been released listing the guidelines which should be followed on the GATE 2021 exam days. During the day of the exam, candidates will be requi

IIT JAM 2021: Admit Card Released Today (Jan 11) @joaps.iisc.ac.in; Check Here to Download
January 11, 2021
IIT JAM 2021: Admit Card Released Today (Jan 11) @joaps.iisc.ac.in; Check Here to Download

IIT JAM 2021 admit card has been released today (Jan 11) on its official website – joaps.iisc.ac.in. The exam will be conducted on February 14 in two sessions - Session I (from 9.30 am to 12.30 pm) and Session II (3.00 pm to 6.00 pm). Candidates can visit the official website and

JEE Advanced 2021: 75% in Class 12th Exam Not Mandatory for IIT Admission 2021, Check Details Here
January 08, 2021
JEE Advanced 2021: 75% in Class 12th Exam Not Mandatory for IIT Admission 2021, Check Details Here

Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs) have decided to eliminate the 12th board performance criterion for admissions due to the ongoing COVID-19 Pandemic & the education scenario in the country. The official confirmation has been released by IITs regarding the removal of criterion.  Unio

interested in this College ?

Top Courses

B.Tech Computer Science and Engineering AVG FEE - ₹ 197,768/Yr
4 Years
Master of Science Physics AVG FEE - ₹ 56,814/Yr
2 Years
4 Years

Placements

company
company
company
company
company
company

Faculties

Dr. Shantanu Pal Assistant Professor, Department of Basic Sciences
Dr. Abhijit Datta Banik Assistant Professor, Department of Basic Sciences
Dr. Akhilesh Kumar Singh Assistant Professor, Department of Basic Sciences

Reviews

8.8 /10 Student Satisfactory Rating

""

Iit bbs one of the top iit of India and is also recognised in the world. It gives every student a better perspective for future. Every student dreams of studying here. The college has a very big campus with almost every facility available. Admission is through the jossa counselling.

by MANAS RANJAN
8.7 /10 Student Satisfactory Rating

"My dream became true here"

I want to be IITian. And as by my rank best college I was getting is this college. As it is second biggest iit campus. World class institute with best faculty. For admission I have prepared for its entrance exam which is toughest exam at 12th level. Then I qualified jee mains nice rank. But for admission I have to qualify jee advanced. I qualified it and got rank to get admission in this college. I was getting some nits like Calicut computer science and iiit Allahabad information technology. But I choose this because it is an IIT. My dream to become IITian true here only. IIT Bhubaneswar is very beautiful and green campus. It's placement is very nice as it is an IIT. Apart from academic it

by Sambhav Raj
8.6 /10 Student Satisfactory Rating

"Feedback on IIT Bhubaneswar"

IIT Bhubaneswar is close to my home, so I had a preference for it. The admission to IIT depends on the rank obtained in the JEE Advanced exam. So, Based on my rank in the JEE Advanced exam there will be 7 counseling rounds for the college selection. So, based on the opening and closing rank of a college or course of a college the web options are filled. By the End of the 7 rounds, the college is allocated. So, after paying the fee the student comes to college, and verification of documents is done.

by Student

Students also visited

Indian Institute of Technology - [IIT]
Indian Institute of Technology - [IIT], RoparBE/B.Tech, ₹2.20 L First Year Fees
8.5
Indira Gandhi Institute of Technology- [IGIT]
7.9
Veer Surendra Sai University of Technology - [VSSUT]
7.8
Indian Institute of Technology - [IIT]
Indian Institute of Technology - [IIT], KharagpurBE/B.Tech, ₹82.07 K First Year Fees
8.5
Indian Institute of Technology - [IIT]
Indian Institute of Technology - [IIT], GuwahatiBE/B.Tech, ₹2.19 L First Year Fees
8.5
Indian Institute of Technology - [IIT]
Indian Institute of Technology - [IIT], DhanbadBE/B.Tech, ₹2.27 L First Year Fees
8.0
Silicon Institute of Technology - [SIT]
7.7