filter your search allcollegesexamnews

Indian Institute of Technology Madras - [IITM], Chennai - Reviews

Chennai, Tamil Nadu AICTE Estd 1959 Central University

College rating

based on 66 students ratings

8.7/10

9.0/10academic
7.9/10accommodation
8.5/10faculty
9.1/10infrastructure
8.7/10placements
8.9/10social
Vivek VenkataramanBachelor of Technology [B.Tech] (Mechanical Engineering)Pursued Fifth Year 2017 - 2018
7.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Bad trip

Remarks -

The management is extremely slow to implement ideas of students. Things have not yet been digitized and one needs to get a paper signed by at least 5 people before you can get something approved. Otherwise they are friendly and open to suggestions


Entrance Preview -

I wrote BITS and IITJEE. Opted for Mech at IIT Madras because thats what my rank fetched me. I would've opted for IIT Bombay or Delhi if I had gotten it. It is the general perception that these were the best colleges, so naturally I would opt for it!


7/10academic
7/10faculty
8/10infrastructure
8/10food & accom
6/10placement
9/10social life
Niyas MuhammedBachelor of Technology [B.Tech] + Master of Technology [M.Tech] (Naval architecture & Ocean Engineering)Pursued Fourth Year 2017 - 2018
7.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Dream but someone else's

Remarks -

It is a very good technical institute and the administration tries it maximum to support the student community. If you want to study engineering in the country, IITs are the best choice before you. You can learn a lot.


Entrance Preview -

IIT JEE AIR 12664, This was my best option, I chose the best college I could get in and I didn't care much about the course.


8/10academic
7/10faculty
8/10infrastructure
8/10food & accom
9/10placement
6/10social life
Bhupendra SinghMaster of Technology [M.Tech] (Biotechnology)Pursued Fifth Year 2017 - 2018
8.0
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Best Engineering College

Remarks -

Overall life in this college IIT Madars is worth living for. Everyone helps each other and environment is also good, when you live in this environment your mindset improves and grow your skills very quickly.


Entrance Preview -

I took IIT JEE 2013 exam, in which I got 167 marks. Ya I opt for this college because it is one among the old IITs.


9/10academic
7/10faculty
8/10infrastructure
6/10food & accom
8/10placement
10/10social life
P. Vikram KumarMaster of Science (M.S) (Electrical Engineering)Batch : 2009
8.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Why to join IIT

Remarks -

Almost every day is like a festival with people from all parts of the country and also because of the presence of some foreign students. Thus its a good thing promoting unity/ harmony. It will be better if only vegetarian food is made available in the campus. Smoking should b banned in strict sense. The shops around the campus should be closed either by telling smoothly and if not that does not work..then by using police force. In the name of freedom..some people (who cannot be called students) are behaving wrongly either with indecent dress up or spending time wastefully on internet. Only good songs should b permitted during college fest.


Entrance Preview -

I joined IIT by writing GATE. I got 95.46 percentile. Opted for IIT Chennai as it is said to be a premier institute and I had good opinion about it.


9/10academic
9/10faculty
9/10infrastructure
7/10food & accom
7/10placement
8/10social life
V Sai TejaBachelor of Technology [B.Tech] (Electrical Engineering)Batch : 2017
9.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

A Home of many experiences

Remarks -

The management tries to involve only so much when it comes to students and thus give necessary amount of freedom. It is always supportive of what students want to do and even contributes positively sometimes. Institute is quite friendly in all the formalities and shows patience in every aspect. These are the things which helped it bag back to back first ranks in NIRF rankings of Indian Colleges.


Entrance Preview -

I took JEE Mains, scored 297/360 to get qualified for JEE Advanced in which again, I secured an AIR 509. I opted IITM for its reputation in Electricl Engineering and research oriented curriculum.


10/10academic
10/10faculty
9/10infrastructure
8/10food & accom
9/10placement
10/10social life
Pavan DugyalaMaster of Technology [M.Tech] (Electrical Engineering)Batch : 2011
7.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS
Entrance Preview -

I took GATE-2009 exam for entrance in to Post Graduate program in IIT Madras while studying B.Tech itself. After declaration of results we will have to fill up application forms various IITs seperately. Then you will be called for Interview (may be removed) now.


Placement -

You will be placed in a job 100%. The companies arriving are very good and internationally reputed companies. Anyways it all depends on your worth. If you could crack their interviews and have good CGPA you will be placed in a top company and you will be settled in life.


8/10academic
7/10faculty
8/10infrastructure
6/10food & accom
7/10placement
8/10social life
Sonu Kumar B. TechPursued 3rd year 2017 - 2018
8.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Journey through IITs

Remarks -

The details about the placement and job opportunities provided to the students are not fully known to me, but I know certain things. IIT Madras provides a huge placement and job opportunities to the deserved students. Highest packages are often seen in IIT Madras.


