Indian Institute of Technology Madras - [IITM], Chennai - Reviews

Chennai, Tamil Nadu AICTE Estd 1959 Central University 24 Questions Answered Ranked 1 For Overall By NIRF 2020 +20 more

College Rating

Based on 115 Students RatingClaim this college

8.7 out of 10
9.0/10Academic
7.9/10Accommodation
8.7/10Faculty
8.8/10Infrastructure
8.8/10Placement
9.0/10Social Life
Filter By
Affiliated CollegesStreamCourse TagCourseBatch
SORT BY :
Relevance

Department of Management Studies, IIT Madras - [DoMS IIT Madras] (20)

Most Popular Tags

Placement (88)
Internship (81)
Scholar (80)
Campus (70)
Research (58)
Hostel Fee (52)
Fee Structure (44)
Hostel Room (43)
End Sem (34)
Gender Ratio (34)
Course Curriculum (32)
Single Room (31)
Semester Exam (25)
Entrance Exam (24)
Provide Loan (24)

115 Reviews found


SM
9.0 /10

Placement Experience :

I just got admission to IIT Madras. That's why I don't much about placements. I am a fresher. But as per I got to know from senior and professors. Last year's highest package was 133 crore offered by Microsoft for the post of Software Engineer. Microsoft, Google, Facebook were the top paying companies in the placements. Their requirement was for a software engineer. The average package for a computer science student is 40 lakhs. But it changes for another branch like for mechanical last year highest package was 54 lakh. The overall package percentage was 70 percent last year for UG /PG students.

Remarks :

Good things- the best thing about IIT Madras is that it's topping NIRF ranking for the last 5 years, which is really a thing to watch for. The faculty it has and the environment it provides for the study is worthy of its NIRF 1 ranking. Bad things- there is nothing exactly bad about IIT Madras. But I think it's academic schedule is too hectic. It exerts a lot of pressure on students. More ever this schedule leads to severe depression many times. I know many of my seniors, who have gone through this. Reson of preferring, after my jee result I started doing research on which college is best. I took help from Google, my teachers and some passed out IIT student. I read colllegedunia review also. After asking too many people I got to the conclusion that as per my rank. IIT Madras is the best available choice. Admission, by clearing JEE. You will be eligible for admission to college but rank matter.

8 /10 placement
9 /10 college
10 /10 course
9 /10 internship
9 /10 campus life
report
Read More
B
9.0 /10

Placement Experience :

The curriculum and course will make you feel that you are at right place and going in right path and rest time will unfold Just keep giving your best to one of great colleges in India.

Remarks :

This college offer your wide range of possibilities in future. Now, to begin with Academics it has fantastic instructors and support team along with really interesting syllabus and Curriculum. Interactive level is height and students who pursue are definitely serious about it and want to do it.

10 /10 placement
10 /10 college
10 /10 course
10 /10 interview
5 /10 campus life
report
Read More
SR
8.3 /10

Remarks :

Good campus facilities and alumni network of the college. Placements of the college is awesome for the students. The college surroundings are favourable for every student. No extreme ragging in college and supporting environment.

Placement Experience :

Placements of the college are awesome and almost 95% of the students are placed. Reputed companies like Flipkart, MAHINDRA, American Express, HCL technology come every year and recruite students. placement cell of the college is also very supportive. Alumni network of the college is good and job refferals are also made for the freshers in companies.

7 /10 faculty
9 /10 placement
9 /10 social life
9 /10 course
7 /10 hostel
9 /10 campus life
report
Read More
KS
9.0 /10

Remarks :

IITs are well known for engineering, and the stream I was interested in (Engineering Design) was only being offered in IIT Madras. The course is a mix of mechanical and electrical engineering along with relevant product design courses. I also aimed at the Robotics specialization which is provided here after the 5th semester based on the students preferences and CGPA.

Placement Experience :

The placements are very good and are infact quite flexible. There are core mechanical (automotive, biomedical) companies, IT/software firms, ML profiles, Finance, Consulting firms coming to hire. However, as compared to the non core profiles, there are relatively few number of core profiles coming. Most students here prefer for non core profiles or opt for further studies abroad,or go for research/start ups. Our department alumni have so far produced two major startups : Ather Energy (electric vehicles) and Ghost Vision (augmented reality). The entrepreneurship cell constantly fosters a lot of start ups and have the Nirmaan dedicated for it. E-Plane is also another notable IIT-M startup. A lot of start ups are being incubated in Research park and Nirmaan.

