I.K. Gujral Punjab Technical University - [IKG-PTU], Jalandhar

I.K. Gujral Punjab Technical University - [IKG-PTU], Jalandhar

Jalandhar, Punjab UGC Estd 1997 State University
+ 12more

about college

Pratyasha Pratyasha
Content Curator

I.K.Gujral Punjab Technical University (IKGPTU) is a state technical university that was established in 1997. It was formerly known as Punjab Technical University. The university has 148 AICTE and 85 UGC institutes affiliated with it. It has ranked at 96th position in the overall ranking of NIRF 2019. It offers undergraduate and postgraduate programs in different streams in regular as well as distance education mode. Admission to these courses is done on the basis of national level examination namely JEE Main, GATE and GPAT.

PTU Results
IK Gujral University follows the academic curriculum which is divided into two semesters i.e. Odd and Even semester. The results of the term-end examination are declared in the month of January (Odd Semester) and in the month of June (Even Semester). The University releases the result of regular and distance education program (DEP) on its web-portal separately. The notification regarding the declaration of the result is published on the university’s website. Know more PTU Results

PTU Highlights

Official Websitehttps://www.ptu.ac.in
Type of ProgramsUG and PG
Entrance ExamJEE Main, GATE, GPAT
Application Mode Online

PTU Courses

PTU offers a variety of courses at undergraduate and postgraduate levels. Mentioned below are the details for the same: 

CoursesSpecializationEligibility Criteria
B.Tech.Civil EngineeringIntermediate Graduate (OR) Three-year of Diploma with Mathematics  (OR) IB Diploma with 50% marks in aggregate
Computer Science and Engineering
Electrical Engineering
Electronics & Communication Engineering
Mechanical Engineering
B.Arch.-
B.Tech.(Lateral)Electronics & Communication EngineeringThree-year Diploma Course in Mechanical/Marine/Electrical/Electrical and Electronics with a minimum of 45% of aggregate marks.
Computer Science and Engineering
Mechanical Engineering
Civil Engineering
Electrical Engineering
B.Pharm.-Diploma in Pharmacy (OR) 10+2 examination with Physics & Chemistry as compulsory subject with 45% marks
B.Pharm.(Lateral)-Passed three-year Diploma Courses in Pharmacy from any University 
M.Sc.ChemistryBachelor’s Degree in a relevant discipline with not less than 50% marks.
Mathematics
Physics
Food Science and Technology
M.Tech.Computer Science and EngineeringB.E./B.Tech Degree in relevant discipline with not less than 50% marks.
Power System Engineering
Manufacturing Engineering
Wireless Communication Technology
M.Arch.-B.Arch. Degree with not less than 50% marks.
M.A.Journalism and Mass CommunicationBachelor’s Degree with not less than 50% marks.
MBAFinanceGraduation/bachelor’s degree obtained through the 10+2+3 system with a minimum aggregate of 50% 
Human Resource Management
Information Technology
Marketing
Operation Management
MCA-
MCA (Lateral)-Bachelor’s Degree of minimum three-year duration in BCA, B.Sc.(IT/Computer Science) with Mathematics as a course at 10+2 level with a minimum aggregate of 50% 

Also, Check PTU Fees Structure


PTU Admissions

The University provides admission on the basis of a valid score of national level entrance examinations. Merit list will be prepared on the basis of marks secured by candidates in the entrance test. Admissions to all the courses are carried out strictly on the merit of entrance test basis either through Centralized Counselling Procedure or through the Institute level.

Reservations

Following are the reserved categories as per the University norms:

  • 70% of seats are meant for rural area candidates.
  • 1% seat is reserved for Tsunami affected persons
  • 1 seat is reserved for Kashmiri Migrants
  • 2 seats are reserved for supernumerary seats for Kashmir Migrants

International Students Admission

The University also provides admission to NRI/ PIO/ Foreign Nationals on the basis of merit scored in the last qualifying exam. Interested candidates can contact the International Students Facilitation Cell of the University or the Principal of the concerned college. 