Entrance Preview -

I took the IIT JEE exam, scored around 180 marks. I chose IIT Madras as the college because The Indian Institute of Technology, Madras, is among the foremost institutes of national importance in higher technological education, basic and applied research.There was no specific interview for admission, but just a registration procedure.


8/10academic
9/10faculty
9/10infrastructure
8/10food & accom
7/10placement
8/10social life
Michael Steve P JBachelor of Technology [B.Tech] + Master of Technology [M.Tech] (Naval architecture & Ocean Engineering)Pursued 2nd year 2017 - 2018
9.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Awesome College

Entrance Preview -

I took the IIT JEE exam, scored around 150 marks. I chose IIT Madras as the college because it is the best college on India. There was no specific interview for admission, but just a registration procedure.


10/10academic
8/10faculty
10/10infrastructure
9/10food & accom
9/10placement
10/10social life
SravikaBachelor of Technology [B.Tech] (Biotechnology)Batch : 2015
8.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS
Entrance Preview -

I took IIT JEE and AIEEE. I Scored 1046 rank in category and got into IIT Chennai. I took Biotechnology Branch. I had few other options in IIT Delhi and Kharagpur. But my parents wouldn't send me that far and Chennai is near from my place (Andhra Pradesh).


9/10academic
8/10faculty
10/10infrastructure
7/10food & accom
7/10placement
9/10social life
Ashutosh Kumar VermaBachelor of Technology [B.Tech] (Chemical Engineering)Batch : 2016
8.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Awesome Startup experience and Innovation at IITM.

Remarks -

There were a little bad experience of campus placement. Only 70 to 80% B.tech Students were getting job. If you considered about other students like M.Tech and Phd then very less job opportunity for the even less than 20%. Apart from this there was also a problem with classes. some classes was held in CRC and some classes held in DOMS. we needed to spend 3-4 Minutes to go one classes to another class. our class time duration was 50 minutes only but some professor was teaching up to 1 hours, so no time to go one class to another.


Entrance Preview -

I took JEE in 2012. My Score was not good but i Got B.Tech in Chemical engineering by My OBC reservation. Opening and closing Rank(AIR) for general was 1300 and 1700 respectively.


10/10academic
9/10faculty
9/10infrastructure
7/10food & accom
8/10placement
9/10social life

Comments

Comments


No Comments To Show

news view all

January 02, 2018

CAT Preparation Tips by Divyanshu Singh (40 Percentile in CAT)

Toppers’ Profile: Student Name Divyanshu Singh Exam Name CAT Year Appeared 2017

January 02, 2018

CAT Preparation Tips by Avinash (59 Percentile in CAT)

Toppers’ Profile: Student Name Avinash Exam Name CAT Year Appeared 2016

January 02, 2018

CAT Preparation Tips by Yogesh (68%tile in CAT)

Toppers’ Profile: Student Name Yogesh Exam Name CAT Year Appeared 2016

January 02, 2018

CAT Preparation Tips by Shubhanshu Gupta (91 Percentile in CAT)

Toppers’ Profile: Student Name Shubhanshu Gupta Exam Name CAT Year Appeared 201

January 02, 2018

CAT Preparation Tips by Shreyas Mantri (86 Percentile in CAT)

Toppers’ Profile: Student Name Shreyas Mantri Exam Name CAT Year Appeared 2016

January 04, 2018

List of States Participating in JEE Main 2018 Admission Process

With the release of JEE Main 2018 Admission Notice, JAB said the States of Madhya Pradesh, Haryana, Uttarakhand, Nagaland & Odisha have joined JEE Main system. Therefore, the candidates willing to take admission to the institutions in these states, are advised to fill in the

December 30, 2017

CAT Preparation Tips by Rahul Pandey (26 Percentile in CAT)

Toppers’ Profile: Student Name Rahul Pandey Exam Name CAT Year A

December 30, 2017

CAT Preparation Tips by Mehvash Zaara (80 Percentile in CAT)

Toppers’ Profile: Student Name Mehvash Zaara Exam Name CAT

apply now Download Brochure
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

Other Colleges In The Same Group

news

departments

top courses

BA + MA English Language
AVG FEE - ₹21,640/Yr5 Years
B.Tech Chemical Engineering
AVG FEE - ₹82,416/Yr4 Years
B.Tech Civil Engineering
AVG FEE - ₹82,416/Yr4 Years
view more courses[96]

Placements

average package ₹790,000
HIGHEST PACKAGE ₹18,300,000

faculties

Prof. MuruganandamAssociate Professor, Department of Aerospace Engineering
Mr. Amit KumarProfessor, Department of Aerospace Engineering
Mr. Abhijit DeshpandeProfessor, Department of Chemical Engineering
view all faculties[8]

reviews

DOWNLOAD FRIZZA APP

SWITCH TO APP FOR

Get instant joining bonus

High paying offers

Refer friends to earn more

×