8 /10 faculty
9 /10 placement
10 /10 social life
report
Read More
NK
9.7 /10

Remarks :

I have very good remarks about management. IIT Madras is being ranked as the best institute in India and 47th in the World. The quality of work that ensured in the institute in commendable.

Admission :

There are three level entries to get into IIT. One is the GATE exam which is all India level. The top-scored students can they apply to IITs. I applied to IIT Madras, where there was an exam to screen the top applicants as well as an interview post the exam screening. It took around 2-3 months for all the processes to complete. I have joined for M.S in Hydrology and Water Resources and like this course, because it is close to the environment and research-oriented.

10 /10 faculty
9 /10 placement
10 /10 social life
report
Read More
S
9.7 /10

Remarks :

The college is one of the top engineering college of India. Also the IIT tag helps a lot during placements. Also the research culture at IIT Madras is awesome. The infrastructure, academics and campus is also very much student friendly.

Placement Experience :

The placement percentage is almost 100% at the college. The placement team helps students during the placement time. The team conducts several interviews and competitions so that the students become placement ready. Major companies visiting the campus are Google, Microsoft, Adobe, etc. The research and startup culture at the college is wonderful. Some famous startups by college allumnis are Network18, Infomedia 18, etc.

10 /10 faculty
10 /10 placement
9 /10 social life
report
Read More
N
9.3 /10

Admission :

Admissions is through JEE Mains and JEE advance exam only which is considers as one of the toughest exams in the country. The entrance has requires to prepare through the portions of class 11 and 12 based on it. I choosed my course because of my interests on this field. You have to qualify jee mains to write jee advance which determines admission to IIT

Placement Experience :

Placement is consider one of the best in the country. All most everyone gets placed. Package is above average also sometimes the highest in the country. Internship are very frequent from top info companies which motivates. 90% gets placed all time. Students require to prepare the whole syllabus for placement exams

8 /10 faculty
10 /10 placement
10 /10 social life
9 /10 course
9 /10 hostel
10 /10 campus life
report
Read More
KS
9.7 /10

Remarks :

I am so fortunate to study in a wonderful college. Its like a dream to get a seat in my college and if I get a chance to study again I would like to thank my management at IITM.

Admission :

My all india rank in JEE Exam was 1600, I wanted to pursue a unique course after my 12th standard and so opted for this course. My Grandfather insisted me to pursue this course since this was a unique opportunity to involve in the design of ships. I had the option to choose civil engineering but in INDIA only our college and IITR kharagpur had this course so I took this course. I opted IIT MADRAS through my rank and I got this college.

10 /10 faculty
9 /10 placement
10 /10 social life
report
Read More
HP
8.7 /10

Remarks :

This college is as good as it can get given the current situation. It has achieved a lot and given its annual operation cost itself is 4. 06Cr, it is understandable that the equipment present eats most of its funds.

9 /10 faculty
8 /10 placement
9 /10 social life
8 /10 course
8 /10 hostel
10 /10 campus life
report
Read More
Hg
9.0 /10

Remarks :

Nature loving very very good college. You can find deer, stag, black bucks, monkeys roaming around and playing. It's a best experience. Due to geographic location it is bit hot in summers but it's manageable

9 /10 faculty
10 /10 placement
8 /10 social life
10 /10 course
10 /10 hostel
7 /10 campus life
report
Read More

Indian Institute of Technology Madras - [IITM], Chennai : 24 answered questions

VIEW ALL

Ques. Which is better for a keralite, EE at IIT Mandi or engineering design at IIT Madras?

● Top Answer By Deepika Kunwar on 20 Mar 21

Ans. For obvious reasons, ED in IIT Madras is better than EE from IIT Mandi. Since, you are a Keralite, you need to travel across the entire length of India whenever you need to travel back and forth from your home. Moreover, the climate will also be a minus factor. In case of Chennai, you can travel overnight and reach your home. The people there will be more familiar to you as compared to those in Mandi. Engineering Design -  It is an amalgamation of all the engineering disciplines in a crude sense which can be easily seen by their curriculum.  The curriculum includes doing coding, mechanical labs and civil engineering courses, it even includes Electrical Engineering.  BTech in Electrical Design is a 5 year Program as it includes a compulsory six month internship (an entire semester) in the final year and a project in the final year of the course. Whereas, the courses at other branches last for only 8 weeks. Categories IIT Mandi  IIT Madras Degree BTech in EE BTech in ED Duration (Years) 4 5 Fees (lakhs per semester) 1.11 1.09 Percentage Placement  85 83 Faculty : Student  1:10 1:13 Average Package (lakhs per annum) 12 12.4 To summarize, IIT Madras offers you everything that IIT Mandi has and a lot more than that. Mandi is situated in Himachal Pradesh, it has a very pleasing scenery. But keeping in mind the distance, weather conditions and the ease of living for a Keralite, Chennai is a much better option.Read more
0
0
1 Answer
●●●