Check here PTU Admissions


PTU Scholarships

The University offers a number of schemes for meritorious and SC/ST students under various categories. It also offers various freeships schemes for needy and deserving students. Following are the details for the same:

  • Post Metric Scholarship Scheme for SC/ST/OBC candidates
  • The university also offers free ship scheme for students who come from economically weaker sections (EWS).
  • It also offers various scholarship schemes like GATE Scholarship, JRF & SRF Scholarships, UGC/Net Schemes & Scholarships, Research Grants, Research and Development projects.
  • Guru Harkrishan Educational society scholarship scheme.
  • Maulana Azad National Scholarship Scheme for Meritorious Girl Students belonging to Minorities.

PTU Awards and Ranking

  • University has been awarded as the “Best University Promoting High-Quality Research at Master’s and Doctoral Thesis Work” category in the CCI Technology Education Excellence Awards 2013.
  • eINDlA 2010 Award of the Year as “ICT Enabled University of the Year” and “Open and Distance Learning Initiative of the Year Award” by the Ministry of Information and Communication Technology, Govt. of India.
  • Best Technical University Award for the year 2013 by the Indian Society for Technical Education (ISTE).

PTU Facilities

  • State-of-the-art laboratories and air-conditioned classrooms.
  • State-of-art sports facilities.
  • Modern cafeteria & central library.
  • Transportation facilities.
  • Academic support to approx. 1.5 lakhs (including 1,500 plus international students from 30 plus countries) students enrolled in 186 affiliated institutes/colleges.
  • Access to e-journals in different subjects.

Top Courses Eligibility & Detailed Fees

CourseEligibilityTotal Fees/ yearDetailed Fee Structure
B.Tech10+2 with 75% + JEE Main₹80,750Check Here
MBAGraduation with 50% + CAT₹80,750Check Here
M.Tech.Pass in Graduation + GATE₹78,150Check Here
M.PharmB.Pharm.₹1.19 LakhsCheck Here
ExecutiveGraduation with 50% + CAT₹80,750Check Here
M.TechPass in Graduation + GATE₹78,150Check Here
Diploma--Check Here
80,750
FIRST YEAR
FEES

Get Detailed Fees



JEE-Main 2020

03 Sep 19 - 02 Oct 19
Application Process

05 Apr 20 - 11 Apr 20
exam date

check eligibility

ADMISSION DATES

01 Dec 2019
Start Date

16 Apr 2020
End Date

APPLY NOW

I.K. Gujral Punjab Technical University (PTU) Admission 2020: Ranking, Datesheet, Entrance Exam

Read More

College Admission Reviews

Student , Bachelor of Technology [B.Tech] (Electronics & Communication Engineering), Pursued: 1st year
BATCH : 2023

7.8/10

"I choose ECE because there is lot of opportunity in future and personally I was interested in knowing the things which are used in technology and their manufacturing processes. Mostly thing which attracts me to choose ECE is love about my artificial intelligence and robotics."   Read More

Adarsh kumar , Bachelor of Technology [B.Tech] (Computer Science and Engineering), Pursued: 3rd year
BATCH : 2020

9.5/10

"At first I had appeared in joint entrance examination conducted by the central board of secondary education, Delhi after that when the result was declared of both boards and jee mains I had applied for the counseling of IK Gujral Punjab technical University on their website separately by paying Rs 2"   Read More


80,750
FIRST YEAR
FEES

Get Detailed Fees




MAT 2020

06 Mar 20 - 10 May 20
Application Process

03 May 20 - 16 May 20
exam date

check eligibility


College Admission Reviews

8.5/10

"SNAP and i scored average. I opt for this college because of unique mba in IT. Also, the kind of specialization it was offering."   Read More


5 Years Full Time30 seats5/10
80,750
FIRST YEAR
FEES

Get Detailed Fees


NATA 2020

01 Feb 20 - 04 May 20
Application Process

19 Apr 20 - 31 May 20
exam date

check eligibility

ADMISSION DATES

18 Jan 2020
Start Date

29 Apr 2020
End Date

APPLY NOW

I.K. Gujral Punjab Technical University (PTU) Admission 2020: Ranking, Datesheet, Entrance Exam