Ques. Which is better: Civil at IIT Madras or CSE at IIT Dhanbad?

● Top Answer By Monika on 25 Feb 21

Ans. Between these two comparisons, IIT Dhanbad is better than IIT Madras. The main reason behind this is the better placement statistics in Computer Science.  However, the condition of the Civil Engineering branch is quite awful, considering any colleges in India. The placement records in IIT Dhanbad for CSE department has reached the peak.  Another important thing is that IIT Dhanbad has become well-groomed in this culture and represents itself as an ancient Technological Institute in this country. The main consideration for IIT Madras is that it is located in the Metropolitan City. Still, the weather of Madras is very terrific and cannot be ever compared with the weather of Dhanbad. Thus, if the student doesn’t have a strong understanding of Civil Engineering, then they must choose CSE at IIT Dhanbad. If the students get another stream in IIT Madras, then they choose it as per their likings.Read more
0
0
1 Answer
●●●

Ques. Which is better, IIT Delhi or IIT Madras?

● Top Answer By Darshan Singh Bisht on 25 Feb 21

Ans. My sister was a former student of IITM; thereby, she has limited knowledge of IITD. She often tells me that the choice completely depends on the students' aspects, i.e. how you want to compare these two institutes. It can be mentioned that each of these institutes has its own merits. In the following, some aspects are listed. If the student considers the placement statistics, then IITD is far better. Although IITM is not so far behind. Each and every IIT has its own specificity. My sister always tells me that studying in IITM will lead the student towards its personal development along with skills. There are a lot of entrepreneurship opportunities that thrive inside the campus of IITM; thus, it represents an extraordinary start-up culture. So, if the student has strong interpersonal skills or wants to start their own business, this institute is the right place to start their career. Another important thing is that IITM is situated in the centre of the city, but the student can’t go out as the temperature here is very hot as well as humid. The temperature inside the campus is hardly 1-2 degrees Celsius lower than the surrounding as it is basically part of a reserve forest. Thus, if the student is interested in taking admission here, they must go through several posts about this institute that denotes the academic culture or the reputed institute's cultural life. The scenario beauty of this institute is awesome. My sister also told me that if the students love natural beauty, they can take admission to IITM. But if they prefer girls, then they can select IITD or IITB.Read more
0
0
1 Answer
●●●

Ques. Which is better: IIT HSEE or Ashoka University?

● Top Answer By Monika on 08 Jan 21

Ans. To begin with a comparison, both institutions are vastly different. The curricula, the course structures, the admission requirements at the institutes are quite unique. These factors depend on the kind of crowd at the university.  Comparison: While IIT has a brand name, it offers more practical but circumscribed programs in comparison to Ashoka University. Ashoka University on the other hand offers flexibility. Ashoka University offers dynamic courses with the added advantages to pursue other opportunities as well. Which you will not get in IIT HSEE. The table below will give you a brief overview of the two colleges. Category IIT HSEE Ashoka University Average CTC 13.6 LPA 7-8 LPA Fee range  23,070-4.18 lakhs 9.35 lakhs-24.55 lakhs   These were a few examples of the type of variety in curriculum one experiences at Ashoka University, and it's embedded in all of their programs. Although the administration is not very amiable. My friends at IIT HSEE face a similar issue with the administration and the courses are not as varied either. The final decision is yours. You should choose based on what is the outcome you want from your degree.Read more
0
0
1 Answer
●●●

Ques. What is the procedure to convert into a dual degree from B.tech at Indian Institute of Technology, Madras (IITM)?