Read More

80,750
FIRST YEAR
FEES

Get Detailed Fees


JEE-Main 2020

03 Sep 19 - 02 Oct 19
Application Process

05 Apr 20 - 11 Apr 20
exam date

check eligibility

ADMISSION DATES

01 Dec 2019
Start Date

16 Apr 2020
End Date

APPLY NOW

I.K. Gujral Punjab Technical University (PTU) Admission 2020: Ranking, Datesheet, Entrance Exam

Read More

College Admission Reviews

Student , Bachelor of Technology [B.Tech] (Electronics & Communication Engineering), Pursued: 1st year
BATCH : 2023

7.8/10

"I choose ECE because there is lot of opportunity in future and personally I was interested in knowing the things which are used in technology and their manufacturing processes. Mostly thing which attracts me to choose ECE is love about my artificial intelligence and robotics."   Read More

Adarsh kumar , Bachelor of Technology [B.Tech] (Computer Science and Engineering), Pursued: 3rd year
BATCH : 2020

9.5/10

"At first I had appeared in joint entrance examination conducted by the central board of secondary education, Delhi after that when the result was declared of both boards and jee mains I had applied for the counseling of IK Gujral Punjab technical University on their website separately by paying Rs 2"   Read More


80,750
FIRST YEAR
FEES

Get Detailed Fees


College Admission Reviews

Alok Kumar Pandey , Batch: MCA-2011

8.5/10

"First of all I have completed my schooling then I have planed mba to any reputeted University and went once or twice time before addimisson and highly effective and methodology to suggest my parents and plan for addimisson."   Read More


Popularly Compared

RANKING

NIRF logo

NIRF Ranking 2019

RANKED  #96

Engineering (National)

No Result Found

College rating

based on 9 students ratings

8.3/10

8.4/10academic
7.3/10accommodation
8.4/10faculty
8.7/10infrastructure
8.3/10placements
8.4/10social

college Info reviews view all

CLEAR ALL
View All Streams
CLEAR ALL
View All Course Tags
CLEAR ALL
View All Courses

POPULAR TAGS

internal exam
campus
internship
package
entrance
environment
admission
knowledge
structure
company
research
placement
semester
education
kapurthala
S
StudentBachelor of Technology [B.Tech] (Electronics & Communication Engineering)Pursued 1st year
BATCH : 2023
7.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

overall i am enjoying my college life

Remarks -
7.8 /10

Teaching faculty are good here. All the professor are highly qualified. Good enivornment to study. A central library is here where you can find your resources book that you want. Apart from this 24 hour opening study room is present in campus that is the best part of this university.


8/10academic
9/10faculty
8/10infrastructure
7/10food & accom
8/10placement
7/10social life
p
prince pritamBachelor in technologyPursued
BATCH : 2021
7.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

College review

Remarks -
7.8 /10

The college is overall very good in infrastructure, facilities, faculties and placements. There is a central library in the college which contains numerous amount of study materials for each and every student. There is a computer centre with internet access for students if they want to use the computer. There is a central auditorium for any conference, seminars or functions. There is a canteen for staffs and students.


8/10academic
8/10faculty
9/10infrastructure
7/10food & accom
8/10placement
7/10social life
A
Abhishek kumarB.tech.Pursued
BATCH : 2022
7.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

About college infrastructure , study and facility

Remarks -
7.8 /10

Positive remarks is that its infrastructure is as the level of IITs and having best setting facility. Its library is of world calss and having more than 10000 books on subjects and other stuffs like novels , magazine and others.


8/10academic
8/10faculty
9/10infrastructure
7/10food & accom
6/10placement
9/10social life
A
Alok Kumar PandeyMCABatch : 2011
8.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Alok Pandey

Remarks -
8.5 /10

No very good college of the Punjab and that is a specialy work kind of bhi they provide scolship who people belongs to poor family.with supports dacumaent.attested by government of India or State government.


9/10academic
9/10faculty
9/10infrastructure
8/10food & accom
8/10placement
8/10social life
A
Adarsh kumarBachelor of Technology [B.Tech] (Computer Science and Engineering)Pursued 3rd year
BATCH : 2020
9.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

A brief introduction about I. K gujral Punjab Technical University main campus kapurthala

Remarks -
9.5 /10

Our university main campus is the best campus among all the government college campuses it has a well developed infrastructure and labs the university has in the campus post office and a bank with a well developed knowledge resource center or you can say central library in which we have access to all the leading journals and books. The university has a good team of security people which avoids any type of incident to happen and most importantly our campus is a ragging free campus.


9/10academic
10/10faculty
10/10infrastructure
9/10food & accom
9/10placement
10/10social life
Mritunjay KumarBachelor of Technology [B.Tech] (Electronics & Communication Engineering)Batch : 2013
9.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Awesome College and Environment

Remarks -
9.7 /10

College was good. If you have to know about Punjab than must go there everything was very excellent. College management was co-operative and supported us all aspects.


10/10academic
10/10faculty
10/10infrastructure
8/10food & accom
10/10placement
10/10social life

Load More reviews

facilities

Comp Labs
Sports
Medical
Cafeteria
Laboratory
Library
Auditorium
Hostel
Transport

placements View All

Ericsson
Angel
HDFC
TCS

GALLERY IMAGES view all

VIDEOS view all

Jalandhar - Kapurthala Highway,VPO - Ibban,
Jalandhar - 144603
Punjab , India

2.58KmKhojewala railway station

1822-255088 , 255535

Comments

Comments


5 Comments
A
Anish Kumar Singh

12th me 64.2 percentage BHMCT course ke liye eligible hii

22 Aug, 2019 19:53
S
Shobhna Chaturvedi

Hi Anish, yes, you are eligible for this course. You can also check the Admission Procedure of the concerned course in the university from here.

23 Aug, 2019 17:11
A
Anish Kumar Singh

BHM ke liye kya percentage hona chahiye 12th me

21 Aug, 2019 19:57
S
Shobhna Chaturvedi

No minimum percentage criteria is set by the university to be eligible for this course. Any candidate who has done intermediate will be considered eligible for this course.

22 Aug, 2019 12:36
A
Anish Kumar Singh

I have done 12th in science.I get the admission in BHM. What stapes?

20 Aug, 2019 21:44
S
Shobhna Chaturvedi

Hi Anish, yes, you are eligible for this course. You may check the Admission Procedure of this course from here.

21 Aug, 2019 00:43
A
Anish Kumar Singh

Without intres exam

21 Aug, 2019 06:28
S
Shobhna Chaturvedi

Yes, admission to this course is based on score in qualifying degree only. No entrance exam is conducted by the university for the same.

21 Aug, 2019 11:14
s
sahil dhiman

I have done 12th in commerce, B.COM from GNDU and PGDCA from C-DAC. Can I get the admission in MCA(Lateral Entry).

25 Jun, 2019 09:07
S
Shobhna Chaturvedi

Hi Sahil, the university does not provides lateral entry admissions in any of the course.

25 Jun, 2019 10:59
S
Saini Taranpreet Singh Charanjit Singh

Hi, I have completed my Diploma in Mechanical Engg. and i want to continue my further studies in B.SC (Aviation). So can i get admission in B.Sc(Aviation) on the basis of Diploma.

06 Oct, 2017 00:10
S
Sakshi Garg Expert

Hi Saini, Yes, you can get admission in B.Sc program on the basis of your academics (10 2) scores.

06 Oct, 2017 18:17

- No more comments -

Similar Colleges

Chitkara University - [CU], Patiala logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING8.4 / 10

Chitkara University - [CU]

Patiala, Punjab
NCTE
Guru Nanak Dev University - [GNDU], Amritsar logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.7 / 10

Guru Nanak Dev University - [GNDU]

Amritsar, Punjab
NAAC
BA 6.5 ₹30.99 K first year fees
I.K. Gujral Punjab Technical University - [IKGPTU], Amritsar logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.8 / 10
DAV Institute of Engineering and Technology - [DAVIET], Jalandhar logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING6.9 / 10
Lovely Professional University - [LPU], Jalandhar logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING8.2 / 10
Chandigarh University - [CU], Chandigarh logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING8.2 / 10

Chandigarh University - [CU]

Chandigarh, Chandigarh
AICTE

NEARBY COLLEGES

news view all

April 03, 2020

Why Take MAT: Reasons to Appear for MAT 2020

If you are a management aspirant and planning to appear for entrance tests, MAT should definitely be in your list. About 3 lakh candidates take Management Aptitude Test every year, making it one of the most popular entrance tests for candidates wishing to pursue MBA in India. All Indi

April 01, 2020

JEE Main Postponed: How to Stay Motivated Amidst the Ongoing Coronavirus Crisis?