● Top Answer By Sapna Malik on 22 Nov 20

Ans. IIT Madras (IITM) is ranked 1st in the Engineering category by NIRF Ranking 2019. They have a strong and highly qualified faculty of 630 members, most of them being PhD holders and have a student strength of 6638. BTech in IITM is a 4 year full time undergraduate course. Students after completing their 10+2 and securing a JEE Advanced rank can apply for a BTech program. BTech and MTech dual degree is a 5 year course which will give students a both a Bachelors and Masters degree in Technology or Engineering.  Process of Conversion into a Dual degree The change will be initiated at the end of the 1st semester. Overall GPA of the 1st semester will be considered. This might depend on the vacancies. The process involves filling out a form and signing with the Faculty Advisor and HoD. The strength of a class should not fall below the existing strength by more than 10% and should not go above the sanctioned strength by more than 10% percent. The cut off of the CGPA is 7.5 and higher. After the 7th semester it is not allowed to change the degree from BTech to Dual degree. The advantages of taking a dual degree (BTech + MTech) gives the students an opportunity to receive both degrees with a year to spare. Unlike doing BTech and MTech separately which will take 6 years to complete whereas a dual degree will take 5 years to complete.Read more
0
0
1 Answer
●●●

Comments


1 Comments
P
piyush katkar
The college is soo awesome we can get every facility we want
D
DRrfvgvmjm

Hi Piyush

Thank you for your comment. It is certainly helpful to know that the facilities at the college are good. Share us some more detail about the course you pursued at the college and how ere the teaching standards.

Check IITM Courses


- NO MORE COMMENTS -

Similar Colleges

SSN College of Engineering - [SSNCE]
REVIEWS RATING
8.6 /10
BE/B.Tech 7.6 50 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
IIT Bombay - Indian Institute of Technology
REVIEWS RATING
8.8 /10
BE/B.Tech 10.0 2.11 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Vellore Institute of Technology - [VIT University]
REVIEWS RATING
8.3 /10
BE/B.Tech 8.9 1.98 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
College of Engineering, Anna University - [CEG]
REVIEWS RATING
8.3 /10
BE/B.Tech 9.6 50 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Birla Institute of Technology and Science - [BITS]
REVIEWS RATING
8.8 /10
BE/B.Tech 9.9 4.45 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Indian Institute of Management - [IIMB]
REVIEWS RATING
9 /10

Nearby Colleges

College of Engineering, Anna University - [CEG]
REVIEWS RATING
8.3 /10
BE/B.Tech 9.6 50 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
SSN College of Engineering - [SSNCE]
REVIEWS RATING
8.6 /10
BE/B.Tech 7.6 50 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Sathyabama Institute of Science and Technology
REVIEWS RATING
7.8 /10
BE/B.Tech 7.4 1.75 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Anna University - [AU]
REVIEWS RATING
7.7 /10

Anna University - [AU]

Chennai, Tamil Nadu
BE/B.Tech 7.1 55 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
VEL Tech
REVIEWS RATING
8.2 /10

VEL Tech

Chennai, Tamil Nadu
BE/B.Tech 6.7 50 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Hindustan Institute of Technology and Science - [HITS]
REVIEWS RATING
7.5 /10
BE/B.Tech 6.5 2.29 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES

NewsView All

GATE 2021 Environmental Science and Engineering (ES) Paper Analysis (Available), Question Paper and Answer Key
February 08, 2021
GATE 2021 Environmental Science and Engineering (ES) Paper Analysis (Available), Question Paper and Answer Key

GATE 2021 Environmental Science & Engineering (ES) paper is one of the two newly introduced papers in GATE 2021. The paper was successfully conducted in the afternoon session on February 7, 2021. According to the initial students’ reaction, the overall difficulty level of the paper was eas

GATE 2021 Biomedical Engineering (BM) Paper Analysis, Question Paper and Answer Key
February 05, 2021
GATE 2021 Biomedical Engineering (BM) Paper Analysis, Question Paper and Answer Key

GATE 2021 Biomedical Engineering (BM) paper is scheduled to be conducted on February 6, 2021. The paper will be held in the afternoon session from 15:00- 18:00 hrs.GATE 2021 Biomedical Engineering Paper Analysis will be updated here soon after the conclusion of the exam based on the initial student

GATE 2021: Last-minute Preparation Tips
February 01, 2021
GATE 2021: Last-minute Preparation Tips

GATE 2021 is just a week away and is scheduled to be conducted on Feb 6, 7, 13 & 14, 2021 in two sessions- Forenoon and Afternoon. Within these few days, students should practice, analyze and revise the course thoroughly without feeling stressed. Getting at least a minimum of six-hour sleep and

GATE 2021 Exam Day Guidelines and Important Instructions
January 28, 2021
GATE 2021 Exam Day Guidelines and Important Instructions

GATE 2021 is scheduled to be conducted on February 6, 7, 13 and 14 in two sessions- Forenoon (9:30- 12:30 hrs) and Afternoon (15:00- 18:00 hrs). IIT Bombay has released the exam day guidelines for smooth conduct of GATE 2021 and for the safety of students, staff involved in conducting the exam and t

JEE Main 2021: 75% Criteria Dropped for NIT, IIITs Admission 2021; Announces Education Minister
January 20, 2021
JEE Main 2021: 75% Criteria Dropped for NIT, IIITs Admission 2021; Announces Education Minister

The Ministry of Education on Tuesday declared that relaxation would be provided in admission criteria for NITs and centrally funded technical institutions like IIITs by eliminating the requirement of 75 per cent marks in Class 12 board examinations. Union Education Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal &lsqu

GATE 2021 Exam Day Process, Guidelines for Candidates Released; Check Details Here
January 18, 2021
GATE 2021 Exam Day Process, Guidelines for Candidates Released; Check Details Here

IIT Bombay has released the exam day guidelines of GATE 2021 which is scheduled to be conducted in the month of February 2021. An informatory video has been released listing the guidelines which should be followed on the GATE 2021 exam days. During the day of the exam, candidates will be requi

IIT MBA Admission 2021 (Begins): CAT 2020 Scores Accepted; Check Selection Process, Cutoff Here
January 14, 2021
IIT MBA Admission 2021 (Begins): CAT 2020 Scores Accepted; Check Selection Process, Cutoff Here

January 14, 2021: Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs) have announced MBA Admission 2021 will begin on the basis of Common Admission Test (CAT) scores for eligible candidates.  IITs will follow the same admission procedure similar to the Indian Institutes of Management (IIMs). According to

IIT JAM 2021: Admit Card Released Today (Jan 11) @joaps.iisc.ac.in; Check Here to Download
January 11, 2021
IIT JAM 2021: Admit Card Released Today (Jan 11) @joaps.iisc.ac.in; Check Here to Download

IIT JAM 2021 admit card has been released today (Jan 11) on its official website – joaps.iisc.ac.in. The exam will be conducted on February 14 in two sessions - Session I (from 9.30 am to 12.30 pm) and Session II (3.00 pm to 6.00 pm). Candidates can visit the official website and

interested in this College ?

Top Courses

Other Colleges In The Same Group

Placements

Highest Package 1,750,000
Average Package 1,240,000
company
company
company
company
company
company

Faculties

Prof. Muruganandam Associate Professor, Department of Aerospace Engineering
Mr. Amit Kumar Professor, Department of Aerospace Engineering
Mr. Abhijit Deshpande Professor, Department of Chemical Engineering

Students also visited

Indian Institute of Technology - [IIT]
Indian Institute of Technology - [IIT], KanpurBE/B.Tech, ₹2.16 L First Year Fees
8.9
Indian Institute of Technology - [IIT]
Indian Institute of Technology - [IIT], HyderabadBE/B.Tech, ₹2.23 L First Year Fees
8.5
Indian Institute of Technology - [IIT]
Indian Institute of Technology - [IIT], RoorkeeBE/B.Tech, ₹2.22 L First Year Fees
8.4
NIT Trichy
NIT Trichy, TiruchirappalliBE/B.Tech, ₹1.49 L First Year Fees
8.4
Indian Institute of Technology - [IIT]
Indian Institute of Technology - [IIT], GuwahatiBE/B.Tech, ₹2.19 L First Year Fees
8.5
Indian Institute of Science - [IISc]
Indian Institute of Science - [IISc], BangaloreME/M.Tech, ₹29.20 K First Year Fees
9.0
Indian Institute of Technology - [IIT]
Indian Institute of Technology - [IIT], New DelhiBE/B.Tech, ₹2.20 L First Year Fees
8.7
Indian Institute of Technology - [IIT]
Indian Institute of Technology - [IIT], KharagpurBE/B.Tech, ₹82.07 K First Year Fees
8.5
National Institute of Technology - [NIT]
National Institute of Technology - [NIT], WarangalBE/B.Tech, ₹1.30 L First Year Fees
8.4