Currently, the entire world is facing a very crucial time as we are under the crisis of COVID-19 outbreak, and most importantly, researchers are yet to discover or invent any cure/vaccine which can relieve us all from this highly worrying concern. Amidst this period, the Ministry of Human

March 25, 2020

NTA Starts Text Message Helpline for aspirants of JEE Main, NEET, Others Exams

NTA has started a Text Helpline for all aspirants appearing for JEE Main, NEET, and other Entrance Exams being held by the NTA due to rising concern over the coronavirus. Several students aspiring for different exams conducted by NTA including JEE Main, NEET, UGC NET and others have been trying to c

March 22, 2020

BBNL Recruitment through GATE 2020

BBNL Recruitment through GATE 2020 majorly recruits Executive Trainees for roles such as Broadband Network, Project Monitoring, Project Planning, Engineering roles in OFC laying, Operations and Transmission Network. Candidates will be selected on the basis of their GATE 2020 Score. The

March 20, 2020

AAI Recruitment Through GATE 2020

Airports Authority of India (AAI) recruits GATE qualified engineers for various disciplines. The application form for AAI recruitment through GATE will tenatively begin from first week of April 2020 and will tentatively be active till last week of May 2020. Candidates have to pay INR 300 throug

March 19, 2020

IIM Ahmedabad CAT Cutoff and Admission Criteria 2020

IIM Ahmedabad admission process for 2020- 2022 session is a two-step process. Firstly the candidates are shortlisted for Analytical Writing Test (AWT) and Personal Interview (PI) on the basis of CAT cutoff. Second step is the final selection for admission. Among all the IIMs, IIM Ahmedabad qual

April 01, 2020

JEE Main 2020 Postponed, Exam to be Conducted During Last Week of May

NTA has postponed JEE Main 2020 to the last week of May 2020 as per NTA’s official notice issued on March 31, 2020. JEE Main Admit card was to be released on March 20, has also been withheld till April 15, 2020. MHRD announced that all the CBSE exams will be postponed, the step

March 18, 2020

GATE 2020 Topper Hitesh Poply's Interview

GATE 2020 Result has been declared by IIT Delhi on March 13, 2020. There are a total 25 subjects offered and the list of Toppers for each subject has been released. Out of 685088 candidates who attempted GATE 2020, only 18.8% could qualify the exam. Post declaration of result, state and private

apply now Download Brochure
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

top courses

B.Tech Computer EngineeringAVG FEE - ₹80,750/Yr
4 Years
B.Tech Electrical EngineeringAVG FEE - ₹80,750/Yr
4 Years
B.ArchAVG FEE - ₹80,750/Yr
5 Years
view more courses[70]

Other Colleges In The Same Group

news

Placements

faculties

Dr. Harmeen SochAssociate Professor & Head, Department of Management
Sh. Rajdeep SinghAssistant Professor, Department of Computer Science Engineering
Dr. Ashish AroraAssociate Professor & Head, Department of Mathematical Science
view all faculties[8]

reviews

STUDENTS ALSO VISITED

Chandigarh Group of Colleges - [CGC], landran logo

Chandigarh Group of Colleges - [CGC], landran

BE/B.Tech , ₹ 90 K FIRST YEAR FEES
8.2
Guru Nanak Dev Engineering College - [GNDEC], Ludhiana logo

Guru Nanak Dev Engineering College - [GNDEC], Ludhiana

BE/B.Tech , ₹ 99.19 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.7
Chandigarh Engineering College - [CEC], landran logo

Chandigarh Engineering College - [CEC], landran

BE/B.Tech , ₹ 90 K FIRST YEAR FEES
8.0
CGC College of Engineering, landran logo

CGC College of Engineering, landran

BE/B.Tech , ₹ 80.75 K FIRST YEAR FEES
8.0
×